Re: ****the official CRICKET thread*****

Postby fokhan_96 » November 24th, 2024, 12:31 pm

Meanwhile ... Aus doing a WI...

Postby Dizzy28 » November 26th, 2024, 2:44 pm

WI won...but man the Test cricket here boring compared to what you see elsewhere. Maybe Bazball has spoiled the scenes.

Bangladesh made 269 after more than a day of batting, WI also had a RR of around 3 in both their innings. In a region struggling to get bums on seats for test cricket the matches here really not going to do much for anybody except purists.

Postby bluefete » November 29th, 2024, 7:10 am

Sri Lanka made a whopping 42 all out against South Africa.

Postby Dizzy28 » December 1st, 2024, 8:48 pm

Jayden Seales with some insane figures today 15 overs bowled 4-5.

However WI batting 60 -1 after 33 overs. Really can they bat slower? Or are Caribbean pitches just utter sheit?

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » December 1st, 2024, 8:55 pm

Is only Bangladesh with some newbie batsmen and bowlers. WI should feel ashamed to be in this position or to be even celebrating their success against this team.

Postby bluefete » December 2nd, 2024, 12:49 pm

DMan7 wrote:Is only Bangladesh with some newbie batsmen and bowlers. WI should feel ashamed to be in this position or to be even celebrating their success against this team.

I doh even want to know how much you must be cussing by now - WI 127/8.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » December 2nd, 2024, 3:58 pm

When you realize WI is No. 10 in test cricket and Bangladesh is No. 9 ranking then there is nothing to be cussing about anymore. :lol:

Postby pugboy » December 2nd, 2024, 4:25 pm

those rankings pretty much predict the consistency you expect to perform at
doh mind we keep fooling ourselves thinking we have the top guys in t20 so we still could be world beaters

DMan7 wrote:When you realize WI is No. 10 in test cricket and Bangladesh is No. 9 ranking then there is nothing to be cussing about anymore. :lol:

Postby Dizzy28 » December 2nd, 2024, 5:45 pm

pugboy wrote:those rankings pretty much predict the consistency you expect to perform at
doh mind we keep fooling ourselves thinking we have the top guys in t20 so we still could be world beaters

DMan7 wrote:When you realize WI is No. 10 in test cricket and Bangladesh is No. 9 ranking then there is nothing to be cussing about anymore.
In last weeks IPL auction we had four buys (plus the few retained guys).
We don't even have the T20 depth we think we had

Postby pugboy » December 2nd, 2024, 5:54 pm

the stanford t20 class has gotten old….

pugboy wrote:those rankings pretty much predict the consistency you expect to perform at

DMan7 wrote:When you realize WI is No. 10 in test cricket and Bangladesh is No. 9 ranking then there is nothing to be cussing about anymore.
In last weeks IPL auction we had four buys (plus the few retained guys).
We don't even have the T20 depth we think we had

Postby bluefete » December 3rd, 2024, 3:49 am

DMan7 wrote:When you realize WI is No. 10 in test cricket and Bangladesh is No. 9 ranking then there is nothing to be cussing about anymore. :lol:

Actually, the scores do reflect those rankings. Why is Shemar Joseph going at 7 runs per over - 10 overs 2/70?

WI sure going to get beaten in this test. We have an ultra-defensive opening pair who looks as though they are afraid of stroke play. That puts a lot of pressure on the later batsmen.

Bangladesh youngsters are schooling these WI youngsters on how to adapt to playing conditions.

Postby bluefete » December 3rd, 2024, 5:45 pm

WI got a good cuttail from Bangladesh.

They could not even make 200 runs in any innings.

Postby Dizzy28 » December 3rd, 2024, 9:12 pm

bluefete wrote:WI got a good cuttail from Bangladesh.

They could not even make 200 runs in any innings.
Kraigg Braithwaite as WI best batsman having an average of 33 is all that needs to be said for why WI are where they are.
WI has no decent players

trinigamer

Postby trinigamer » December 4th, 2024, 7:16 am

Our own J. Da Silva got out twice lbw for the umpteenth time. Would think they would work on that.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 8th, 2024, 8:58 am

India get rinse out in the 2nd test... Nice series thus far!

trent

Postby trent » December 12th, 2024, 7:49 pm

Hundred n.o. for Amir Jangoo on ODI debut!
Good knock
WI win series vs Bangladesh

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » December 12th, 2024, 8:01 pm

No. 10 ranked team beating No. 9 ranked team.

Postby Dizzy28 » December 12th, 2024, 10:08 pm

Three odis, a ground with floodlights, three basically empty day games. TV rights can't be worth that much for these games that they couldn't have been day/night fixtures.

Postby Country_Bookie » December 13th, 2024, 6:04 pm

DMan7 wrote:No. 10 ranked team beating No. 9 ranked team.

Top 8 teams automatically qualify for the next world cup. So there's that to play for.

Postby Dizzy28 » December 18th, 2024, 11:51 am

Ravi Ashwin announced his retirement from international cricket this morning with immediate effect. With Southee's last game being NZ's test that finished a few days ago that's two Test stalwarts from the past decade gone.

They actually had a similar career match wise having played 107 and 106 tests each but with much different outcome.
Ashwin's Test batting average against West Indies is 50.66 with 4 of his 6 hundreds coming against us. Clearly he really loved the WI bowling.

RA.JPG

ts.JPG

Postby Dizzy28 » December 20th, 2024, 9:42 am

West Indies got swept by Bangladesh in the T20s
So the Test was drawn, WI swept the ODIs and Bangla swept the T20s.

Yep WI pretty much can't complain being lumped in as peers to Bangladesh.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 19th, 2025, 7:02 am

West indies doing West indies things... Loss in 3 days

Postby Dizzy28 » January 19th, 2025, 9:16 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:West indies doing West indies things... Loss in 3 days
Day 1 was only 40 overs long because of bad weather. This was really a two day match.

WI batted 61 overs in total across their two innings.....pathetic.

However given what we saw in the week leading up to the game where Pakistan had a greenhouse over the pitch and was running fans to dry it out an ICC pitch examination shouldnt be unwarranted.

Postby bluefete » January 19th, 2025, 1:21 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:West indies doing West indies things... Loss in 3 days
Day 1 was only 40 overs long because of bad weather. This was really a two day match.

WI batted 61 overs in total across their two innings.....pathetic.

However given what we saw in the week leading up to the game where Pakistan had a greenhouse over the pitch and was running fans to dry it out an ICC pitch examination shouldnt be unwarranted.

Make all the excuses you want - WI played pure and absolute shrite in this match.

Imagine we reach the stage where our batsmen cannot play spin - WI lost their last 4 wickets for ZERO runs.. This group looking like they want to qualify to play for IPL T-20 or some such.

I also thought they were going to play the TT wicketkeeper- Jangoo (not Joshua) in this game but Imlach did not make runs either.

Poor cricketing strategy from the start.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » January 19th, 2025, 3:25 pm

Allyuh working allyuh selves up with this West Duncies cricket too much. Mind allyuh blood pressure,

Postby Dizzy28 » January 19th, 2025, 6:32 pm

The WI domestic pitches with the exception of maybe Kensington Oval have been low and slow for years now. The top wicket takers in the local FC cricket always are spinners even some innocuous ones like Jimbo.

You would think the batsmen would be a bit more adept at spin by now.

Postby bluefete » January 25th, 2025, 7:54 am

What a 1st day in the 2nd test.

20 wickets fell - WI were 55/8 and made 163. Jangoo made debut but got only .

Pakistan made 154.