*** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Postby crazybalhead » November 26th, 2009, 12:17 pm

The modern subs ramp up power to make up fopr heavy cones and inefficient drivers. the benefit is space. AND you can brag that you have a "2700Watts" Subwoofer.

Postby X_Factor » November 26th, 2009, 12:28 pm

can anyone here bring a basic reciever and speakers through amazon for me?
if so hit me a pm nah

Postby crazybalhead » November 26th, 2009, 12:31 pm

pugboy wrote:well the definition of what is "modern vs traditional" is vague
there are many technologies used in sub design today

for them to make a blanket statement like that is exactly that, a blanket statement
without examining the design theory of the subs in their comparison.

fwiw tapped horn subs are possibly the most modern design in recent yearstotally different than the typical ported/sealed/bandpass that have been around since the 60's but still good.

the biggest factor nowadays is probably the quality of the amp and electronics used to compensate for any weaknesses in freq response

LOL. Horns have been around since the beginning my friend. :lol: :lol:

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » November 26th, 2009, 12:48 pm

for sub bass and i mean real sub bass u need to have a very capable driver preferrably a driver with a low distortion motor

this guy did it right id say a Re xxx 18 with 5 inches of excursion the enclosure is 25 cubic feet tuned to 11hz his movie experiences are surely killer

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » November 26th, 2009, 1:42 pm

when you looking for a very NICE serious home theatre SUb try this one for size

SUNFIRE

http://www.sunfire.com/default.asp

How does 16Hz sound from such a small subbox - oh sorry how does 16 hz FEEL!

those are absolutely Fantastic subs!

their older models went down to 12hz and had 1800 Watt digital downtracking amplifiers.

Your neighbours will HATE you.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 26th, 2009, 1:42 pm

waw

Postby eliteauto » November 26th, 2009, 1:47 pm

wow :shock:

neckto

Postby neckto » November 26th, 2009, 3:03 pm

hmmm

slowly walks back out of thread with my altec 641

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » November 26th, 2009, 4:39 pm

evo-STI-k wrote:when you looking for a very NICE serious home theatre SUb try this one for size

SUNFIRE

http://www.sunfire.com/default.asp

How does 16Hz sound from such a small subbox - oh sorry how does 16 hz FEEL!

those are absolutely Fantastic subs!

their older models went down to 12hz and had 1800 Watt digital downtracking amplifiers.

Your neighbours will HATE you.

bob carver is teh win!

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » November 26th, 2009, 4:43 pm

my friend has the older model sunfire 12"!
lets just say the first time we watched Jurassic park and had some volume turned up his neighbours from 5 townhouses away came knocking on his door very annoyed!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 26th, 2009, 7:33 pm

evo-STI-k wrote:my friend has the older model sunfire 12"!
lets just say the first time we watched Jurassic park and had some volume turned up his neighbours from 5 townhouses away came knocking on his door very annoyed!

I'd be annoyed too if I was living in an overpriced townhouse with a 4" wall separating me from my neighbours :lol:
damn westerners

Marct

Postby Marct » November 26th, 2009, 8:33 pm

Sony Bravia 52" lcd 1080 & sony bravia dvd home theatre

Postby X_Factor » November 27th, 2009, 12:37 am

sharkman121, u ordering ur HTIB online or buying locally?

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » November 27th, 2009, 10:24 am

Porn Star wrote:Ok, now I am more confused than ever. :?

:lol: :lol: :lol: What is your main focus brother home theater / gaming or music ...

That's two different systems really, yes there's a compromise point, but the HT is easier to pull of than a critical music environment.

For your budget, you need to audition audition audition, before you start spending $$$.

All sorts of factors involved, like your amplification requirements can be easily met if you have efficient speakers ... Not so efficient speakers, you need big power ...

You could get away with no amplification by running identical powered monitors across the room, a dedicated pre, and some monster subs to fill the bottom end: http://www.genelec.com/

You HT / music room is a HUGE factor, it's sometimes impossible to get even fantastic equipment sounding decent in a room with crap acoustics, but you can get "blah" equipment sounding damn fine in an excellent room ...

MY point is with the kind of budget you are working with, you need to research as much as possible, so you can get all the bang for your buck.

Postby sharkman121 » November 27th, 2009, 11:14 am

X_Factor wrote:sharkman121, u ordering ur HTIB online or buying locally?

Actually this is what i was seriously considering over the past 3 days, but even if u get a good price on a HTIAB outside, the sheer weight of it nullifies any money ud be saving, even with free shipping to my skybox.

I have already come to the conclusion that most of the systems these guys discuss in this ched are over my price range, plus my livin room kinda small nah, so ill stick to my HTIAB.

I was checking out the black friday sale for HTIABS and there are some pretty decent prices, But when i did the math, is better i buy it here cuz i saw some in CIRCUIT ZONE el soccorro when i went yesterday (the new model Sony Bravia et al)

So unless i get someone to bring it down for me in a suitcase ill be buying this down here. These guys gave me a wealth of information, but they also made me realise i have a very very long way to go :(

Postby pugboy » November 27th, 2009, 11:17 am

for those on a budget the logitech 5500 has a cult following

rmtuner

Postby rmtuner » November 27th, 2009, 11:31 am

sharkman121,

bought one ah them from circuitzone. does wuk good and sound nice.
the wireless rear speakers does actually wuk too. and the sub good enough.

but ah think the Onkyo systems from RadioShack is the better buy.

Postby sharkman121 » November 27th, 2009, 2:05 pm

rmtuner wrote:sharkman121,

bought one ah them from circuitzone. does wuk good and sound nice.
the wireless rear speakers does actually wuk too. and the sub good enough.

but ah think the Onkyo systems from RadioShack is the better buy.

well right now i auditioning, so will definitely check it out. Passin in radio shack in trincity mall on the way home.

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » November 27th, 2009, 2:27 pm

I built this room from scratch 4-5 years ago... All walls were padded and every wire was run inside the walls before I installed the sheetrock. Wiring were all Monster THX series, but later found out that your can get better wiring for less money. It was obviously to late by then because I had already purchased $1500 in monster

Nakamichi Sound Space 12 with touch screen remote

Behind all 7 speakers, I installed quick connects to give the room a cleaner look

Subs/Amps

Front speaker

Option to add a powered sub later on... Also have more connects on the back wall to install bass shakers in the sofa

Rear speaker

Sony 50" Plasma

Probably the hardest part of building this room was selecting the paint and lighting.. Paint is all flat finish to eliminate glare. Ceiling is flat black, walls flat deep burgandy and trim is flat off white.
I installed 6 - 6" recess lights and a dimmable track light on the back wall... all lighting is controlled from the remote

Now here comes the fun part... For the last 2 years, this room has be turned into a storage room... The last time I turned on the Naka was in July, only to discover one speaker have a "flap" because of neglect. I hope to clean it out soon and install a 15" sub and bass shakers.. How soon?? well maybe this time next year I can return it back to it's former glory with just a Sofa and none of the other garbage you see in those pics

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » November 27th, 2009, 2:30 pm

For the guys that's looking for killer wiring without breaking the bank, Ram Electronics is the place for you.

I bought a 16ft HDMI cable from them a few years ago and it still going strong. Fark all that brand name sheit!!

http://www.ramelectronics.net/index.ep

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 27th, 2009, 3:48 pm

sharkman121 wrote: but even if u get a good price on a HTIAB outside, the sheer weight of it nullifies any money ud be saving, even with free shipping to my skybox.

don't bring it in a skybox!!!

use Laparkan, Tropical Shipping, Aeromarine, ATIL or any one of the other shipping companies and bring it via sea freight

if you can get some family or friend in the US to put it in a barrel for you it will only cost about US$120 to ship and you can bring other items too

or you can check powersellers who offer shipping services - they can stuff it in a container and bring it and you pay them when it gets here.

skybox is for emergencies and small items

pugboy wrote:for those on a budget the logitech 5500 has a cult following

and so did Jim Jones :|

neckto

Postby neckto » November 27th, 2009, 4:00 pm

i prefer my altec lansing 641 over them logitech lines anyday as old as it is

Postby X_Factor » November 27th, 2009, 4:04 pm

sharkman121, which models did u audition thus far and u hav a price range for them?..

i checked the Panasonic SC-PT720 and it was pretty decent
fair review from Cnet as well price was under 4000.00

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » November 27th, 2009, 4:56 pm

sharkman121 wrote: but even if u get a good price on a HTIAB outside, the sheer weight of it nullifies any money ud be saving, even with free shipping to my skybox.

don't bring it in a skybox!!!

use Laparkan, Tropical Shipping, Aeromarine, ATIL or any one of the other shipping companies and bring it via sea freight

if you can get some family or friend in the US to put it in a barrel for you it will only cost about US$120 to ship and you can bring other items too

o rly? hmm,seems like my dream of actually owning some high end stuff may come through! :D

then again,the size of some of these things,i doubt they'll fit in a gawd damn container :( :cry:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 27th, 2009, 6:21 pm

^ you'd be surprised what you can fit in a barrel

especially if you can get someone in the US to unbox the items and repackage it in the barrel - they don't check weight, the barrel is a flat price.

Tropical Shipping or Laparkan
send it as a "personal effects" PE barrel.
Buy your stuff online and ship it to your family in the US.
the shipping company will drop off an empty barrel for your family in the US, your family will pack it with your stuff and then call back the shipping company to pick it up. The shipping company then takes it to the port in the US to ship to T&T.
Two weeks later the shipping company will call you in T&T to collect your personal effects - you pick it up and pay the duty and vat and its yours.

Postby X_Factor » November 27th, 2009, 6:31 pm

^^ now is probably not a good time as the port is chaos im sure

but good advice!! i never knew it could be so "easy"

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 27th, 2009, 7:01 pm

^ definitely - wait till next year

Postby 16 cycles » November 27th, 2009, 8:00 pm

^ i will not sleep for months knowing a Rotel / parasound / revox / etc is neatly packed in a barrel on the high seas....LOL

but thanks for the info.... definitely will look into this....

at a point in time, before comp speakers were the craze, altec lansing was a pretty decent brand and for what its worth, their computer speakers are a good value.

jbl pro series still hits the right notes as well.

as for subs....heard a velo about 4 or 5 years ago, saved up since then...

WOW @ nak....i remember in the days of cassette players, the nakamichi dragon was king....set the benchmark ...tandberg was on par with it as well

never heard a sunfire, would like to one day though...

audio quest has some pretty decent cables but a bit pricey though.

once saw a 2m length of cable out of norway for 5000usd - yeah it can get that crazy

Ronnie203

Postby Ronnie203 » November 27th, 2009, 9:29 pm

My 52 SONY with an Infinity 7.1 speaker system (12" Infinity Sub) :shock: that does shake....all powered by a 7.1 ONKYO receiver...DVD Blu Ray player... :P Movie Town right in yuh home

Postby Chimera » November 27th, 2009, 11:16 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ you'd be surprised what you can fit in a barrel

especially if you can get someone in the US to unbox the items and repackage it in the barrel - they don't check weight, the barrel is a flat price.

Tropical Shipping or Laparkan
send it as a "personal effects" PE barrel.
Buy your stuff online and ship it to your family in the US.
the shipping company will drop off an empty barrel for your family in the US, your family will pack it with your stuff and then call back the shipping company to pick it up. The shipping company then takes it to the port in the US to ship to T&T.
Two weeks later the shipping company will call you in T&T to collect your personal effects - you pick it up and pay the duty and vat and its yours.

I looked into doing this in the past, but where all my stuff goes in the US is a good 100 miles from Orlando which is the closest option for Laparkhan shipment by sea.

Thats why I organising with crocsrule to bring the 52 inch bravia for me