District 9:- Don't ask Questions, Just go see it.

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » August 31st, 2009, 1:19 pm

what I also really liked was that there was not one established actor/actress in it so all the acting had a totally fresh feeling.

Just watched it for the 3rd time today.

kiamotors

Postby kiamotors » August 31st, 2009, 1:50 pm

I find it was sad also... the scene where Christopher was telling his son that they were moving to the new camp; because the fuel was lost was heart breaking. Imagine all your dreams and hope of going home were taken away.

There were other scenes but that particular one kind of struck a chord in me...

rossi

Postby rossi » August 31st, 2009, 3:14 pm

JoKeR1980 wrote:
Sky wrote:But JoKeR1980, I think you missing the whole essense here.... The mech get on bad :|

lol my bad..it did indeed...i was looking for that since when in the trailer I saw the arm reach up and grab the RPG / missile... tres cool

8-) 8-) 8-)

for real hosses....but rem when it collected all the bullets that the ghetto gangsters were shooting and jus send them back at them, killing everyone? :mrgreen: it madd, it madd!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 4th, 2009, 12:57 am

JoKeR1980 wrote:there was also the religious theme of Wickus being the cheif persecutor of the aliens then becoming "converted" himself. Anyone remember Saul becoming Paul? CHRISTpher? wanna bet in District 10 that the aliens come back to save their kind and lay down retribution on the humans and Wikas will be defending them? Going away for 3 years to return as sleeping for 3 days then returning to save his people?

very interesting parallel that I didnt see before
I like the anology
cool 8-)

Oleander

Postby Oleander » September 4th, 2009, 1:01 am

JoKeR1980 wrote:there was also the religious theme of Wickus being the cheif persecutor of the aliens then becoming "converted" himself. Anyone remember Saul becoming Paul? CHRISTpher? wanna bet in District 10 that the aliens come back to save their kind and lay down retribution on the humans and Wikas will be defending them? Going away for 3 years to return as sleeping for 3 days then returning to save his people?

I like the anology
cool 8-)

:shock: that's scary cool and definitely an interesting angle. I still have to look at that movie again... but it's still fresh in my mind even though I saw it weeks ago.

Postby cinco » September 4th, 2009, 1:36 am

I like the anology
cool 8-)

gawd dammit we have been duped into watchin a jesus movie!

interesting parallel though its strange how so many people can see this movie and have so many different views.
I saw it more of in terms of slavery like the spanish conquest of the indians and enslaving them and demeaning them and breaking their spirit or a twist on hotel rwanda with aliens

ztune

Postby ztune » September 4th, 2009, 5:29 am

good movie

GT RACING

Postby GT RACING » September 4th, 2009, 11:00 am

that movie is way over-rated and i think ppl taking it a bit too far with the whole story line now.

man finding slavery / racism / it bess because it ain't film in the USA and all kinda thing to compare the movie too now. ah next one say you need a brain to go an watch the movie because it so deep.
its not for the shallow minded.....steups.

the movie was good but not as good as you'll making it out to be. I think is because you figured out you now spent $40-45 to see it and its not all that except for the effects, you looking for other reasons to make yourself feel better.

all yah could cuss me now and say that i is ah doh doh head and stuff. freaking prawns lol

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 4th, 2009, 2:08 pm

GT RACING, its ok to say you just didnt get it

- most ppl dont understand quantum mechanics, nothing is wrong with that. But because you don't understand quantum mechanics doesnt make it over rated and silly, it does make you seem like a doh doh head to a quantum physicist though.

JoKeR1980, The matrix also had a Christianity parallel too and was much deeper than the action sequences in the movie which is what most people think the movie was about.

GT RACING

Postby GT RACING » September 4th, 2009, 2:36 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:GT RACING, its ok to say you just didnt get it

i guess.

G-T

Postby G-T » September 4th, 2009, 2:40 pm

Matrix had a Christianity parallel?? I find it was more like a cult!...

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 4th, 2009, 2:42 pm

G-T wrote:Matrix had a Christianity parallel?? I find it was more like a cult!...

what?

silver

Postby silver » September 4th, 2009, 2:59 pm

The Matrix had a lot of parallels...and symbolism as well.

Most people thought it was a paralell of the apartheid (cuz it was in Jburg, and the praws were there for 20 years and being scammed by nigerians etc etc etc and the interest in the prawns were only for the alien weaponry...which could be a parallel to diamonds, uranium or any of the million things found in Africa) also It could have been the New Orleans/Katrina parallel where the 'refugees' were kept in a stadium and they weren't able to return home due to 'something breaking down' in their homeland. All they really wanted to do was return to their original home. The looting and annoyed texans that had to put them up and really wanted to put them out. The help came probably when someone close to someone in power was also affected by the disaster (parallel to being turned into an prawn)

What about a paralell to how we treat old people? They actually do eat cat food, cuz its the only thing they can afford on their pensions....we only see how bad it is when we begin to become old ourselves....

To me it just showed how self-serving we are as humans, only interested in something when it can produce monetary gain or influence.

Oleander

Postby Oleander » September 4th, 2009, 3:17 pm

^^ Wipe the yampee outta yuh eye the next time you're watching a movie

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » September 4th, 2009, 3:25 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:JoKeR1980, The matrix also had a Christianity parallel too and was much deeper than the action sequences in the movie which is what most people think the movie was about.

yeah there was def the theme of Neo as the saviour, you could even say that Morpheus was John the Baptist who believed in him and 'prepared the way' for him. There was a Judas and a persecutor / tempter. There were even prophets, or prophetess I should say.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 4th, 2009, 5:00 pm

Cipher as Judas
Trinity

Neo's real name is Thomas Anderson, perhaps referring to "doubting Thomas" of the Bible (since it took him so long to believe he was the One). The name Anderson means "son of man," a title used by Jesus in reference to himself. A character Choi, says to him "Hallelujah. You're my savior, man. My own personal Jesus Christ." A plate in Morpheus's ship Nebuchadnezzar says "Mark III No. 11," a probable allusion to the Bible: Mark 3:11 reads, "Whenever the unclean spirits saw him, they fell down before him and shouted, 'You are the Son of God!'" Anderson's hacker alias Neo is an anagram for the One. He is The One who is prophesied to liberate humanity from the chains that imprison them in their computer-generated illusion. First, however, he has to die - and he is killed in room 303. But, after 72 seconds (analogous to 3 days), Neo rises again. Soon thereafter, he also ascends up into the heavens. The first movie itself happened to be released on Easter weekend, 1999.

Nebuchadnezzar II was the eldest son, and successor, of Nabopolassar, who delivered Babylon from its dependence on Assyria.

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » September 6th, 2009, 2:48 pm

Just saw District 9, glad it wasn't the usual "Independence Day" kind of movie. Movies like these although not big budget, still didn't spare on the special effects. Will watch it again soon.

Picasso

Postby Picasso » September 6th, 2009, 4:51 pm

Where the hell online I can look at this movie.. I've seen it already but I got time to kill so I wanna look at it online :x

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » September 6th, 2009, 4:54 pm

Movie was Excellent! fcuks with your mind which i like,cant compare it to anything really ,but could safely say its one of the best movie's i've seen in a really long time!

kiamotors

Postby kiamotors » September 6th, 2009, 5:34 pm

JoKeR1980 wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:JoKeR1980, The matrix also had a Christianity parallel too and was much deeper than the action sequences in the movie which is what most people think the movie was about.

yeah there was def the theme of Neo as the saviour, you could even say that Morpheus was John the Baptist who believed in him and 'prepared the way' for him. There was a Judas and a persecutor / tempter. There were even prophets, or prophetess I should say.

Well I don't know about all that, the directors tried to make it look that way after heavy scrutiny by the public...

There are other articles that contest the Christianity story line, I have seen the matrix sequel and in my point of view it doesn’t have any religious undertones.

I would not exactly compare matrix with District 9 as far as the storyline goes.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 6th, 2009, 6:04 pm

kiamotors wrote:
JoKeR1980 wrote:

Well I don't know about all that, the directors tried to make it look that way after heavy scrutiny by the public...

There are other articles that contest the Christianity story line, I have seen the matrix sequel and in my point of view it doesn’t have any religious undertones.

I would not exactly compare matrix with District 9 as far as the storyline goes.

what?

Humes

Postby Humes » September 6th, 2009, 6:15 pm

It doesn't matter whether an author intended there to be a Christian parallel or not. The author's intent does not determine how his work can be interpreted.

As far as I know, the Wachowskis are two of the most elusive figures in Hollywood today. They don't give interviews or make many public appearances...so I don't know when and how they would have "tried to make it look" any way.

While I think some people seeing a little bit too much into District 9 than there is, what's surprising me more is how many adults don't understand even simple interpretations and analyses of movies. You point out parallels to them and they watching yuh in yuh face and either doh understand, or claiming it has no significance.

Postby DFC » September 6th, 2009, 6:35 pm

all the matrix philosophy was taken from the Vedas. the idea of reality as we percieve is not what it is..is the same as the concept of Maya in Dvaita philosophy.

realising the Matrix...is comparable to attaining Samadhi..or self-realisation.

The produces themselves has said that they borrowed the idea from Hindu thought.
And in respect to that the theme song for the matrix is navras..which has lyrics
Asato maa..which is an old vedic hymm..

Aum Asato mÄ

kiamotors

Postby kiamotors » September 6th, 2009, 6:36 pm

LOL!! A person could point out there interpretation of a movie/book/play until one turn blue in the face.

People are still entitled to there own POV, and how one wish to see a movie/book/play is up to them.

Humes

Postby Humes » September 6th, 2009, 6:43 pm

the DFC, much of the Matrix philosophy might be present in the Vedas, but all of it wasn't taken from the Vedas. There are way too many obvious parallels of Greek philosophy, Christianity, the monomyth etc to write the movie off as based totally on Hindu scripture.

kiamotors, how you wish to see a text is your choice, but choosing to ignore an interpretation that's backed up with reasonable evidence doesn't make that interpretation any less valid. The only thing that makes an interpretation less valid is less evidence backing it up.

The Christianity parallels in the first Matrix movie are well-established. There's way too much evidence there for them to be denied.

DTAC

Postby DTAC » September 6th, 2009, 6:52 pm

I'm was watching it again for like the 5th time this afternoon.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 6th, 2009, 7:30 pm

Humes wrote:the DFC, much of the Matrix philosophy might be present in the Vedas, but all of it wasn't taken from the Vedas. There are way too many obvious parallels of Greek philosophy, Christianity, the monomyth etc to write the movie off as based totally on Hindu scripture.

kiamotors, how you wish to see a text is your choice, but choosing to ignore an interpretation that's backed up with reasonable evidence doesn't make that interpretation any less valid. The only thing that makes an interpretation less valid is less evidence backing it up.

The Christianity parallels in the first Matrix movie are well-established. There's way too much evidence there for them to be denied.

well said

there are many books published on Matrix and these same parallels
apparently ppl in this thread are still in denial a decade later - either that or just plain clueless

Matrix and Philosophy by William Irwin
Taking the Red Pill: Science, Philosophy and Religion by Glenn Yeffeth
Like a Splinter in Your Mind: The Philosophy Behind The Matrix by Matt Lawrence
Philosophers Explore The Matrix by Christopher Grau
The Gospel Reloaded: Exploring Spirituality and Faith in The Matrix (Paperback) by Chris Seay
Beyond the Matrix: Revolutions and Revelations by Stephen Faller

Just take a look on Amazon 8-)

Humes

Postby Humes » September 6th, 2009, 7:36 pm

I think some people are offended by the link, and others are offended that people made the link before they did.

Not necessarily talking about anyone in this thread.

G-T

Postby G-T » September 6th, 2009, 11:00 pm

G-T wrote:Matrix had a Christianity parallel?? I find it was more like a cult!...

That is my thought of the movie and I never really felt it was so profound to watch it multiple times…

I see where you coming from Admin & you have your proof and what not, but that won’t change my views of how I interpreted the movie.

My thoughts on the movie were not manipulated by reviews, books, synopsis & critics. I looked at the movie and it was entertaining. However I could not see a religious story line although you all do.

BTW is there a problem when user gives his/her opinion/interpret something differently? Do ppl always have to follow the crowd?
:?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 6th, 2009, 11:16 pm

G-T wrote:

That is my thought of the movie and I never really felt it was so profound to watch it multiple times…

I see where you coming from Admin & you have your proof and what not, but that won’t change my views of how I interpreted the movie.

My thoughts on the movie were not manipulated by reviews, books, synopsis & critics. I looked at the movie and it was entertaining. However I could not see a religious story line although you all do.

BTW is there a problem when user gives his/her opinion/interpret something differently? Do ppl always have to follow the crowd?
:?

those books were written years after the movie BTW and I never read them so there is no influence there for me.

and there is no problem.
It's like I explained to GT Racing "its ok to say you just didnt get it "