Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » February 27th, 2009, 6:57 pm

joashmgn, if yuh ineterested i hav a few exotic cichlids...

Rebelb14

Postby Rebelb14 » February 27th, 2009, 7:03 pm

ryan99tt wrote:joashmgn, if yuh ineterested i hav a few exotic cichlids...

Talk nah man leh we what u got i looking to start up a cichlid setup.

Postby UML » February 27th, 2009, 7:07 pm

ryan99tt wrote:joashmgn, if yuh ineterested i hav a few exotic cichlids...

Starting a cichlid tank myself....lewwe see wah u have!!!

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » February 27th, 2009, 7:23 pm

i hav flame back, sunshine, golden severums, tinfoil, albino tinfoil an a couple others...

joashmgn

Postby joashmgn » February 27th, 2009, 7:34 pm

:mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Postby UML » February 27th, 2009, 7:39 pm

ryan99tt wrote:i hav flame back, sunshine, golden severums, tinfoil, albino tinfoil an a couple others...

Pics?

joashmgn

Postby joashmgn » February 27th, 2009, 7:39 pm

those cichlids look huge! what size tank and what u usin to filter it?

erm... 72" x 18" x 18"... Basic 100 Gallon...

Filtration... 2 HOB filters and 2 DIY bucket Filters...

The bucket filters have filter floss and oyster shells to buffer the water... the powerheads feeding them have pre-filters with a material that is similar to coarse scrubber material and bioballs...

The aquascape is in a mess right now actually, even though it may not look so... I had my pair of Pacus in the tank with the cichlids and they so huge they jus bounced into everything and upset the balancing rocks etc...

I think I'm going to take some time tomorrow to work on it all though... :fadein:

Postby UML » February 27th, 2009, 8:21 pm

joashmgn, is this cichlid the multi-coloured/ rainbow coloured cichlid that I think it is?

if so, where did u get it? u selling any? i looking for one.

joashmgn

Postby joashmgn » February 27th, 2009, 11:32 pm

i think the rainbow coloured cichlid you're referring to is the flameback cichlid... i don't have any though... that one there is the yellow tail acei... purple body with yellow dorsal fin and tail and almost sky blue fins underneath...

i don't have any survivors of the one breeding i noticed of those that i have though... and have only seen a few others for sale... i can't remember if i noticed any flamebacks for sale either...

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » February 28th, 2009, 3:29 am

UML, i got a flameback if yuh interested...

i dont hav any pics off hand but i wud see wat i can do wen i get home...

joashmgn

Postby joashmgn » February 28th, 2009, 8:43 am

ryan99tt, flameback compatibility is my question...

how many do you have?.. what size?.. and how much you selling it for???

Postby UML » February 28th, 2009, 10:49 am

ryan99tt wrote:UML, i got a flameback if yuh interested...

i dont hav any pics off hand but i wud see wat i can do wen i get home...

I interested in a flameback, a yellow tail acei and a sunshine

netsket

Postby netsket » February 28th, 2009, 10:57 am

tuners ah looking for a blackghost to buy

Who or where has?

djblademan

Postby djblademan » February 28th, 2009, 6:11 pm

joashmgn, lovely african cichlids setup there bro...take ah bump!!! wat substrate yuh using?

fellas jus maek sure that when you'all set up your cichlids tanks post the pics please...even from begining to end... i have a blue dolphin cichlid...may sell i have 2. male & female..
considering selling the female. doh want them to start breeding cause i have a community tank.
joashmgn, nice setup again bro...

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » February 28th, 2009, 6:18 pm

UML, flameback & sunshine $80 each...only got one of each...let me no b4 weekend up...

Postby UML » February 28th, 2009, 8:24 pm

ryan99tt wrote:UML, flameback & sunshine $80 each...only got one of each...let me no b4 weekend up...

wah size?

.....i looking for small ones.

joashmgn

Postby joashmgn » February 28th, 2009, 9:18 pm

joashmgn, lovely african cichlids setup there bro...take ah bump!!! wat substrate yuh using?

substrate is regular decorative gravel... i was/am interested in switching over to sand though...

As promised, I did a complete rescape today... I'll take pics in a few and post them... As soon as I can find the camera...

joashmgn

Postby joashmgn » February 28th, 2009, 10:45 pm

Camera found... pics taken... uploads follow!

Disclaimer: I took these pics lying in my bed, too lazy to move around and get better angles... I'm still lying in my bed posting... Real laziness this rounds...

Tank Shot
Tank Shot (with flash)

Left side "island"
Left side "island" (with flash)

Right side "island"
Right side "island" (with flash)

Concept of the scape was two seperate rock "islands" for the cichlids to hide in etc. and an "open" area with the driftwood in between the islands... However, since I had the driftwood in another tank (FW community/planted) which was slightly shallower than this one the top end was not submerged and in the new positioning in the cichlid tank it refuses to stay sumberged as it is not waterlogged... basically jus one end is floating and in this scape i want that end to be submerged... :evil:

what i'm going to end up doing though is simply take the wood outside and put it in the half water tank with the "monsters" to keep it submerged... till it gets waterlogged...

Vinesh

Postby Vinesh » February 28th, 2009, 10:53 pm

joashmgn, they not territorial?

joashmgn

Postby joashmgn » February 28th, 2009, 10:59 pm

Vinesh,

they're supposed to be but I haven't seen any significant displays of violent behaviour. Also, there are several hiding places in the islands so hopefully any of the fish that are being attacked will be able to hide long enough for the attacker to move on.

I am also going to add 20 more for the least to try the overcrowding technique. Basically overcrowding is used to transfer any aggressive behaviour from one target to many so that any dominant fish will not terrorize weaker fish to the point of death...
Last edited by joashmgn on February 28th, 2009, 11:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Vinesh

Postby Vinesh » February 28th, 2009, 11:01 pm

hmz.. my tank was something like urs.. rocks where fish can hide became homes.. then they became territorial and then death.. lol.. but overcrowding wrks.. me neighbor had like 30 in a 3 foot tank.. with very frequent water changes.. nice tank

Vinesh

Postby Vinesh » February 28th, 2009, 11:03 pm

wrd of advice the brighter the fish like they yellows and oranges tend to get bullied.. so if u could buy them a little bigger.. rite now all my tank has is like 5 species of blue..

joashmgn

Postby joashmgn » February 28th, 2009, 11:07 pm

most of the yellow ones i have are a lot larger than those that I see regularly on sale so i don't think I'll have a lot of that to worry about... and well if any become highly territorial they'll just encounter something a bit... okay no a lot more aggressive than they are... i.e. Oscars... :twisted: :twisted:

I don't even think that I'd have to be too worried about water quality with the overcrowding... The filtration that I've got set up is rated to handle approx. 1000 Gallons of water comfortably so I have no worries there... :D

Rebelb14

Postby Rebelb14 » March 1st, 2009, 9:26 am

Question fishy bizniz or chais does open on a sunday?

What pet store does open on a sunday..........we talking about fish here

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » March 1st, 2009, 9:54 am

^fishy bizniz, yes, chais no.

trinitime

Fresh Water Planted Tank

Postby trinitime » March 1st, 2009, 1:38 pm

Here are some pics of my fresh water set up. I am really into Tetras. Hope you enjoy.

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » March 1st, 2009, 4:24 pm

/\ I hope it's not Platy's I'm seeing there :|

trinitime

Platty Yup

Postby trinitime » March 1st, 2009, 5:46 pm

Yes boy those are Mickey Mouse Platties, they add a nice color punch to a community tank. I always keep females so when they make offspring in the tank the fish get extra food off the young ones. Especially with the discus I have in the tank. The discus are always laying, but never care for the eggs all the way through.

djblademan

Postby djblademan » March 1st, 2009, 7:23 pm

trinitime, very nice something like mines...
AGENT RORO, wa rong with platies? lol
joashmgn, you are motivating me again... i once had a cichlid tank but sold it completely! i think im gonna get into once more...small one tho not so big like yours...but great tho....

guys dont hate on me please altho i created this thread for us & i've never showed or displayed my work to you'all but my camerra was stolen awhile back & never got around into gettin back one...but i will try & get some pics that were taken by some folks tanks i did myself...i believe they have pics taken of my work so i'll surely try & aquire them... plus i'll have to borrow a camera to get my personal tanks taken....thanks for understanding tho....

bump up for a best thread...

Vinesh

Postby Vinesh » March 1st, 2009, 7:33 pm

trinitime, u have breeding discuss.. y u dont sell.. u know how hard it is to find a breeding pair