Re: 3ne2nr fishermen

Postby pugboy » February 12th, 2011, 12:57 pm

if you want to see stingy see how some men does hide they gps spots

Postby Razkal » February 12th, 2011, 2:46 pm

ryan99tt wrote:all dem fishermen on this thread does real play stingy with info dred...anybody who ketch anything big doh ever tell yuh wat dey use or how dey ketch it even if yuh ask...huh

i asked a couple pages back that guys post their rigs with the catch pics...but to no avail...

i always start with what rig and bait i used, never hide locations either. dunno what all the secrecy is about....still trying to find La Fouray :|

its no secret really, but THIS rig...i always get large snapper and/or salmon, never one below 10lbs..

using a caster (or rod) with 25-30lb mono, free running line through a 3oz egg sinker, onto heavy duty swivel and 3' of toothproof from swivel to a 5/0 or 6/0 circle hook...

right now, its Stren red 30lb, mustad 5/0 i'm using.....baiting up with half squid chunks, large bonito strips or live herring...squid and herring work like crack :lol:

sinker keeps the line down and bait can move with the current, doesn't really need 'active fishing'...i just leave the rig there and monitor it...you'll know when something is on!

i've had good success using it on the ne and nw coasts...especially down at Cyril Bay, Maracas. (the bay directly below the 'lookout'), boat only accessible but good fishing at the mouth near the corners and directly in the middle..

btw ryan99tt is right, fire for all info hoarders....if you're not willing to fully partake in the thread...we can all google pics of big fish instead of seeing yours here with no supplemental info :)

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » February 12th, 2011, 5:24 pm

Razkal, rightfully said...if yuh doh wanna share your info DONT POST!!! simple as dat...yea dred, dat rig does real work for dem big snapper, pag, bachine and u dunno wat else u might ketch...

Postby Razkal » February 12th, 2011, 9:44 pm

^stingrays :|

and really big crapaud fish are the down side....using bonito chunks or bonito head and you might get lucky with a grouper, but i never got lucky...so far i'm probably like 50/50 snapper/stingray :lol:

but it works...always get play using that rig...sinker weight and hook size may change depending..

anyhow, mission time:
my homie called me up and said canoe fish mish @ Damien's Bay tmrw early afternoon-late evening, thats down the hill from nanan's waterfront resort after tyrico bay.
the canoe is filled, but with good surf casters i'm positive you'll get action...floating rigs are a hit at surprisingly close ranges from the water edge. if ya have nuttin to do, take a drive and come through.

Postby Razkal » February 12th, 2011, 9:47 pm

oh yeah, if yuh could row...there is a guy who rents his dinghy, negotiable...but around $100/hr, its a good boat and moves easily in the water...safer than the canoe i'm sure :lol:

Smeed

Postby Smeed » February 13th, 2011, 12:47 am

hey Razkal that proposition sounds real good.....but i'm out of country till next weekend....will u guys be returning there anytime after the 20th of february??

i definetely interested....most likely will be me and my cuzin and bro making de turn.

i ain't on the set up scene...and once i'm at home i can make a run anytime....during the week is also not a problem. i got some new gear also to try out....renting de dingy sound real cool.

i actually researching buying one of those fishing kayaks .....i tink i cud even use dat up cuevas and in marianne and even manzan in de river....kayak fishing is growing in popularity....seems very interesting!!

i also agree with what u said about sharing info...that's the way we all will learn....so no need to hoard.....i will post pics of some of my gear when i get home.

i also use the sliding sinker or carolina rig......if fishing from shore then i kinda mix it up....buh the simplest and quite effective rig is the old trusty dropper loop....easy to tie and is versatile if u wanna change out sinkers or hooks. that website that someone posted a while back - http://www.animatedknots.com is very useful.....i used it a lot recently.

big up to men like hardcore youth and ryan99tt.....u guys pics keep meh fishing fire burning when i away and in de cold......meh fising tabanca reaaaaal bad.....i cyah wait to feel some hot sun and get some fish slime on meh hands!! :D :D

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » February 13th, 2011, 1:51 am

take bearings from the pic to find La Foruay.

I hope allyuh not talking about me cause if you scroll through the pages i gave loadsss of info!...

Lures for tarpon!!...hmmmm....Tarpon are greedy fish and will snatch at a lure once it has a great shine and is rigged correctly wether it be using down riggers or sinkers! I use boomers the pink one with alot of success!....I have some spoon bait (more for cavali) and i have some daiwa lures!...

Some things you would want to have as an above the average fisherman! Some heavy swivel, 50lbs-100lbs strain cable(by the roll), crimps, varity of hooks(kept seperate), nippers and pliers, sinkers ranging from small to large and all different shapes. Now i never use a hook twice! Meaning once i finish fish for the day what ever hook and cable i used i just cut off the hook and keep the cable.

Any info wanted just let me know.....Lets keep this thread live and well...

Sabot

Postby Sabot » February 13th, 2011, 7:27 am

I realised since early on the thread alot of info hoarding was taking place so I kinda took a back seat. I for one dont mind sharing info once others do the same. the hoarders are only a few though so dont let the thread go down for that.
Last edited by Sabot on July 1st, 2014, 9:53 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Razkal » February 13th, 2011, 9:28 am

definitely, i can speak for myself not indicating to manualmx or HCY...both of you share some top info and thanks for that!....btw, you guys ever bought deep diving lures locally?

Smeed, no problem man, we're always at that bay, just not always with the canoe...but its public so show up whenever you like...i do pretty well with the two or three residents on the beach and have never had security issues, have left my cars unlocked etc with no problem..

anyone else game for a drive today? i should be there regardless, from about 2-3pm.

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » February 13th, 2011, 10:15 am

Sabot wrote:I realised since early on the thread alot of info hoarding was taking place so I kinda took a back seat. I for one dont mind sharing info once others do the same. the hoarders are only a few though so dont let the thread go down for that.
la fouray is easy to find: i think i mentioned the directions early on in the thread. anyhow, take the road on the right after the bailey bridge on toco beach heading to the lighthouse. Drive until u meet a T junction then veer left that road takes you straight to where hcyouth is speaking of. best bet is a 4x4 though since u risk damaging/sticking your cars in certain areas especially if it rains while you are inside there.

they grade the road in La Fouray! Meh levin could go there now!...lolz..

When we go there we take the left and then it have a road on the right that brings you to the bay where we fish but they didnt grade that road!

Sabot

Postby Sabot » February 13th, 2011, 11:06 am

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH wrote:
Sabot wrote:I realised since early on the thread alot of info hoarding was taking place so I kinda took a back seat. I for one dont mind sharing info once others do the same. the hoarders are only a few though so dont let the thread go down for that.
la fouray is easy to find: i think i mentioned the directions early on in the thread. anyhow, take the road on the right after the bailey bridge on toco beach heading to the lighthouse. Drive until u meet a T junction then veer left that road takes you straight to where hcyouth is speaking of. best bet is a 4x4 though since u risk damaging/sticking your cars in certain areas especially if it rains while you are inside there.

When we go there we take the left and then it have a road on the right that brings you to the bay where we fish but they didnt grade that road!

They graded the road? :shock:
Is it gravel at the surface or dirt which makes mud with rain???

When you take the left into the road to the rock there is also a road to the left at some point which takes you to another beach closer to the lighthouse side. Never fished there though. HC if you look lower down the coast you will see a ship wrecked on the rocks. That my partners boat, his crew were heading to the mid atlantic as they usually do to look for tuna schools and they fell asleep somewhere past the lighthouse, boat drifted into the rocks there. They had to climb out onto the rocks to escape. Owner had to scrap the ship right there. :lol:

Razkal- I used the yo-zuri deep divers before but never had much luck with those really. Never really fished them hard though so I can't give a good example of if they work well or not.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » February 13th, 2011, 12:30 pm

cyah make dat trip today but i guh see for next weekend....Razkal, u had any luck with shore fishing at dat location? i've tried quite a few lures and to me, i seem ti=o have had much of my luck on spoons...not the normal trolling ones, the ones dat actually have sum weight to them...i use these to cast from shore...caught cavali, tarpon, houndfish and on odd ocassions cutlass fish...

like these...

Postby Razkal » February 13th, 2011, 12:31 pm

^i dunno man...i've been toying with deep diving lure rigs in my head and seems that it should be a hit...once you can find the fish that is!

i always had luck with my spoons and top-waters...even if nothing landed, always get strikes...

i'll try using a 4oz egg instead of a three and using a longer length of leader wire from the swivel to the regular lures i'm accustomed using...i find the longer length of wire makes the spoons and lures move more naturally...
plus its further from the monofilament-swivel-wire connection....and those heavy duty swivels are always uncoated metallic and having that connection bit away twice because of shiny swivels is not fun..

Postby Razkal » February 13th, 2011, 12:36 pm

ryan99tt...yup, caught salmon, lippy, 1-2 pounder reds, blue bone, baysheen there from the shore already...

mostly on standard banking rigs, but the baysheen and bluebone were on floating rigs with bonito bait..

on either end of the bay is a good location, there are accessible rocks that you can fish off, with good depth and awesome sight fishing with spoons/lures... nice location but snagging on rocks is a bigger issue from there if you plan to sink.

worth checking out seeing as we have a shortage of good land based spots :)

call I when allyuh heading up 715-6830 (aks)

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » February 13th, 2011, 4:41 pm

Sabot wrote:
HaRdCoRe_YoUtH wrote:

They graded the road? :shock:
Is it gravel at the surface or dirt which makes mud with rain???

When you take the left into the road to the rock there is also a road to the left at some point which takes you to another beach closer to the lighthouse side. Never fished there though. HC if you look lower down the coast you will see a ship wrecked on the rocks. That my partners boat, his crew were heading to the mid atlantic as they usually do to look for tuna schools and they fell asleep somewhere past the lighthouse, boat drifted into the rocks there. They had to climb out onto the rocks to escape. Owner had to scrap the ship right there. :lol:

Razkal- I used the yo-zuri deep divers before but never had much luck with those really. Never really fished them hard though so I can't give a good example of if they work well or not.

Yeh bro they graded the road and it really nice! Gravel and thing! Yeh there is another road on the left but the one on the right lead to the coast the beach! We fished out some really nice leppe a little b4 the boat..

Wayyyy.......I really see the boat wrecked up against the rocks.......sleep away you say! Damn!!!

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » February 13th, 2011, 4:56 pm

Razkal wrote:^i dunno man...i've been toying with deep diving lure rigs in my head and seems that it should be a hit...once you can find the fish that is!

i always had luck with my spoons and top-waters...even if nothing landed, always get strikes...

i'll try using a 4oz egg instead of a three and using a longer length of leader wire from the swivel to the regular lures i'm accustomed using...i find the longer length of wire makes the spoons and lures move more naturally...
plus its further from the monofilament-swivel-wire connection....and those heavy duty swivels are always uncoated metallic and having that connection bit away twice because of shiny swivels is not fun..

you can use like an 8oz egg lead and try and get some black heavy duty swivel that what i use.

I think i posted how to rig up a lure some where back on the forum. I use a heavy duty swivel then cable (about 12 inches) then the sinker then another swivel then cable about 24 -36 inches long then the lure/ spoon.

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » February 13th, 2011, 5:20 pm

Check this

http://www.ttgfa.com/knots.html

" Tarpon Thunder Tournament "August 13th - 15th, 2010 - Trinidad"
[b] REGISTER[\b]

http://www.ttgfa.com/register.html

i think about organising my uncle boat a nice size boat and organise a good crew!

reeLpACE

Postby reeLpACE » February 13th, 2011, 8:58 pm

went out on the north this wknd and came out with a few kings, some bachine and a some cavali....

cavali where beatin everywhere but they seemed to sink after a while and fellas with heavy sinkers and downriggers held alot more as they were thick in the area

was trolling with a crystal minnow, 45lb test wire leader attached to a 2ounce trolling sinker four feet from the lure and 30lb braid on a #20 class spinning outfit

the biggest king of the day was lost at the boat and was probably around 15lbs and gave me a nice work out only to shake me just before the gaff touched the water....it was my fault tho...i shudda eased up on the drag as he got close....anyway hope yall enjoy and share your catches as well....
weekend haul.jpg
some of the catch....will take more pics next time

Sabot

Postby Sabot » February 13th, 2011, 9:44 pm

ryan99tt wrote:cyah make dat trip today but i guh see for next weekend....Razkal, u had any luck with shore fishing at dat location? i've tried quite a few lures and to me, i seem ti=o have had much of my luck on spoons...not the normal trolling ones, the ones dat actually have sum weight to them...i use these to cast from shore...caught cavali, tarpon, houndfish and on odd ocassions cutlass fish...

like these...
Last edited by Sabot on July 1st, 2014, 1:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » February 13th, 2011, 11:08 pm

sabot, for me the kastmaster works better than the dron for shore casting but for trolling, yuh cyah go wrong wit d drone...i does get real distance from shore wit d kastmaster though...

reeLpACE, nice ketch...where exactly u ketch dat? i headin out saturday to see wat i cud do...which minnow u use, ah pic guh be great...

Rallyfignis

Postby Rallyfignis » February 13th, 2011, 11:45 pm

wayssss allyuh ent easy nah - fellas I doe monitor this forum or thread every 10 minutes sorry.

Wahoo caught on a wire rod with ballyhoo and either a sea witch or sea star, cah remember.

Postby Razkal » February 14th, 2011, 11:30 am

wahoo or daorado is next on my wish list!

fish weren't biting as much in the bay yesterday, got a few eels, a crapaud and a couple nice sized black grunts... :|

no play on the artifical or spoon....lotsa turtles though...made me feel like taking a swim but i didn't want to end up being the only guy to ever post about being a turtles' beyotch in maracas :lol: so i left them be..

mad bait fish around though, small, but NUMBERS..maybe thats why there was slight action...enough to eat already :D

Reyos

Postby Reyos » February 14th, 2011, 11:46 am

this is what we caught late last year just before our engine was stolen.
Caught these in the Gulf outside of Claxton bay.
fishing_day_114 (Medium).jpg

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » February 14th, 2011, 12:21 pm

the thread now lookin ah lil lively...anyhow, i lookin to pick up some new tackle to do some trolling saturday, any suggestions? wat fish takin now?

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » February 14th, 2011, 2:12 pm

lol you read their geera pork recipe

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH wrote:Check this

http://www.ttgfa.com/knots.html

" Tarpon Thunder Tournament "August 13th - 15th, 2010 - Trinidad"
[b] REGISTER[\b]

http://www.ttgfa.com/register.html

i think about organising my uncle boat a nice size boat and organise a good crew!

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » February 15th, 2011, 9:01 am

ryan99tt wrote:the thread now lookin ah lil lively...anyhow, i lookin to pick up some new tackle to do some trolling saturday, any suggestions? wat fish takin now?

Rallyfignis

Postby Rallyfignis » February 15th, 2011, 9:54 am

Been hearing negative reports really - think we might have caught the only wahoo in the grand lol.

Kinda sucks cus wahoo tournament is this weekend.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » February 15th, 2011, 5:19 pm

anybody have some contact to ah boatman who know where d fish is?

venomz

Postby venomz » February 16th, 2011, 7:17 am

^what he said!

its been so long since ive fished!

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » February 16th, 2011, 8:02 am

I say a group of us all put up for a banking trip say 100 a head and go with someone who knows a bess bank and the right tide.. keep what you catch kinda vibe...

someone make d plan!...