The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

Re: The | Apple Inc.  | Thread

Postby noshownogo » January 10th, 2014, 7:43 am

:rofl: Siri may challenge for Mod of the year when all is said and done.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » January 10th, 2014, 8:31 am

pete wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Well I use Siri for taking quick notes

Even with the phone locked, just say "Take a note" and then call out what you want the note to say.
it saves it as text in the notes app so it is searchable after.
Are scribbles searchable?

And I can take notes in the car while driving without having to even look at the phone.

so if the phone is in your pocket how loud would one have to say that to record random stupidness on your phone?

Are you serious? :|

Postby pioneer » January 10th, 2014, 9:19 am

pete showin off cuz he could strap his phone on his shoulder like a purse

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » January 10th, 2014, 9:50 am

Dem windows 8/8.1 feels

http://www.macrumors.com/2014/01/09/gar ... tatistics/

U.S. Mac Sales Grow 28.5% in Holiday Quarter, PC Market Suffers Worst Decline Eve

Apple saw its U.S. PC marketshare rise from 9.9 percent to 13.7 percent in the holiday quarter year-over-year, according to data just released from Gartner. The 28.5 percent rise shows a substantial increase in Mac sales, largely at the expense of HP and Toshiba.

Dell and Lenovo are the only other PC firms who saw significant rises in marketshare in the quarter.

In the U.S., PC shipments totaled 15.8 million units in the fourth quarter of 2013, a 7.5 percent decline from the fourth quarter of 2012 (see Table 2). Despite a 10.3 percent decline in shipments, HP continued to be the No. 1 vendor in the U.S., as it accounted for 26.5 percent of shipments.

"Holiday sales of technology products were strong in the U.S. market, but consumer spending during the holidays did not come back to PCs as tablets were one of the hottest holiday items," said Ms. Kitagawa. "We think that the U.S. PC market has bottomed out. A variety of new form factors, such as hybrid notebooks, drew holiday shoppers' attention, but the market size was very small at the time. Lowering the price point of thin and light products started encouraging the PC replacement and potentially some PC growth in 2014."

The U.S. PC market fared slightly worse than the global market, dropping 7.5 percent in unit sales, from 17.07 million units last year to 15.8 million units this year. Continuing a trend from the last several quarters, tablets have continued to eat into PC sales and though hybrid tablet-notebooks have appealed to some shoppers, the market size for those devices remains very small. As a result of the demand for tablets, the overall PC market saw its worst unit decline in history.

It's important to note that this data is preliminary -- last year, Gartner revised its preliminary Apple numbers from 12.3% down to 9.9%, likely because last year the newly introduced iMac was in extremely short supply.

Apple's US PC marketshare has seen consistent growth over the past seven years, rising from just under 5 percent to the current 13.7 percent.

Postby pioneer » January 10th, 2014, 9:57 am

People with iphone 5 problems, are you all by chance using an ipad charger?

Postby pete » January 10th, 2014, 10:25 am

pioneer wrote:pete showin off cuz he could strap his phone on his shoulder like a purse

Nah I stopped using the note a while now. S2 is about the same size as an iphone 5.

casper

Postby casper » January 10th, 2014, 10:51 am

pioneer wrote:People with iphone 5 problems, are you all by chance using an ipad charger?

https://discussions.apple.com/thread/25 ... 0&tstart=0

read this pioneer...there are no issues caused by doing this

PapaC

Postby PapaC » January 10th, 2014, 11:06 am

PapaC wrote:Bloody hell this iPad air screen looks good... Big up RapTor.
Any recommendations on a case for it?

I have one of these used for one day $100

http://www.amazon.com/Fintie-SmartShell ... d+air+case

What was wrong with it that it didn't last a day?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 10th, 2014, 1:07 pm

pete wrote:

Even with the phone locked, just say "Take a note" and then call out what you want the note to say.

And I can take notes in the car while driving without having to even look at the phone.

so if the phone is in your pocket how loud would one have to say that to record random stupidness on your phone?
my car stereo has bluetooth.

it will also work with a headset, wired or wireless.

BTW it is not a recording. It is not a voice note. It is dictation, so it gets written out as text and notes are shared in the notes section of your email account so it is available instantly on your desktop or laptop.

it doesnt only work for notes. I can say "remind me to buy bread" right after talking to my wife and it will add a reminder with the text in your TO DO list. You can even add a time: "remind me to buy bread at 5pm", or a place: "remind me to buy bread when I leave work" and the GPS will check your location when you leave work and give you the text reminder.

Postby pioneer » January 10th, 2014, 1:19 pm

PapaC wrote:

I jus doh like it
Last edited by pioneer on January 10th, 2014, 2:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » January 10th, 2014, 1:33 pm

pete wrote:

my car stereo has bluetooth.

it will also work with a headset, wired or wireless.

BTW it is not a recording. It is not a voice note. It is dictation, so it gets written out as text and notes are shared in the notes section of your email account so it is available instantly on your desktop or laptop.

it doesnt only work for notes. I can say "remind me to buy bread" right after talking to my wife and it will add a reminder with the text in your TO DO list. You can even add a time: "remind me to buy bread at 5pm", or a place: "remind me to buy bread when I leave work" and the GPS will check your location when you leave work and give you the text reminder.

What headunit do you need to take advantage of this via bluetooth in a vehicle?

src1983

Postby src1983 » January 10th, 2014, 1:46 pm

Pioneer App radio 3

eitech

Postby eitech » January 13th, 2014, 6:20 pm

Check out this problem i experiencing: when i get a whatsapp message from a particular contact, it always start with "happy birthday dad": and then the message. See pic.
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1389653306.804098.jpg

I tried uninstalling and reinstalling whatsapp, deleting and re-adding the contact but nothin works. I see his contact name for all other messsaging apps. Any suggestions? 4s on ios7

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 13th, 2014, 6:42 pm

^ I believe he may have put that in on his WhatsApp instead of his name

Postby tr1ad » January 13th, 2014, 6:44 pm

Status change failure ....

Postby pioneer » January 13th, 2014, 6:50 pm

happy birthday dad

Postby K74T » January 13th, 2014, 6:51 pm

So waz de plan for tomorrow dan?

grimreaper009

Postby grimreaper009 » January 16th, 2014, 1:46 pm

PapaC wrote:

Try the otterbox defender

PapaC

Postby PapaC » January 16th, 2014, 2:50 pm

^^i can't buy a device that was engineered to look as good as it is functional and then put all that plastic around it.

Still rock my iPhone 4 nude. Took all this time and I now get a cracked back glass.
Only case I had on it was an elago.

grimreaper009

Postby grimreaper009 » January 16th, 2014, 3:26 pm

i also tried the gumdrop its an okay case fits well but i wont advise it it could of been better built........http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00EYX ... UTF8&psc=1

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » January 16th, 2014, 4:13 pm

thelem wrote:
This iPhone Case Doubles As A Stun Gun And Packs A 650,000-Volt Punch
JILLIAN D'ONFRO
JAN. 15, 2014, 5:52 PM 6,571 4

Business Insider / Jillian D'Onfro

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1389891818.024168.jpg

At first glance, the Yellow Jacket could be just another beefed-up, ultra-protective iPhone case.

But it does far more than safeguard your smartphone from drops or spills: It can protect you from physical attacks.
Inside the Yellow Jacket case is a 650,000-volt stun gun that you can activate by pressing a button on the side of the case.

How much does 650K shock hurt?
Well, a lot.

A 5-second or longer taze could bring a grown man to his knees, though Yellow Jacket says that the case won't cause any lasting damage (just the perfect opportunity to flee if you feel like you're in danger).

Wanna see what it looks like in action?
The Yellow Jacket case transforms from this:
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1389891858.643439.jpg

To this, when activated:
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1389891883.560852.jpg

Ye-owch.

You might not even have to actually stun someone to get him or her to back off, though. Part of the fear-factor of the Yellow Jacket is its sharp, intimidating buzz and the bright blue light it emits. While walking through the CES showroom floor, where we spotted the Yellow Jacket, I was stunned by the ferocious thrumming I heard coming from the company's booth.

Luckily, though, the company makes it difficult to accidentally stun yourself through the seat of your pants. Before the activation switch works, you need to flip off the cover on the metal prongs and flip the safety switch. Quick and easy enough when you're feeling threatened, but unlikely to happen by mistake.

Another neat feature of the Yellow Jacket: The case doubles the charge of your phone and will keep 10% reserve battery for emergencies — meaning you can use the stun gun feature on the case even when it's otherwise "dead."

The company currently sells cases for the iPhone 4 and 4S for $99, with iPhone 5/5S and Samsung Galaxy cases on the way for the spring.

http://www.businessinsider.com/yellow-j ... ase-2014-1

Super interested in getting this. If only stun guns were legal down here in Trinidad.

But then again, what to stop someone from bringing in one through their luggage just to protect themselves from criminals.
Wonder what would happen if I forgot my phone with that case in my swimming trunks and dived into a pool near people :lol: .

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » January 16th, 2014, 7:54 pm

dredman1 wrote:
thelem wrote:
This iPhone Case Doubles As A Stun Gun And Packs A 650,000-Volt Punch
JILLIAN D'ONFRO
JAN. 15, 2014, 5:52 PM 6,571 4

Business Insider / Jillian D'Onfro

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1389891818.024168.jpg

At first glance, the Yellow Jacket could be just another beefed-up, ultra-protective iPhone case.

But it does far more than safeguard your smartphone from drops or spills: It can protect you from physical attacks.
Inside the Yellow Jacket case is a 650,000-volt stun gun that you can activate by pressing a button on the side of the case.

How much does 650K shock hurt?
Well, a lot.

A 5-second or longer taze could bring a grown man to his knees, though Yellow Jacket says that the case won't cause any lasting damage (just the perfect opportunity to flee if you feel like you're in danger).

Wanna see what it looks like in action?
The Yellow Jacket case transforms from this:
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1389891858.643439.jpg

To this, when activated:
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1389891883.560852.jpg

Ye-owch.

You might not even have to actually stun someone to get him or her to back off, though. Part of the fear-factor of the Yellow Jacket is its sharp, intimidating buzz and the bright blue light it emits. While walking through the CES showroom floor, where we spotted the Yellow Jacket, I was stunned by the ferocious thrumming I heard coming from the company's booth.

Luckily, though, the company makes it difficult to accidentally stun yourself through the seat of your pants. Before the activation switch works, you need to flip off the cover on the metal prongs and flip the safety switch. Quick and easy enough when you're feeling threatened, but unlikely to happen by mistake.

Another neat feature of the Yellow Jacket: The case doubles the charge of your phone and will keep 10% reserve battery for emergencies — meaning you can use the stun gun feature on the case even when it's otherwise "dead."

The company currently sells cases for the iPhone 4 and 4S for $99, with iPhone 5/5S and Samsung Galaxy cases on the way for the spring.

http://www.businessinsider.com/yellow-j ... ase-2014-1

Super interested in getting this. If only stun guns were legal down here in Trinidad.

But then again, what to stop someone from bringing in one through their luggage just to protect themselves from criminals.
Wonder what would happen if I forgot my phone with that case in my swimming trunks and dived into a pool near people :lol: .

Nothing lol

richgold1000

Postby richgold1000 » January 18th, 2014, 10:29 pm

How to tell if an iphone is 32 g by opening a new box

richgold1000

Postby richgold1000 » January 19th, 2014, 5:27 am

Will try thanks

richgold1000

Postby richgold1000 » January 19th, 2014, 5:29 am

Import stuff is selling a brand new 4s 32G so I want to make sure it is.

Postby M_2NR » January 19th, 2014, 12:58 pm

When you meet him inform him of our rules on the site that he should apply for a Powerseller status in case he does not check his PM's

richgold1000

Postby richgold1000 » January 19th, 2014, 2:39 pm

Will do

Carbon12

Postby Carbon12 » January 22nd, 2014, 7:03 pm

Hey guys I have an Iphone 5s that is locked to O2 in uk what would be the cost to unlock and anyone can pint me in the right direction?

Postby M_2NR » January 22nd, 2014, 7:09 pm

Carbon12

Postby Carbon12 » January 23rd, 2014, 9:00 pm

Anyone locally? and average cost?