Re: suggestion to remove 50% of private vehicles from the ro

Postby j.o.e » November 22nd, 2015, 6:33 am

bluesclues wrote:
zoom rader wrote:^^^^

This is how this government operates. A jackarse brings an idea and Hinds not knowing any better agrees with it.
Brace yourself when the this mob doubles tax on ur insurance and increases duties on cars and parts.

This is designed to force you to use Racket Rail.

wait, someone in parliament took this suggestion seriously?

Yes it was on news and they going to do a study on it.
So someone gonna make alot of money doing a research on a failed jackarse idea. Any 10 year old will tell you that not going to work here.

Link?

Postby zoom rader » November 22nd, 2015, 6:40 am

j.o.e wrote:
bluesclues wrote:
zoom rader wrote:^^^^

This is how this government operates. A jackarse brings an idea and Hinds not knowing any better agrees with it.
Brace yourself when the this mob doubles tax on ur insurance and increases duties on cars and parts.

This is designed to force you to use Racket Rail.

wait, someone in parliament took this suggestion seriously?

Yes it was on news and they going to do a study on it.
So someone gonna make alot of money doing a research on a failed jackarse idea. Any 10 year old will tell you that not going to work here.

Link?

That was shown on all the TV and Cable news a few days ago.
From what I remember Hinds blamed traffic on ppl, the retired police officer said to take cars off the road and they going to do a study on it.
So it's either they are going implement it or some party hack getting a kick back knowing that going to fail

Postby j.o.e » November 22nd, 2015, 6:48 am

I saw the same report ..... Where the Minister said suggestions were welcomed and that people cause traffic and people will have to be part of the solution. That any suggestion will have to be evaluated on merit.
Note that the meeting was not specifically about alternating access to odd and even registered cars but a number of competing solutions and recommendations.
As usual ZR instead of having intelligent discussion you chose to peddle misinformation.

Postby zoom rader » November 22nd, 2015, 7:03 am

j.o.e wrote:I saw the same report ..... Where the Minister said suggestions were welcomed and that people cause traffic and people will have to be part of the solution. That any suggestion will have to be evaluated on merit.
Note that the meeting was not specifically about alternating access to odd and even registered cars but a number of competing solutions and recommendations.
As usual ZR instead of having intelligent discussion you chose to peddle misinformation.

Read what wrote, I have never said anything about odd or even numbers.
I wrote what I saw on the news. This Govt ideas of welcoming suggestions is all but lip service. That is not peddling misinformation.

Postby j.o.e » November 22nd, 2015, 7:10 am

Anyone reading this thread can see above where you've been implicitly suggesting that a suggestion by someone was being made into policy. Multiple times you've been asked to highlight Hinds' support of the suggestion and without any evidence you persist.
As an intelligent person sometimes I wish you would be able to look at issues from a non-partisan point of view.

Postby zoom rader » November 22nd, 2015, 7:15 am

j.o.e wrote:Anyone reading this thread can see above where you've been implicitly suggesting that a suggestion by someone was being made into policy. Multiple times you've been asked to highlight Hinds' support of the suggestion and without any evidence you persist.
As an intelligent person sometimes I wish you would be able to look at issues from a non-partisan point of view.

This government ideas are not suggestions as they always come to in law. Every action of this administration needs to go over with a fine teeth comb.
The mere fact that they came up with this suggestion shows that it is preconceived and told what to say

amd-dude

Postby amd-dude » November 22nd, 2015, 9:14 am

How bout they make a forking bus/utility lane so all the slow pokes who causing the traffic could get the fork off the main lanes and impose a minimum speed limit in said lanes say, ahunjed.

Having said that, good thing I have even and odd number cars.

Postby SR » November 22nd, 2015, 9:17 am

What slow pokes.... last weekend a ptsc bus was clocked at over 80mph on the fast lane at around 10pm

amd-dude

Postby amd-dude » November 22nd, 2015, 10:11 am

Well that's one man, if all could do that gr8, but no backhoe doing 80mph.

Postby zoom rader » November 22nd, 2015, 10:15 am

amd-dude wrote:How bout they make a forking bus/utility lane so all the slow pokes who causing the traffic could get the fork off the main lanes and impose a minimum speed limit in said lanes say, ahunjed.

Having said that, good thing I have even and odd number cars.

This is done in the UK and it works .

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » November 22nd, 2015, 12:22 pm

i was speaking with song writer aston isaac a couple months ago when i suggested we tackle the issue of creating truck routes and lanes so trucks wont mix with normal traffic. at the time the suggestion was made from personal feelings and experience.. observing how these truck drivers drive on narrow roads. when u see them coming up u have to pull to the side and stop because they tires and tray portion reaching all over into your side of the road over the solid white line. when they pull out a side road and cut u off like "doh mash brakes nah". i mean i in a car and i dont drive so.. i dont cut noone off, i does wait. some of them want to kill ppl i feel. and also i was going to mention earlier that we have to take a closer look at trucker barhopping culture.

truckers driving whole day and drinkin beer after beer. some of them lashing puncheon on pitstops. this has to stop!

anyway, when i said it he and the other guy in the conversation jumped on it with an unexpected resounding support. reminding me that there are roads where by law certain size trucks are not allowed to pass. and to begin with we have to enforce the standing laws because just like the cellphone while driving issue, noone taking it on anymore.

now seeing the enthusiasm with which the same topic is being discussed i starting to feel is really not just me that seeing an opportunity for increasing road efficiency by creating transport routes and lane restrictions. too much times i see man driving at 50 on the fast lane on the highway while talkin on his cellphone. keeping back a set of people trying to wait for a squeeze to overtake him with "miles" in front of clear road. i know u all see it too. so though it may not be urgent, it is important. and is something that i think can be done quite easily by the relevant ministry. it will also serve as a great marketing point to enlighten the droves of motorists who apparently had no idea that the rightmost lane is the fast lane. not the cruise while ur head in space and u havent looked in your rear view mirror for the past 15 minutes lane.

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » November 22nd, 2015, 5:43 pm

mark2.0 wrote:Simple, too many people heading into POS at one time and leaving at the same time also...
Suggestion move all government offices out of the capital.
Remove the whole of sealots, turning it into a mega car park with shuttle service leaving every 10 mins. $2 into the city by 15 and 24 seaters, any color thus creating jobs.
No backhoe on the highway.
Only marked good vehicles will be able to get into the city, so all dem hilux, best panel van, ranger etc... Suck salt, Car park.
Port running 24hrs, containers will be hauling from 7pm to 5am. Put things in place to receive your goods.
Car pool system, two lanes, three and up in a car, suv, hilux what have you.
Encourage motorcycle use by incentives... Tax cut, strict safety standards for all road user, bike lane 1hr in the morning and 1 in the pm.
Truck lane with free zone for overtake (have some old truck still)...

Work week should be from Tuesday to Friday.

BoostJunkieXL

Postby BoostJunkieXL » November 24th, 2015, 8:45 am

so i bought a car for the government to tell me WHEN i can drive it ? they could stick a finger in their bumcy and wine pon it smfh...

Postby MG Man » November 24th, 2015, 8:51 am

BoostJunkieXL wrote:so i bought a car for the government to tell me WHEN i can drive it ? they could stick a finger in their bumcy and wine pon it smfh...

by your logic, you should be ignoring no-entry signs, conditional one-ways, red traffic lights and dead-end street signs

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 24th, 2015, 9:40 am

The truck transport at night would ease traffic significantly but we can even get public or private business to open past 4:30pm, far less in the night.
We lack the mentality for 24/7 operation.

BRZ

Postby BRZ » November 24th, 2015, 10:07 am

TRAFFIC restrictions on taxis and MAxis along MAIN routes at Peak Rush hours.

Postby j.o.e » November 24th, 2015, 10:11 am

BRZ wrote:TRAFFIC restrictions on taxis and MAxis along MAIN routes at Peak Rush hours.

How can you restrict PUBLIC TRANSPORT on MAIN ROUTES on PEAK hours? Are you crazy ? Commuters have a life and places to be too you know.

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » November 24th, 2015, 10:32 am

BRZ wrote:TRAFFIC restrictions on taxis and MAxis along MAIN routes at Peak Rush hours.

Sooo how people who dont own cars getting home ?

Postby teems1 » November 24th, 2015, 10:48 am

what?

aren't we trying to get people away from the mentality of 1 person per car to using public transport?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 24th, 2015, 10:52 am

^ forgive him, he from Westmoorings.

BRZ

Postby BRZ » November 24th, 2015, 12:34 pm

Taxis and Maxis SHOUDL NOT be allowed to traverse St james main road, around the Savannah or along the Avenue during peak traffic hours.

Duane im from Valsayn by the way!

daas

Postby daas » November 24th, 2015, 12:38 pm

BRZ wrote:Taxis and Maxis SHOUDL NOT be allowed to traverse St james main road, around the Savannah or along the Avenue during peak traffic hours.

This just keeps getting better.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » November 24th, 2015, 12:44 pm

Man living entirely in La La La land!

Postby De Dragon » November 24th, 2015, 1:14 pm

teems1 wrote:

what?

aren't we trying to get people away from the mentality of 1 person per car to using public transport?

Yes but alternatives have to be pretty darn good for TrinBagonians to give up their vehicles just like that, and right now the alternatives are sadly lacking.

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » November 24th, 2015, 1:17 pm

BRZ wrote:Taxis and Maxis SHOUDL NOT be allowed to traverse St james main road, around the Savannah or along the Avenue during peak traffic hours.

Well now we know his itinerary.

Postby desifemlove » November 24th, 2015, 1:29 pm

BoostJunkieXL wrote:so i bought a car for the government to tell me WHEN i can drive it ? they could stick a finger in their bumcy and wine pon it smfh...

yep. who does own de roads?

eXamin

Postby eXamin » November 25th, 2015, 8:27 am

EmilioA wrote:

lmao this make no sense.

BoostJunkieXL

Postby BoostJunkieXL » November 25th, 2015, 12:23 pm

by your logic, you should be ignoring no-entry signs, conditional one-ways, red traffic lights and dead-end street signs

Hence I said "when" not "where" the only time "when" is okay IMHO is during set hours; example a school area "there's one by convent in Couva(no entry between 6-8:30 a.m. and the other time I cant rem is basically when school's over.)" but please do continue your attempts at disagreeing with everyone's opinion :/

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » November 25th, 2015, 5:50 pm

i have an idea. let us clog up all the drains and stop building box drain and let everyting flood out and convert from cars to boating.

Postby Redman » November 25th, 2015, 5:58 pm

lets continue to ignore the easy to implement systems that can help push the traffic reduction effort in the right direction.