Re: The | Apple Inc.  | Thread

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » November 15th, 2016, 12:18 pm

Fellow tuners...thoughts on this?

http://www.macrumors.com/2016/11/15/mac ... vable-ssd/

While the new entry-level 13-inch MacBook Pro with function keys has a removable SSD, the same cannot be said for the Touch Bar model.

MacRumors reader Jesse D. unscrewed the bottom lid on his new 15-inch MacBook Pro with a Touch Bar and discovered, unlike the 13-inch model sans Touch Bar, there is no cutout in the logic board for removable flash storage. Another reader said the 13-inch model with a Touch Bar also has a non-removable SSD.

While the new entry-level 13-inch MacBook Pro with function keys has a removable SSD, the same cannot be said for the Touch Bar model.

MacRumors reader Jesse D. unscrewed the bottom lid on his new 15-inch MacBook Pro with a Touch Bar and discovered, unlike the 13-inch model sans Touch Bar, there is no cutout in the logic board for removable flash storage. Another reader said the 13-inch model with a Touch Bar also has a non-removable SSD.

macbook_pro_touch_bar_ssd
Given the SSD appears to be permanently soldered to the logic board, MacBook Pro with Touch Bar owners will be unable to upgrade the notebook's flash storage beyond Apple's 512GB to 2TB built-to-order options during the online ordering process. It also increases the importance of backing up data in case of hardware failure.

These are the first MacBook Pro models to ship with non-removable SSDs, following in the footsteps of the 12-inch MacBook.

The photos also show "pretty large, nearly index finger width gaps" around the battery cells, possibly to keep the MacBook Pro's overall weight lower and to encourage better airflow. The fan placement and internal layout of Touch Bar models is significantly different than the standard function key model.

Official teardowns from the likes of iFixit and OWC should confirm and provide a better look at the non-removable SSDs.

neexis

Postby neexis » November 15th, 2016, 8:34 pm

Yea.... time to give Apple a break.

gunsmoke25

Postby gunsmoke25 » November 19th, 2016, 2:18 pm

uncle sam wrote:I did number portability and switched to digi. I was using imessage and facetime fine since the switch.

Yesterday the sim card shifted and the phone read, "no sim" . I reseated the sim and the connection is back. However, I am seeing "waiting for activation" and "error occured during activation "when logging in to iMessage and Facetime.

It's as if the phone lost the initial carrier setting. I have been trying to call digi and no ans.

Any idea what's going on?

What exactly did u do to have it ported. I am trying to get mines ported but its continuously rejecting I paid 2 bills in advance to ensure that i don't have any outstanding balance i dropped the forms in to digicel and confirmed that I'm not on a contract.

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » November 20th, 2016, 12:33 am

gunsmoke25 wrote:
uncle sam wrote:I did number portability and switched to digi. I was using imessage and facetime fine since the switch.

Yesterday the sim card shifted and the phone read, "no sim" . I reseated the sim and the connection is back. However, I am seeing "waiting for activation" and "error occured during activation "when logging in to iMessage and Facetime.

It's as if the phone lost the initial carrier setting. I have been trying to call digi and no ans.

Any idea what's going on?

What exactly did u do to have it ported. I am trying to get mines ported but its continuously rejecting I paid 2 bills in advance to ensure that i don't have any outstanding balance i dropped the forms in to digicel and confirmed that I'm not on a contract.

They gave me a sim and I had to text to a specific number. it took less than 10 mins to complete. Pm me if you need more info

JayB27

Postby JayB27 » November 27th, 2016, 9:54 am

Guys, having some problems purchasing an iPhone from apple. Not able to select TnT when entering billing info. Any experience with that? Help would be greatly appreciated.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 27th, 2016, 12:35 pm

JayB27 wrote:Guys, having some problems purchasing an iPhone from apple. Not able to select TnT when entering billing info. Any experience with that? Help would be greatly appreciated.

Are they shipping it to a skybox? Just use the skybox address.

Call your bank and ask them to add your skybox address on your credit card.

JayB27

Postby JayB27 » November 27th, 2016, 12:39 pm

JayB27 wrote:Guys, having some problems purchasing an iPhone from apple. Not able to select TnT when entering billing info. Any experience with that? Help would be greatly appreciated.

Actually, having someone pick it up.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 27th, 2016, 12:58 pm

JayB27 wrote:

same thing will work.

Call your bank and ask them to add your skybox address on your credit card. Then use the skybox address when entering your billing info.

PapaC

Postby PapaC » November 27th, 2016, 1:03 pm

Anybody get a lot of lag on the i6 with the latest OS? Just to swipe down for notification takes at least 3-4 seconds

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 27th, 2016, 1:46 pm

PapaC wrote:Anybody get a lot of lag on the i6 with the latest OS? Just to swipe down for notification takes at least 3-4 seconds
have a 6S with no problems. 5S with no problems either.
Try a hard restart.

Postby S_2NR » November 27th, 2016, 1:57 pm

JayB27 wrote:

Thats strange.
Not sure why youre having problems. Apple is really easy going with credit cards.

PapaC

Postby PapaC » November 27th, 2016, 8:16 pm

PapaC wrote:Anybody get a lot of lag on the i6 with the latest OS? Just to swipe down for notification takes at least 3-4 seconds
have a 6S with no problems. 5S with no problems either.
Try a hard restart.

Nah that can't be it. Restarted a lot since I updated. Been a couple weeks it's been like this. Pretty annoying. Not her what I can do to resolve.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » November 28th, 2016, 8:31 am

well think my MacBook pro just became victim of stain gate lol
getting random scratches to the bottom and side of the screen. usually have my scene very clean and in good order
http://www.macworld.co.uk/feature/mac/r ... e-3619789/

wonder if iworld will honor this warranty

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » November 28th, 2016, 9:24 am

Hoss wtf. What year retina MBP you have?

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » November 28th, 2016, 10:11 am

Jan 2015. not two years old yet smh

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 28th, 2016, 10:12 am

jhonnieblue wrote:well think my MacBook pro just became victim of stain gate lol
getting random scratches to the bottom and side of the screen. usually have my scene very clean and in good order
http://www.macworld.co.uk/feature/mac/r ... e-3619789/

wonder if iworld will honor this warranty
the link you posted states
if your Warranty or AppleCare has expired, you might have been charged for the repair or replacement.

In fact, Apple was classing the issue as cosmetic damage that is not covered by the warranty,

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 28th, 2016, 2:22 pm

Apple Campus - construction update

iarmd1

Postby iarmd1 » November 29th, 2016, 7:24 am

Any body here knows some one in the central area who can trouble shot iPhones? I bought a 6 over a year ago brand new and ever since the signal keeps dropping to no service every 20 sec or so and then comes back. I changed SIM cards reinstalled the software. It's getting worst now sometimes when I lose signal I have to restart the phone to get back service and data doesn't work much as service keeps going and coming.

Postby S_2NR » November 29th, 2016, 9:46 am

jhonnieblue wrote:Jan 2015. not two years old yet smh

i have my 15" since jan 2016. that sucks.
i would be really upset. for something so expensive i would not trust iworld. they are what i would call "lax" by apple standards.
can you take a picture?

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » November 29th, 2016, 1:24 pm

dread i think I'm cursed. now my 12" MacBook the screen is flickering. it just out of warranty and the top half of the screen is flickering (think of how a blown fluorescent light bulb flicker...same effect)
i tried PRAM and SMC reset. Also uninstalled recent apps.
think last thing to do is a clean install

Postby S_2NR » November 29th, 2016, 7:53 pm

jhonnieblue wrote:dread i think I'm cursed. now my 12" MacBook the screen is flickering. it just out of warranty and the top half of the screen is flickering (think of how a blown fluorescent light bulb flicker...same effect)

wow.
and i thought i was bad when i had to go to the apple store to change my iphone (due to a defective home button) after a month of ownership

AstonMartV

Postby AstonMartV » November 29th, 2016, 8:35 pm

iarmd1 wrote:Any body here knows some one in the central area who can trouble shot iPhones? I bought a 6 over a year ago brand new and ever since the signal keeps dropping to no service every 20 sec or so and then comes back. I changed SIM cards reinstalled the software. It's getting worst now sometimes when I lose signal I have to restart the phone to get back service and data doesn't work much as service keeps going and coming.

Had an Android phone that kept doing this as well until there was no signal at all. Even had a me 2 it was happening to as well. Both bmobile. Initially thought it was the house as certain places the signal would drop a bit but never happened like that. Switched SIM cards and all and still the same thing, switched phones and it kept dropping. Bought a 6s in April and had my SIM card changed to fit the phone. Never had a problem until recently I noticed the signal dropping just a little sometimes... don't know if it's network or what

gurmuk

Postby gurmuk » November 29th, 2016, 8:38 pm

jhonnieblue wrote:dread i think I'm cursed. now my 12" MacBook the screen is flickering. it just out of warranty and the top half of the screen is flickering (think of how a blown fluorescent light bulb flicker...same effect)

wow

did you try contacting apple on this issue?

Luckily mine never had any issues thus far

iarmd1

Postby iarmd1 » November 29th, 2016, 8:47 pm

Well I got a new sim from bmobile cut and same problems I think it's the phone

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » November 29th, 2016, 9:11 pm

gurmuk wrote:

wow

did you try contacting apple on this issue?

Luckily mine never had any issues thus far

Nope not yet..just happened today. Gonna back up tonight and try the install. Was working fine yesterday.

I did give F1 connect a call tho. Prob take it in Friday to see what they diagnose

I'll contact apple direct tomorrow tho.

Postby S_2NR » November 29th, 2016, 9:13 pm

F1 is excellent and knowledgable. Would recommend them.
Good luck

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » December 3rd, 2016, 8:26 am

Does iWorld in West Mall honour official Apple repair programs?

https://www.apple.com/support/iphone6s- ... dshutdown/

If so, would anyone with past experience with using them for these programs recommend them, and how long do they normally take? Do they send your phone up to the US to Apple for the repairs, or they do it locally?

If not, is there anywhere else locally that honours it?

Also would you be charged for using their service?

gurmuk

Postby gurmuk » December 3rd, 2016, 3:48 pm

dredman1 wrote:Does iWorld in West Mall honour official Apple repair programs?

https://www.apple.com/support/iphone6s- ... dshutdown/

If so, would anyone with past experience with using them for these programs recommend them, and how long do they normally take? Do they send your phone up to the US to Apple for the repairs, or they do it locally?

If not, is there anywhere else locally that honours it?

Also would you be charged for using their service?

i am also interested in this info

greggle71

Postby greggle71 » December 4th, 2016, 9:42 pm

What is a fair price to sell my used iPhone 6 space grey 64GB?

Fairly good condition
Recently replaced the battery by Ubreakfix

blacklight

Postby blacklight » December 7th, 2016, 6:50 am

greggle71 wrote:What is a fair price to sell my used iPhone 6 space grey 64GB?

Fairly good condition
Recently replaced the battery by Ubreakfix

Anywhere between 2500-3000 I think is fair price