Should I get a Credit Card?

Re: Should I get a Credit Card?

Postby redmanjp » September 26th, 2023, 11:43 am

snatman wrote:wayzzz...
My 10yr old probably eats 12,000 in groceries by himself!

probably obese af :roll:

Postby pugboy » September 26th, 2023, 12:16 pm

this thread taking strange turns yes

at most i thought it woulda boil down to a pissing contest of who have bigger limits

Postby bluefete » September 26th, 2023, 5:28 pm

adnj wrote:I am noticing some serious household dysfunction in this thread. There are many tuner mysteries revealing themselves.

So instead of maccoing , - share nah! LOL.

Zoom is right though. He got where he is today by prudent management of his money - North Sea money to boot as well, eh.

So his advice about cc's is valid. As others have stated - many people cannot control their use of a cc and end up in hoc to the banks.

Postby paid_influencer » September 26th, 2023, 6:15 pm

ched gone off track.

lemme put it back on the rails
370663482_678812647603204_239013570627156235_n.jpg

Postby Dizzy28 » October 1st, 2023, 8:36 am

My SIL now message in a family group to ask if any of us who bank with other banks besides RBL seeing a bank fee for online purchases. Apparently RBL has a 2.5% fee on all online purchases they made in Sep.

I'm with FCB and have seen no such fee.

Postby paid_influencer » October 1st, 2023, 8:39 am

Dizzy28 wrote:My SIL now message in a family group to ask if any of us who bank with other banks besides RBL seeing a bank fee for online purchases. Apparently RBL has a 2.5% fee on all online purchases they made in Sep.

I'm with FCB and have seen no such fee.

preview of tomorrow? :new-bday: :bday:

Postby Dizzy28 » October 1st, 2023, 9:09 am

Another friend told me that charge is routine and usually drops off after a few days.

Guess it was my SIL and them first time seeing it.

Postby maj. tom » October 1st, 2023, 10:28 am

Should just be a card check to make sure it's a valid CC. Most banks would just charge $1 to $10 and then refund it when the transactions are authorized.

Let's hope it's just that...

Postby paid_influencer » October 1st, 2023, 10:44 am

"2.5% fee on all online purchases" is not routine bro. maybe she is interpreting the bill wrong

some B2B merchants do add a fee to offset credit card transaction fees (3% to 4% of the total). but that is normally not for consumer focused places.

Postby Dizzy28 » October 1st, 2023, 11:58 am

I experinced a card check for the first time last month. Filled up in Ramco Trincity using pay at the pump. There was a 6 dollar charge which still there under "pending" that FCB said is a card check that falls off eventually.
maj. tom wrote:Should just be a card check to make sure it's a valid CC. Most banks would just charge $1 to $10 and then refund it when the transactions are authorized.

Let's hope it's just that...

Postby mero » October 1st, 2023, 3:18 pm

That is standard across all credit cards even internationally. Some banks just have longer times for the pending 6.00 to fall off.

So technically u could use the last $6 on your card to get a full tank off gas. You'll just end up in a negative after it posted.

widdyphuck

Re: Foreign Currency Usage Limits on Credit Cards

Postby widdyphuck » November 12th, 2024, 12:06 pm

Chimera wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:Even if you try, you wouldn't be allowed to have so much credit cards anyway. The banks will do a credit check and once they see you have a credit card with another bank, it is unlikely they will give you another one especially if your income is tight.

The best way so far is for family members to also have credit cards.
Lol allyuh does post info as if it's factual without knowing anything about it

I have 9 credit cards myself.

People who realize what was coming and what needed to be done prepared themselves.

Why exactly do you have 9 credit cards?
For business or travel purposes?
The monthly charges must be alot for those 9 cards?

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » November 12th, 2024, 12:39 pm

wtf wrote:
Chimera wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:Even if you try, you wouldn't be allowed to have so much credit cards anyway. The banks will do a credit check and once they see you have a credit card with another bank, it is unlikely they will give you another one especially if your income is tight.

People who realize what was coming and what needed to be done prepared themselves.

Those charges are nothing compared to not having us, paying black market rate and using other payment platforms

Postby mero » November 12th, 2024, 12:52 pm

Chimera is a business man. Besides annual charges for the use of his cc, once he pays off his card fully, he pays $0.00 in charges, which is why business cards are even lesser than personal credit cards. A credit card is a blessing for ppl with money disciplined with good pay off practices. No profit for the bank at all unless he has substantial assets and savings that the bank can invest and make profit on.

Postby zoom rader » November 12th, 2024, 2:18 pm

wtf wrote:
Chimera wrote:

Cause hes a jackarse

One credit card is too much

Cash is king

Postby zoom rader » November 12th, 2024, 2:20 pm

mero wrote:Chimera is a business man. Besides annual charges for the use of his cc, once he pays off his card fully, he pays $0.00 in charges, which is why business cards are even lesser than personal credit cards. A credit card is a blessing for ppl with money disciplined with good pay off practices. No profit for the bank at all unless he has substantial assets and savings that the bank can invest and make profit on.
Bullśhit you buying into CC propaganda.

Cash is king

Postby mero » November 12th, 2024, 2:25 pm

Shut up hoe

Postby paid_influencer » November 12th, 2024, 6:19 pm

mero wrote:Chimera is a business man. Besides annual charges for the use of his cc, once he pays off his card fully, he pays $0.00 in charges, which is why business cards are even lesser than personal credit cards. A credit card is a blessing for ppl with money disciplined with good pay off practices. No profit for the bank at all unless he has substantial assets and savings that the bank can invest and make profit on.

The incentive for the banks is the 3% to 5% transaction fee on every credit card transaction. These can be quite substantial when man rolling up with 9 credit cards in he pocket every month.

Many b2b businesses away will insist on bank transfers only for payment. If they do allow credit cards, they might levy a convenience fee or something similar to offset the transaction fee.

The extra profit incentive is the only reason why credit cards is the last avenue to get cut, I feel.

But it coming. Mark my words, next year all them card is $2000 max, from fcb rbl ... rbc scotia might bit $1000.. .. all going to get cut. is just a matter of time.

Postby st7 » November 12th, 2024, 6:38 pm

Cash is king

why u even in this ched if you anti-credit card?

Postby pugboy » November 12th, 2024, 6:48 pm

the 3-5% is what the bank who owns the card machine makes, they are called the acquirer bank
it is charged to the merchant
eg if pricesmart banks with republic and using republic card machines by the cashier
republic making a killing from all customers who pay via cc
customer is not affected by any of that card acquiring fee directly

paid_influencer wrote:

The incentive for the banks is the 3% to 5% transaction fee on every credit card transaction. These can be quite substantial when man rolling up with 9 credit cards in he pocket every month.

Many b2b businesses away will insist on bank transfers only for payment. If they do allow credit cards, they might levy a convenience fee or something similar to offset the transaction fee.

The extra profit incentive is the only reason why credit cards is the last avenue to get cut, I feel.

But it coming. Mark my words, next year all them card is $2000 max, from fcb rbl ... rbc scotia might bit $1000.. .. all going to get cut. is just a matter of time.

Postby paid_influencer » November 12th, 2024, 7:05 pm

pugboy wrote:customer is not affected by any of that card acquiring fee directly

correct

but in many b2b settings there are convenience fees attached to offset the costs to the seller. these might be 3%-5% of the total amount

Postby MaxPower » November 12th, 2024, 7:29 pm

Love my purchasing power with my credit cards.

Have them cards smoking on Amazon.

Postby sMASH » November 12th, 2024, 7:39 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
pugboy wrote:customer is not affected by any of that card acquiring fee directly

correct

but in many b2b settings there are convenience fees attached to offset the costs to the seller. these might be 3%-5% of the total amount
Plenty small shops does chsrge the customers the cc fee. Is either Linx or cash.

Mero just pushing pnm position . Sure if pnm was the oppostion he frothing on this issue.

Postby pugboy » November 12th, 2024, 8:24 pm

the banks does get vex when shops do that
also when the shop say they not doing cc for small amounts

sMASH wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:

correct

Plenty small shops does chsrge the customers the cc fee. Is either Linx or cash.

Mero just pushing pnm position . Sure if pnm was the oppostion he frothing on this issue.

Postby zoom rader » November 13th, 2024, 4:34 am

st7 wrote:

Cash is king

Cause the world is hoodwinked on CC propaganda.

Only idiots use CC

Look up Dave Ramsee on CC propaganda.

Postby mero » November 13th, 2024, 8:16 am

How you buy yuh temu rolex?

Postby mero » November 13th, 2024, 8:21 am

sMASH wrote:

Eh? I have access USD on my card Bubby. You ban from flying and unemployed since before Covid so USD or forex shouldn't be a concern of yours.

Postby st7 » November 13th, 2024, 8:25 am

st7 wrote:

Cash is king

Cause the world is hoodwinked on CC propaganda.

Only idiots use CC

Look up Dave Ramsee on CC propaganda.

why?

sounds like you have poor money mismanagement if you cant pay your bills on time. i never once paid interest fees on a CC, and i get cash back every month.

and you eh answer why you in this ched.

Postby hover11 » November 13th, 2024, 11:26 am

sMASH wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:

correct

Ask mero if he in a better position since PNM come into power compared to 2010 -2015. I sure he would be shame to answer you. Them fellas have to keep up an appearance to make PNM look good at any cost.

Postby MaxPower » November 13th, 2024, 6:19 pm

mero wrote:How you buy yuh temu rolex?

The replicas is like $200usd.

So he woulda collect he daily $50 from the bank for a few days.