The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

Re: The | Apple Inc.  | Thread

Postby M_2NR » October 16th, 2014, 9:29 am

:evil: why cant they put speakers in a landscape orientation...

Postby pete » October 16th, 2014, 9:41 am

pete wrote:As it's just to have a dvd player for my wife I'll probably just go with the AVH-X1600DVD

Watched a review and the guy loved it even though he went in with with very low expectations. It should work with waze etc on the iphone, just need to get cables.
stop being a cheap a$$ and buy the AppRadio! :lol:

nah

Postby pete » October 16th, 2014, 9:43 am

Anyone else has a problem with the home button sticking on the 5s? Two weeks old and it's driving my wife crazy, sometimes it's fine, sometimes it's really hard to press.

I'm going to carry it to an apple store in a couple weeks but is there anything I could to in the mean time(besides letting her use her LG)?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 16th, 2014, 9:50 am

pete wrote:Anyone else has a problem with the home button sticking on the 5s? Two weeks old and it's driving my wife crazy, sometimes it's fine, sometimes it's really hard to press.

I'm going to carry it to an apple store in a couple weeks but is there anything I could to in the mean time(besides letting her use her LG)?
no probs with mine, never used a case or a screen protector - but I've seen faulty home buttons. There are guys locally who can change the home button for you.

In the mean time turn on "Assisitive Touch" in Settings > General > Accessibility. This will put a home button on the screen if your physical home button stops working.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 16th, 2014, 9:54 am

I think we all knew the new iPads would have touch ID.
The form factor, hardware and weight are what we are waiting to see.

Hoping for a new Apple TV, new Mac Mini and definitely hoping for a new 27" iMac with 5K display - might see some new iPods too.

Postby pete » October 16th, 2014, 10:02 am

I'd much prefer to walk into an apple store and hopefully get the entire phone replace than to try to get someone to fix it here. She read that sometimes they send the phone to fix and it takes a few days but that's not a problem either.

I'll get her to do the assistive touch for now.

Postby S_2NR » October 16th, 2014, 10:43 am

pete wrote:Anyone else has a problem with the home button sticking on the 5s? Two weeks old and it's driving my wife crazy, sometimes it's fine, sometimes it's really hard to press.

Common problem with iPhone and iPod touch. If its under warranty send it back. That is headache to fix

cornfused

Postby cornfused » October 16th, 2014, 11:01 am

Dead I pod touch , not responding to the 2 button press technique .

Postby M_2NR » October 16th, 2014, 11:20 am

S_2NR wrote:

Common problem with iPhone and iPod touch. If its under warranty send it back. That is headache to fix

this! Especially as it's a 5s with TouchID. Send that chit back ASAP.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 16th, 2014, 1:41 pm

waw

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » October 16th, 2014, 2:13 pm

^ i heard the gold is real gold. notsureiftrue

PapaC

Postby PapaC » October 16th, 2014, 2:37 pm

What has you disappointed?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 16th, 2014, 7:30 pm

Broadwell is early 2015. But then Skylake is due end of 2015.

The focus was on that new iMac 27" with 5K display and 4GHz processor.

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1413502222.872532.jpg

greggle71

Postby greggle71 » October 16th, 2014, 7:42 pm

Picked up a new MacBook Pro (w/retina display) previously owned a MacBook Air 2008 model, also considered the new MacBook Air but the weight difference was negligible for me

Postby pioneer » October 16th, 2014, 7:51 pm

Still can't believe ipod classic is no more.

Postby Kenjo » October 16th, 2014, 9:34 pm

OS X Yosemite available for download . 5 Gb. Finally airdrop from the Mac !

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » October 17th, 2014, 1:56 pm

Yosemite is awesome. Zippier than the beta and Safari is crazy fast.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 17th, 2014, 2:13 pm

scotty_buttons wrote:Yosemite is awesome. Zippier than the beta and Safari is crazy fast.
faster than Chrome?

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » October 17th, 2014, 2:19 pm

scotty_buttons wrote:Yosemite is awesome. Zippier than the beta and Safari is crazy fast.
faster than Chrome?

At LEAST as fast as chrome. sometimes faster.

Postby ismithx » October 17th, 2014, 3:18 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:waw

ah wah di bomboclat

nah

this is my only real beef with apple tech

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 17th, 2014, 3:52 pm

ismithx wrote:

ah wah di bomboclat

nah

what beef is that?

Postby Kenjo » October 17th, 2014, 6:55 pm

Is Firefox like the slowest browser compared to safari and chrome ? I alway get that spinning wheel

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » October 17th, 2014, 10:15 pm

firefox always needs to be updated... like 2/5 times u open it... pretty annoying and time consuming. But I use it at time because java isn't built in like chrome and some website run better

Postby K74T » October 18th, 2014, 7:49 am

No big differences with iPad mini 3 vs 2 besides Touch ID so don't think I need to upgrade :lol:

iOS 8.1 is to be released on Monday and camera roll is expected to return :)

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » October 18th, 2014, 8:50 am

just updated... Safari is hella fast for real.

neexis

Postby neexis » October 18th, 2014, 9:30 am

Anyone getting web content in Yosemite Spotlight search?

They claim it's supposed to display web results from Bing, but I'm only seeing local files and browser history

PapaC

Postby PapaC » October 18th, 2014, 9:50 am

Did you all do a time machine backup before you updated?

Postby Kenjo » October 18th, 2014, 10:21 am

You are supposed to back up before any major update but I didn't this time because some times I like to live on the edge , but you really should

Postby M_2NR » October 18th, 2014, 9:31 pm

ismithx wrote:

ah wah di bomboclat

nah

what beef is that?

caaaaarrrrnnnn beef