The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

Swisha

Postby Swisha » June 23rd, 2009, 11:05 pm

Wolfie wrote:Yep having some issues here, still investigating.

mitch wrote:any 3G users having battery issues after unlocking with ultrasn0w?

some suggestions were to try a full discharge and recharge

or turn off 3G, edge, push and location services and reboot

Wolfie

Postby Wolfie » June 23rd, 2009, 11:10 pm

It's the email sync causing it.

I just disabled my IMAP account and it's running and charging fine now. Before it was overheating and eating up battery. As far as i know Apple is aware of the problem but they're still collecting information about it, therefore a patch may take a while.

I've also turned off PUSH for all apps and well don't run loc serv unless i need gps. Wifi is always on tho.

If it's happening on your 3G, try to delete your email account and add it again or just disable it for now.

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » June 24th, 2009, 8:40 am

Instead of showing digicel in the status bar it shows the number 374130.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » June 24th, 2009, 8:49 am

iSpazio wrote:Our Pagaman1, has discovered that you can enable the display of video and the Video-Editing on the iPhone 3G and EDGE. So technically you can use some functions reserved exclusively all’iPhone 3GS also on our previous models.

Everything you tell in this article (which will be constantly updated) is in exclusive iSpazio. There is only one small problem, or we can no longer take pictures with the camera, which will remain closed. Right now I’m just hacking on some files to try to maintain the video functions without losing the photos.
The screenshot that you find below were made from my iPhone EDGE:
Image Image Image

In short we can offer you a guide, always exclusive iSpazio to try the new features on your iPhone. In the meantime I continue to play with the plist, trying to derive something really useful for all before writing the guide. Stay Tuned!

(Translated via Google Translate)

References to a new model of the iPod touch have been found in OS 3.0 by iPodTouchFans member, kewlgreen.

I was just looking around in SSH on my iPod Touch 2G Firmware 3.0 and i found the BlueTool init script for the iPod touch 3,1:

Found in: "/etc/bluetool/"
BCM4325D0_004.001.007.0153.0155_N72_032609.hcd
BCM4329B1_002.002.023.0015.0016_Olympic_021809_37. 4MHz.hcd
iPhone1,1.boot.script
iPhone1,1.deepsleep.script
iPhone1,1.init.script
iPod2,1.boot.script
iPod2,1.deepsleep.script
iPod2,1.init.script
iPod3,1.boot.script
iPod3,1.deepsleep.script
iPod3,1.init.script
pcm-example.script

These references point to the use of the Broadcom BCM4329 chip...

The Broadcom BCM4329 integrates a complete IEEE 802.11 a/b/g/n system (MAC/baseband/radio) with Bluetooth® 2.1 + EDR (Enhanced Data Rate), and FM radio receiver and transmitter. By combining several proven wireless technologies onto a single silicon die, the BCM4329 enables mobile devices to support today's toughest media applications -- without impacting device size or battery life.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » June 24th, 2009, 9:29 am

more iPhone competition...does HTC have a Hero?

<embed src="http://www.viddler.com/player/f7c26a0b/" width="437" height="288" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowScriptAccess="always" allowFullScreen="true" name="viddler_f7c26a0b"></embed>

must say this looks impressive. Android is maturing nicely

zcrugby

Postby zcrugby » June 24th, 2009, 10:43 am

this is on my iphone 3g

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » June 24th, 2009, 11:10 am

ive got a problem, Instead of showing digicel in the status bar it shows the number 374130.

zscrugby, im looking for a digicel logo like your bmobile one where can i get that?

zcrugby

Postby zcrugby » June 24th, 2009, 11:13 am

check the digicel carrier settings in cydia.. if not i can make one for u

SRASC

Postby SRASC » June 24th, 2009, 11:22 am

ZeroOne wrote:ive got a problem, Instead of showing digicel in the status bar it shows the number 374130.

zscrugby, im looking for a digicel logo like your bmobile one where can i get that?

This shows how to input the logo into your iPhone. Also this was talked about earlier in this thread. Unfortunately it seems the Digicel carrier logos made are not up at this time.
As strange as it sounds, I've found out that it (Digicel carrier logos) does not show up on Google Chrome but does on Mozilla Firefox. So if you have that you should be able to go the link on this thread & follow the instructions to put the Digicel carrier logo on your iPhone.

sexyicon

Postby sexyicon » June 24th, 2009, 11:40 am

Does the AppleCare Protection Plan apply to people in Trinidad ? Has anyone had any experience with it ?

Limerboy

Postby Limerboy » June 24th, 2009, 12:01 pm

i trying to connect to the App store but they say i need a User Id. I find out how to make an account there for free but i have not received any activation email yet. Anybody could tell me what i doing wrong?

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » June 24th, 2009, 12:17 pm

zscrugby how u get the batt percentage and the MB log???

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » June 24th, 2009, 1:01 pm

zscrugby, the digicel carrier bundle from cydia replaced the number in the statusbar with "digicel" so that worked. But when you go to settings/carrier it shows the number and not digicel.

SRASC, the Digicel carrier logos doesnt show in firefox or opera in that thread link is down.

streetlifestyle, he installed sbsettings from cydia

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » June 24th, 2009, 1:12 pm

thx

zcrugby

Postby zcrugby » June 24th, 2009, 1:16 pm

battery percentage is in supreme settings an mb log is sbsettings

SRASC

Postby SRASC » June 24th, 2009, 1:33 pm

streetlifestyle wrote:zscrugby how u get the batt percentage and the MB log???

the battery percentage comes from Supreme Settings and the MB comes from SBSettings.

zcrugby

Postby zcrugby » June 24th, 2009, 1:39 pm

u wud swear i didnt now say d exact same ting eh

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » June 24th, 2009, 1:43 pm

sbsettings can show battery percentage too

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » June 24th, 2009, 1:45 pm

SRASC

Postby SRASC » June 24th, 2009, 4:50 pm

Apple's component and manufacturing costs for its new 16GB iPhone 3G S falls within $5 of those required to build last year's 8GB iPhone 3G, this despite a doubling of the handset's built-in storage capacity and the addition of several new components, according to a new tear-down cost analysis.

Market research firm iSuppli, which specializes in dismantling new electronic gadgets to identify their key components and assembly costs, estimates Apple's bill of materials (or BOM) on the 16GB iPhone to be $172.46 with a manufacturing expense of $6.50, for a total of $178.96.

The assessment is slightly higher than the firm's estimate of $174.33 to manufacture the original 8Gbyte iPhone 3G based on pricing in July 2008 when that handset first hit the market. These estimates do not include other charges, such as the costs to develop the iPhone's software, shipping and distribution, packaging, royalty fees and miscellaneous accessories included with each iPhone.

It's also important to note that while Apple's wireless partners offers the 16GB iPhone 3G S for as little as $199 with two-year service agreements, the actual price of the phone paid by those providers is considerably higher, reflecting a common practice amongst carriers to subsidize the upfront cost of a new phones for consumers and then profit off high-margin service subscriptions.

"From a component and design perspective, there’s also a great deal of similarity between the 3G and the 3G S," said Andrew Rassweiler, director and principal analyst, teardown services, for iSuppli. "By leveraging this commonality to optimize materials costs, and taking advantage of price erosion in the electronic component marketplace, Apple can provide a higher-performing product with more memory and features at only a slightly higher materials and manufacturing cost."

Still, the firm was able to identify a few key differences in component selection of the iPhone 3G S compared to the iPhone 3G introduced a year ago. For starters, it sports a new $5.95 single-chip Bluetooth/FM/WLAN device from Broadcom, first identified by AppleInsider back in April as the BCM4329. This combo chip takes the place of two separate chips required to perform the same functions in the iPhone 3G -- a Marvell WLAN chip and a Cambridge Silicon Radio Bluetooth integrated circuit -- signaling another industry trend by which device makers are moving to higher levels of integration and simultaneously reducing the footprint of their devices by sandwiching many functions into more compact multi-function chipsets.

Also new to the iPhone 3G is an azimuth sensor from AKM Semiconductor, which was also first identified by AppleInsider in May as the AK8973, a 16-pin leadless IC package measuring 4mm square and 0.7mm thick. When paired with STMicroelectronics’ accelerometer, which is a 3-axis device like the AK8973, the parts facilitate the iPhone's new digital compass feature. More specifically, the STMicroelectronics part allows the 3G S to determine device orientation or inclination, while the AKM sensor detects device movement relative to magnetic north, supporting the 3G S’s capability to reorient a map displayed on the screen to correspond with the direction the user is facing.

Also making its debut in the iPhone line is Dialog Semiconductor's $1.30 power management IC serving the 3G S’s Samsung applications processor, which replaces a corresponding NXP Semiconductors device in last year's iPhone 3G, according to iSuppli.

Meanwhile, the firm notes that although there was wide-spread speculation that Qualcomm might displace Infineon as the supplier of the iPhone's critical baseband chip, Infineon was able to hold onto its seat and is currently supplying Apple with its PMB8878 chip, which accounts for $13 of the 3G S's total component costs. Similarly, TriQuint has reportedly kept its slot as the 3G power amplifier module supplier, supporting the tri-band HSPA functionality of the phone.

Generally speaking, Toshiba is believed to have scored the biggest single design win in the 3G S that iSuppli tore down, with its 16Gbyte Multilevel-Cell (MLC) NAND flash costing $24. However, Apple has long-term supply agreements with at least four other major flash memory suppliers who, including Hynix, Intel, Micron, and Samsung Electronics. Of these, Samsung has most likely been chosen to supply identical parts for a percentage of the iPhone 3G Ss that will be manufactured, as Apple has long sourced its iPhone flash memory from multiple suppliers.

Speaking of Samsung, the South Korean electronics maker also maintained its seat as iPhone’s primary SoC supplier, as numerous reports have previously confirmed. Priced at $14.46, the applications processor is the fourth most costly component in the iPhone 3G S after the NAND flash, the display module and the touch-screen assembly. It runs at 600MHz compared to the 400MHz version in the iPhone 3G.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » June 24th, 2009, 6:02 pm

what's bmobile MMS settings again?

Amit

Postby Amit » June 24th, 2009, 9:27 pm

help needed asasp, iphone 3g went to restore mode . pm contact

sexyicon

Postby sexyicon » June 25th, 2009, 9:52 am

*Quoted from a post on the Dev Teams Blog from BigBoss site

For all those having signal issues and battery issues, I found this on BigBoss' site:

Update 3 (6/24/09 6PM EST): I was still having a plethora of problems with my jailbroken 3.0 phone on T-mobile. The battery drainage was above the roof, it would lose a percentage every minute or so - basically draining the battery within two hours. I did everything to try to diagnose the problem, and it seemed that a full restore did the trick. So many problems seem to originate from restoring your old phone backup, ESPECIALLY if it was jailbroken before. If you are having any troubles, whether poor battery life, unstable connection, etc; I suggest doing a full restore and setting it up as a new phone.

Another problem some users faced is the unstable T-mobile signal with ultrasn0w, which seemed to originate from MMS settings in conjunction with a backup restore.

So here is what I’ve learned over the past few days about 3.0, jailbreaking, and unlocking:

* Push is broken if you hacktivated your phone (2G or 3G)
* To get push working on your iPhone 3G, you must activate with any AT&T Sim
* No known push fix for the iPhone 2G
* In many cases, restoring your old iTunes iPhone backup will cause problems - especially if the backup was made from jailbroken phones
* Old 2.x backups seem to cause some or all of the following: Poor battery life, unstable ultrasn0w connection, and unable to launch apps
* Apple is a beyotch
Last edited by sexyicon on June 25th, 2009, 9:58 am, edited 1 time in total.

iphone

Postby iphone » June 25th, 2009, 9:56 am

R. Mutt
Location: on the side of the road maptracing and reflashing the ecu

Postby R. Mutt » June 25th, 2009, 11:12 am

Guys I will be moving to Canada soon and buying a 3GS. I currently have a 2G iphone, live in NY and my contract is up for renewal. Because I'm moving to Canada I can cancel my contract without paying the penalty. That said, I can buy a 3GS here in NY and then buy another when I move to Canada.

If anyone is interested in getting a 3GS we can work out a deal so you get a brand spanking new iphone 16GB - 300USD+tax 32GB - 400USD+tax PM and we can discuss the details if you are serious.

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » June 25th, 2009, 11:20 am

Yeah iphone.... factory unlocked...

Mutt yuh iz a boss!!

R. Mutt

Postby R. Mutt » June 25th, 2009, 11:22 am

nah the phone will be locked to AT&T...the buyer you won't be able to use the phone until purplera1n comes out.

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » June 25th, 2009, 11:50 am

^^^^^^^^u know yuh stuff man.....

Sony P910i

Postby Sony P910i » June 25th, 2009, 12:00 pm

Glad to see they making progress on the 3GS

R. Mutt

Postby R. Mutt » June 25th, 2009, 12:24 pm

Allya men thirst yes! :lol: :lol: :lol: Pms like whoa. I can only buy 1...so first come first serve. Cash is king...first to organize funds will take her home.