Re: OWTU TO SERVE STRIKE NOTICE ON PETROTRIN

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 4th, 2017, 12:14 pm

Labour Ministry to Hold Emergency Meeting With OWTU Tomorrow
By Nneka Parsanlal
Story Created: Jan 4, 2017 at 10:56 AM ECT
Story Updated: Jan 4, 2017 at 10:56 AM ECT

CCN TV6 - The Ministry of Labour has scheduled an emergency meeting with Petrotrin and the OWTU for tomorrow. This comes on the heels of the OWTU serving a strike notice after talks between stakeholders fell through last night.

The Ministry says they are meeting as a matter of priority to the OWTU's concerns.

Labour Minister, Jennifer Baptiste- Primus will be present along with the appropriate representatives of the OWTU.
15800581_1284435498292681_6964797196245544638_o.jpg
15800581_1284435498292681_6964797196245544638_o.jpg (24.1 KiB) Viewed 2977 times

Postby wagonrunner » January 4th, 2017, 12:16 pm

it should go the mittal route.

you apply for a wuk, accept the terms, and then gonna bully your way because you feel entitled to an increase.
while the same public you affecting has to earn theirs based on performance, not just time spent. UDFR.

bluesclues

Re: RE: Re: OWTU TO SERVE STRIKE NOTICE ON PETROTRIN

Postby bluesclues » January 4th, 2017, 12:35 pm

wagonrunner wrote:it should go the mittal route.

you apply for a wuk, accept the terms, and then gonna bully your way because you feel entitled to an increase.
while the same public you affecting has to earn theirs based on performance, not just time spent. UDFR.

The owtu isnt really at fault here u know. Theyre just asking fr what they deserve.. in fact, everyone in the country right now deserves a double in salary especially if they in a role with no union representation.

The target here has to be management. In a private company even the board would turn against management in this scenario.

That said, though they may deserve it, they cant have it due to circumstances caused by same said management over the years and our current unsure situation. But we can offer them a trade to delay negotiations if heads roll at pt management and let the company restructure. A change in management should be viewed as a win for both owtu and the people of TnT. We can move forward from there. I wonder if roget is so strategic that he is targetting management through this wage increase battle as the end game. I dare say i would be impressed if so.

Postby Redman » January 4th, 2017, 7:15 pm

So if the cleaner an dem getting 12k + them educated fellas above should be set.
And they still unhappy ....
Public perception is whats at stake here.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » January 4th, 2017, 7:17 pm

How is public perception at stake here?

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » January 4th, 2017, 7:30 pm

Redman wrote:So if the cleaner an dem getting 12k + them educated fellas above should be set.
And they still unhappy ....
Public perception is whats at stake here.

You saw the salary that cleaners are getting the only justification is the amount of sh*t they have to deal with......I guess..

Postby nervewrecker » January 4th, 2017, 7:47 pm

They posted salaries?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » January 4th, 2017, 7:53 pm

nervewrecker wrote:They posted salaries?

Cnc3 posted figures.

IMG_7321.JPG

Postby nervewrecker » January 4th, 2017, 7:54 pm

2a

Postby Redman » January 4th, 2017, 7:59 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:How is public perception at stake here?

Where as people are seeing economic hardship....striking...and putting the country on edge-with the commentary coming from many points that this could do significantly more damage to econ Petrotrin ...

Striking in a co where the cleaner-detailed as a floor and furniture cleaner is making 12k plus benefits would be a jagged pill to swallow for many.

CNC said the cleaner is getting 64 per hr.

Right or wrong is gonna fade into the background

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 4th, 2017, 8:02 pm

Awaits 10am on Monday...should be an interesting wknd....gas being sold out n sheit

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » January 4th, 2017, 8:04 pm

Redman wrote:

Where as people are seeing economic hardship....striking...and putting the country on edge-with the commentary coming from many points that this could do significantly more damage to econ Petrotrin ...

Striking in a co where the cleaner-detailed as a floor and furniture cleaner is making 12k plus benefits would be a jagged pill to swallow for many.

I disagree. The public perception has never changed. This won't sway it to the negative as it already was there.

Express did the same in 2012 too.

It's like douen said. No rioting so you could do what u want.

turbonator

Postby turbonator » January 4th, 2017, 8:32 pm

wagonrunner wrote:it should go the mittal route.

You seriously think that this situation should go the Mittal route?

Postby The_Honourable » January 4th, 2017, 9:48 pm

Petrotrin Pay - CNC3

infinite_RPM

Postby infinite_RPM » January 4th, 2017, 9:50 pm

Redman wrote:

Serious 12k? I'm a PPO (not at petro) and my salary not even close to that...

Postby nervewrecker » January 4th, 2017, 9:55 pm

They dont give the height bonus anymore and heat bonus is like for welders.
Overtime had stop for some time afaik.
Salaries look like before tax and the pension plan is a deduction, not an allowance.

Postby Redman » January 4th, 2017, 10:03 pm

Well cleaners everywhere else gonna strike now...blasted PNM again

Postby DVSTT » January 4th, 2017, 10:05 pm

10K for a janitor. *whistles*

Postby nervewrecker » January 4th, 2017, 10:09 pm

If men hear what tcl salaries is like they might dead yes

infinite_RPM

Postby infinite_RPM » January 4th, 2017, 10:25 pm

nervewrecker wrote:If men hear what tcl salaries is like they might dead yes

Some positions should pay more in petro especially plant jobs.. But the cleaner is a bit over the top.. My pardna is a clerk in wasa and getting less than the cleaner in petro..

Don't all state companies have fixed salary ranges?

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: OWTU TO SERVE STRIKE NOTICE ON PETROTRIN

Postby nervewrecker » January 4th, 2017, 10:32 pm

infinite_RPM wrote:

Some positions should pay more in petro especially plant jobs.. But the cleaner is a bit over the top.. My pardna is a clerk in wasa and getting less than the cleaner in petro..

Those salaries are before tax.
Wasa clerk gets about $7500.00 to $8000.00 take home not so?

Temp clerk I in the public service gets about $5k or something.

Ojt with a degree is about $6500.00 to $7000.00 iirc

07 - 08 salaries for some wasa operators, well as far as i remembered one was saying that he pays roughly $4500.00 in taxes....or I think that was allowances or some shiz so.

LNG have some nice figures as well.

infinite_RPM

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: OWTU TO SERVE STRIKE NOTICE ON PETROTRIN

Postby infinite_RPM » January 4th, 2017, 10:44 pm

infinite_RPM wrote:

Those salaries are before tax.
Wasa clerk gets about $7500.00 to $8000.00 take home not so?

Temp clerk I in the public service gets about $5k or something.

Ojt with a degree is about $6500.00 to $7000.00 iirc

07 - 08 salaries for some wasa operators, well as far as i remembered one was saying that he pays roughly $4500.00 in taxes....or I think that was allowances or some shiz so.

LNG have some nice figures as well.

Wasa clerk is 9 before tax
Petro clerk 11 before tax..

I telling u with surity no ppo working wasa paying 4500 in tax lol

After union,nis,PAYE,health surcharge is 1700 taken from salary

Wasa ppos don't make big money contrary to belief.. That's why they wanted to strike the other day

Postby nervewrecker » January 4th, 2017, 10:49 pm

I wonder if them men was operators jed. Two are managers now.

Well still for comparison, wasa running a deficit too. And their salaries nice.

Laborer in tcl used to get about $9k a month take home or something so.

How i like a sketel so? Only watching man salary all over, like wdmc

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » January 4th, 2017, 10:52 pm

Well I did say AWD was for girls :lol:

Postby nervewrecker » January 4th, 2017, 10:54 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Well I did say AWD was for girls

I look for that

infinite_RPM

Postby infinite_RPM » January 4th, 2017, 10:59 pm

If u unionized you have a right to strike not so.. Is it law they have to get an increase in salaries? If not then its not a valid reason to strike not so?

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » January 4th, 2017, 11:07 pm

Them salaries normal imv. Reasonable but yes a lil behind the times and depreciating dollar for a company of that stature and industry. Everyone in the country is also behind and underpaid in terms of the lag between salary/minimum wage increases and the rate inflation of our dollar. But without implementing solutions to gain the revenues those upgrades cant happen. 7,500 after tax for a cleaner in petrotrin is i think justifiable. Most ppl just severely underpaid thats why they would find these salaries high. But they dont meet the criteria to be classed as 'high' considering causal factors. A regular IT tech (a+/net+cert) should get minimum 7,500 takehome as well. And if it's a specialized field should go up starting from 8,500 to 12,500 depending. Takehome or bust. We dont care bout 'gross' around here.

Postby nervewrecker » January 4th, 2017, 11:10 pm

But them salaries not high

wavehunter

Postby wavehunter » January 4th, 2017, 11:27 pm

I want to see if two raging bulls, Roget vs Rowley lock horns what will happen.

infinite_RPM

Postby infinite_RPM » January 4th, 2017, 11:29 pm

There's a tax calculator on one of the government sites.. And a app named TT salary calculator.. Take home after a 10.4 salary close to 8500..

Add the ten percent increase they want to that..