WTF - Snake!

Re: WTF - Snake!

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 4th, 2023, 9:17 am

rollingstock wrote:Nah not a machet. Accustom to those. After I stamped him. He was so pretty . Like jet black.

Probably cribo.

I looking for a live bushmaster awhile now, preferably a small specimen, no bigger than 24"
Making a south run for some days next week. I can only hope for a safe success.

Forget south...go biche

Postby pugboy » September 4th, 2023, 9:19 am

they say it hard to keep large ones in captivity
although i recall long ago the zoo had a pretty big one

Postby maj. tom » September 4th, 2023, 9:34 am

You going and milk it and sell the venom? I don't think the antivenin is made locally.

Postby nervewrecker » September 4th, 2023, 11:57 am

maj. tom wrote:You going and milk it and sell the venom? I don't think the antivenin is made locally.
Heard the venom is called anti mother in law. Should sell out as it release.

Postby 88sins » September 4th, 2023, 5:50 pm

pugboy wrote:they say it hard to keep large ones in captivity
although i recall long ago the zoo had a pretty big one

yeah, captured adults don't do well in captivity, especially if being kept to milk venom. Yield volume does drop steep. I suspect that might be due to the stress they go thru so frequently through the milking process.
I remember that one,, he had a nice size, but they get plenty bigger than that.

Postby maj. tom » December 3rd, 2023, 7:51 am

Woman survives deadly snakebite in Cumuto
https://newsday.co.tt/2023/12/03/woman-survives-deadly-snakebite-in-cumuto/

When you’re going in the bush, make sure you wear the appropriate attire.

That was the biggest lesson a 43-year-old woman from Arima learned when she was bitten by a mapepire snake while visiting family in Cumuto on October 29.

The woman, who spoke on the condition of anonymity, went to family lime at her uncle’s property in Cumuto as was their custom. Around 5pm, she got up from her seat in the gallery and stepped outside wearing slippers to go to a car parked nearby and felt a sharp, piercing pain in her left foot.

“It was really painful and, when I looked back, I saw a snake and immediately knew I had gotten bitten by the snake. At that point everybody started to scream and carry on and one of my uncles was able to kill the snake.”

There are four species of venomous snakes in TT – two types of mapepire snakes and two types of coral snakes. A few of her uncles recognised the snake as a mapepire but they did not want to tell her and alarm her at the time.

She recalled an uncle putting the dead snake in a clear plastic bag but no one wanted to hold it. Annoyed, she grabbed the bag and took it to Sangre Grande Hospital, which was about 50 minutes away.

At the Accident and Emergency Department, she said the staff did not treat her case as an emergency. A nurse took her vital signs and a urine sample and saw blood in her urine but did not show any concern or signs of urgency.

She was there for about 90 minutes when her name was called to do some blood tests and an ECG (electrocardiogram) to evaluate her heart.

While sitting down there waiting for the results, which was probably another half hour or so, I started to bleed through my mouth – my tongue and the gums.(hemotoxic venom) At that point they started to pay real attention to me.

“When the nurse saw that, three or four doctors came. They put me on the gurney and they administered about six vials of anti-venom before they took more blood from me (for tests) because it was not clotting.

“By the time all that going on, the foot was just getting bigger and bigger and I was in plenty pain.”

She told Sunday Newsday she had heard the word mapepire before and knew it was a type of snake but had no idea they were dangerous so initially she was not afraid.

The dead mapepire snake which was taken to Sangre Grande Hospital. -

“When I got bitten, I just had a sense of calm. I knew I was going to the right place (the Sangre Grande Hospital) for some anti-venom and expected to be discharged to go to work the next day. Even when my mouth started to bleed I wasn’t panicked at all, I guess because I didn’t know it was that dangerous.

“A lot of people said that helped as well because my heart wasn’t pounding and pushing the venom through my system faster.”

The doctors explained the snake’s venom had heamatoxins which disrupted blood clotting and inhibited platelets. She received six more vials of anti-venom and began to throw up violently.

After midnight she was placed on Ward Five where she was not allowed to move from the bed. She was told one of her kidneys was damaged.

“To be honest, on the ward I got really good treatment. I remained in hospital for approximately 12 days. The medical team was very attentive. I have absolutely no complaints about the treatment I got on the ward.”

She expressed sincere gratitude for the Ward Five medical team who cared for her, including Drs Martin, Williams, Emmanuel and Basdeo and the nursing staff. She said she was depressed and wanted to leave, but their care made the stay easier.

She said they carefully monitored her heart, blood and leg which led to her being given six bags of plasma to allow her blood to clot, as well as strong antibiotics to treat her foot.

Now, although still at home on sick leave, the swelling in her foot has reduced considerably and her kidney has healed. There is still some tissue damage to her foot so she could not walk on it for very long.

Despite her suffering, she was glad she was bitten rather than any other family member.

“I am one of the younger persons who was there as all of my uncles and aunts are 70 and older, and there was a baby there. So I think I took one for the team. If that had happened to any one of them, I’m sure it would have been a different story.”

She also had some advice for anyone bitten by a snake. She said they should try to keep calm; take it seriously and seek medical attention immediately; if they were certain the snake was venomous, head directly for the Sangre Grande Hospital as that was where most antidotes for poisonous snakebites were kept and pray.

Postby 88sins » December 4th, 2023, 6:55 pm

I don't understand why the staff didn't take the incident seriously when she presented to the hospital.
Were they not shown the snake?

Postby nervewrecker » December 4th, 2023, 8:08 pm

88sins wrote:I don't understand why the staff didn't take the incident seriously when she presented to the hospital.
Unless blood pitching or you unconscious, you not taken seriously

Postby 88sins » December 4th, 2023, 8:28 pm

88sins wrote:I don't understand why the staff didn't take the incident seriously when she presented to the hospital.

Cool
So, since blood hadda be pitching and ppl hadda be out cold unconscious, just one clarification required.
It hadda be the patient blood/consciousness? Or it could be a nurse/orderly own?

cuz I can appreciate triage for what it is, but triage ain't for day-to-day operations.

Postby nervewrecker » December 4th, 2023, 9:12 pm

Cool
So, since blood hadda be pitching and ppl hadda be out cold unconscious, just one clarification required.
It hadda be the patient blood/consciousness? Or it could be a nurse/orderly own?

cuz I can appreciate triage for what it is, but triage ain't for day-to-day operations.
They tend to prioritise cases and in all fairness a snake bite of this kind should have been priority but some public healthcare employees incompetent. There are the few however that will make you wonder where you are. The doc that attended to me when a 5 tonne fell on me and cut my throat came across as a huge a-hole the way he said what he said about prioritising cases when he took over shift but when I was attended to I realised the man know what he doing and he is one of the few professionals there are. If we had 10 like him at each facility the public healthcare image in the general public eye would be wayyyy different.

Postby pugboy » December 5th, 2023, 8:09 am

chances are most of them working that shift never dealt with a snake bite either
so as nerve say they prioritze thing like stroke, heart attack and visuals(blood pouring)

Cool

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 5th, 2023, 9:58 am

allyuh studying priority patients, I still trying to figure out why only Grande hospital have antivemom! like them snakes only living in the east?

Postby maj. tom » February 11th, 2024, 6:32 am

Game Wardens seize Burmese Python

https://www.facebook.com/reel/823282319605790

A Burmese python illegally kept in an old, non-functional freezer outside a house in Las Lomas was seized by offi­cers of the Central Game Warden Unit yesterday.

The python weighed 100 pounds (45 kilogrammes) and is more than 12 feet (3.7 metres) long, said senior game warden Richard Ramlogan, who led the operation.

The operation also included officers of the North-East Praedial Larceny Unit, led by Cpl Jeffers, and snake handlers from the Emperor Valley Zoo.

Ramlogan said his team was informed about the snake being kept at the house in Kallian Street, Las Lo­mas Number Two, where a 57-year-old man lives.

“Villagers were scared for their lives, especially their children’s, and contacted us about the snake. They might have seen (homeowner) taking it out of the enclosure to feed it,” said Ramlogan.

A warrant was obtained to search the pre­mises and team of game wardens, praedial larceny officers and handlers from the Emperor Valley Zoo went to the house yesterday afternoon.
https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/game-wardens-seize-python-kept-in-freezer-homeowner-in-custody/article_94735344-c88e-11ee-9dcf-93d97a02ce97.html

Postby pugboy » February 11th, 2024, 7:01 am

somebody bring that in a suitcase
that could cause real invasive problems

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 11th, 2024, 7:23 am

pugboy wrote:somebody bring that in a suitcase

Pretty sure that came through the south land...plenty exotics these days

Postby pugboy » February 11th, 2024, 7:29 am

vene ppl minding that?
albinos tend to be domestic reared
most likely some urban person have them as pets
if so then mainland will be crawling with them soon
capybara, gouti and lappe better watch out

Postby shogun » February 11th, 2024, 10:47 am

Thing is beautiful though.

snatman

Postby snatman » February 21st, 2024, 4:53 pm

So now there's a NEW world's largest snake species.
The Northern Green Anaconda

Scientists have discovered a previously undocumented species of giant anaconda in the Amazon which they say can grow up to 7.5m and weighing close to 500kg, making it the largest and heaviest snake yet known in the world.

Until now, four species of anacondas were known, with the largest one – the green anaconda – inhabiting tropical parts of South America such as the basins of the Amazon, Orinoco, and Esequibo rivers, as well as some smaller watersheds.

Postby Rovin » February 23rd, 2024, 10:52 am

Postby bluefete » February 23rd, 2024, 10:58 am

^^ What? How he get up there? I know he climbed. But still ....

Postby foss » February 23rd, 2024, 1:58 pm

I went to try to retrieve it but the owner called someone to come and remove it. I hope it wasn't harmed..!

Postby maj. tom » February 23rd, 2024, 2:29 pm

So the owner was just carrying the snake for a walk? And it get away?

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » February 23rd, 2024, 3:09 pm

maj. tom wrote:So the owner was just carrying the snake for a walk? And it get away?

You mean carrying the snake for a crawl?

moving

Postby moving » February 23rd, 2024, 3:52 pm

pugboy wrote:somebody bring that in a suitcase

Ive personally seen 2 of these snakes when i was in secondary school (over 15 years ago) in the west!
and they were much bigger than this!

You would be surprised how many illegal animals are in Trinidad and no need to suitcase it, Vene is close and its the "trade route".

Postby Rovin » February 24th, 2024, 12:03 pm

Postby pugboy » February 24th, 2024, 12:37 pm

nice red tail
one of most sought after pet snakes

Postby maj. tom » February 25th, 2024, 8:27 pm

Postby alfa » March 23rd, 2024, 8:59 am

So brownie bus up this snake this morning. Is this the local small coral? I didn't think they would be found outside of forested areas. What can I use to keep them out of that yard? Thinking Malathion and the like
IMG-20240323-WA0053.jpg

Postby maj. tom » March 23rd, 2024, 9:10 am

VII

Postby VII » March 23rd, 2024, 9:15 am

Micrurus circinalis (Trinidad Coral), very common and very potent, only thing is their mouths are very small so it's hard for them to deliver an effective bite on a human or larger animals, unless you pick them up and they bite a finger or step on them with bare toes etc.

Have caught a couple in my house under a rug, caught and released them, very pretty looking snake with nice proportions although very small .

alfa wrote:So brownie bus up this snake this morning. Is this the local small coral? I didn't think they would be found outside of forested areas. What can I use to keep them out of that yard? Thinking Malathion and the like
Last edited by VII on March 23rd, 2024, 12:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.