Digicel Internet Thread

shaq090

Re: Digicel 100 down 30 up fibre optic internet.

Postby shaq090 » October 22nd, 2015, 1:44 pm

daxt0r wrote:
shaq090 wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
daxt0r wrote:well boy it goes back to how internet is provisioned, home internet the advertised speeds are burst speeds, i.e the max capable of the connection assuming perfect conditions although if you read your ISP AUP policy you would realize its never attainable due to the fact that they state they will throttle your connection if it impairs others users access.

Business connections on the other hand the advertised speeds are the minimum guaranteed bandwidth, what that means is that you can at any time achieve the advertised speed and even go over. So much so that they would email you if they realize you constantly going over your guaranteed minimum over a period. On the flip side if you are not getting your minimum advertised bandwidth there are provisions in the contract for you to receive either a discount or rebate on the month's fee.

Doh make joke so I could file some paperwork with flow and get ah rebate on my internet?

That is not totally accurate... On a ISP, you are paying for bandwidth up the the core backbone. Lets say for example you have a 15mb package from flow... you are suppose to get your full 15mb on a good or bad day once there is no network issues. From the core to Miami or NY is another story....If you are not getting your full package speeds then something is wrong, these bandwidth caps are set on the modem itself and not on the backbone... Same for business on flow, if your package speed is 10mb, u are suppose to get 10mb and nothing more, but there is flow control which spikes first due to auto nego of MTU size and then it settles down.

Actually if you read the acceptable use policy for home users in your ISP contract, you would notice that although you are paying lets say 100MB, if your usage is impairing other users on the network with heavy downloading/traffic they can and will throttle you. That's basically what the fine print says, if you don't believe me just read it. :)

its a feature called NSC(near state congestion) on the CMTS.... it will throttle all users on affected CAM, not just isolated to one person.

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » October 22nd, 2015, 2:49 pm

yes that is due to a physical limitation, however the ISP has the right to impose virtual throttling on your connection as well even if you node isn't congested.

RB34

Postby RB34 » October 24th, 2015, 2:05 am

that's why it's labelled on the website as "up to xxMbps".
No guarantee for bandwidth. Any why they don't run direct fibre to people's home, is because it's expensive and 99% of people won't pay for that.
Also, fully agree with the way bandwidth is provisioned. You get bandwidth to your ISP's internet edge. So for those who do speed test to California and Canada and say they getting 1Mb when they paying for 50Mb are ignorant. So many cross connections to other ISPs have to take place before traffic reaches there; each one adds latency and contends for bandwidth.
Good discussions btw, hope more people read this to educate themselves.

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » October 24th, 2015, 4:16 pm

RB34 wrote:that's why it's labelled on the website as "up to xxMbps".
No guarantee for bandwidth. Any why they don't run direct fibre to people's home, is because it's expensive and 99% of people won't pay for that.
Also, fully agree with the way bandwidth is provisioned. You get bandwidth to your ISP's internet edge. So for those who do speed test to California and Canada and say they getting 1Mb when they paying for 50Mb are ignorant. So many cross connections to other ISPs have to take place before traffic reaches there; each one adds latency and contends for bandwidth.
Good discussions btw, hope more people read this to educate themselves.

their backbone is actually pretty decent.... its just that if u, me and 200K other people want to use the net at the same time, its only so much a few aggregated 9k ASR routers can handle.... plus the DWDM multiplexer can only facilitate so many STM1s....

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 25th, 2015, 1:32 pm

^ so why don't they add more ASR routers? since they are selling so much customers and they are making money for each?

Is this 3rd world practice standard also in Europe and NA?

Fadakartel

Postby Fadakartel » October 25th, 2015, 3:55 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ so why don't they add more ASR routers? since they are selling so much customers and they are making money for each?

Is this 3rd world practice standard also in Europe and NA?

Sorry been off tuner for a while.

A Cisco ASR costs about 70-80k usd why waste them on residential internet when you can use them to offer business solutions like MPLS etc to business customers and make more money.

This is not really a 3rd world practice, residential internet income cannot surpass business solutions income hence why they would rather throttle you than buy such expensive equipment.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 25th, 2015, 4:22 pm

^ So to avoid this disconnect issue one should then take DSL? since its dedicated and hence don't disconnect unless its catastrophic?

My problems is not throttle speeds but disconnects I don't care if they lower me to dial up speeds, my issues is disconnect. An issue I didn't have with TSTT DSL for 7 years. hmmm

Fadakartel

Postby Fadakartel » October 25th, 2015, 4:52 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ So to avoid this disconnect issue one should then take DSL? since its dedicated and hence don't disconnect unless its catastrophic?

My problems is not throttle speeds but disconnects I don't care if they lower me to dial up speeds, my issues is disconnect. An issue I didn't have with TSTT DSL for 7 years. hmmm

You should be good depending on how many people are on the same splitter you are connected to

I dont think your going to experience disconnections much unless a Kiss bread van brings down your fiber lol.

Problem with Flow is high utilization and its very difficult to fix this on Docsis, FTTH should be easier to resolve utilization issues.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 25th, 2015, 5:41 pm

^ I SEE!!!!!

Excellent well once Digicel comes I will sign up ASAP and disconnect my flow.

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » October 25th, 2015, 7:04 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ I SEE!!!!!

Excellent well once Digicel comes I will sign up ASAP and disconnect my flow.

so if u get disconnects with digicel too, u going and bad talk the company too? Ive been watching u since u install yuh flow effective..... u aint loyal to an isp at all lol... unless youre a business customer, you'll always get the 2nd degree service.... People paying for internet to keep their multi million dollar companies up are more important than your 200$ a month bill... its just a hard fact to swallow

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 26th, 2015, 1:08 pm

hmm true, well look I eh mind some disconnects I know it happens even with TSTT though amazingly my DSL was up 99% of the time.

My flow is up only 70% of the time, I go be fair its really 70% which isn't bad but not good enough even for residential. I hoping Digicel raise the bar to about 85% uptime. No joke while that DSL was slow like ass and could not stream 144P my god was it damn reliable.

The problem is even with the dog sheit service that flow gives me, I can update all my steam games within a minute. With DSL 1MBit takes hours, sometimes days. So I guess its a trade off....

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » October 26th, 2015, 7:00 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:hmm true, well look I eh mind some disconnects I know it happens even with TSTT though amazingly my DSL was up 99% of the time.

My flow is up only 70% of the time, I go be fair its really 70% which isn't bad but not good enough even for residential. I hoping Digicel raise the bar to about 85% uptime. No joke while that DSL was slow like ass and could not stream 144P my god was it damn reliable.

The problem is even with the dog sheit service that flow gives me, I can update all my steam games within a minute. With DSL 1MBit takes hours, sometimes days. So I guess its a trade off....

If yuh pockets deep you can take a dia metro e connection. Service will be up 99.99999% of the time and if the connection goes down, someone will call u asap

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » October 27th, 2015, 9:27 am

and it actually not that expensive, flow/tstt metro-e or digi dia
Depends on where you live though, and being business grade it has some pretty serious contract stuff.

RB34

Postby RB34 » October 27th, 2015, 1:20 pm

i think the bigger issue with effectic is why he only disconnecting. Have you called help desk and reported this? Also, when you say disconnect, do the lights on the modem go off and come back on one at a time? How long do the disconnects last on average? A lot of ppl quick to blame ISPs but have a wireless router that have 1Mb of RAM... or worse yet, using FLOWs ARRIS wireless sheit routers.
Not saying you are one of those, but mine works really well... yes it drops, but not enough for me to complain about

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » October 27th, 2015, 1:37 pm

Its not effective.. the modems have a defect..... best modem is the cm820

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 27th, 2015, 2:15 pm

RB34 wrote:i think the bigger issue with effectic is why he only disconnecting. Have you called help desk and reported this? Also, when you say disconnect, do the lights on the modem go off and come back on one at a time? How long do the disconnects last on average? A lot of ppl quick to blame ISPs but have a wireless router that have 1Mb of RAM... or worse yet, using FLOWs ARRIS wireless sheit routers.
Not saying you are one of those, but mine works really well... yes it drops, but not enough for me to complain about

Nismo driver the mod on tuner works at Flow, we discussed this via PM, Jerrad from flow called me to inform me that he updated the firmware on my modem however the problem is still here, he thinks that its related to the modem aswell.

Same thing Shaq also seems to suggest. hmmm Flow has tried everything short of changing the modem but the intermittent disconnects are here, Hustlambition on tuner also has this problem and my friend from freeport who is a Electrical and Network Engineer also has this same problem infact it is he who told me not to take flow because I will be facing intermittent disconnects.

My modem however is a CM820A with latest firmware

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » October 27th, 2015, 2:42 pm

do a continuous ping and see if u get time outs

shottah_crew

Postby shottah_crew » October 28th, 2015, 8:08 am

shaq090 wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:hmm true, well look I eh mind some disconnects I know it happens even with TSTT though amazingly my DSL was up 99% of the time.

If yuh pockets deep you can take a dia metro e connection. Service will be up 99.99999% of the time and if the connection goes down, someone will call u asap

What's this metro e connection?

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » October 28th, 2015, 8:17 am

shottah_crew wrote:
shaq090 wrote:

fibre to a switch in ur location.

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » October 29th, 2015, 9:17 am

lawd digicel gone down again this mornin at a client, 2nd time in less than 2 months.

They had adsl running flawless for years albeit crawling.
I sorry for home users if this is what business people have to go through.

Postby Spitfir3 » October 29th, 2015, 9:48 am

doh say that nah man yuh go mess with effective emotions

that said i do get that disconnect problem its pretty random and only goes down for like a minute somebody who doesn't use the internet for long probably wouldn't even notice it

things to note i did run a ping test during the "downtime" and everything received just fine but the webpage fails to load

blitz83

Postby blitz83 » October 29th, 2015, 10:03 am

Digicel business fibre crew checkin.....down as well since 8 AM

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » October 29th, 2015, 10:21 am

came back up at two of our clients so far, south seemingly wasn't affected, then again that client has two isps lol

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » October 29th, 2015, 11:39 am

Clients located in north were affected..

Captainskinny69

Postby Captainskinny69 » October 29th, 2015, 11:41 am

Its up and running again

shottah_crew

Postby shottah_crew » October 29th, 2015, 12:13 pm

shaq090 wrote:
shottah_crew wrote:
shaq090 wrote:

fibre to a switch in ur location.

How do I go about getting this? Is this available only in certain areas?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 29th, 2015, 2:30 pm

shaq090 wrote:do a continuous ping and see if u get time outs

yes when the Flow internet goes down for the 1 minute and I do a ping test it will return atleast 25% packet loss sometimes 100%. Webpages will NOT load, luckily games keep running but with some lag.

However there are many times aswell that games disconnect. I have decided to switch to other games that do not rely on a perfect connection or games that do not ban you for days or weeks as a leaver penalty.

thatlife

Postby thatlife » October 29th, 2015, 2:33 pm

so I have this metro fibre connection from digicel

it went down during the early hours of this morning till about 1pm today.

I also have an IP PBX from digicel, so that was down as well.
all my business software is on the cloud so basically I was crippled for half of the day

this is the 2nd time in 2 months and about 3 times previous to that.

I'm seriously reconsidering switching to flow, although I had flow at first

my digicel rep is non existent, doesnt reply to emails, doesn't return calls. Called yesterday for him and was told he no longer works there and i'm still waiting for a rep to be assigned to me.

they took 4 months to install my PBX, no exaggeration.
(they sent bills from the first month although PBX was not working, after several attempts to contact them they said they would adjust the bill, bill was never adjusted)

the only upside, the internet is fast

as for FLOW
when I was having problems with digicel in the early, I emailed a flow corporate rep, twice with no reply.

recently she called me to sell me their service, told her I emailed her before, she doubted me, then searched her email and found my email. I ask her to email me the packages, still waiting on that email.

note that I had flow before the digicel.

/internetproblems #hopingadigicelrepcansavetheday
Last edited by thatlife on October 29th, 2015, 2:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » October 29th, 2015, 2:35 pm

thatlife wrote:so I have this metro fibre connection from digicel

it went down during the early hours of this morning till about 1pm today.

I also have an IP PBX from digicel, so that was down as well.
all my business software is on the cloud so basically I was crippled for half of the day

this is the 2nd time in 2 months and about 3 times previous to that.

I'm seriously reconsidering switching to flow, although I had flow at first

my digicel rep is no existent, doesnt reply to emails, doesn't return calls. Called yesterday for him and was told he no longer works there and i'm still waiting for a rep to be assigned to me.

they took 4 months to install my PBX, no exaggeration.

the only upside, the internet is fast

as for FLOW
when I was having problems with digicel in the early, I emailed a flow corporate rep, twice with no reply.

recently she called me to sell me their service, told her I emailed her before, she doubted me, then searched her email and found my email. I ask her to email me the packages, still waiting on that email.

note that I had flow before the digicel.

/internetproblems

pm me your info, i'll have someone contact you

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » October 29th, 2015, 3:52 pm

our clients most dissapointed too due to service outages. Similar to you their workloads are in the cloud, so no internet means no business. I wish they would fix their issues because these is business grade connections. I'm really afraid for what home users will have to face.

That said, all in all Digicel ftw!