Habit7 wrote:At what point did it cease for Muhammad and his followers to kill in the name of Islam to now where those who kill in name of Islam are "misguided"?.
Sacchetto Boutique wrote:I cant speak for those who chose the violent path. Also... The "FEW" are just that if in comparison, there are..as a GUESS lets say 1 billion Muslims but 1 million are terrorists? and please know that i am NOT condoning terrorism or trying to make it seem minuscule. How do you know the number of muslim terrorists will continue to grow and at what rate? Is it the same as saying crime in Trinidad will continue to grow or the race of criminals will continue to be more afro trinis than any other race?
For many people around the world, not just you, many people hear the word JIHAD and make assumptions..i posted a reply on that as well and im sure its been already forgotten but anyway, they hear Muslim and assume they are terrorists, pedophiles, extremists etc...
You believe just as much propaganda about non-muslims by such an ignorant statement as this
I can only imagine how difficult it must be for america muslims who try to exist in america after 9/11 and most recently the Boston bombings.. and i wonder if it is similar to how africans used to feel before people like martin luther king.
Whose fault is that if people from the muslim community is deemed responsible? You can't compare them to africans, the african never terrorize anyone
You think its easy following islam in a world where most people try to change your mind by ridiculing you and your way of life and u constantly have to defend it? You think its easy when they mock you and laugh at u and make jokes about how u are dressed?
when you, AdamB and others constantly come down on this Christians in this thread aren't you not doing the same?
islam is FULL of rules. I gave up alot bc I believe that islam is the truth..life is so much easier if you dont care too much about halaal/ haram and conducting urself in an islamic way, avoiding parties, music, alcohol etc.
Every time I go to the grocery, I check to see if what Im buying is permissable in islam...u think thats fun? it takes up alot of time but I do it bc I want to follow the religion I believe is correct. I believe that there is so much evil in this world and immorality that following a religion that has alot of rules, makes sense to me.
Other people behave like...that scene from the movie 'the 10 commandments where the people just want to free up and have a good time, well if that is your choice, good for u. Similarily, I think the best schools in trini have the most rules..ever wondered about that?
Lol, so what you just automatically judge someone by saying they want to "free up", where have I said I condone that? There are many who don't condone that behavior, it is not limited to Islam. The best schools have the most rules? Please...........they best schools have the most effective rules there is a huge difference! BTW it depends heavily on the quality of students attending
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I think what mamoo_pagal is saying is that black people were not flying planes into buildings and had suicide bombers in the name of the Black Power movement.Sacchetto Boutique wrote:
For many people around the world, not just you, many people hear the word JIHAD and make assumptions..i posted a reply on that as well and im sure its been already forgotten but anyway, they hear Muslim and assume they are terrorists, pedophiles, extremists etc...
I can only imagine how difficult it must be for america muslims who try to exist in america after 9/11 and most recently the Boston bombings.. and i wonder if it is similar to how africans used to feel before people like martin luther king.which school has more rules than which?Sacchetto Boutique wrote:Similarily, I think the best schools in trini have the most rules..ever wondered about that?
...that the only thing necessary for evil to exist is for good people to remain silent....
Habit7 wrote:Habit7 wrote:At what point did it cease for Muhammad and his followers to kill in the name of Islam to now where those who kill in name of Islam are "misguided"?.
I can't help but feel that my question is not sufficiently answered. Do you know the specific answer?
And dont misunderstand my motives, you might be working very hard in your religion but that does not absolve you from defending the claims you are making. You seemed very ept to regurgitate the arguments of your Islamic apologists (most of whom I haven't respond to because it is better to bring the issues one by one and we will address them) without any regard for the apparent ridicule of Christians they may have. This isn't a tea party, this is a discussion, there is no need to be insulting but you have to have thick skin. You cannot want to dish out challenges and cry foul when you get them.
no one is saying all muslims are terrorists, but why are there Muslim Terrorists? Why are there no Hindu Terrorists?Sacchetto Boutique wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I think what mamoo_pagal is saying is that black people were not flying planes into buildings and had suicide bombers in the name of the Black Power movement.Sacchetto Boutique wrote:
I can only imagine how difficult it must be for america muslims who try to exist in america after 9/11 and most recently the Boston bombings.. and i wonder if it is similar to how africans used to feel before people like martin luther king.which school has more rules than which?Sacchetto Boutique wrote:Similarily, I think the best schools in trini have the most rules..ever wondered about that?
Duane, I understand that! but why is it when a person hears the phrase muslim terrorist, they automatically assume ALL msulims are terrorists? bc from all the replies in this thread, i've read, "you people" refering to muslims...just read turbotursty's reply and you will see what im saying.
well if they have the same rules then your point about Islam having more rules makes it better is not coherent.Sacchetto Boutique wrote:As for the rules..perhaps I said that wrong..all schools have rules, proable the same rules too, but not all schools ENFORCE the rules. I went to couva sec for 5yrs and then CAPS for 2yrs. When I compare the two schools, Couva Sec was way stricter in enforcing the rules. CAPS was a real party kinda school for the period I went there. My best friend was a convent girl who came into CAPS with 9destinctions but got low grades in CAPS at A'levels. The system was so different. In couva sec, when school was finished at 2:30 u had to find urself home bc if any teacher saw u outside in ur uniform, was real pressure. Now, 4:30 kids still in pos liming
maj. tom wrote:All over the world extremists kill innocent people. OK? I doubt very much that the girl above has killed anyone despite her beliefs. I doubt she would get anything but angry and upset if someone wrote something that violated her beliefs. She respects our freedom of speech culture and understands it.
Extremists all over the world use religion as a shallow motive with many underlying psychological, cultural, economic and social problems. There are even atheist extremists, take the entire communist era and the millions imprisoned and murdered across the Soviet bloc since Stalin; take China right now. Islamist extremists are to Islam like the Westboro Baptist Church to the modern Christianity church views.
it was stated before, if Muslims treated terrorists who claim to carry out their act in the name of Islam the same way they treat people who draw cartoons of Muhammad, there would be no Muslim Terrorists!16 cycles wrote:everytime a terrorist act is successful and the perpetrators are identified to belong to a particular faith, that religion takes a hit....its only so much the world would accept before the tipping point....
those belonging to that faith should intervene to stop the terrorism done in the name of their religion to protect such a beautiful religion / culture .......that the only thing necessary for evil to exist is for good people to remain silent....
metalgear2095 wrote:All over the world Muslims are killing innocent people and yet you continue to lie to yourself and try to lie to the rest of us about Islam being about peace. Would you say the same if Trinidad was an Islamic state?
Sent from my LG-P880 using TriniTuner mobile app
Westboro's biggest fight is against gays and homosexuality.Habit7 wrote:The difference is the Bible doesnt teach what the Westboro Baptist Church practises, but condemns it.
Habit7 wrote:maj. tom wrote:All over the world extremists kill innocent people. OK? I doubt very much that the girl above has killed anyone despite her beliefs. I doubt she would get anything but angry and upset if someone wrote something that violated her beliefs. She respects our freedom of speech culture and understands it.
Extremists all over the world use religion as a shallow motive with many underlying psychological, cultural, economic and social problems. There are even atheist extremists, take the entire communist era and the millions imprisoned and murdered across the Soviet bloc since Stalin; take China right now. Islamist extremists are to Islam like the Westboro Baptist Church to the modern Christianity church views.
The difference is the Bible doesnt teach what the Westboro Baptist Church practises, but condemns it.
The Quran and Hadiths teach what Al Qaeda, Boko Haram, Hamas, Muslim Brotherhood, etc practise and promises reward.
mamoo_pagal wrote:Sacchetto Boutique wrote:djaggs wrote:And to Boutique, you are correct, the word alah does appear in the hebrew bible, I looked it up in my Hebrew dictionary and it means curse. It is used in the following verses:
Deut 29:20 & 21
"The LORD will never pardon such people. Instead his anger and jealousy will burn against them. All the curses written in this book will come down on them, and the LORD will erase their names from under heaven. The LORD will separate them from all the tribes of Israel, to pour out on them all the curses of the covenant recorded in this Book of Instruction."
Again your scholars are being deceitful.
And your level of intelligence combined with your superior understanding of everything pertaining to religion as well as your degree in islam, far superseds anything anyone has ever written on the subject.
I am tired...really really tired of explaining that IF A GROUP OF MUSLIMS KILL AND CLAIM ITS IN THE NAME OF ALLAH, THEY ARE MISGUIDED!!! NOT EVERY 'so called' scholar teaches teh correct thing. I admire teh teachings of Mufti Menk and Sheikh Yusuf estes so if you show me videos of them saying to kill non-muslims, I will take your posts seriously!
Typing in caps doesnt help..you all ignore what I've written when I've explained countless times that islam does not promote violence..it is the choice few who have used the knowledge to do their own types of evil.
Djaggs, I really didnt know you were an expert in translation and history,...do u even know if ur books are authentic? but continue to spread hate against islam..carry...im fed up of the same points being brough up and i have to constantly explain the SAME things..its so annoying and today is happy friday man!! geeze!
What people are trying to tell you is that the "choice few" is not a few. It is many, many people who behave this way. You love your belief system and that is fine, but where does that love turn into blindness. There is a huge fundamental group of Islam that has emerged and will continue to grow. You have this view of Islam but ask yourself if your view will be accepted by the "choice few" who may see you as a corrupter of the teachings. You enjoy Islam the way you do because you are primarily governed by a constitution that allows you this freedom!! Constitutional rights that are not allowed in your belief system but governs this land, creating a realm of tolerance. You quoted 2 authorities of Islam that you respect, what they say makes you feel good when you hear them speak, but what about all the other learned Muslim scholars who you may not agree with, what makes them wrong? How can they be wrong when thousands of people follow it? The major problem people have with religion is this fundamentalism, how often do you hear followers of Islam who don't agree with the fundamentalist movement speak out against it? sorry but do they quietly agree with it by saying nothing? You associate with darul uloom, how often do they openly condemn the behavior of the "choice few" and try to re-image Islam? This silence say a thousand words!
bluefete wrote:If anyone reads both the Bible and the Qu'ran, you will come away feeling that they are very similar in their beliefs. Especially comparing the Old Testament to the Suras in the Qu'ran which deal with reasons for killing people.
There is no doubt that Christianity which started as a persecuted religion became eventually a persecuting religion in the name of God. Just reference the Inquisition for example.
Today the same can be applied to Islam. It is a religion of peace but like the church many years ago, its message, today, has been distorted by Mullahs, Imams and others who each have their own agendas.
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Westboro's biggest fight is against gays and homosexuality.Habit7 wrote:The difference is the Bible doesnt teach what the Westboro Baptist Church practises, but condemns it.
They also say Catholics, Presbyterians and Anglicans are not really Christians or that they are "doing it wrong"
You supported those same points in this thread. Though you may not have been as vile in the commentary as Fred Phelps is.
Habit7 wrote:Well I hope while being a Roman Catholic you learnt that the church differs from orthodox Christianity on the essentials of worshiping other gods through the veneration of Mary and the saints and disagreeing with salvation by grace through faith. Also there are other issues such as papal infallibly, indulgences, Mary being Christ co-redemptrix, purgatory and Vatican Council II condemning all Christians (those outside of RC) to be anathema (damned).Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:It's like megadoc1 claiming earlier that Catholics were not really practicing Christianity.
You can also find out more about a Roman Catholic monk called Martin Luther (not the civil rights leader) who in the 1500’s began to question the church based on its inconsistency with the Bible. It began a movement called the Reformation which rediscovered the truths of Christianity in Europe and eventually crippled the Roman Empire.
bluefete wrote:If anyone reads both the Bible and the Qu'ran, you will come away feeling that they are very similar in their beliefs. Especially comparing the Old Testament to the Suras in the Qu'ran which deal with reasons for killing people.
There is nothing in Christianity that promotes persecution. Those who did that were not just "misguided" they were wrong.bluefete wrote:There is no doubt that Christianity which started as a persecuted religion became eventually a persecuting religion in the name of God. Just reference the Inquisition for example.
Islam started in violence, continued many years afterwards, and many Muslims, not all (right Sachettobluefete wrote:Today the same can be applied to Islam. It is a religion of peace but like the church many years ago, its message, today, has been distorted by Mullahs, Imams and others who each have their own agendas.
Sacchetto Boutique wrote:remember God of the bible and god of the quran are the same. There are violent verses in the bible as well as quran. It can be quite confusing to many why would God say one thing in the bible, then say something different in the quran. If I had to make a wise guess, id say, the bible may have been mis-interpreted and people strayed from the right path over time and so, God sent down another book to give correct accounts of what happened to all the previous prophets including Isa (as) and to perfect the way of life of his(God's) followers stating clearly that Muhammad saws is the last prophet there is even evidence within the bible that Muhammed would be sent such as
Isaiah 29:12 - And when they give the book to one who cannot read, saying, “Read this,” he says, “I cannot read.”
Deuteronomy 18:18 - I will raise up for them a prophet like you from among their brothers. And I will put my words in his mouth, and he shall speak to them all that I command him.
Deuteronomy 18:15 - “The Lord your God will raise up for you a prophet like me from among you, from your brothers—it is to him you shall listen—
Sacchetto Boutique wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Sacchetto Boutique wrote:which school has more rules than which?Sacchetto Boutique wrote:Similarily, I think the best schools in trini have the most rules..ever wondered about that?
Duane, I understand that! but why is it when a person hears the phrase muslim terrorist, they automatically assume ALL msulims are terrorists? bc from all the replies in this thread, i've read, "you people" refering to muslims...just read turbotursty's reply and you will see what im saying.
As for the rules..perhaps I said that wrong..all schools have rules, proable the same rules too, but not all schools ENFORCE the rules. I went to couva sec for 5yrs and then CAPS for 2yrs. When I compare the two schools, Couva Sec was way stricter in enforcing the rules. CAPS was a real party kinda school for the period I went there. My best friend was a convent girl who came into CAPS with 9destinctions but got low grades in CAPS at A'levels. The system was so different. In couva sec, when school was finished at 2:30 u had to find urself home bc if any teacher saw u outside in ur uniform, was real pressure. Now, 4:30 kids still in pos liming
Sacchetto Boutique wrote:remember God of the bible and god of the quran are the same. There are violent verses in the bible as well as quran. It can be quite confusing to many why would God say one thing in the bible, then say something different in the quran. If I had to make a wise guess, id say, the bible may have been mis-interpreted and people strayed from the right path over time and so, God sent down another book to give correct accounts of what happened to all the previous prophets including Isa (as) and to perfect the way of life of his(God's) followers stating clearly that Muhammad saws is the last prophet there is even evidence within the bible that Muhammed would be sent such as
Isaiah 29:12 - And when they give the book to one who cannot read, saying, “Read this,” he says, “I cannot read.”
Deuteronomy 18:18 - I will raise up for them a prophet like you from among their brothers. And I will put my words in his mouth, and he shall speak to them all that I command him.
Deuteronomy 18:15 - “The Lord your God will raise up for you a prophet like me from among you, from your brothers—it is to him you shall listen—
metalgear2095 wrote:Sacchetto Boutique wrote:remember God of the bible and god of the quran are the same. There are violent verses in the bible as well as quran. It can be quite confusing to many why would God say one thing in the bible, then say something different in the quran. If I had to make a wise guess, id say, the bible may have been mis-interpreted and people strayed from the right path over time and so, God sent down another book to give correct accounts of what happened to all the previous prophets including Isa (as) and to perfect the way of life of his(God's) followers stating clearly that Muhammad saws is the last prophet there is even evidence within the bible that Muhammed would be sent such as
So hundreds of years later God decides to rewrite the story. Makes sense:-|
Sent from my LG-P880 using TriniTuner mobile app