***The Official: Rate/Recommend a Movie or Series Thread***

Re: *** The Official Bess Movie Thread***

Postby mero » March 28th, 2012, 12:51 am

right now im watching this Brazilian movie here and OMG, this is facking amazing. 5 star certified fresh from rottentomatoes. Its from the makers of City Of God. Brazilian crime movies are awesome (subtitled though).

Like the poster says, " a cross between the Departed, The Wire and Godfather". Check it out 8-)

Postby goalpost » March 28th, 2012, 7:08 am

mero wrote:Image
right now im watching this Brazilian movie here and OMG, this is facking amazing. 5 star certified fresh from rottentomatoes. Its from the makers of City Of God. Brazilian crime movies are awesome (subtitled though).

Like the poster says, " a cross between the Departed, The Wire and Godfather". Check it out 8-)

Dudeeeeeee, "City of God" is my personal favorite film of ALL time.

Postby mero » March 28th, 2012, 9:24 am

Mine too bro, that's why i had to download it. The poster doesn't look all that good( if you know what i mean) so it might deter some ppl, but the movie was definitely worth it.

Trinichiney

Postby Trinichiney » March 28th, 2012, 6:52 pm

Ip man 1-3

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 28th, 2012, 9:03 pm

I put 21jump street as ah decent movie,good sheit,rel tears yes....

Postby 1UZFE » March 28th, 2012, 9:24 pm

Trinichiney wrote:Ip man 1-3

yeah big movies!!!

Postby goalpost » March 28th, 2012, 9:27 pm

What films you guys could be "bess" in 2012. I'm just gonna predict a few dramas for now:

Argo: The premise sounds really interesting and its directed by Ben Affleck, who directed two really great movies in the past few years. Apparently he's a better director than actor.

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1024648/

-----

The Master: Looks like a spoof of the origins of Scientology. But the premise sounding awesome. It's from the guy who did There Will Be Blood so I'm pretty sure it'll be epic.
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1560747/

-----

Lincoln: It's from Steven Spielberg, and it's Daniel Day Lewis as Abe Lincoln. Spielberg needs to redeem himself after War Horse.
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0443272/

-----

The Great Gatsby: I don't know how Baz Luhrmann is as a director, but it's Leonardo DiCaprio. I do consider him one of greatest working actors today.
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1343092/

------

The Hobbit: nuff said...
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0903624/

-----

Django Unchained: Quentin Tarantino. Leonardo DiCaprio. Not a fan of westerns, but it's Tarantino!

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1853728/

-----

Finally:
1. An untitled film about Osama Bin Laden directed by Kathryn Bigelow, who made The Hurt Locker.

Postby 1UZFE » April 9th, 2012, 9:05 pm

just looked at "Black Gold" with Antonio Banderas. Very good movie.

Postby Rooki3 » April 10th, 2012, 7:51 am

the grey was good
john carter too

Postby Trini Hookah » April 10th, 2012, 9:42 am

Rooki3 wrote:the grey was good
john carter too

Any movie with Liam Neeson deserves to be here.

Postby X_Factor » April 10th, 2012, 12:59 pm

^ yeah, imo he is like the white version of Denzel
any movie they star in, is excellent

gonna take in book of eli once more!

Xplode

Postby Xplode » April 10th, 2012, 1:01 pm

Act of Valor best for the year..i find so

Postby shogun » April 10th, 2012, 2:00 pm

goalpost wrote:[b]
Leonardo DiCaprio. I do consider him one of greatest working actors today.

Agreed.

Not sure why he keeps getting snubbed for awards though.

Postby Dizzy28 » April 10th, 2012, 2:06 pm

Xplode wrote:Act of Valor best for the year..i find so

Watched this on Saturday....it tried without delivering. There was not much by way of character development. Plenty shooting and explosions.

Postby X_Factor » April 10th, 2012, 2:51 pm

^yupp, imo it didnt deliver on what i was expecting..
it started up pretty good, and the scene in the river with the 2 boats pumping bullets was awesome
after that, it jus went sorta monotone....

Postby 1UZFE » April 10th, 2012, 2:54 pm

^^these..
story was kinda jumbled ina sense should have stuck to 1 plot/event.

toyota2nr

*** The Official Bess Movie Thread***

Postby toyota2nr » April 10th, 2012, 6:10 pm

Yes but it delivered on exactly what is promised, lots of shooting and explosions.
If you wanted character development then this is not the movie to watch. Try The Help or some chick flick.

Postby mero » April 10th, 2012, 9:54 pm

you guys answering my question here. Heard lots of 10/10's and then some 5,4's n 3's. Guess i;ll have to check it out.

is it showing in cinemas or i gotta find a bootleg/pirate? Link for a good torrent thanks

Postby X_Factor » April 10th, 2012, 10:41 pm

if u ever in the uwi area, i'll give u the copy i got..i dont need it ne more

Postby Trini Hookah » April 10th, 2012, 11:22 pm

shogun wrote:
goalpost wrote:[b]
Leonardo DiCaprio. I do consider him one of greatest working actors today.

Agreed.

Not sure why he keeps getting snubbed for awards though.

X2 on that, I've sat down and watched Body of Lies 2-3 times on one sitting, really like his work.

For me Di Caprio, Neeson and Jamie Foxx are my favourites, reason I said Foxx is the way he adapts to any role.

Postby mero » May 3rd, 2012, 1:40 am

well seeing as mediahouse made a fail Avengers thread and got it locked, thinking about partially changing this to a discussion thread.

Just saw it and i'm always the guy to try to kill a hype but that movie was dam amazing, nice build up to each character. I for one wasn't bored at all during this process.

I never thought someone could have surpassed Edward Norton as a Hulk character but :shock: that guy played that role to a T, wouldn't say much more but this movie lived up to its hype 8-)
Hulk made this movie so much better + that after credit scene Image

i give it 9/10

gfbl

Postby gfbl » May 3rd, 2012, 8:30 am

yep avengers was very very entertaining

Postby Rooki3 » May 3rd, 2012, 12:13 pm

mero wrote:well seeing as mediahouse made a fail Avengers thread and got it locked, thinking about partially changing this to a discussion thread.

Just saw it and i'm always the guy to try to kill a hype but that movie was dam amazing, nice build up to each character. I for one wasn't bored at all during this process.

I never thought someone could have surpassed Edward Norton as a Hulk character but :shock: that guy played that role to a T, wouldn't say much more but this movie lived up to its hype 8-)
Hulk made this movie so much better + that after credit scene Image

i give it 9/10

dawg 10/10. hulk issa bad muthafukka, love when stark was dey pew pewing behind d flying thing & hulk jus come & firetruck it up easy easy

gfbl

Postby gfbl » May 3rd, 2012, 6:59 pm

dawg 10/10. hulk issa bad muthafukka, love when stark was dey pew pewing behind d flying thing & hulk jus come & firetruck it up easy easy[/quote]

lol at pew pewing

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 3rd, 2012, 7:13 pm

going and take een the avengers next week,so it was really good then?

Re: ***The Official: Rate/Recommend a Movie Thread***

Postby mero » May 3rd, 2012, 8:04 pm

yea it was awesome, especially if you're a Marvel fan.

Rottentomatoes also gave it a 93% rating

Postby Rooki3 » May 4th, 2012, 2:08 pm

i went & watch it again :oops: lol'd hard when loki was telling hulk he's a god & won't be bullied by his likes :lol:

Postby Rooki3 » May 4th, 2012, 2:12 pm

Postby Trini Hookah » May 4th, 2012, 3:27 pm

Rooki3 yuh overdoing it now eh.

1report

Postby DVSTT » May 4th, 2012, 3:32 pm

It was really good, if you liked Under The Red Hood, you'll like this!