drchaos wrote:The problem you are having is that you see fuel economy and fuel efficiency as the same and interchangeable ... apples and oranges ... both fruit but one is pomaceous and the other citrus.
The ever popular VW 1.4L 16v TSI came out in 2005 and the aforementioned Ford Ecoboost line of engines in 2009.16 cycles wrote:Turbo tech, tuning and engine design have come along way since 2009...date of 2nd article....
Jus saying...
Habit7 wrote:drchaos wrote:The problem you are having is that you see fuel economy and fuel efficiency as the same and interchangeable ... apples and oranges ... both fruit but one is pomaceous and the other citrus.
The problem you are having is that you see fuel economy and fuel efficiency are mutually exclusive. As well, you fail to understand that turbocharged engines gains in fuel efficiency are due to other technologies working in tandem with the turbocharger.The ever popular VW 1.4L 16v TSI came out in 2005 and the aforementioned Ford Ecoboost line of engines in 2009.16 cycles wrote:Turbo tech, tuning and engine design have come along way since 2009...date of 2nd article....
Jus saying...
Habit7 wrote:please see cited articles posted above about fuel efficiency with respect to turbocharged engines
drchaos wrote:"The mean mpg observed under I-4 Turbo regime is 25.57 and is 24.29 for V-6 indicating that I-4 Turbos are, on average, 1.28 mpg more fuel efficient than similar performing V-6" I'm sorry ... what does that say? Lol
http://www.trinituner.com/v3/forums/vie ... 3#p9139883Habit7 wrote:Turbocharged engines fuel efficiency gains are measured over NA engine of large displacements not of equal displacement. Furthermore there are other factors that go into fuel efficiency such as body weight, aerodynamics, transmission etc.
drchaos wrote:"Turbocharged engines fuel efficiency gains are measured over NA engine of large displacements not of equal displacement."
That is why you keep forgetting the 1.0 ecoboost more efficient than the 1.0 Zetec? Same MPG and more HP, so if the engine can do more work on the same fuel it less efficient right? only in habit7 land.
drchaos wrote:"Turbocharged engines fuel efficiency gains are measured over NA engine of large displacements not of equal displacement."
That is why you keep forgetting the 1.0 ecoboost more efficient than the 1.0 Zetec? Same MPG and more HP, so if the engine can do more work on the same fuel it less efficient right? only in habit7 land.
megadoc1 wrote:drchaos wrote:"Turbocharged engines fuel efficiency gains are measured over NA engine of large displacements not of equal displacement."
so you are saying that adding a turbo charger to an na engine will increase hp using the same amount of fuel? are u a magician? you make more HP by burning more fuel (forcing more air/fuel mixture into the smaller cylinder chamber and making the same HP as of one with a larger displacement. ) but carry on folks
pete wrote:This is worse than an evo vs sti thread now. Thanks guys
De Dragon wrote:Yuh pardner like he jump out or wha'? Meem see him post no long arsed articles to bolster he side. Mebbe he doing some research tuh jump back een yuh rass!
S_2NR wrote:De Dragon wrote:Yuh pardner like he jump out or wha'? Meem see him post no long arsed articles to bolster he side. Mebbe he doing some research tuh jump back een yuh rass!
I feel you and habit secretly want to hold hands and run off into the sunset together...
Oh....drchaos wrote:Oh yeah megadoc1
Just wanted to add that you have to be careful when running lean air mixtures at HIGH engine load you can cause knock. So when you push the engine really hard the car dumps more fuel in. If you run lean mixtures at lower engine loads then its fine.
That's why when I used to drive the Jetta with its 1.4 TSI really hard, it would guzzle gas. When driven carefully the fuel economy was insane ... one night around 1:00 am I managed 59 UK mpg which is 49 us mpg on a sando to chaguanas run.
Some people even report around 900 km on a tank.
Habit7 wrote:S_2NR wrote:De Dragon wrote:Yuh pardner like he jump out or wha'? Meem see him post no long arsed articles to bolster he side. Mebbe he doing some research tuh jump back een yuh rass!
I feel you and habit secretly want to hold hands and run off into the sunset together...
Hoss I am honestly concerned. The man's presence on tuner is becoming dependant on my posts.Oh....drchaos wrote:Oh yeah megadoc1
Just wanted to add that you have to be careful when running lean air mixtures at HIGH engine load you can cause knock. So when you push the engine really hard the car dumps more fuel in. If you run lean mixtures at lower engine loads then its fine.
That's why when I used to drive the Jetta with its 1.4 TSI really hard, it would guzzle gas. When driven carefully the fuel economy was insane ... one night around 1:00 am I managed 59 UK mpg which is 49 us mpg on a sando to chaguanas run.
Some people even report around 900 km on a tank.
So when you run the engine at higher RPMs engaging the turbo you get worse fuel efficiency than when running it at lower RPMs which might not engage the turbo.
Informative.
drchaos wrote:Habbit7 like you living in the 70's when turbo's used to spool up at 6000 rpm?
Turbo's giving boost from 1500 rpm and ting now. Turbo lag is just a fairy-tale told to scare kids like yourself off turbo's.