.:The Official Windows Phone 7/8 Thread:.

Re: .:The Official Windows Phone 7/8 Thread:.

Postby RASC » June 20th, 2012, 8:00 pm

FINALLY! Will update to 7.8 and wait til my flavor of device gets announced.
I can't imagine this OS being anymore fluid, can't wait for the manufactures to prove me wrong!
Last edited by RASC on June 20th, 2012, 8:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby RASC » June 20th, 2012, 8:04 pm

Used the S3 extensively today... And I just don't get how android peeps are comfortable with that level of lag. Its almost... Almost on wp7 levels of smoothness. That quad core was wukking, but in opening the gallery app (which is the easiest way to tell how snappy a device truly is) I got a slight stutter/lag... And I knew, its only a matter of time when you got 1000+ pics that it's gonna bog down.
Windows phone with single core never stutters or slows in the gallery... Fast forward to this new dual core action... And its a wrap!

Postby gastly369 » July 10th, 2012, 12:49 pm

any way to check data usage on WP7.5? bmobile :S

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » July 10th, 2012, 1:33 pm

if u got the tango update and have a lumia... yea

Postby gastly369 » July 10th, 2012, 2:41 pm

:( ....

Postby RASC » July 19th, 2012, 10:07 am

October can't come quickly enough :/

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » July 19th, 2012, 12:35 pm

Does your windows phone 1000+ pictures album open smooth?

Postby gastly369 » July 19th, 2012, 2:04 pm

lol i eh reach so much nah

anyways found something very nice

OFFLINE GPS while you drive/ walk :O(GPS enabled phone obviously)
direction, speed, distance traveled and lots more all offline no net required
this what you need

APP : Map Cache (0.99c) dont need to buy just trial( full versions just remove "ads") didnt see any ads yet btw ;)
http://www.windowsphone.com/en-US/apps/ ... 01e4cd4b5c

this map is pretty detailed compared to google maps etc check it out here(its the map the app uses)

http://www.openstreetmap.org/

now all you got to do is ( hardest part) max zoom and move around trinidad and tobago maps in max 18x zoom and it will store the map details on your phone takes a while to scan whole of TT just have to move and load blocks at a time

EG of gulf city area below for idea :
click image to view larger

if this was found already well ah now discover it nah :oops:
Last edited by gastly369 on July 19th, 2012, 2:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » July 19th, 2012, 2:22 pm

christopherwilliams2 wrote:Does your windows phone 1000+ pictures album open smooth?

only at 200 and yes

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » July 19th, 2012, 2:28 pm

gastly369 wrote:lol i eh reach so much nah

anyways found something very nice

OFFLINE GPS while you drive/ walk :O(GPS enabled phone obviously)
direction, speed, distance traveled and lots more all offline no net required
this what you need

APP : Map Cache (0.99c) dont need to buy just trial( full versions just remove "ads") didnt see any ads yet btw ;)
http://www.windowsphone.com/en-US/apps/ ... 01e4cd4b5c

this map is pretty detailed compared to google maps etc check it out here(its the map the app uses)

http://www.openstreetmap.org/

now all you got to do is ( hardest part) max zoom and move around trinidad and tobago maps in max 18x zoom and it will store the map details on your phone takes a while to scan whole of TT just have to move and load blocks at a time

EG of gulf city area below for idea :
click image to view larger

if this was found already well ah now discover it nah :oops:

well nokia maps and drive is available offline...

but if this has street names for all streets then yay...

my speed test app shows my street name but nokia maps, bing maps and google maps doesnt... wmtc

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » July 19th, 2012, 2:36 pm

Thats annoying me... that map has my street name and stuff but my nokia maps doesnt... im upset

cause that app sucks in comparison... steupes

Postby gastly369 » July 19th, 2012, 2:49 pm

lol HTC doh have "nokia drive" so i have no choice :oops:

was now downloading tobago .. will go back to trinidad when i recharge phone :\

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » July 19th, 2012, 3:34 pm

doh worry

all windows phone maps will be done by nokia in the future...

Postby M_2NR » July 21st, 2012, 12:15 am

gastly369 wrote:lol HTC doh have "nokia drive" so i have no choice :oops:

was now downloading tobago .. will go back to trinidad when i recharge phone :\

that's really good news to hear openstreetmaps on wp. Is it something like mapquest? With navigation too?

Postby gastly369 » July 21st, 2012, 2:10 am

well that specific app im using atm works good only problem is the "direction" search not working but the GPS tracking direction and speed is pretty good as to where you are atm on the map.. im trying to "map out" trinidad for offline use but taking forever :( i estimate about 150-200MB will be used for total map of trinidad and tobago

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » July 21st, 2012, 9:11 am

I asked because I have heard of the windows phone OS being smooth. I have an s2 i9100 with a photo album of 2100 pics and it takes a second or two to open the gallery app but it's smooth sailing from then on.

Postby gastly369 » July 21st, 2012, 3:22 pm

yep the wp7 OS is very smooth . transitions and "live tiles" no lag like the android OS etc. but i cant answer for the 200+ pics sice i only have about 35-45 pics but no probs with it up to there yet so

right now im markin the LG optimus 3D phone .. friend bought one and i took it for a test run that 3D captured my attention is imax 3d without glasses :lol:

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » July 21st, 2012, 6:04 pm

christopherwilliams2 wrote:I asked because I have heard of the windows phone OS being smooth. I have an s2 i9100 with a photo album of 2100 pics and it takes a second or two to open the gallery app but it's smooth sailing from then on.

the single best thing bout this OS is the fluidity of it really...

i donno if ill ever reach that level of pics... i upload to skydrive automatically so after i sync to pc i jus delete them

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » July 21st, 2012, 6:20 pm

original_lollybob wrote:
christopherwilliams2 wrote:I asked because I have heard of the windows phone OS being smooth. I have an s2 i9100 with a photo album of 2100 pics and it takes a second or two to open the gallery app but it's smooth sailing from then on.

the single best thing bout this OS is the fluidity of it really...

i donno if ill ever reach that level of pics... i upload to skydrive automatically so after i sync to pc i jus delete them

When you get a kid maybe.... Lol you'll reach that level.

Postby gastly369 » July 30th, 2012, 11:32 pm

guess what :( ..

phone bricked (stupid chinese app)

im in the process of trying custom loading tango now will update

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthr ... ?t=1622797

first time playing around with wp7 hacks etc .. if anyone got a idea and tips leave comments thanks

Postby RASC » July 31st, 2012, 1:39 am

I have over 500 pics on my first generation HD7... None camera pics most of them. So they're actually high res-slr pics that I saved in various galleries. Not one piece of lag ever...

Android by nature is not fully optimized to the monster specs most of these phones run. Jelly Bean with project butter is probably the closest android has ever gotten to WP level of smoothness. Load 1000 pics on that and you never know it mightn't be able to hold onto that claim :lol:

Postby RASC » July 31st, 2012, 1:42 am

Samsung was forced to release documents in their court battles with apple. And seems what looks like basically the wp8 sg3 us variant. Dual core s4 snap dragon. 8mp rear. 2mp up front. 4.65inch screen...

Looks like this Christmas gonna get extra interesting. Nokia and Samsung fighting for the top WP spot!

Postby gastly369 » July 31st, 2012, 3:04 am

well .. its "half bricked" :(

getting the "single line" bootloader screen

played around with gold card . wp7 cab loader.. etc nothing . will give it a go lunchtime again .

"checks papers for new phone prices"

Postby gastly369 » July 31st, 2012, 10:49 am

ok only hope is if someone can JTAG or have a riff box that can fix it

let me know if anyone can do it for me plz thanks

just mines is a different PD ****

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » July 31st, 2012, 11:10 am

^
what stupid chinese app managed to brick your phone?

apps dont have access to root level files... so how da heck did u manage to do that?

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » July 31st, 2012, 11:11 am

RASC wrote:Samsung was forced to release documents in their court battles with apple. And seems what looks like basically the wp8 sg3 us variant. Dual core s4 snap dragon. 8mp rear. 2mp up front. 4.65inch screen...

Looks like this Christmas gonna get extra interesting. Nokia and Samsung fighting for the top WP spot!

Nokia FTW! (i hope)

miles ahead in design and exclusive apps should take them ahead

but all in all WP8 looks like it will gain the platform some real momentum

Postby gastly369 » July 31st, 2012, 11:12 am

wechat app

it worked good for a while then the dam ting started sticking the phone .. i try uninstalling the app and the phone would freeze and restart was unable to do anything last option was to master reset phone form "about phone" when i did that phone never rebooted :(

Postby gastly369 » July 31st, 2012, 11:19 am

reached up to this point :\

kinda got it to start up few mins ago

Postby gastly369 » July 31st, 2012, 1:17 pm

oh i went and purchased a memory card (last try)

and well

we back in business :)

couldnt sleep last night was on meh mind whole night yes phone was like only 4 months old

was looking for a 32GB card to upgrade one time but endup getting back a class 4 16GB card exact replacement :\

Postby M_2NR » July 31st, 2012, 1:35 pm

Well that's good to know. Sad you had to go through all that issues.