Local Rock Music & Bands - Trinidad & Tobago

horsepwrjunki

Postby horsepwrjunki » August 23rd, 2009, 7:54 am

if local bands wew any good?.. i just watched a vid of skid doin a medly inshakers and thaat wa impresive if yuh doh suport local das yuh buisness.. it have plently good local bands ..

and ent seanpaul classes as old skool as his "new stuff" is old stuff... :? :?

and why de firetruck she hadda mention avocado in here wdf :?

Postby Hook » August 23rd, 2009, 1:10 pm

Logic42, u have me looking for that album now hoss...it around here somewhere....forgot how much I loved it!

I feel I gine make a deftones mix this evening....hadda include this song on it tho

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/Um7ySTHsCf0&hl=en&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed>

Kittles

Postby Kittles » August 23rd, 2009, 2:54 pm

^^ BESS song!!

as for local stuff - i like skid and orange sky

Postby gt4tified » August 23rd, 2009, 4:04 pm

Cjruckus wrote:Well i could understand her point.. If local bands were any good I dont think she would have been this pissed.

By "local bands" do you mean Orange Sky too? Cuz I find that they todalli rawk dude!

sexy_ke70_chick

Postby sexy_ke70_chick » August 23rd, 2009, 7:51 pm

:elephant:

Postby Cjruckus » August 23rd, 2009, 7:55 pm

gt4tified wrote:
Cjruckus wrote:Well i could understand her point.. If local bands were any good I dont think she would have been this pissed.

By "local bands" do you mean Orange Sky too? Cuz I find that they todalli rawk dude!

they really arent that impressive. Sorry.

haydn28

Postby haydn28 » August 23rd, 2009, 8:36 pm

face of death :twisted:

Postby Hook » August 23rd, 2009, 8:38 pm

nope

Blood Red Clover

haydn28

Postby haydn28 » August 23rd, 2009, 8:40 pm

chaos room :twisted:

Postby Hook » August 23rd, 2009, 8:46 pm

yeh, but I find they sounding a little sloppy these days tho...hearing good stuff about Lynchpin tho....wanna hear 'em soon

Postby Razkal » August 23rd, 2009, 8:47 pm

haydn28 wrote:face of death :twisted:

i seriously doubt :|

hadda partially agree with Cjruckus here, most of the local bands are failures because they follow instead of delve into musical innovation...the few that are good can't be bordered by a genre imo...

trinis not open minded enough to experience 75% of the fulfilling things the world has to offer...statement not limited to music but endorsed by the OP :|

Postby Hook » August 23rd, 2009, 8:59 pm

^^^ u coming Guitar Wars nex week or wha?

haydn28

Postby haydn28 » August 23rd, 2009, 8:59 pm

skid nevelly , orange sky, were very original and not failures , though we live in a society that sees them as such.

i used to play lead guitar in a rock band but quickly enough i saw it was a waste of time in trinidad, is better yuh play chutney an soca in dis place :|

it have ah band i tryin to remember the name ....2 brothers who REAL good on lead guitars , one of the brothers was in a band called beer foot ,and they basest is ah fella name 'Jiggy' dem fellas was original and real good , ent hear ddem in ah while.

haydn28

Postby haydn28 » August 23rd, 2009, 9:02 pm

cudn make d JENZ lime las nite but will try for guitar wars :D

hook u was ever up inna place name Bravo by chance?

Postby Hook » August 23rd, 2009, 9:22 pm

haydn28 wrote:it have ah band i tryin to remember the name ....2 brothers who REAL good on lead guitars , one of the brothers was in a band called beer foot ,and they basest is ah fella name 'Jiggy' dem fellas was original and real good , ent hear ddem in ah while.

u talking about Abbadon...they back out soon...playing La Cabana this Thursday and then Sunday at G-Wars

I never been in Bara Bara*ahem* I mean Bravo Bravo tho..so whoever u see wasn't moi

haydn28

Postby haydn28 » August 23rd, 2009, 9:29 pm

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: @ bara bara

yeah was abbadon i talkin bout by d way :)

Postby Hook » August 23rd, 2009, 9:31 pm

u were ever on the old Bandfield Forums by chance?

Sequel

Postby Sequel » August 23rd, 2009, 10:21 pm

wat about incert coin? I thought they were local as well ?

Postby MG Man » August 23rd, 2009, 10:27 pm

Jointpop pwnz all :!:

Logic42

Postby Logic42 » August 24th, 2009, 12:14 am

Hook wrote:yeh, but I find they sounding a little sloppy these days tho...hearing good stuff about Lynchpin tho....wanna hear 'em soon

i hear their drummer is a crack whore

Postby st7 » August 24th, 2009, 12:47 am

Hook wrote:yeh, but I find they sounding a little sloppy these days tho...hearing good stuff about Lynchpin tho....wanna hear 'em soon

hurry man... dey next show gonna be dey last show... dunno why dey gonna take a hiatus after dat :S

Postby Hook » August 24th, 2009, 12:51 am

palabra

Postby gt4tified » August 24th, 2009, 12:54 am

Cjruckus wrote:
gt4tified wrote:

Ok, thanks for your very valuable opinion.

BTW, why you sorry for? :?:

Postby Cjruckus » August 24th, 2009, 12:56 am

gt4tified wrote:
Cjruckus wrote:
gt4tified wrote:

Local rock needs to understand one thing. If you are going to put all your eggs in one basket.. make sure the basket doesn't have a hole.

Postby Hook » August 24th, 2009, 12:57 am

Cjruckus wrote:
gt4tified wrote:
Cjruckus wrote:
gt4tified wrote:

Local rock needs to understand one thing. If you are going to put all your eggs in one basket.. make sure the basket doesn't have a hole.

:? explain further por favor

Postby Cjruckus » August 24th, 2009, 1:04 am

The MRU isn't going to get you play abroad. The local rock scene is very much where it has been for the past 15 years.. Underground. Even with mediums like Synergy and the internets now, how many local rock bands do you see making an impact in your everyday market?

Skid Nevelly just did a free show for Digicel in woodbrook, but are they on bus stops promoting the brand like Kes, Ravi B, and Destra? No. Even though their music has more year round appeal than the other bands signed with digicel, they just don't get the forward.

Why?
Because 95% of Trinidad does not care about local rock music.

Talk done.

*cues Overdose - Torreodor (Live at Outerlimitz 1998).mp3*

Postby st7 » August 24th, 2009, 1:04 am

lol what?!

Postby Hook » August 24th, 2009, 1:24 am

but what's that have to do with holes in baskets?

agreeably so, local rock music fights an uphill battle every time...just using the term "local" in there makes it oxymoron, as "local" music has already been defined by soca, kaiso, calypso, chutney, rapso...and to some extent, jazz

actually come to think of it, local R&B has suffered the same fate as well...I guess if u can't jump and wine or wave a rag to it then it fails to make a national impact

anything other than the genres I stated cannot make a living off their music locally because of several reasons, most of which lend directly to a misinterpretation of the definition of "local" (as in, locally/indigenously influenced = local OR locally written/performed = local), but specific to rock, it's been about a misinformed view of what the music is about and stereotypes about the ppl that listen to it

so what do you do?

the way I see it, either of two things

1. Embrace it whole heartedly, support the bands with talent and potential, come to the shows, spread the word and help build the interest.

OR

2. Sign off completely and spread your ideals like cancer and allow it to die a natural death.

I see you've already made your decision.

*cues Orange Sky's "Buss Pepper"

Postby Cjruckus » August 24th, 2009, 1:30 am

Hook I have my reasons.

When you ready to jam. Send a Pm.

Postby Hook » August 24th, 2009, 1:38 am

irie dance....from next mth I'm a lil more freed up...will holla