The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

Re: The | Apple Inc.  | Thread

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 12th, 2014, 5:58 am

There was a huge thread on macrumors debating this very same thing about the 5s and the outcome was the same regardless of what apple had on their website. It wasn't just the Tmobile one that was unlocked at full price. Posters in the hundreds reported back that AT&T, Verizon 5s bought at full price were unlocked.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 12th, 2014, 6:01 am

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1640112

This thread explains a lot and the key points to take away are from posters who actually purchased phones rather than those who just read Apple's website in this instance.

subie_2NR

Postby subie_2NR » September 12th, 2014, 12:45 pm

subie_2NR wrote:I just bought a high capacity battery for my 5 on eBay. Anyone ever used it?

The attachment ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1409411065.429470.jpg is no longer available

Got the battery, removed the gold label and it was a new iPhone 5 battery. Installed it as I was in dire need.

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1410540312.544815.jpg

Got 22hrs normal usage and on 1% as I make this post...

The battery I removed from the phone was swollen.

Postby Trini Hookah » September 12th, 2014, 12:48 pm

Try an doh run yuh battery so low...

rabiesebola

Postby rabiesebola » September 12th, 2014, 1:03 pm

what are the chances of apple pay coming to trinidad? i really liking the watch though. i braksin for that price for the edition version. but it is really the best idea behind a watch so far. samsung rushing to much. in 2 months i sure samsung will release another watch to combat this. i wanna get the 6 plus 128gb. what allyuh getting?

Postby Trini Hookah » September 12th, 2014, 1:09 pm

128gb...u storing your lifestory in dey awa

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 12th, 2014, 1:11 pm

HD porn. The storage struggle is real.

rabiesebola

Postby rabiesebola » September 12th, 2014, 1:22 pm

i aint trust this cloud thing. remember dey got hacked d other day. i like storing my thing. besides that 128gb might actually be a 88gb or less. i already fill up my 64gb mem card. das why note 4 lookin like d better buy. 32gb internal and 128gb mem card. but i need dat apple watch

Postby tr1ad » September 12th, 2014, 2:14 pm

"need" LOL

Postby 16 cycles » September 12th, 2014, 2:35 pm

what's the timeline for releasing the 's' model ?

Postby Spitfir3 » September 12th, 2014, 2:47 pm

tr1ad wrote:"need" LOL

man have he priorities in order :lol:

Postby pete » September 12th, 2014, 2:48 pm

How would the 128GB one be 88Gb or less?

Now I'm wondering why I'm even bothering to ask.. :|

air wick

Postby air wick » September 12th, 2014, 2:54 pm

my guess is that the 128 GB will have 125.2 GB free, my 16 GB iPhone 5 is really 13.2GB as seen in general > about... 2.8 GB is used for OS etc...

88 GB is way too low... lol

Postby Trini Hookah » September 12th, 2014, 4:42 pm

And it's how a man paid for 128 but happy for 88

Postby nemisis » September 12th, 2014, 10:13 pm

yea fellas ordered the tmobile contract free one as it should be unlocked but in Allergic2BunnyEars pic his own has the unlocked next to tmobile....

do you all think i should cancel the order or continue with the risk lol
Screenshot_2014-09-12-22-00-08.png

The | Apple Inc.  | Thread

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 12th, 2014, 10:22 pm

Check macrumors...the forums
Last edited by Allergic2BunnyEars on September 12th, 2014, 10:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.

src1983

Postby src1983 » September 12th, 2014, 10:23 pm

nemisis wrote:yea fellas ordered the tmobile contract free one as it should be unlocked but in Allergic2BunnyEars pic his own has the unlocked next to tmobile....

I wouldn't take that risk

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 12th, 2014, 10:43 pm

nemisis wrote:yea fellas ordered the tmobile contract free one as it should be unlocked but in Allergic2BunnyEars pic his own has the unlocked next to tmobile....

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1773920

Postby nemisis » September 12th, 2014, 11:21 pm

^^^ scanning that forum i found this

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 12th, 2014, 11:22 pm

Pal u need to read thru that entire thread or go to the last page. That entire thread is exactly the same as the 5s thread I linked to earlier in this thread. Lots of back and forth info BUT the fact remains that those that have purchased contract free from APPLE and not thru the carriers have ALL received unlocked phones REGARDLESS of the misinfo given by some of the apple customer care reps.

I would go as far to say that some of these reps don't know what they talking about in some scenarios like this one and just parrot certain lines.

How else does one explain my 5s and countless other 5s iPhones (even regardless of whether AT&T, Tmobile, Verizon) bought full price from Apple being unlocked?

So far the only people who keep saying the phones are not unlocked are the ones who haven't attempted to purchase and also have no proof of locked iPhones at full price from APPLE directly.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 12th, 2014, 11:34 pm

http://forums.macrumors.com/attachment. ... 1410496814

Even more proof that lines up with what I've been saying. Go brave once you buy straight from Apple.

bolo23

Postby bolo23 » September 12th, 2014, 11:58 pm

I am in the U.S and I spoke to 2 different apple specialists today on the phone just to confirm that I was getting the correct info.....both confirmed that the t-mobile versions that say "contract free" are factory unlocked.

I went ahead and ordered mine after both persons confirmed it!

Postby S_2NR » September 13th, 2014, 12:12 am

why not just wait till the factory unlocked version is released and have no risk?
never understood people who need to have a device as soon as its announced

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 13th, 2014, 12:17 am

S_2NR wrote:why not just wait till the factory unlocked version is released and have no risk?
never understood people who need to have a device as soon as its announced

Because the risk has been mitigated by research and backed up with facts and photos?

Never understood people who are unnecessarily risk averse.

Postby S_2NR » September 13th, 2014, 12:24 am

because its alot of money?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 13th, 2014, 12:29 am

Indeed it is but it's not like people are saying spend it with no proof. If you had persons posting that they bought from apple at full price and the phone was locked then I could understand the hesitancy but so far not ONE person out of thousands over the last few years has posted that.

At some point being overly, unnecessarily risk averse just holds one back or causes missed opportunities.

Postby Trini Hookah » September 13th, 2014, 12:35 am

Dan is 1 mth to wait for 2012 tech...the least you could do is wait a little longer.

I guess is flamz ting idk

SRASC

Postby SRASC » September 13th, 2014, 12:41 am

Going against many reports that the off contract does not mean unlocked. Hence the unlocked models which are available eventually in the U.S. & at launch elsewhere

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 13th, 2014, 12:48 am

SRASC wrote:Going against many reports that the off contract does not mean unlocked. Hence the unlocked models which are available eventually in the U.S. & at launch elsewhere

Any links to these reports of customers who purchased off contract directly from apple and received locked phones?

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 13th, 2014, 12:52 am

what i gathered is that the contract free T-Mobile version comes with a configuration for T-Mobile so it will only work in the US on T-Mobile. However, any international SIM will work without problems.

also, u can be on the safe side and remove the T-Mobile SIM, restore the phone in DFU mode, then pop in your SIM and be good to go...