***The Official Rapid Rail Thread***

EmilioA

Re: ***The Official Rapid Rail Thread***

Postby EmilioA » October 9th, 2015, 2:28 pm

Habit7 wrote:It would run mostly over state lands and alongside the CRH on an elevated track. Most of the residential land acquisitions would be in Chaguanas and Central. But most of the proposed route would be south of the CRH and East of the UBH/SHH where property values are lower.

Now its that building on elevated track over the CRH that concerning me.

1. Is there actual space for that and

2. what happens to traffic on the CRH while this is going on.

Postby Habit7 » October 9th, 2015, 2:44 pm

EmilioA wrote:
Habit7 wrote:It would run mostly over state lands and alongside the CRH on an elevated track. Most of the residential land acquisitions would be in Chaguanas and Central. But most of the proposed route would be south of the CRH and East of the UBH/SHH where property values are lower.

I did not say overhead, I said alongside.
overhead3.jpg

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 9th, 2015, 3:36 pm

VII wrote:
zoom rader wrote:Awaits when racket rail call for parts and maintenance.
Most will end up like PTSC buses where they have have to scrap one train to supply parts for the other.
A grave yard of trains will replace the grave yard of buses. Plus they gonna have to deal with Trini work ethics which is zero productivity.

You guys are sad lol,so based on that logic the fast ferries,airlines,choppers,water taxis,chemical plants,methanol plants,LNG plants,ammonia plants,elevators at the financial towers,fancy passenger conduits straight up to aircraft at new airport should all end up like old PTSC buses? Or do you think a train is a bus because it's long and has many windows also?

So should we revert to the donkeys of our ancestors because of your grim tunneled view of a very talented and special little country that's still experiencing growing pains? All of the above were alien to T&T at some point and are now integral to our socio-economic status and well being as a country but you choose to trivialize that with an old bus rant..

Pal a standard electric modern light rail system is no old Chinese or South American H frame chassis bus,and part of the package is 15 years training/maintenance etc ok.

Have you seen the recent BBC doc on the Mumbai railway? A general culture of fraud,mismanagement,low ethics,low morale,abject poverty,rampant rape,terrorism,fundamentalism,rampant and widespread witchcraft and simmey-dimmey-ism,abandonment of dead bodies,defecating in open drains and canals etc etc,far worse than ours here. An old rail system but one that has to work because of simple long standing operational procedures and the positive social dynamics derived. I wonder how many buses are parked up in Mumbai.

The superficiality here is comical.

My old man is the same thing hoss, he real vex that UNC lost election, he does vote party. Right now he praying for the RR project to fail just so the PNM could look bad. It is a problem with a lot of trinis, because UNC or PNM does something, supporters of each side oppose it. It happens with both UNC and PNM die hards.

They want this country to burn to the ground so long as it makes the opposing party look bad. They want the absolute worst for the country, if UNC was building this Rail you would see all these people here who against it would be totally for it. And those who totally for it would be totally against it.

Trinis are a bunch of selfish eat ah food fcks who don't like to see eachother prosper. They can't fool me I know the scheme of all these people who against this Rail. By their logic we should never be able to operate or build anything, we must always remain a latrine 3rd world because of their political affiliation.

But doh worry, this country get exactly what they deserve, ah raging bull to straighten out they ass. I applaud the good doctor for putting country and people first, this raging bull is the leader we have been waiting for since 1962.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » October 9th, 2015, 3:43 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
VII wrote:
zoom rader wrote:Awaits when racket rail call for parts and maintenance.
Most will end up like PTSC buses where they have have to scrap one train to supply parts for the other.
A grave yard of trains will replace the grave yard of buses. Plus they gonna have to deal with Trini work ethics which is zero productivity.

You guys are sad lol,so based on that logic the fast ferries,airlines,choppers,water taxis,chemical plants,methanol plants,LNG plants,ammonia plants,elevators at the financial towers,fancy passenger conduits straight up to aircraft at new airport should all end up like old PTSC buses? Or do you think a train is a bus because it's long and has many windows also?

So should we revert to the donkeys of our ancestors because of your grim tunneled view of a very talented and special little country that's still experiencing growing pains? All of the above were alien to T&T at some point and are now integral to our socio-economic status and well being as a country but you choose to trivialize that with an old bus rant..

Pal a standard electric modern light rail system is no old Chinese or South American H frame chassis bus,and part of the package is 15 years training/maintenance etc ok.

Have you seen the recent BBC doc on the Mumbai railway? A general culture of fraud,mismanagement,low ethics,low morale,abject poverty,rampant rape,terrorism,fundamentalism,rampant and widespread witchcraft and simmey-dimmey-ism,abandonment of dead bodies,defecating in open drains and canals etc etc,far worse than ours here. An old rail system but one that has to work because of simple long standing operational procedures and the positive social dynamics derived. I wonder how many buses are parked up in Mumbai.

The superficiality here is comical.

My old man is the same thing hoss, he real vex that UNC lost election, he does vote party. Right now he praying for the RR project to fail just so the PNM could look bad. It is a problem with a lot of trinis, because UNC or PNM does something, supporters of each side oppose it. It happens with both UNC and PNM die hards.

They want this country to burn to the ground so long as it makes the opposing party look bad. They want the absolute worst for the country, if UNC was building this Rail you would see all these people here who against it would be totally for it. And those who totally for it would be totally against it.

Trinis are a bunch of selfish eat ah food fcks who don't like to see eachother prosper. They can't fool me I know the scheme of all these people who against this Rail. By their logic we should never be able to operate or build anything, we must always remain a latrine 3rd world because of their political affiliation.

But doh worry, this country get exactly what they deserve, ah raging bull to straighten out they ass. I applaud the good doctor for putting country and people first, this raging bull is the leader we have been waiting for since 1962.

obviously. the rr is a weakness in the pnm budget strategy. im sure the opposition would be supporting it and have all their bloggers working towards getting it started so they could eventually accuse pnm of mismanaging the economy. if pnm do we that again eh.. crapaud smoke they pipe yes. theyll get sidelined just like kamla.

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » October 9th, 2015, 3:58 pm

Habit7 wrote:
EmilioA wrote:

Alongside , Overhead. Same questions apply. Is there space for that and will ongoing traffic be disrupted. From Grand Bazaar to Pasea kinda tight.

Casper23

Postby Casper23 » October 9th, 2015, 4:01 pm

EmilioA wrote:
Habit7 wrote:
EmilioA wrote:

Alongside , Overhead. Same questions apply. Is there space for that and will ongoing traffic be disrupted. From Grand Bazaar to Pasea kinda tight.

So what do you suggest stay in traffic until it reaches total gridlock levels

Postby The_Honourable » October 9th, 2015, 5:11 pm

Habit7 wrote: I did not say overhead, I said alongside.
overhead3.jpg

Yo Habit7... link that video

Daran

Postby Daran » October 9th, 2015, 5:12 pm

I just heard from the PNM grapevine that road tolls to use the highway during peak hors will also be introduced to encourage people to use the rapid rail (and generate revenue to pay for the IDB loans).

Honestly, just make some dedicated bus planes and do a rapid bus. That should be significantly cheaper and faster.

And were land acquisition costs (which will be phenomenally high) accounted for in the $10B-20B figure being bandied about.

Postby Habit7 » October 9th, 2015, 5:18 pm

The_Honourable wrote:
overhead3.jpg

It's the same video that you posted in the OP that has been around now for like 6 yrs that nobody watching but still criticising the project asking questions that the vid answers

Postby The_Honourable » October 9th, 2015, 5:46 pm

Habit7 wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:
overhead3.jpg

It's the same video that you posted in the OP that has been around now for like 6 yrs that nobody watching but still criticising the project asking questions that the vid answers

Or ok... i thought someone made a new simulation. Thanks for the clarification.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 9th, 2015, 7:41 pm

Daran wrote:I just heard from the PNM grapevine that road tolls to use the highway during peak hors will also be introduced to encourage people to use the rapid rail (and generate revenue to pay for the IDB loans).

Honestly, just make some dedicated bus planes and do a rapid bus. That should be significantly cheaper and faster.

And were land acquisition costs (which will be phenomenally high) accounted for in the $10B-20B figure being bandied about.

Bus service cannot work anymore, that is UNC thinking right there, to say it cannot be done and we cannot reach anywhere. What we need is a train that will have high priority when it comes to maintenance just like the Water Taxi and Caribbean Airlines. PTSC cannot manage a bus service it is clear by now ever wonder why the water taxi service so good yet the BUS service is useless? And then Kamla gone and allow all the old people to use the bus free most of which are only 50 years old and just showing the bus driver the front of their ID card and 99% of the time the driver to busy to check age and allows then on the bus. The freeness has to stop at some point!!

You put more buses and you back to square one, we have to break free from our UNC shackles and open our minds, don't let the UNC keep us in 3rd world bondage like this dude. If we don't do the train now then we never will.

Twin Isle Cars n' Parts

Postby Twin Isle Cars n' Parts » October 9th, 2015, 8:27 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
Daran wrote:I just heard from the PNM grapevine that road tolls to use the highway during peak hors will also be introduced to encourage people to use the rapid rail (and generate revenue to pay for the IDB loans).

Bus service cannot work anymore, that is UNC thinking right there, to say it cannot be done and we cannot reach anywhere. What we need is a train that will have high priority when it comes to maintenance just like the Water Taxi and Caribbean Airlines. PTSC cannot manage a bus service it is clear by now ever wonder why the water taxi service so good yet the BUS service is useless? And then Kamla gone and allow all the old people to use the bus free most of which are only 50 years old and just showing the bus driver the front of their ID card and 99% of the time the driver to busy to check age and allows then on the bus. The freeness has to stop at some point!!

You put more buses and you back to square one, we have to break free from our UNC shackles and open our minds, don't let the UNC keep us in 3rd world bondage like this dude. If we don't do the train now then we never will.

So UNC introduced bus yuh rass???
Where were you with yr disfunctional comments in early PNM days?
Oh wait, yuh was still under construction??? Too young to judge properly...After all yuh one ah yuh early jobs was to fry chiken or clean up after even!!!
You knew when Dr. Eric Williams introduced the harvesters for the sugar cane industry n sheet it up from there?
Harvesters damaged the roots of the cane plants & they NEVER PRODUCED SINCE...
Last edited by Twin Isle Cars n' Parts on October 9th, 2015, 9:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 9th, 2015, 8:52 pm

^ I meant the bus service cannot work anymore and to suggest more buses would be UNC thinking.

Also what I really think going on is you own a maxi or 2 and you studying you may not be able to eat 10 tons of food anymore and others may now benefit. This is we problem as trinis we are a selfish bunch we don't want to reach first world because of our own selfish desire.

why do you insist that we remain 3rd world? I have noticed for some time now that you have been trying to spew a UNC type of thinking onto us. There was a time when the UNC was right thinking with development under Basdeo Pandey. But today the UNC under the leadership of Kamla and her evil cabal has been reduced to nothing more than the ultimate super mega ultra eat ah food corruption.

It pains me to see what has happened to the UNC and how my UNC people is trying to keep us 3rd world and hold back progress. It pains me a lot to see my UNC people siding with paid bloggers on facebook on nonsense talk about how PNM cutting off water in Injun areas because of spite etc. And my people are blindly following these paid bloggers and making themselves look like complete fools But I won't expect you to understand because you are not about country and people. Luckily for us the raging bull is about country and people first.

It pains me so much to see how Kamla and her evil cabal are trying to keep my people in bondage and ignorance. It pains me to see what Kamla and her Cabal has done to the UNC party, tarnished and will take decades to heal. But you would never talk about that would you.

You just like my old man, bash the PNM out of spite simply because it is PNM, screw everyone who has to suffer getting transport on mornings and evenings because you own a vehicle so why should you care ent? But have no fear, for the raging bull is here!!
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on October 9th, 2015, 9:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Twin Isle Cars n' Parts

Postby Twin Isle Cars n' Parts » October 9th, 2015, 9:07 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ I meant the bus service cannot work anymore and to suggest more buses would be UNC thinking.

Also what I really think going on is you own a maxi or 2 and you studying you may not be able to eat 10 tons of food anymore and others may now benefit. This is we problem as trinis we are a selfish bunch we don't want to reach first world because of our own selfish desire.

Is not you who stated you were ill @ 29 from fatty foods???

Keep guessing btw, I'll entertain you...
Ah have ten red band btw...

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 9th, 2015, 9:12 pm

^ It was a heart attack I had at 29 and prior to that I had a stroke when I was 26

However lets stay on topic, you will NOT use your UNC powers to hold back progress and keep us 3rd world, the raging bull will take us into first world.
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on October 9th, 2015, 9:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Twin Isle Cars n' Parts

Postby Twin Isle Cars n' Parts » October 9th, 2015, 9:33 pm

Who say UNC? I mentioned PNM...
Fella grow up n get constructive fuh d ppl u CLAIM to represent....
Or yuh eh sure bout yuh background?
Heart attack @ 29 & stroke @ 26? Yuh body's impurities infiltrating yuh mind Bro...
Last edited by Twin Isle Cars n' Parts on October 9th, 2015, 10:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby De Dragon » October 9th, 2015, 9:38 pm

Habit7 wrote:
khandman wrote:
Habit7 wrote:It's sad to see so many of you so myopic about this project. Most of the questions you all are asking were answered since 2009. Our regional competitors like Panama, Dominica Republic and Puerto Rico are leaving us behind with their mass transit systems while some in T&T believe the way to solve traffic is not to create hubs like every other country in the world, but to dissolve the urban area and place a ministry in Couva, one in Tabaquite, another in Lopinot and three Mayaro thus further relying on personal transport to conduct business.

The PNM campaigned on reducing traffic through a mass transit system, the UNC campaigned on reducing traffic by having in 5yrs one incomplete ministry building in Chaguanas as decentralisation. The ppl voted and went with the PNM's plan (just like every other major traffic initiative came from the PNM) so just sit back and allow a international lending agency oversee a hopefully corruption free project.

Ay sheep, u think before u post? Or is just pnm ftw no matter what? What is the size difference of the three "competitors" to that of Trinidad? Huge. When they do this and create hubs, how persons getting to the hubs? Flying? If you don't correct the present mass transit system, ie buses, you will see no real reduction in traffic or use of personal vehicles. But never mind rational thinking, just sheep on.

Nah man everything hadda be 'in tong" :roll: What they don't realize is that this has outlived its purpose and practicality.
We'll if you took the time to research the competitors I listed their transit systems are in their capitals, so their land size doesn't matter. Our transit system is far beyond our small capital and incorporates the main transportation corridors of our country.

Buses can't reach their full efficiency if the road is clogged with cars. PTSC already does offer an express coach service that runs mostly on time and it doesn't attract the ridership to reduce drivers. Plus it is susceptible to the same hazards like accidents, tree falls and floods. An elevated train doesn't have that hindrance.

Why not de-centralize POS and have hubs servicing the outlying areas then? POS is already beyond capacity for the amount of people that need access to services there. It doesn't matter if you can convey 1 million people efficiently to somewhere if the services sought can't be efficiently provided there.

Postby Habit7 » October 9th, 2015, 9:40 pm

Habit7 wrote:
khandman wrote:
Habit7 wrote:It's sad to see so many of you so myopic about this project. Most of the questions you all are asking were answered since 2009. Our regional competitors like Panama, Dominica Republic and Puerto Rico are leaving us behind with their mass transit systems while some in T&T believe the way to solve traffic is not to create hubs like every other country in the world, but to dissolve the urban area and place a ministry in Couva, one in Tabaquite, another in Lopinot and three Mayaro thus further relying on personal transport to conduct business.

The PNM campaigned on reducing traffic through a mass transit system, the UNC campaigned on reducing traffic by having in 5yrs one incomplete ministry building in Chaguanas as decentralisation. The ppl voted and went with the PNM's plan (just like every other major traffic initiative came from the PNM) so just sit back and allow a international lending agency oversee a hopefully corruption free project.

Ay sheep, u think before u post? Or is just pnm ftw no matter what? What is the size difference of the three "competitors" to that of Trinidad? Huge. When they do this and create hubs, how persons getting to the hubs? Flying? If you don't correct the present mass transit system, ie buses, you will see no real reduction in traffic or use of personal vehicles. But never mind rational thinking, just sheep on.

Nah man everything hadda be 'in tong" :roll: What they don't realize is that this has outlived its purpose and practicality.
We'll if you took the time to research the competitors I listed their transit systems are in their capitals, so their land size doesn't matter. Our transit system is far beyond our small capital and incorporates the main transportation corridors of our country.

Buses can't reach their full efficiency if the road is clogged with cars. PTSC already does offer an express coach service that runs mostly on time and it doesn't attract the ridership to reduce drivers. Plus it is susceptible to the same hazards like accidents, tree falls and floods. An elevated train doesn't have that hindrance.

Why not de-centralize POS and have hubs servicing the outlying areas then? POS is already beyond capacity for the amount of people that need access to services there. It doesn't matter if you can convey 1 million people efficiently to somewhere if the services sought can't be efficiently provided there.
What service you speak of that is exclusively located in POS that is causing the traffic?

Postby De Dragon » October 9th, 2015, 9:45 pm

Legal Affairs, BIR, Agri Ministry ,Edu Ministry, Red House, Town and Country, Customs and Excise, Min of Trade

Twin Isle Cars n' Parts

Postby Twin Isle Cars n' Parts » October 9th, 2015, 10:24 pm

Habit7 wrote:
khandman wrote:

What service you speak of that is exclusively located in POS that is causing the traffic?

Most Gov't redundant Ministries...

Postby Habit7 » October 9th, 2015, 10:25 pm

Yes those are the govt offices but what services are exclusively found in POS and not found in satellite offices thus requiring ppl to come to POS?

Postby De Dragon » October 9th, 2015, 10:43 pm

Habit7 wrote:Yes those are the govt offices but what services are exclusively found in POS and not found in satellite offices thus requiring ppl to come to POS?

Can you pick up a marriage license in Chaguanas? Can you submit docs to Town and Country in Couva? Are you serious?

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » October 9th, 2015, 10:47 pm

Casper23 wrote:
EmilioA wrote:
Habit7 wrote:
EmilioA wrote:

I take it you missed my post querying alternatives to a linear rail system.

I am asking a question of logistics. I support a rapid rail system But from Grand Bazaar to Pasea, where is this rapid rail supposed to physically pass ?

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » October 9th, 2015, 10:54 pm

Habit7 wrote:Yes those are the govt offices but what services are exclusively found in POS and not found in satellite offices thus requiring ppl to come to POS?

Well High Court/Appeal Court for one thing. Half the country has to show up in POS for that.

Also almost everybody's Personnel /Human Resources Dept, Accounts Dept, Communications Dept, Legal Dept and Corporate HQ is located in POS. Therefore if you have any business with those depts of any organization odds are you have to head to POS.

Postby Habit7 » October 9th, 2015, 11:32 pm

Can you pick up a marriage license in Chaguanas? Can you submit docs to Town and Country in Couva? Are you serious?

I got my marriage certificate in Tunapuna. There isn't a T&C in Couva but there are in these areas https://www.ttconnect.gov.tt/gortt/port ... al+Offices

EmilioA wrote:Well High Court/Appeal Court for one thing. Half the country has to show up in POS for that.

Also almost everybody's Personnel /Human Resources Dept, Accounts Dept, Communications Dept, Legal Dept and Corporate HQ is located in POS. Therefore if you have any business with those depts of any organization odds are you have to head to POS.
Courts aren't a service, which country in the world doesn't have its highest courts at their capital? The context we talking about was govt services. Your job departments aren't services.

Killing POS doesn't solve your traffic problem, it kills the biggest urban area in the country and a major driver of our economy. The close location of services provides for efficiency no other set up offers. That's why not only govt HQs in POS but private sector too. Within walking distance you can complete several tasks. Whoever if you spread out govt service HQs it requires more dependence on personal transport, more time in transit and less effiiciency. When MVA in Fredrick Settlement opens, the new 500+ workers and the 500+ visitors, do they have adequate public transport to cater for this influx? Can workers find daycare nearby, food options, dry cleaning, supermarkets, mechanics, doctors, etc? Or would that have to get on the road and further add to the congestion? Developed countries don't solve their traffic problems be killing their urban areas, they impel mass transit systems.

ingalook

Postby ingalook » October 10th, 2015, 1:21 am

Habit7 wrote:

I got my marriage certificate in Tunapuna. There isn't a T&C in Couva but there are in these areas https://www.ttconnect.gov.tt/gortt/port ... al+Offices

EmilioA wrote:Well High Court/Appeal Court for one thing. Half the country has to show up in POS for that.

Courts aren't a service, which country in the world doesn't have its highest courts at their capital? The context we talking about was govt services. Your job departments aren't services.

Killing POS doesn't solve your traffic problem, it kills the biggest urban area in the country and a major driver of our economy. The close location of services provides for efficiency no other set up offers. That's why not only govt HQs in POS but private sector too. Within walking distance you can complete several tasks. Whoever if you spread out govt service HQs it requires more dependence on personal transport, more time in transit and less effiiciency. When MVA in Fredrick Settlement opens, the new 500+ workers and the 500+ visitors, do they have adequate public transport to cater for this influx? Can workers find daycare nearby, food options, dry cleaning, supermarkets, mechanics, doctors, etc? Or would that have to get on the road and further add to the congestion? Developed countries don't solve their traffic problems be killing their urban areas, they impel mass transit systems.

Who de muddac**t talking about killing Port-of-Spain???

We talking about decentralization, you saying we need rapid rail cause country big... but yuh have no flickin problem with somebody coming from Cedros and driving for 3-4 hrs to get to POS... But build a university in Debe and everyone north of the Caroni Bridge loses their sheit.

The country CLEARLY has enough money to decentralize if we even considering this Rapid Rail.

You guys talking about the fuel subsidy and how rapid rail will reduce it - then with the savings we can finance this mega project. How much fuel subsidy would decentralization save? what you think causes the majority of gas guzzling? Its beating the highway EVERY day.

Lets go back to the 1000 or so cars the water taxi takes off the roads every day

Lets assume they use super - these people would have used about $200 super every week to get to POS. According to the Min of Finance $100 of that was subsidy

It works out to 5 Million a year reduction in fuel subsidy - now I know that seems small and the yearly cost 41 Million, but I wonder if they consider this reduction in the fuel subsidy when they discuss the effectiveness of this service... what are the benefits of scaling up this service etc?

I hope the water taxi is not a casualty in the justification of this Rail project... it was almost stopped by the PP but then Jack realized they could just cancel the Taxi service planned to run from San'do to Point.... mighty hard to justify a 7 Billion dollar highway with the inconvenience of an effect far cheaper alternative in operation :roll:

ingalook

Postby ingalook » October 10th, 2015, 1:28 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ I meant the bus service cannot work anymore and to suggest more buses would be UNC thinking.

why do you insist that we remain 3rd world? I have noticed for some time now that you have been trying to spew a UNC type of thinking onto us. There was a time when the UNC was right thinking with development under Basdeo Pandey. But today the UNC under the leadership of Kamla and her evil cabal has been reduced to nothing more than the ultimate super mega ultra eat ah food corruption.

It pains me to see what has happened to the UNC and how my UNC people is trying to keep us 3rd world and hold back progress. It pains me a lot to see my UNC people siding with paid bloggers on facebook on nonsense talk about how PNM cutting off water in Injun areas because of spite etc. And my people are blindly following these paid bloggers and making themselves look like complete fools But I won't expect you to understand because you are not about country and people. Luckily for us the raging bull is about country and people first.

It pains me so much to see how Kamla and her evil cabal are trying to keep my people in bondage and ignorance. It pains me to see what Kamla and her Cabal has done to the UNC party, tarnished and will take decades to heal. But you would never talk about that would you.

You just like my old man, bash the PNM out of spite simply because it is PNM, screw everyone who has to suffer getting transport on mornings and evenings because you own a vehicle so why should you care ent? But have no fear, for the raging bull is here!!

Your thinking on Buses sounds as if you have a serious inferiority complex... every thing that we build doesn't have to be big, shiny and expensive - most time the simplest solution is the best one

Slavery done, indenturship done - time to get those chips off your shoulder

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » October 10th, 2015, 1:39 am

I don't think that kiling POS is the right idea but instead of building a rapid rail why not simply work with what we have first, improving and expanding within reason, try with more decentrilisation on government services, for example we seem to like building stuff, set up "Government Campuses" that are like hubs that are well designed with adequate parking and such, located just on the outskirts of major population centres. In this day and age we are still renting other people's buildings not bad if the buildings are well designed for commercial and public service. The size of the centre to be determined by the demand a simpe study of the catchment area could determine this.

Given our current attitude to maintenance with reference to PTSC added to that the recent reports of poor worker productivity, why get yourself in more trouble with such a large problem. Why not try to improve what systems we have in existence and try to get the best value for money, one must note that profit isn't always the goal especially in public transport systems which are almost always subsidized. There are other tangible metrics by which the system can be measured and these must be made public and the system held to those standards.

The whole issue with the rail system is maintenance, given our attitude, any time I see a PTSC bus, paint peeling, engine rattling excessively and sometimes parked at the side of the highway with the bus driver standing in front on the cell phone, all the engine bay panels open..........

Sigh............

Postby De Dragon » October 10th, 2015, 1:45 am

Habit7 wrote:

You do know that there are actual people living/working in Caroni right? You do know that 500+ (as you say)people visit Central every day right? You do know that not having to travel to POS for all these services not only saves time, is more efficient, and saves gas and people's nerves right? You do know that only the most elitist people think this way right?

Postby Gladiator » October 10th, 2015, 7:12 am

EmilioA wrote:
Casper23 wrote:
EmilioA wrote:
Habit7 wrote:
EmilioA wrote:

I take it you missed my post querying alternatives to a linear rail system.

I am asking a question of logistics. I support a rapid rail system But from Grand Bazaar to Pasea, where is this rapid rail supposed to physically pass ?

I know someone that worked for the company that did the geotechnical survey for the proposed rail. There is over $500M spent on this project already.

The proposed path involved the buyout of every single property South of the highway between grand bazzar and UWI.

The Govt would have to buy out grand bazzar itself, Valpark shopping plaza, Helen Bhagwansingh house, Kay Donna, Condos opposite Kay Donna etc etc etc

Most of the properties owned by certain party financiers..... cha ching $$$$$$$

Payback time....

This is how politics works. Every Govt needs a mega project to siphon from for the UNC it was the Point highway for this Govt it probably is this rail.

Politicians never do anything for the people... they do to gain political mileage, improve their image, treat their friends etc.

Whoever believe otherwise... :drinking:
Last edited by Gladiator on October 10th, 2015, 9:10 am, edited 1 time in total.