Re: Discussion: LCD/LED/4k Ultra TV Tech

Postby fireworks » September 14th, 2020, 10:28 pm

708CD5C9-1A9C-4225-BC88-DD7FF878E4EC.jpeg

Saw this today. If only my car was big enough. BJs in NY

Postby Ben_spanna » September 14th, 2020, 10:36 pm

So between Flow and Digicel, who’s HD channels are clearer and more HD quality? , I know when digi first started supplying cable their tv had some issues but recently who has the edge ?

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » September 15th, 2020, 12:57 am

None boi dan boi.

I assuming is not you who going to watch TV and probably some old folks or gf.
And in that case they won't give a chit if is 1080 p/i or 1080 f/o/c/k

I think Massy/Amplia was the only one who claimed them had "p" and not "i"
I had the Amplia TV during some free trial they had a few years back and it was actually good.
I might have said better than Flow but could not confirm as I did not have them side by side.
Eventually I cut off everything, and if I was ever thinking of reconnecting, them thoughts went out the window when TSTT decide to chook up dey stink incompetent self in Amplia.

Not sure bout Digicel. But most TVs show the input info when you press a button.
Can't find none of them ads so much years later.

https://discoverflow.co/trinidad/tv/channel-lineup
https://amplia.co.tt/wp-content/uploads/2020/07/Amplia-Channel-line-up-Eblast_JUNE-29_2020.pdf
https://www.digicelgroup.com/content/dam/digicel/Play/Markets/Trinidad/Channel%20Guide%20Sept2020_whiteBG.pdf

Digicel refuse to put which channel is HD or not. Unless I read it wrong.
Also if your TV/receiver claiming to show everything in 4K, video will most likely be upscaled and look 'lesser' than 4K and will be even worse when trying to upscale 480/576i to 4K.

If is actually you who going to watch cable, I feel you better go get tested for the Corvid yes.

supernedd

Postby supernedd » November 28th, 2020, 8:15 am

4k is life. Stream everything...makes no sense buying a 1080p tv in the year 2020 and beyond.. who does watch cable tho..lol

Postby Rovin » November 28th, 2020, 11:44 am

like said above unless is ole ppl who dunno how to stream free tv off d net [yeah yeah spare me d legal argument] why ppl still paying for cable\direct tv

i gave up mine yrs ago, same setta staleness shows on tv & u have to find urself by ur tv when it starts , dise rel long time thing

even when i had it d streamed shows\movies showed better than d cable\direct tv

i know it hard to teach old dogs new tricks but if u take time to teach d ole folks or even get them netflix they will learn ...

Postby redmanjp » November 29th, 2020, 12:01 am

supernedd wrote:4k is life. Stream everything...makes no sense buying a 1080p tv in the year 2020 and beyond.. who does watch cable tho..lol

I only have a small space for a 27 maybe 32 inch right now so I go have to take a 720p. They doh even have 1080p for the 27 inch.

But even so how many ppl eye could actually distinguish between 1080p and 4k?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 29th, 2020, 11:49 am

redmanjp wrote:
supernedd wrote:4k is life. Stream everything...makes no sense buying a 1080p tv in the year 2020 and beyond.. who does watch cable tho..lol

I only have a small space for a 27 maybe 32 inch right now so I go have to take a 720p. They doh even have 1080p for the 27 inch.

On a 27” watching from some feet away, 720p to 1080p is a small difference. There’s a much bigger difference at that same distance between 1080p and 4K especially as those tend to be 50” and up... and 8K is a massive difference. It’s exponential.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » November 29th, 2020, 12:44 pm

redmanjp wrote:

On a 27” watching from some feet away, 720p to 1080p is a small difference. There’s a much bigger difference at that same distance between 1080p and 4K especially as those tend to be 50” and up... and 8K is a massive difference. It’s exponential.

But is it perceptible? I think at some point for home TVs that don't usually go above 70" the difference between 4k and 8k is minimal.

But I haven't seen 8k so.....

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 29th, 2020, 1:16 pm

yes it is very perceptible from 1080p to 4K and 4K to 8K

Postby 16 cycles » November 29th, 2020, 2:53 pm

Unboxtherapy/youtube did an 8k tv unboxing...

Not sure if shared before...

@ Duane..update thread title to include 8k pls..

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 29th, 2020, 4:39 pm

^ ok changed

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » November 30th, 2020, 5:47 am

fireworks wrote:
708CD5C9-1A9C-4225-BC88-DD7FF878E4EC.jpeg

Saw this today. If only my car was big enough. BJs in NY
That's my next project

Postby redmanjp » November 30th, 2020, 11:35 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:yes it is very perceptible from 1080p to 4K and 4K to 8K

i guess u have good eyes. i sure if i show 4k content on an 8k tv ppl go think is 8k. hell 1080 on a 4k.
some ppl will think it's 4k

isn't there a biological limit at some point? the point at which your eyes can't tell the difference?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » November 30th, 2020, 12:11 pm

redmanjp wrote:

i guess u have good eyes. i sure if i show 4k content on an 8k tv ppl go think is 8k. hell 1080 on a 4k.

isn't there a biological limit at some point? the point at which your eyes can't tell the difference?

The limit depends on the pixel density to seating distance ratio.

Example for phones, there's no perceptible difference over 400dpi.

The reason I asked Duane is that for me, with my friends 50 inch 4k TV, I can barely see an improvement between Netflix 4k and 1080p when sitting what I think might be 8 ft away.

Now it could be Netflix or that his TV is too small

Kewell35

Postby Kewell35 » November 30th, 2020, 12:56 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

The reason I asked Duane is that for me, with my friends 50 inch 4k TV, I can barely see an improvement between Netflix 4k and 1080p when sitting what I think might be 8 ft away.

That strange....the difference between 4k and 1080p netflix is very perceptible....what kind of tv is that?

Postby sMASH » November 30th, 2020, 3:03 pm

Kewell35 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

That strange....the difference between 4k and 1080p netflix is very perceptible....what kind of tv is that?

at what distance from the screen?

Kewell35

Postby Kewell35 » November 30th, 2020, 5:12 pm

sMASH wrote:
Kewell35 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

at what distance from the screen?

only a couple feet away....but I have a big screen 75"

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 30th, 2020, 5:53 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

I think it's either you or the TV
I have a 5K iMac 27" and a 27" Samsung monitor on a PC desktop that is 1080p and the difference is huge.
You can see the pixels on the text of the 1080p screen at normal desktop viewing distance.

4K on Netflix vs 1080p on a 50" is very perceptible IMO

Re: Discussion: LCD/LED/OLED 4k 8K UHD HDR TV Tech

Postby sMASH » November 30th, 2020, 6:10 pm

try streaming youtube 4k content and see if u get a difference... look for 4k or higher native vids.. let it buffer enough, then run it. and after, run it at 1080 and see what difference. i want to thin the netflix isnt streaming 4k, or the tv unable to resolve the 4k.

8ft away is a good enough distance for a 50" to have its pixels disappear.