COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 7865 cases, 141 deaths, 187 active, 7573 recovered in T&T

Postby j.o.e » March 25th, 2021, 4:04 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
toyolink wrote:
sMASH wrote:
MaxPower wrote:We wouldn’t have this problem if everyone wore their masks, washed hands and social distanced.

Get allyuh act together.

correct.

WE must all submit to this reality for quite some time to come.

Let's do some math.

India and China donated 140k vaccines, Africa and covax are another 500k roughly. Ansa buying 300k?

That's around 1M vaccines. Which covers 500k people.

One third of our population, not nearly enough for herd immunity.

At that point probably end of 2021 or early 2022 Covid is still around but deaths would have mostly stopped due to high risk persons being vaccinated.

The danger arises if there's a new strain making these vaccines void.

I get your point but your maths a little off ....... minus the roughly 300k to 400k who are under 18 and can’t be vaccinated at this point. So 1M vaccines would actually go a pretty long way.

Dohplaydat

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 7865 cases, 141 deaths, 187 active, 7573 recovered in T&T

Postby Dohplaydat » March 25th, 2021, 4:16 pm

j.o.e wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
toyolink wrote:
sMASH wrote:
MaxPower wrote:We wouldn’t have this problem if everyone wore their masks, washed hands and social distanced.

Get allyuh act together.

correct.

WE must all submit to this reality for quite some time to come.

Let's do some math.

India and China donated 140k vaccines, Africa and covax are another 500k roughly. Ansa buying 300k?

That's around 1M vaccines. Which covers 500k people.

One third of our population, not nearly enough for herd immunity.

At that point probably end of 2021 or early 2022 Covid is still around but deaths would have mostly stopped due to high risk persons being vaccinated.

The danger arises if there's a new strain making these vaccines void.

I get your point but your maths a little off ....... minus the roughly 300k to 400k who are under 18 and can’t be vaccinated at this point. So 1M vaccines would actually go a pretty long way.

Kids will and should eventually be vaccinated once the FDA and WHO give the ok. They're super spreaders and creates a high risk for new mutations.

But I not saying it won't go far, I think we live life as normal when that happens but it doesn't mean the Covid is over.

Postby redmanjp » March 25th, 2021, 5:11 pm

once u vaccinate the high risk group who would usually end up in hospital or dead then the ratio between cases & deaths changes dramatically- so the unvaccinated population would still be getting infected but it might take a hundred for someone to end up in hospital and a thousand before someone dies again. although at that stage the oldest unvaccinated would be at higher risk once restrictions ease a bit e.g. 40-60 year old's would now make up the majority of hospital patients and with thousands of daily cases perhaps, this can cause significant workplace absenteeism affecting business continuity so certainly some restrictions would still have to be in place- i.e. gatherings limited to 30 or 50 and bars at 50% or something- but that would still mean no carnival 2022 :roll:

Postby redmanjp » March 25th, 2021, 5:34 pm

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » March 25th, 2021, 6:18 pm

So it seems we roughly having the same number of new cases a day (per million) as Barbados (who are testing at 7 times our rate).

Where the 'keep d bordahs closed' idiots now?

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » March 25th, 2021, 6:32 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:So it seems we roughly having the same number of new cases a day (per million) as Barbados (who are testing at 7 times our rate).

eh it have people coming in to attend funeral and weddings and flying back out. it have citizens that came home and NEVER QUARANTINE. the next day them in the bank and going for doubles.

Postby redmanjp » March 25th, 2021, 6:45 pm

how is opening the borders making sense? that will just cause thousands to come in with at least dozens of infections, some of which are variants which will, in a few weeks, ensure a lockdown for weeks!

Postby redmanjp » March 25th, 2021, 6:49 pm

daring dragoon wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:So it seems we roughly having the same number of new cases a day (per million) as Barbados (who are testing at 7 times our rate).

eh it have people coming in to attend funeral and weddings and flying back out. it have citizens that came home and NEVER QUARANTINE. the next day them in the bank and going for doubles.

are you talking about the 7 day home quarantine ?

Postby paid_influencer » March 25th, 2021, 7:09 pm

iirc, some (privileged) citizens are allowed to quarantine under their own cognizance either in a hotel or at home. not everybody goes through the state quarantine.

Postby paid_influencer » March 25th, 2021, 7:13 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:Where the 'keep d bordahs closed' idiots now?

i dey. trying to keep safe

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » March 25th, 2021, 7:21 pm

redmanjp wrote:how is opening the borders making sense? that will just cause thousands to come in with at least dozens of infections, some of which are variants which will, in a few weeks, ensure a lockdown for weeks!

For the love of God, I'm just saying open borders with quarantine, and make it 14 days, and prioritize citizens. Thousands are stranded aboard still.

Closing borders to citizens especially makes no sense, at least have the human decency to give them their sovereign rights to return home.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » March 25th, 2021, 7:25 pm

paid_influencer wrote:iirc, some (privileged) citizens are allowed to quarantine under their own cognizance either in a hotel or at home. not everybody goes through the state quarantine.

Well that's a problem.....why can't be implement a proper working system like the rest of the Caribbean.

Postby redmanjp » March 25th, 2021, 9:26 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
redmanjp wrote:how is opening the borders making sense? that will just cause thousands to come in with at least dozens of infections, some of which are variants which will, in a few weeks, ensure a lockdown for weeks!

For the love of God, I'm just saying open borders with quarantine, and make it 14 days, and prioritize citizens. Thousands are stranded aboard still.

Closing borders to citizens especially makes no sense, at least have the human decency to give them their sovereign rights to return home.

home quarantine? too risky with these variants. ppl can sneak out and spread it, or even if they stay home there's still the risk of spread to their family, and then in turn the wider community - borders should remain closed but what they should do is expand the number of hotels

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » March 25th, 2021, 11:21 pm

redmanjp wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

home quarantine? too risky with these variants. ppl can sneak out and spread it, or even if they stay home there's still the risk of spread to their family, and then in turn the wider community - borders should remain closed but what they should do is expand the number of hotels

Not home, state, or supervised quarantine. We have so many unused hotels and builds that can be utilized.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 7924 cases, 141 deaths, 207 active, 7576 recovered in T&T

Postby redmanjp » March 26th, 2021, 9:44 am

this is what i said but it has to be managed so that u don't have a situation where thousands come back but there isn't enough room to house them- hence the exemption system- the only thing wrong is the limited number of hotels

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 7924 cases, 141 deaths, 207 active, 7576 recovered in T&T

Postby Habit7 » March 26th, 2021, 10:46 am

It is easy for anybody to be an armchair expert and advocate for something. Only when you are in the seat of responsibility you truly understand the weight of decisions either way. So to advocate for open borders, home quarantine, open bars and whatever else cavalierly, but when the negative aspects come and you are nowhere near to take responsibility, that is what the consequences of leadership are about.

How many ppl in this thread were holding up Jamaica and Barbados as examples to follow? Now not only are they faced with health impact, but their economy is also suffering too.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » March 26th, 2021, 11:57 am

Habit7 wrote:It is easy for anybody to be an armchair expert and advocate for something. Only when you are in the seat of responsibility you truly understand the weight of decisions either way. So to advocate for open borders, home quarantine, open bars and whatever else cavalierly, but when the negative aspects come and you are nowhere near to take responsibility, that is what the consequences of leadership are about.

How many ppl in this thread were holding up Jamaica and Barbados as examples to follow? Now not only are they faced with health impact, but their economy is also suffering too.

Barbados has done very well, right now we're roughly having the same number of daily cases per million as them, while they enjoyed tonnes more freedoms. However, it's the closed border to citizens that irks me.

redmanjp wrote:this is what i said but it has to be managed so that u don't have a situation where thousands come back but there isn't enough room to house them- hence the exemption system- the only thing wrong is the limited number of hotels

This is what PNM would have you think yet for months upon months facilities have been half full and empty.

We not even trying, it's just pure incompetence at this point..

Let me break this down for you sycophants.

Barbados had 8 cases yesterday and did over 1000 tests.

We had 21 yesterday and 38 the day before, testing at 250 tests a day.

Who is doing better right now would you say? It's not hard, I assume you guys passed SEA.

Also, 35 year olds getting vaccinated in Barbados already too.

Postby zoom rader » March 26th, 2021, 12:57 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
Habit7 wrote:It is easy for anybody to be an armchair expert and advocate for something. Only when you are in the seat of responsibility you truly understand the weight of decisions either way. So to advocate for open borders, home quarantine, open bars and whatever else cavalierly, but when the negative aspects come and you are nowhere near to take responsibility, that is what the consequences of leadership are about.

Barbados has done very well, right now we're roughly having the same number of daily cases per million as them, while they enjoyed tonnes more freedoms. However, it's the closed border to citizens that irks me.

redmanjp wrote:this is what i said but it has to be managed so that u don't have a situation where thousands come back but there isn't enough room to house them- hence the exemption system- the only thing wrong is the limited number of hotels

This is what PNM would have you think yet for months upon months facilities have been half full and empty.

We not even trying, it's just pure incompetence at this point..

Let me break this down for you sycophants.

Barbados had 8 cases yesterday and did over 1000 tests.

We had 21 yesterday and 38 the day before, testing at 250 tests a day.

Who is doing better right now would you say? It's not hard, I assume you guys passed SEA.

Also, 35 year olds getting vaccinated in Barbados already too.

Red Government made a total mess from testing to vaccinations

Postby sMASH » March 26th, 2021, 1:15 pm

Imagine having to sit in the seat and making the decisions and doing it wrong. - vision 2030

Postby Habit7 » March 26th, 2021, 1:49 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:

I don't know where you got that 8 new cases Barbados yesterday but lets work it. Our population is 5x the size of Barbados so 8 new cases in Barbados is 40 new cases in TT. Yesterday we had 21. We don't have the same number per capita as them.

Barbados is now decreasing after they had strict lockdowns and curfews. But all businesses closed on Sundays, no gyms opened, all schools closed, no dining at fast food restaurants, no team sports, and other things. I don't know how you can say "they enjoyed tonnes more freedoms"?

Plus they test more because all arrivals have to do rapid testing, which is less reliable but being compared to our PCR testing.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » March 26th, 2021, 2:11 pm

Excuses again Habit7, fact is their borders wide open and we're dangerously close to having a worse outbreak than what they're currently experiencing.

Btw the day they had 8 cases we had 38, that's pretty much level with us.

Testing rate is important the more you test the more you detect. Even in the US that got testing right after some time only detects one in 6 cases.

I've proved to you that overall for the last year we've been far far stricter, so their technique of adjusting fast and hard works. You can't choose the time for the curfew and compare it us now. Gyms have been closed here for months at a time. And bars, lol.

Since the pandemic started they've only been stricter than us for 6 weeks at most.

And you neglected to comment on the fact that my friend in Barbados who's 35 got vaccinated last week.

Postby Habit7 » March 26th, 2021, 2:25 pm

Yes, your graph contradicts you and show currently Barbados stricter than TT. Plus with higher vaccinations and stricter procedures, they still have higher cases and deaths per capita than us. And their economy suffering more. Unlike us, they are begging the private sector to help buy vaccines.

Postby K74T » March 26th, 2021, 2:27 pm

FB_IMG_1616783200330.jpeg

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » March 26th, 2021, 2:42 pm

I wonder what that press conference is going to be about tomorrow? Probably about the rising cases recently and to ask people to be more careful out there, wear their masks, sanitize etc...

Postby aaron17 » March 26th, 2021, 3:21 pm

Easter weekend stuff

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » March 26th, 2021, 3:32 pm

Habit7 wrote:Yes, your graph contradicts you and show currently Barbados stricter than TT. Plus with higher vaccinations and stricter procedures, they still have higher cases and deaths per capita than us. And their economy suffering more. Unlike us, they are begging the private sector to help buy vaccines.

Oh lord, you are daft, restaurants, bars, lots of Tobago's tourism industry, small businesses etc are suffering badly in T&T. Not so bad in Barbados dude.

And it seems graphs confuse you, but it's only recently they are more restricted than us. For most of 2020 we couldn't even go beach.

They have higher deaths per million for sure, but let's be real, by the time this is all over we'd probably both be at similar rates.

Except T&T's poor governance and treatment of its own citizens will not be forgotten. I honestly can't see how you support locking out people for more than a year.

A guy I recently spoke to worked all his life in T&T most of his kids are there, yet he's stuck outside living with his sister despite applying dozens of times to come back home. He hasn't even met his first grandchild yet.

Devourment

Postby Devourment » March 26th, 2021, 4:09 pm

15 new cases todays.

Last edited by Devourment on March 26th, 2021, 4:16 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Devourment

Postby Devourment » March 26th, 2021, 4:14 pm

Habit7 wrote:Yes, your graph contradicts you and show currently Barbados stricter than TT. Plus with higher vaccinations and stricter procedures, they still have higher cases and deaths per capita than us. And their economy suffering more. Unlike us, they are begging the private sector to help buy vaccines.

Actually no, his graph fully supports his argument.

Barbados has recently adopted stricter measures to stem the cases. They are managing the situation very well quite frankly. We aren't doing too badly, but if your argument is that Barbados is stricter than us then you look back in time and realize that 90% of the time Trinidad was stricter.

What Barbados has achieved is nothing short of spectacular where they've managed to keep open borders to tourists, not have an overly long quarantine time when they come in, allowing parties, bars, restaurants, and beaches to be fully open. And they did this all the while controlling and stopping two high growth phases in it's tracks.

This achievement requires good crisis management skills, active testing, responsible government agencies, and a population willing to work toward a common goal.

In years to come, countries like New Zealand, Iceland, Taiwan, and Barbados would be exemplary countries that had attitude active leadership who respected citizens' rights and rights to earn a living.

Countries like Trinidad will be associated with authoritarian governments that used this opportunity to limit citizens' freedoms and killing the private sector.

Postby redmanjp » March 26th, 2021, 4:29 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:

A guy I recently spoke to worked all his life in T&T most of his kids are there, yet he's stuck outside living with his sister despite applying dozens of times to come back home. He hasn't even met his first grandchild yet.

did he live outside before the borders closed?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » March 26th, 2021, 4:47 pm

redmanjp wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

did he live outside before the borders closed?

He has never lived outside of Trini. He literally worked 30 years plus at a state owned company. However, he left after the borders were closed , in June last year for a medical procedure. He expected he'd be back in August or September latest.

What surprises me though is that he is well known former VP of a government state company. But he said he isn't going to use any back channels to get back in, he told me wants to try a the official channels and let them prioritize it.

He said he tried at least a dozen times since persons on the trinis stranded abroad Facebook group told him too.

Nada yet. And this guy is massively respected in the corporate world of T&T. He's a guy who wants to give back to Trinidad but is being kept out.