Help identifying a snake

Re: Help identifying a snake

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 2nd, 2011, 10:22 am

yups he still living,have him inna drum,at first glance I taught was a tigre due to the yellow belly, but I think its a species relative to the rat snake,idk..

Postby pioneer » November 10th, 2011, 8:59 pm

mind = blown

Postby pioneer » November 10th, 2011, 9:01 pm

Didn't feel like picking coconuts again :|

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 10th, 2011, 9:11 pm

that looks so fake^^

Postby S_2NR » November 10th, 2011, 9:17 pm

so shake d livin..yu couldn leave the snake alone..
yu relly had to put him in a drum.. :roll:

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 10th, 2011, 9:25 pm

S_2NR wrote:so shake d livin..yu couldn leave the snake alone..
yu relly had to put him in a drum.. :roll:

:lol: bai we let him go in d evening after we finished doing what we had to..
btw we fed him as well,that was fun.. :lol: :lol:

Postby hustla_ambition101 » November 10th, 2011, 9:26 pm

pios, somebody now post that on meh FB wall...no sleep 2nite

Postby nervewrecker » November 10th, 2011, 9:28 pm

I went to pick coconut, my penis was hanging out my pants there....who took that pic?

Postby pioneer » November 10th, 2011, 9:40 pm

as seen in avocat village :|

Postby rollingstock » November 10th, 2011, 11:01 pm

Saw it on fb too, stupid people can't see that it's not on the coconut tree, the coconut tree is in the background and the snake appears to be on a dead tree stump in the foreground.

Not sure if real though.

Postby pioneer » November 10th, 2011, 11:14 pm

tryna figure out if that lil piece of "stump" at the top is holding the body up...

BAZZINGA

Postby BAZZINGA » November 11th, 2011, 2:26 am

:/ Cool... Its not like i was planning to sleep anytime soon...

But i don't think its fake... http://errorlevelanalysis.com/permalink/1bd2f7a/

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 11th, 2011, 6:47 am

if that is indeed real,then dammmmm,I wonder where it is?

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » November 11th, 2011, 9:32 am

Saw a small whitish snake in Santa Cruz and someone said it was a coral snake. Do they come in that color as well?

TrinbagoMan

Postby TrinbagoMan » November 11th, 2011, 10:15 am

That pic is not from Trinidad
Last edited by TrinbagoMan on November 11th, 2011, 10:39 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby rfari » November 11th, 2011, 10:15 am

BAZZINGA wrote::/ Cool... Its not like i was planning to sleep anytime soon...

But i don't think its fake... http://errorlevelanalysis.com/permalink/1bd2f7a/

that link rell rell bad hoss.

PariaMan wrote:Saw a small whitish snake in Santa Cruz and someone said it was a coral snake. Do they come in that color as well?

it had any markings at all?

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » November 11th, 2011, 10:37 am

Mostly white with some darkish marking but i always thought that coral was red and black!

lostboys crew

Postby lostboys crew » November 11th, 2011, 1:36 pm

Doubt that photo is fake..... Burmese pythons and Anacondas are known to reach lengths of over 30 ft.
This one here is 24 feet long and still growing. :shock:

Postby nervewrecker » November 11th, 2011, 1:40 pm

lostboys crew wrote:Doubt that photo is fake..... Burmese pythons and Anacondas are known to reach lengths of over 30 ft.
This one here is 24 feet long and still growing. :shock:

I aint going near any snake that size, that will eat me with ease.

Postby pioneer » November 11th, 2011, 7:24 pm

and to think they killing them out in florida

Postby sliderz1 » November 11th, 2011, 7:45 pm

PariaMan wrote:Saw a small whitish snake in Santa Cruz and someone said it was a coral snake. Do they come in that color as well?

not that ive heard of

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 11th, 2011, 9:41 pm

PariaMan wrote:Mostly white with some darkish marking but i always thought that coral was red and black!

to my knowledge there are two types of coral snakes in Trinidad,the regular red,white and black one usually found on land.the head of this one is jet black,you could barely see the eyes,the other is the water coral which is black..

Postby Razkal » November 12th, 2011, 8:32 am

all coral snakes are found atleast in the vicinity of water, they like moisture and high humidity.
we have two species locally, basically a large and small variety, both carry the same colour banding: red, black and white which can be cream, creamish or yellowish.

there's a rough way to tell if its poisonous at a glance:

venomous: red and black bands separated by yellow/white bands
safe: red and yellow bands separated by black bands

OR: red touch black, venom lack. red touch yellow will kill a fellow.

corals aren't aggressive, they have small mouths and short fangs, you have to really let it latch on a toe or finger to get properly injected with venom. just leave them be, keep kids away, they think the snakes are pretty and may handle them

d spike

Postby d spike » November 12th, 2011, 12:05 pm

This is the Common Coral snake. Smaller than the other one, and more commonly found - hence the name. Schmidt noted in 1957 that the males average 504mm and the females 537mm.
Of the two that I have come across, one of them was found by a chicken who was determined to eat it. (Chickens in your yard = no small snakes :lol: ) The remarkable thing was that the forward half of the snake was almost completely black, with the proper colouration continuing after (as though his mother ran out of paint :lol: ) This melanistic specimen was buried to the consternation of the fowl, who clearly felt cheated of her dinner, running off with the corpse during the digging. After the deceased was retrieved, he was interred safely while the fowl was kept at a discreet distance.

This lad is the Large Coral. Sometimes the white bands could be a dirty yellow. The largest specimen noted by Schmidt was 106.7 cm, however unproven claims have been made of over five feet. The only example of this banded piece of death that I have seen was one three feet long that struck at my father from a lying position.

If one of these darlings chews on you, and you are a fit, healthy strapping lad... I'd give you about 90 minutes to settle your affairs on this side of the hereafter.

PariaMan wrote: Mostly white with some darkish marking but i always thought that coral was red and black!

I have never come across records of a local snake with this natural colouration. A ground puppy might be described this way (but not black pattens) but this fellow is quite recognizable as being anything but a coral. However, there are two explanations for the party outfit that was being worn by the fellow you saw.
Certain snakes don't have a fixed colouration from birth. As juveniles, their pattern's colours can vary... but being mostly white is a variation that I haven't heard of.
The other probability is an albino or a partial albino specimen. This is not as rare as one might think.

Postby nervewrecker » November 12th, 2011, 3:30 pm

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 12th, 2011, 5:19 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Image

it had a documentary about this a few wks ago.

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » November 12th, 2011, 5:22 pm

^^^dat real??

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 12th, 2011, 5:26 pm

I know this one real fuh sure.. :shock: :shock:
images.jpg
images.jpg (11.9 KiB) Viewed 3827 times

Yodins

Postby Yodins » November 12th, 2011, 7:24 pm

[imgwh]http://a5.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/308144_313289448697028_133087246717250_1362193_1940928672_n.jpg[/imgwh]

Cobras, one of the largest venomous snakes in the world O.O

nervewrecker wrote:[img]<a href="http://a4.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/384053_314473241911982_133087246717250_1365097_1631002402_n.jpg[/img" rel="nofollow" target="_blank" title="Link added by VigLink" class="vglnk">http://a4.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/384053_314473241911982_133087246717250_1365097_1631002402_n.jpg[/img</a>]

pioneer wrote:mind = blown

[img]<a href="http://a7.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc7/296777_256695027711046_175913989122484_648345_1798678893_n.jpg[/img" rel="nofollow" target="_blank" title="Link added by VigLink" class="vglnk">http://a7.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc7/296777_256695027711046_175913989122484_648345_1798678893_n.jpg[/img</a>]

well, no more bush limes for me.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 12th, 2011, 9:10 pm

@ yodins
the most deadliest but the smallest is the black mamba,as stated by nat geo and several other scientists... but the cobras aint easy to nah...
images.jpg
images.jpg (4.22 KiB) Viewed 3803 times