COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 7924 cases, 141 deaths, 207 active, 7576 recovered in T&T

Postby MaxPower » March 27th, 2021, 10:31 am

timelapse wrote:My dad getting a 3 month stint in Jamaica from Monday.at least he will be closer to home now.Still nothing on the exemption from these snails.

Hello timelapse,

I will be heading to the church today.

I will say a prayer for him.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 7924 cases, 141 deaths, 207 active, 7576 recovered in T&T

Postby Strugglerzinc » March 27th, 2021, 10:33 am

killercow wrote:
timelapse wrote:^Not a damn thing.one set if fancy speech saying absolutely nothing at all
But you have expectations. I not even anticipating fancy speech. Just wasting ppl time telling them things they heard already. Nothing new here.

He is going to pat himself on the back about the Chinese vaccines that they could all of a sudden accept before WHO approval and blast all the conglomerates who wanted to scheme the GORTT out of USD when every supplier in the world is more than happy to accept TTD.

Postby sMASH » March 27th, 2021, 10:47 am

it had a bump/spike yes, it dont have enough of a bump/spike to lock down or restrict more activities. only to say, to hold of on relaxing any measures. i heard they want more school children to go back to school, well postpone dat till the bump dips down. just a month or so.

Postby Habit7 » March 27th, 2021, 11:22 am

Dohplaydat wrote:Also, Habit7, why do you not acknowledge there have been people stuck outside awaiting exemptions for almost a year now?

This is why I don't like argument by anecdote. I don't have to acknowledge or deny anything. The number of the applicants for exemptions is stated and the number of those granted is stated. Also the daily number of those in quarantine from travel is a stated. These are facts independent of both of us.

We are in a pandemic and we are all inconvenienced. Countries like TT, Australia, NZ and some Pacific islands maintain closed borders with exceptions. Others like Jamaica, Barbados, St Lucia and St Vincent have open borders with the resultant covid spikes and therefore have to restrict business. Countries like Sweden have little to no restrictions and have much higher death rates.

Nobody is living like normal, any choice we make there will be a chorus complaining. Just adapt and stop whining.
Habit7 wrote:Yes, your graph contradicts you and show currently Barbados stricter than TT. Plus with higher vaccinations and stricter procedures, they still have higher cases and deaths per capita than us. And their economy suffering more. Unlike us, they are begging the private sector to help buy vaccines.

I'm trying to imagine you typing this sheit with a straight face, when literally we were begging Ansa McAl to finance our purchase of vaccines. Then again you're a known liar and sycophant when it comes to every single thing LFD RFD PNM, so your lying, sycophantic face was probably quite normal :roll:

You are continuing with your hubris and lack of information.

It is false to say that GoRTT begged or requested anybody to buy vaccines. Ansa made an unsolicited proposal for paying for an order of Pfizer vaccines and wanted a tax credit for it. They then tried to interpret a general email given to 46 entities as affirmation of their proposal. It does not work so and they know that.

GoRTT would have to put out a request for proposal and notify Ansa that their proposal has been awarded. Nothing close to that happened.

Ansa just used their media houses to create bacchanal to force the govt into their position and fool gullible and uninformed persons like yourself.

Hence you will erroneously say, "literally we were begging Ansa McAl to finance our purchase of vaccines."

Postby De Dragon » March 27th, 2021, 11:47 am

Habit7 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:Also, Habit7, why do you not acknowledge there have been people stuck outside awaiting exemptions for almost a year now?

This is why I don't like argument by anecdote. I don't have to acknowledge or deny anything. The number of the applicants for exemptions is stated and the number of those granted is stated. Also the daily number of those in quarantine from travel is a stated. These are facts independent of both of us.

We are in a pandemic and we are all inconvenienced. Countries like TT, Australia, NZ and some Pacific islands maintain closed borders with exceptions. Others like Jamaica, Barbados, St Lucia and St Vincent have open borders with the resultant covid spikes and therefore have to restrict business. Countries like Sweden have little to no restrictions and have much higher death rates.

Nobody is living like normal, any choice we make there will be a chorus complaining. Just adapt and stop whining.
Habit7 wrote:Yes, your graph contradicts you and show currently Barbados stricter than TT. Plus with higher vaccinations and stricter procedures, they still have higher cases and deaths per capita than us. And their economy suffering more. Unlike us, they are begging the private sector to help buy vaccines.

I'm trying to imagine you typing this sheit with a straight face, when literally we were begging Ansa McAl to finance our purchase of vaccines. Then again you're a known liar and sycophant when it comes to every single thing LFD RFD PNM, so your lying, sycophantic face was probably quite normal :roll:

You are continuing with your hubris and lack of information.

It is false to say that GoRTT begged or requested anybody to buy vaccines. Ansa made an unsolicited proposal for paying for an order of Pfizer vaccines and wanted a tax credit for it. They then tried to interpret a general email given to 46 entities as affirmation of their proposal. It does not work so and they know that.

GoRTT would have to put out a request for proposal and notify Ansa that their proposal has been awarded. Nothing close to that happened.

Ansa just used their media houses to create bacchanal to force the govt into their position and fool gullible and uninformed persons like yourself.

Hence you will erroneously say, "literally we were begging Ansa McAl to finance our purchase of vaccines."

Again with the straight face while lying through sycophantic LFD RFD PNM jizz stained teeth :lol: :lol:

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » March 27th, 2021, 3:20 pm

Habit7,

Almost the whole world has open borders, these are the only right now whoa are closed to international visitors.

CleanShot 2021-03-27 at 3.23.21@2x.png

Australia doesn't have a secretive exception process, they just have a capacity problem, but it's a first come first serve basis. Kinda stupid, but right-wing governments are usually don't give a crap about human rights.

Those pacific islands you speak of have tiny populations and guess what, most don't have covid-19 at all. They kept it out and that's why they continue to keep themselves covid free. Also, literally, all of them repatriated all citizens since the middle of last year.

We have students, grandparents, sick people, UWI lecturers, people who've worked all their lives in Trini stuck aboard. Meantime, Rowley, daughter can come and go as she pleases.

Just out of curiosity I wanted to see using Oxford's data, what countries locked international borders the longest.

6th worst in the world, but all above us with the exception of Aus, citizens have no issues returning home. You proud of this sheit?
CleanShot 2021-03-27 at 3.18.14@2x.png
Last edited by Dohplaydat on March 27th, 2021, 3:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby K74T » March 27th, 2021, 3:21 pm

PM more or less giving a general warning for the upcoming Easter weekend, no changes to the current measures.

Postby teems1 » March 27th, 2021, 3:31 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:Habit7,

Almost the whole world has open borders, these are the only right now whoa are closed to international visitors.

Australia doesn't have a secretive exception process, they just have a capacity problem, but it's a first come first serve basis. Kinda stupid, but right-wing governments are usually don't give a crap about human rights.

Those pacific islands you speak of have tiny populations and guess what, most don't have covid-19 at all. They kept it out and that's why they continue to keep themselves covid free. Also, literally, all of them repatriated all citizens since the middle of last year.

We have students, grandparents, sick people, UWI lecturers, people who've worked all their lives in Trini stuck aboard. Meantime, Rowley, daughter can come and go as she pleases.

Just out of curiosity I wanted to see using Oxford's data, what countries locked international borders the longest.

6th worst in the world, but all above us with the exception of Aus, citizens have no issues returning home. You proud of this sheit?

You think government wanted to close the borders? This ruins the airline industry.

They're doing it because they had to.

There would have been countless unemployed/evicted Trinis returning from the US who would have come home with Covid.

Also the fact that Trinis can't be trusted to self quarantine is why this is done.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » March 27th, 2021, 3:38 pm

teems1 wrote:

You think government wanted to close the borders? This ruins the airline industry.

There would have been countless unemployed/evicted Trinis returning from the US who would have come home with Covid.

Also the fact that Trinis can't be trusted to self quarantine is why this is done.

Sigh......are you people retarded?

All I want is for us to allow citizens to return, with a mother f*cking 14-day state-supervised quarantine.

Look at South Korea, 51M people, one of the first places to have a quarantine for travelers and they have a lower death rate than us.

But carry on with allyuh brainless assumptions that thinking locking out citizens saving lives, if anything it's killing more people who need to leave and return for medical treatment.

Postby De Dragon » March 27th, 2021, 3:54 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
teems1 wrote:

All I want is for us to allow citizens to return, with a mother f*cking 14-day state-supervised quarantine.

Look at South Korea, 51M people, one of the first places to have a quarantine for travelers and they have a lower death rate than us.

But carry on with allyuh brainless assumptions that thinking locking out citizens saving lives, if anything it's killing more people who need to leave and return for medical treatment.

JUHN Scarfy and Goebbels have used the border closure propaganda to misdirect people away from abysmal test, quarantine and now vaccine numbers.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » March 27th, 2021, 4:16 pm

15 new cases
1 new death

2 weeks ago we had 4 patients in the hospital, today we have 13.

Postby K74T » March 27th, 2021, 4:33 pm

Key Points From the Press Conference Hosted By Prime Minister Dr. Keith Rowley – Saturday 27th March 2021

- Minister of Health, Terrence Deyalsingh, announced that if all goes as planned, the 33,000 Covid-19 Vaccine Doses from the COVAX Facility are scheduled to arrive in T&T on Tuesday March 30th at 6:10 PM.

- Minister Deyalsingh also indicated that over the Easter weekend the doses will be distributed to 21 sites across the country with 3000 doses designated for Tobago. The Health Minister went on to announce that the national vaccination roll out is set to start on Tuesday April 6th.

- The Health Minister reiterated that the first priority for this tranche of vaccines are health workers and people over 60 years old with Non-Communicable Diseases. The Minister indicated that persons over 60 with NCDs in the public healthcare system will receive their vaccines on their clinic days while persons in that category outside of the public healthcare system will be able to receive vaccines on non-clinic days by appointment.

- Minister Deyalsingh concluded by stating that those receiving vaccines are asked to walk with their vaccination cards so that receipt of the dose will be recorded on it along with the date for their 2nd dose.

- Prime Minister Dr. Keith Rowley appealed to the population to not get tired of the Covid-19 regulations and begin to flout them, he reiterated that we are NOT in a post pandemic period. The Prime Minister issued a warning to persons that would have received Covid-19 support cheques from the Government that there are no more resources available to hand out more cheques should things take a turn for the worse.

-The Prime Minister announced that if the numbers remain good after the Easter period, senior primary school students will be able to return to face to face classes.

- Prime Minister Rowley issued a call to the Trinidad and Tobago Police Service to enforce the Covid-19 regulations with enthusiasm for those bent on ignoring the restrictions on gatherings and mandatory mask wearing.

- Dr. Rowley firmly stated that there is no CARICOM country that has been able to buy vaccines, the product is NOT available for commercial trade. The Prime Minister went on to say that if persons offering the Government vaccines can not say for sure what the source is, the Government will not be entertaining these parties. He concluded his point by indicating that the Government is only dealing with authorised and certified support.

Postby adnj » March 27th, 2021, 4:45 pm

K74T wrote:Key Points From the Press Conference Hosted By Prime Minister Dr. Keith Rowley – Saturday 27th March 2021

- Minister of Health, Terrence Deyalsingh, announced that if all goes as planned, the 33,000 Covid-19 Vaccine Doses from the COVAX Facility are scheduled to arrive in T&T on Tuesday March 30th at 6:10 PM.

- Minister Deyalsingh also indicated that over the Easter weekend the doses will be distributed to 21 sites across the country with 3000 doses designated for Tobago. The Health Minister went on to announce that the national vaccination roll out is set to start on Tuesday April 6th.

- The Health Minister reiterated that the first priority for this tranche of vaccines are health workers and people over 60 years old with Non-Communicable Diseases. The Minister indicated that persons over 60 with NCDs in the public healthcare system will receive their vaccines on their clinic days while persons in that category outside of the public healthcare system will be able to receive vaccines on non-clinic days by appointment.

- Minister Deyalsingh concluded by stating that those receiving vaccines are asked to walk with their vaccination cards so that receipt of the dose will be recorded on it along with the date for their 2nd dose.

- Prime Minister Dr. Keith Rowley appealed to the population to not get tired of the Covid-19 regulations and begin to flout them, he reiterated that we are NOT in a post pandemic period. The Prime Minister issued a warning to persons that would have received Covid-19 support cheques from the Government that there are no more resources available to hand out more cheques should things take a turn for the worse.

-The Prime Minister announced that if the numbers remain good after the Easter period, senior primary school students will be able to return to face to face classes.

- Prime Minister Rowley issued a call to the Trinidad and Tobago Police Service to enforce the Covid-19 regulations with enthusiasm for those bent on ignoring the restrictions on gatherings and mandatory mask wearing.

- Dr. Rowley firmly stated that there is no CARICOM country that has been able to buy vaccines, the product is NOT available for commercial trade. The Prime Minister went on to say that if persons offering the Government vaccines can not say for sure what the source is, the Government will not be entertaining these parties. He concluded his point by indicating that the Government is only dealing with authorised and certified support.
Thanks for the update.

Postby paid_influencer » March 27th, 2021, 4:57 pm

who was the cyant that was talking about being "in a post pandemic period"? Kamla again?

Postby teems1 » March 27th, 2021, 5:03 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
teems1 wrote:

We do not have the resources for a state supervised quarantine of everyone who wants to come back.

End of story. If there is the inability to have that, then any sort of open border is out the question.

Trinis cannot be trusted to self quarantine. South Koreans can.

Trinis brought the locked borders upon themselves.

Postby sMASH » March 27th, 2021, 5:30 pm

we still have home quarantine. so might as well let the ones with negative tests quarantine home. put alexander to supervise them, he know how to impose covid rules.

Postby Habit7 » March 27th, 2021, 5:30 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
Name one single country that has locked out citizens for over a year.

There are none.

I see that as you are informing yourself with fact you are refuting yourself and coming closer to agreeing with me.

I think by next month you will be parroting me.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » March 27th, 2021, 5:31 pm

Habit7 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
Name one single country that has locked out citizens for over a year.

There are none.

I see that as you are informing yourself with fact you are refuting yourself and coming closer to agreeing with me.

I think by next month you will be parroting me.

LOL none have done so, wham you cyah read?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » March 27th, 2021, 5:32 pm

teems1 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
teems1 wrote:

We do not have the resources for a state supervised quarantine of everyone who wants to come back.

End of story. If there is the inability to have that, then any sort of open border is out the question.

Trinis cannot be trusted to self quarantine. South Koreans can.

Trinis brought the locked borders upon themselves.

If you actually believe that I have a bridge to sell you. Someone posted the charts earlier to show for most of 2020 state quarantines were half full.

If tiny ass islands can do it for more persons, then what happen to rich trinidad?

Postby goalpost » March 27th, 2021, 5:59 pm

We are one of 14/15 countries in the world with closed borders. And ppl saying its for the best, that we cannot be trusted. Bullsheit, we camnot be that terrible. We cannot be one of the most untrustworthy countries in the world. We are doing quite well, actually.

Postby De Dragon » March 27th, 2021, 6:02 pm

adnj wrote:
K74T wrote:Key Points From the Press Conference Hosted By Prime Minister Dr. Keith Rowley – Saturday 27th March 2021

Thanks for the update.

Rich from the dumbarse who wanted a personal invitation to free vaccines from the Indian H.C. :roll: Now we have none save for 1/4 of the ones we allegedly pre-paid for. How the fack everything for this moron is "hold strain"?

Postby pugboy » March 27th, 2021, 7:33 pm

I aint go lie the passion with which ppl does defend stuff here, I hope getting paid a stipend.

Postby teems1 » March 27th, 2021, 8:53 pm

goalpost wrote:We are one of 14/15 countries in the world with closed borders. And ppl saying its for the best, that we cannot be trusted. Bullsheit, we camnot be that terrible. We cannot be one of the most untrustworthy countries in the world. We are doing quite well, actually.

You have to look at the country with respect to the nationals who would be coming in.

Trinidad has 400k passport holders living abroad. 250k+ of those are in the US. The US has not handled the pandemic well under Trump, and had huge numbers throughout the past year, especially in the states where many Trinis live (NY and FL).

It's not like we have 250k returning citizens from New Zealand or Vietnam who controlled the pandemic.

It will be loads of unemployed and evicted service industry workers from the US heading back to Trinidad until things normalize in the US with many bringing the virus.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » March 27th, 2021, 9:09 pm

teems1 wrote:
goalpost wrote:We are one of 14/15 countries in the world with closed borders. And ppl saying its for the best, that we cannot be trusted. Bullsheit, we camnot be that terrible. We cannot be one of the most untrustworthy countries in the world. We are doing quite well, actually.

You have to look at the country with respect to the nationals who would be coming in.

Trinidad has 400k passport holders living abroad. 250k+ of those are in the US. The US has not handled the pandemic well under Trump, and had huge numbers throughout the past year, especially in the states where many Trinis live (NY and FL).

It's not like we have 250k returning citizens from New Zealand or Vietnam who controlled the pandemic.

It will be loads of unemployed and evicted service industry workers from the US heading back to Trinidad until things normalize in the US with many bringing the virus.

Dude are you that dumb? Your own minister said it's roughly 3000-5000 applied to come down and awaiting exceptions.

I don't know why people talking about this figure of of 250k returning citizens. Hoss these people don't want to come back.

Also, Guyana has 700k Guyanese living outside, their borders, did 700k go back to Guyana and spread Covid?

Postby teems1 » March 27th, 2021, 9:42 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
teems1 wrote:

Dude are you that dumb? Your own minister said it's roughly 3000-5000 applied to come down and awaiting exceptions.

I don't know why people talking about this figure of of 250k returning citizens. Hoss these people don't want to come back.

Also, Guyana has 700k Guyanese living outside, their borders, did 700k go back to Guyana and spread Covid?

So if the borders were open only 3000-5000 would have come home? You have a crystal ball to show that?

The fact remains that the risk was not worth overwhelming the health sector.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » March 27th, 2021, 9:56 pm

Uh yea because that's how many pending exemptions remain.

There is very very little risk, everything involves some risk, and we are at far far greater risk from Covid by having venes coming in illegally.

But say what PNM knows best

Postby redmanjp » March 27th, 2021, 10:31 pm

glad to hear that ppl outside the public health system can still get an appointment.

but all the talk about vaccine - after a whole year don't they have better treatments? ivermectin, Vit.D, monoclonal antibodies?
Last edited by redmanjp on March 27th, 2021, 11:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Gladiator » March 27th, 2021, 11:10 pm

A co worker of mine left Trinidad willingly last December to spent Christmas with his family in the US. He got exemption, returned, quarantined and is back to work as of Feb.

What really going on ???

Postby redmanjp » March 27th, 2021, 11:27 pm

cases have increased for an average of 3 at the beginning of March to an average of 17 now at the end of Match, almost 6 times higher. At this rate, if ppl continue not to be compliant, by the end of April we will have almost 100 cases per day.

Postby adnj » March 28th, 2021, 5:00 am

pugboy wrote:I aint go lie the passion with which ppl does defend stuff here, I hope getting paid a stipend.
Free WiFi at St. Anne's and patients with smartphones.