Uber in Trinidad and Tobago - TO PAUSE OPERATION May 30 2018

OuttaRoad

Re: Uber in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby OuttaRoad » November 22nd, 2016, 7:15 am

I hope there will be bmws in the mix...I wah ride stoosh.

Postby Ted_v2 » November 22nd, 2016, 9:02 pm

Yeah. There's ways of getting those types of rides I heard. Limo ect

Postby desifemlove » January 12th, 2017, 8:07 am

https://www.facebook.com/events/1286046131456230/

Going to be launching pre-Carnival.

2advanced

Postby 2advanced » January 15th, 2017, 7:04 pm

Launch is tomorrow from 11:00 AM :D

Both POS & S/FDO

Postby Gem_in_i » January 16th, 2017, 7:57 am

https://newsroom.uber.com/trinidad-and- ... eromachel/

Fares in San Fernando and Port of Spain:

uberX
Minimum fare: $32.50 TTD

Breakdown:

Base fare: $20.00 TTD
Per minute: $1.20 TTD
Per kilometer: $1.40 TTD
Booking fee: $2.50 TTD

Postby 88sins » January 16th, 2017, 8:27 am

Gem_in_i wrote:https://newsroom.uber.com/trinidad-and-tobago/riderzeromachel/

uberX

Breakdown:

not making sense. If this is their actual breakdown of their actual minimum fare rate, there's a charge of TT$7.40 unaccounted for.

so persons using the service paying that additional TT$7.40 for what?

DTAC

Postby DTAC » January 16th, 2017, 8:28 am

So that minimum fare is based on a trip from Port of Spain being 14 kilometers from San Fernando and being a 12 minute drive???

Postby 88sins » January 16th, 2017, 8:35 am

I can appreciate the base fare, as well as the booking fee, even the rate/km charge

but that per minute fee? in PoS & Sando traffic? makes no economical sense to the user. seems geared to boost Uber & driver revenue.
And when does that per minute rate start? from when you make the initial request? From when the driver leaves to meet the passenger? or from when the driver collects the passenger?

I thank God I eh go have any reason to be using that service.

DTAC

Postby DTAC » January 16th, 2017, 8:46 am

At least for the launch they should drop or greatly reduce those per KM and minute rates, that will kill the model right there. If they offered the ride at that minimum rate or even close to they'd be over booked in an instant.

Did Uber even conduct any tests to see just how much time it takes on average to get from POS to Sando at different times?

Postby pete » January 16th, 2017, 8:50 am

Uber also has surge pricing which at peak times you multiply the final fare by a factor.

Obviously you're not gonna take an uber from say one end of Wrightson road to the next. You would use this more if say you wanted to get to somewhere that requires several "route" changes and don't want the hassle. Uber will never be a cheap option.

For example a one way ride from JFK to downtown Manhattan (Roughly an hour drive) was US$120. For $30 you can get unlimited metro access for a WEEK. Guess what I used. haha

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » January 16th, 2017, 8:50 am

88sins wrote:I can appreciate the base fare, as well as the booking fee, even the rate/km charge

but that per minute fee? in PoS & Sando traffic? makes no economical sense to the user

I was thinking the same thing... not in trinidad traffic lol

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » January 16th, 2017, 9:03 am

Well yes per minute ?haha
So from Frankies to shakers during the day might be a 200 lol

Postby Redman » January 16th, 2017, 9:28 am

You all think this will last???

NYC has millions of people without cars...Im wondering if we have the scale to make this work...

src1983

Uber in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby src1983 » January 16th, 2017, 10:25 am

Are they using higher off per km/per minute?

Great for ppl going fetes

4 ppl in one car rates would be cheaper

Great for tourist too, they would prefer to use Uber over taxis anyway

No parking hassle
No waiting by taxi stand
Possible video of drunkard fighting Uber on trinituner

Postby sMASH » January 16th, 2017, 11:01 am

it will be a niche industry.... where the people who can afford good cars just dont want to drive.
it wont be for the regular joe or tanty to use to go to the market.

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » January 16th, 2017, 12:08 pm

https://help.uber.com/h/e9375d5e-917b-4 ... b89a440eec

Don't forget about this little gem.
Use wisely.

What is surge?
During times of high demand for rides, fares may increase to make sure those who need a ride can get one. For riders, surge helps ensure that pickup is available quickly and reliably. For driver-partners, surge means higher fares and a steady stream of ride requests. When you’re online, your app displays areas with high demand for rides in shades of red. The deeper the shade of red, the greater that area's demand.

Surge pricing for any trip is based on the rider's pickup location. While you may receive a ride request while your vehicle is in a surging area, your rider's pickup location may not be surging. When you receive a pickup request from a surging area, the trip request screen displays the surge multiplier.

Surge rates are charged as a multiplier of X.X. For example, a rider in a surging area may see and accept a surge multiplier of 1.3x or 2.1x. This surge multiplier applies to the base, time, and distance of the trip fare. Cancellation fees, tolls, and per-trip surcharges are not subject to surge pricing.

Here’s an example of what you would earn for a $10 trip fare with a surge rate of 1.5x:

$2 base
$3 distance
$5 time
SUBTOTAL: $10
Surge multiplier of 1.5x = $5
Toll: $1.00
Gross fare: $16 ($10 + $5 + $1 toll)

Your net payout for this trip would be $15 - the Uber service fee + $1.00 toll.

Payment statements display the surge amount separately.

Postby 88sins » January 16th, 2017, 1:05 pm

Redman wrote:You all think this will last???

NYC has millions of people without cars...Im wondering if we have the scale to make this work...

and the bulk of them still don't use Uber

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » January 16th, 2017, 1:07 pm

Gem_in_i wrote:https://newsroom.uber.com/trinidad-and-tobago/riderzeromachel/

uberX

Breakdown:

Just so you understand, the cost of a ride is:
Base fare + Per minute + Per kilometer + Booking fee (Minimum $32.50 and subject to surge multiplier).

Postby Slartibartfast » January 16th, 2017, 2:11 pm

sMASH wrote:it will be a niche industry.... where the people who can afford good cars just dont want to drive.
it wont be for the regular joe or tanty to use to go to the market.

This. I most likely won`t use it cuz I too poor

Postby j.o.e » January 16th, 2017, 2:32 pm

Tuners could beat up bai. This is a option for those who can afford it. Even those who can afford won't use it daily. Drop to airport , pick up from dealership while car servicing, it can come in handy. You can keep with the current option of asking a friend or family member or flagging down a taxi/maxi if you'd like also.

Postby 16 cycles » January 16th, 2017, 2:41 pm

j.o.e wrote:...... You can keep with the current option of asking a friend or family member or flagging down a taxi/maxi if you'd like also.....

sense until friend /family member hit yuh them uber rates.... :/

src1983

Postby src1983 » January 16th, 2017, 2:57 pm

Just worked out a trip from work to home on a Sunday

9km at 7mins (no traffic)

TTD43.50

src1983

Postby src1983 » January 16th, 2017, 3:04 pm

Trip right now from work to pops in south 176.50 70km @50mins

Postby Gem_in_i » January 16th, 2017, 3:37 pm

High Street to Gulf City Mall costing $32

Miktay

Postby Miktay » January 16th, 2017, 4:52 pm

This is going to hit the airport taxi cartel hard...

Postby eliteauto » January 16th, 2017, 5:18 pm

Miktay wrote:This is going to hit the airport taxi cartel hard...

nope

GixxerMan

Postby GixxerMan » January 16th, 2017, 5:20 pm

it's deem to fail....

it makes no sense in trinidad, and the company hosting it in trinidad is very questionable

GixxerMan

Postby GixxerMan » January 16th, 2017, 5:22 pm

Gem_in_i wrote:High Street to Gulf City Mall costing $32

what's the normal fare for 1 passenger from library cor. to gulf?

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » January 16th, 2017, 5:24 pm

Out of curiosity, how come these drivers don't have to register as a taxi???

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » January 16th, 2017, 5:25 pm

GixxerMan wrote:
Gem_in_i wrote:High Street to Gulf City Mall costing $32

what's the normal fare for 1 passenger from library cor. to gulf?

$6