T&T National Budget 2018-2019

screwbash

Re: T&T National Budget 2018-2019

Postby screwbash » October 2nd, 2018, 7:55 am

jus now either man will go in the note and teif gas from the gas stations or with importation of gas it will create an entire black market importation ring that will supply gas to the public cheaper or supply to the gas stations cheaper and them sell it $5 an make real money. either way yuh price the product out of the reach of normal people so yuh create a black market for it.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » October 2nd, 2018, 8:16 am

INCREASE IN GAS PRICE IN HATI

Haiti gripped by deadly riots over fuel prices
Several deaths have been reported in Haiti as people rioted to protest significant increases in gas and fuel prices. Major airlines have canceled flights to the island. Leaders have appealed for calm.

Protesters in Port-au-Prince
Several people were killed over the weekend as protests broke out in Haiti over a significant rise in petrol prices, local media reported on Saturday. Leaders and politicians pleaded for calm as the protests entered a second day.

The unrest began when the government announced that gasoline prices would rise by 38 percent, diesel by 47 percent and kerosene by 51 percent starting this weekend.

Following the unrest, Prime Minister Jack Guy Lafontant announced a temporary suspension of the double-digit government increases on Saturday afternoon, roughly 24 hours after the price rises were announced.

However, the government's decision to back down did not keep angry residents from continuing to take to the streets. Some demonstrators erected flaming roadblocks, while others attacked hotels and businesses.

Protests in Port-au-Prince, Haiti
Haiti's president is hugely unpopular

'Poor people want to eat'

Demonstrations also broke out in Cap-Haitien, the second-largest city, as well as in the communes of Les Cayes, Jacmel and Petit-Goave.

"The poor people want to be able to eat," one masked protester told Reuters news agency, while fire consumed a vehicle behind him. "I want to tell (President) Jovenel (Moïse) that Haiti is not for him and his family. Haiti is for every Haitian. He needs to leave the country and leave the country to us so we can live."

In a statement, Lafontant said the government strongly condemns acts of violence and vandalism.

US carriers American Airlines and JetBlue announced flight cancellations Saturday to the capital Port-au-Prince citing civil unrest. The US Embassy in Haiti advised personnel and US nationals in the country to shelter in place.

Haiti is one of the poorest countries in the region.

Burned out cars in Port-au-Prince, Haiti
44573919_303.jpg
Last edited by screwbash on October 2nd, 2018, 8:19 am, edited 1 time in total.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » October 2nd, 2018, 8:17 am

INCREASE IN GAS PRICE IN IRAN

In oil-producing Iran, a slight hike in gas prices could cause a jump in discontent
PRI's The World

April 25, 2014 · 9:15 PM EDT
Producer Shirin Jaafari
Gas station in Tehran A man shows the damage on a gas station which was destroyed in northwest Tehran June 27, 2007. Credit: REUTERS/Raheb Homavandi
Until Thursday, Iranians could purchase up to 16 gallons of gas for just $0.45 per gallon. Now, they are paying $0.83 and, after the first 16 gallons, they'll pay $1.17 a gallon.

That's because the government is cutting part of the subsidy it provided for gas in an attempt to improve the economy.

While the new gas prices remain low compared to the US or Europe, for an Iranian family earning a few hundred dollars a month on average, the rise will hurt. The higher gas prices will mean higher prices on everyday items.

I remember in 2007, when I was visiting Iran, a similar price hike went into effect. I headed to my local grocer to buy a few items and noticed a higher price for eggs. I asked about the change.

“Haven’t you heard?” he said, with a surprised look on his face. “There’s been a rise on gas prices. It costs me more to get these eggs here.”

Every other store I went to mentioned the rise in gas and charged me more.

As a result of that price hike in 2007, there were riots at gas stations and at least two stations were set on fire.

This time around, nothing like that has happened so far. There were only reports of long lines at gas stations on Thursday, before the higher prices took effect.

But with high inflation and high unemployment, a rise in gas prices is the last thing Iranians need. Over the past few years as Western sanctions have increased, many small businesses have either had to shut down or have struggled to stay afloat.

On top of that, Iranians have been paying more for electricity and water this year. Electricity has gone up by 24 percent and water by 20 percent.

Some, though, see the reduction in subsidies as a positive step.

“The Iranian economy is like a patient who has suffered a heartattack, has broken an arm and a leg,” says Kamran Dadkhah, an expert on Iran's economy at Northeastern University. “And imagine the doctor discovers he has cancer, too. You have to take fast and drastic steps to save that patient."

According to Dadkhah, cutting the subsidies is a good idea in the long term and President Hasan Rouhani is taking the right steps.

However, to get the economy in good shape for the long term, he says, Iranians will have to be patient.

The price hike could turn out to be very difficult for many families — leading to less food on the table and more tightening of the already very tight belts.
RTR1R7CO.jpg
Last edited by screwbash on October 2nd, 2018, 8:19 am, edited 1 time in total.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » October 2nd, 2018, 8:18 am

MEANWHILE AFTER GAS PRICE INCREASE IN TRINIDAD
74872_456001847766_7878375_n-720x480.jpg

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 2nd, 2018, 8:32 am

Trinidad only have mouth murderers behind a pc screen...by sat we back to normz

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » October 2nd, 2018, 8:42 am

I just want to see some progress for the sacrifice of these things.

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » October 2nd, 2018, 8:43 am

Wey @dedragan?

He geh band or waa

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 2nd, 2018, 9:02 am

Progress....only thing that progresses is dem mp bank acct

Postby Dizzy28 » October 2nd, 2018, 9:16 am

So they effectively doubled the pensions for a section of old aged persons by doubling the eligibility cap from $3000 to $6000. One can get their $3000 NIS and now still be eligible for the full Senior Citizens Pension.

Postby j.o.e » October 2nd, 2018, 9:18 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
skylinechild wrote:
Kronik wrote:I think I'll just put premium now yes, difference won't be much anymore

yep....same thing i saying... better full premium and done..

Only thing with this...you will be refueling at least 2 times for the week

Why? I actually get same or better mileage on premium once I don’t drive wild. Of course this is specific to my vehicle

Postby Slartibartfast » October 2nd, 2018, 9:42 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:That not funny....the funny thing is wanting to start all the "game changing" projects and hoping to finish by 2020

I real laugh at this. Every goddam elections since i born they doing the same thing.

But hey, at least they constructing a yacht facility in Tobago.

Postby Dizzy28 » October 2nd, 2018, 9:46 am

j.o.e wrote:
skylinechild wrote:
Kronik wrote:I think I'll just put premium now yes, difference won't be much anymore

Why? I actually get same or better mileage on premium once I don’t drive wild. Of course this is specific to my vehicle

I have found the same, My mileage is better with Premium than Super.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 2nd, 2018, 9:59 am

j.o.e wrote:
skylinechild wrote:

probably vehicle specific and routes taken....

Postby hydroep » October 2nd, 2018, 10:05 am

If allyuh hear beat-up on them "pro-PNM" stations this morning. Brotherman call up complaining how he hadda to spend $ 100.00 more per day on passage for he and he 4 chirren and he doh know why Government couldn't hold off on the gas price increase for a li'l two years seeing as how Colon-In-Butt say they collecting $ Billions more from the non-oil sector.

Accurate or not, the grassroots seem to becoming more analytical as the noose tightens around their neck. 10 - 1 he still voting Sh!tkicker next elections though...:|

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 2nd, 2018, 10:07 am

PNM winning next general easy easy...no maths there

mad

Postby mad » October 2nd, 2018, 1:31 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:PNM winning next general easy easy...no maths there

You sure right.
Might be a good thing too. Cause if Kamla win, all dem ole cockroach who hiding now and taking it with no grease, you will see how they will come out and miraculously get voice to oppose. Is then the riot go start.
First time I see one set of government workers get fired left, right and center since 2015 and not a boo.:drinking:

Postby zoom rader » October 2nd, 2018, 1:51 pm

I warned you all , keep voting PNM

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 2nd, 2018, 2:40 pm

zoom rader wrote:I warned you all , keep voting PNM

Welcome back

Postby toyolink » October 2nd, 2018, 3:47 pm

The 2 things the state treats as low hanging fruit over the last few years are
-Increase taxes and charges.
-Reduce budgeted expenditure and actual (bad pay) pay-outs.
I havn't seen one initiative over that last few years which have resulted in increased out-put or productivity.
The funny thing is that a large number of the population and business community have accepted their role as fiscal punching bags.
The MOF pronouncements that we have turned the corner mean nothing if your ability to meet your commitments just keep getting worse and reasonable expectations for personal or business growth no longer exist.
I just don't want to believe the next 2020 fiscal package would demonstrate a lot of $$ going into all kinds of election type inducements for votes.
When genuine empathy and or concern for the citizens is replaced by behavior like 'throwing scraps' to the vulnerable my mind goes to the French Revolution.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » October 2nd, 2018, 4:18 pm

j.o.e wrote:
skylinechild wrote:

I have found the same, My mileage is better with Premium than Super.
Same here. Better response from the engine with premium too

rebound

Postby rebound » October 2nd, 2018, 4:42 pm

screwbash wrote:MEANWHILE AFTER GAS PRICE INCREASE IN TRINIDAD
yup....nail on the head

Postby The_Honourable » October 2nd, 2018, 4:53 pm

mad wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:PNM winning next general easy easy...no maths there

You sure right.
Might be a good thing too. Cause if Kamla win, all dem ole cockroach who hiding now and taking it with no grease, you will see how they will come out and miraculously get voice to oppose. Is then the riot go start.
First time I see one set of government workers get fired left, right and center since 2015 and not a boo.:drinking:

Exactly! Not a boo!

All i seeing is prayers, a lil beatup on the radio, quarreling on social media... and that's it. If i was a party financier, i'll invest in the PNM full 100. Imbert, Rohan, Staurt, Faris and the syrians safe.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » October 2nd, 2018, 6:09 pm

rebound wrote:
yup....nail on the head

Y beat up cause a subsidy was removed? Is not like the price was artificially increased. A subsidy was removed, so the price is coming closer to what the actual price is. The forking subsidy used to get paid anyhow. Is all of us used to pay for the subsidy whether we drive 30 km or 3000 km. Let's stop promoting BS.

All subsidies and social services need to be reviewed. This hand out mentality that was designed for political points is damaging us.

supernedd

Postby supernedd » October 2nd, 2018, 7:39 pm

Ben_spanna wrote:They should have increased the fines for driving on to shoulder to $20,000 and reduced the duties on all Hybrid cars.
aye aye ..u does sit in south to town 2hour traffic? ease me up with d shoulder charges ...hahahaha

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 2nd, 2018, 8:44 pm

Redress10 wrote:
rebound wrote:
yup....nail on the head

Y beat up cause a subsidy was removed? Is not like the price was artificially increased. A subsidy was removed, so the price is coming closer to what the actual price is. The forking subsidy used to get paid anyhow. Is all of us used to pay for the subsidy whether we drive 30 km or 3000 km. Let's stop promoting BS.

All subsidies and social services need to be reviewed. This hand out mentality that was designed for political points is damaging us.

Subsidy on cooking gas should have been removed as well ent? Ttec rates adjusted as well?

rebound

Postby rebound » October 2nd, 2018, 8:48 pm

Redress10 wrote:
rebound wrote:
yup....nail on the head

Subsidy on cooking gas should have been removed as well ent? Ttec rates adjusted as well?
Correct if we were to follow that clown's philosophy, we should pay taxes and expect nothing in return......he is happy with a oneway street arrangement for some twisted reason.

Postby The_Honourable » October 2nd, 2018, 9:34 pm

Gas price increase will benefit the poor, says Imbert

Finance Minister Colm Imbert says it will be persons in the lowest rungs of the income bracket that stand to benefit from the money to be saved in 2019 from Government's decision to raise the price of super gasoline.

Speaking at a post-Budget press conference at the Ministry of Finance in Port of Spain on Tuesday, Imbert said Government has "redistributed" its savings from reducing the 'super' subsidy to social benefits including food cards and various grants, including for disability.

The Finance Minister was asked to respond to public sentiment that a $1 increase in the price per litre of super gasoline, bringing the price at the stations to $3.11 from $2.70, was harsh for a large section of the population.

Following the announcement in the minister's 2018-2019 National Budget presentation on Monday, taxi drivers and commuters who spoke to the Express said the minister was wrong in his assertion that the change would not affect the cost of public transport.

Imbert had said a decision to keep the price per litre of diesel fuel at $3.41 was intended to keep public transport costs from rising.

Taxi drivers who ply the routes between Port of Spain and Sangre Grande, Curepe, Chaguanas and San Fernando disagreed, saying most taxis run on super gas, while maxi taxis and public buses mostly require diesel.

They said a change in fares is inevitable and all those routes - as well as taxi routes around the country - could increase by $1.

The daily commuters who spoke to the Express said they found this a harsh measure that would impact mostly the average income, working class, whose wages have not increased with the rising costs of living.

Imbert said however, the cost to taxi drivers per passengers is marginal and there should be no need to increase fares by $1, per person.

He said Government chose not to eliminate the fuel subsidy altogether and noted that since the reading of the budget on Monday, the subsidy bill for 2019 had increased from $1.5 billion to $1.6 billion.

Imbert said the decision on super was made to be the least impactful to citizens, as many less people use taxis as opposed to maxi taxis or buses.

Source: https://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/lo ... f80f6.html

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » October 2nd, 2018, 9:39 pm

Sometimes I does wonder if politicians does believe de sheit that does be coming out dey mouth?

Postby De Dragon » October 2nd, 2018, 9:50 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:That not funny....the funny thing is wanting to start all the "game changing" projects and hoping to finish by 2020

Those "game changers" have been in three National budgets now :roll:

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » October 2nd, 2018, 10:18 pm

rebound wrote:
Redress10 wrote:
rebound wrote:
yup....nail on the head

Correct if we were to follow that clown's philosophy, we should pay taxes and expect nothing in return......he is happy with a oneway street arrangement for some twisted reason.

Clown you haven't even begun to play taxes so just be happy that life in Tnt still so sweet. Funny how people all over the world live without subsidies and still manage to thrive but you all here in tnt get a little closer to paying the market price of fuel and all hell wanna break lose.

Some of you all are downright irrational. Subsidies are not "free". YOU still pay, that's the whole point. Government pays and that means YOU. You really comfortable with government spending billions of dollars over the years to cover the consumption of fuel? Fuel is literally burning money. Why is it that everywhere else in the world is progressing but men here still acting as though money in trinidad growing on trees.

All subsidies need to be reviewed. People already saying that TTEC, WASA rates etc are not the real rates hence they can't be profitable. This level of entitlement is nauseating. Why trinis don't ask for subsidies whenever they go overseas.