End of ICE (Internal Combustion Engines)

Re: End of ICE (Internal Combustion Engines)

Postby redmanjp » April 30th, 2024, 1:25 pm

how much it cost to service an EV and at what interval?

Postby Habit7 » April 30th, 2024, 3:07 pm

redmanjp wrote:how much it cost to service an EV and at what interval?

$200-$500 once a year

It is way cheaper than ICE cars, the only thing that has a more frequent interval is tyres because EVs weigh more and have more torque. You tend to squeal out more because of the instant torque, so you may have to change as soon as 1yr or at most 3yrs.

Postby Chimera » April 30th, 2024, 3:16 pm

redmanjp wrote:
Chimera wrote:Anyone using one of those new 2022-2024 vezels by chance?

how does it work in traffic if you using air condition

like if you driving under 70/80km/h but using air condition....will it be using hybrid battery or engine power

have a 2018 tucson that using 1500-2000 gas a month (traffic driving form chag to pos and back daily) and considering selling it and getting a new vezel

is 2 round trips u doing daily or what ?
Nope but from where we are in central....it's 20 minutes of traffic just to get out of the area to reach chase village flyover on mornings. After 630 and then steady traffic from there to pos

Then traffic again on evenings from pos to home.

And than dual clutch transmission in that model tucson is a pain and very annoying to drive in traffic

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 30th, 2024, 5:09 pm

According to this page
https://ackodrive.com/ev-guide/electric ... intenance/

Monthly checkups
Check the tyres
Examine the washer fluid in the windshield and fill it if required.

After every 8,000 km to 11,000 km
Rotate tyres
Inspect coolant and suspension parts

After 25,000 km
Inspect the transmission fluids.
Replace cabin air filters to avoid dust contamination.
Check the high voltage battery

After 48,000 km
Replace transmission fluid
Replace coolant
Replace power steering fluid if it has hydraulic steering (electric steering needs no steering fluid)
Replace brake fluid
probably replace tyres since EVs are heavier and will wear tyres faster, unless you are using tyres made for EVs which may cater for the weight

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » April 30th, 2024, 5:11 pm

In other words you can't be a sufferer and driving EV's.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 30th, 2024, 6:08 pm

DMan7 wrote:In other words you can't be a sufferer and driving EV's.

because of the tyres?
it depends on your mileage and driving

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » April 30th, 2024, 6:16 pm

Nah not because of the tyres, holistically you can't be a sufferer and owning or driving and EV.

Postby pugboy » April 30th, 2024, 7:32 pm

so sufferers gonna be left as the polluters killing the planet

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 30th, 2024, 7:41 pm

"Electric cars place unique challenges on tires, as a result of four key characteristics: weight, efficiency, noise, and torque"

wing

Postby wing » April 30th, 2024, 7:43 pm

If you can't replace transmission fluid and coolant, then you shouldn't be owning any kind of vehicle.

Postby Habit7 » April 30th, 2024, 7:57 pm

Overall the maintenance and fuelling of an EV is far less than an ICE. However, you will feel it in resale value at the end.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 30th, 2024, 9:53 pm

Habit7 wrote:

Overall the maintenance and fuelling of an EV is far less than an ICE. However, you will feel it in resale value at the end.

For a while - until they become more popular

Postby Chimera » April 30th, 2024, 9:57 pm

I feel like only Toyota and certain Nissans have resale value

Postby Les Bain » May 1st, 2024, 2:44 pm

Chimera wrote:I feel like only Toyota and certain Nissans have resale value

The Mk4 Supra, any Hilux and the R34.

Postby Dizzy28 » May 1st, 2024, 2:49 pm

Habit7 wrote:

$200-$500 once a year

It is way cheaper than ICE cars, the only thing that has a more frequent interval is tyres because EVs weigh more and have more torque. You tend to squeal out more because of the instant torque, so you may have to change as soon as 1yr or at most 3yrs.

In all these posts I don't thin I saw anyone ask (or maybe I missed it)..
Habit what EV you driivng?

Postby Habit7 » May 1st, 2024, 3:07 pm

An electric one.

Postby Chimera » May 1st, 2024, 3:40 pm

Les Bain wrote:

all them almera is the same price for the last 10 years

Habit like he have a Taycan

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 1st, 2024, 3:45 pm

Chimera wrote:
Les Bain wrote:

Well Porsche cheaper than Prado, so...

Postby redmanjp » May 1st, 2024, 4:35 pm

because of the tyres?
it depends on your mileage and driving

no the cost of buying it to begin with- but it seems after that everything else (except tyres) is cheaper. only issue is resale value as at some point that battery would need replacing

Postby pugboy » May 1st, 2024, 4:59 pm

special discount from bernard ent

Chimera wrote:
Les Bain wrote:

Postby 88sins » May 1st, 2024, 8:47 pm

Odd idea here
I was wondering how efficient would it be to put a hydroelectric system in a hybrid vehicle that's powered by the movement of coolant through the system instead of the traditional belt and pulley alternator.

I mean, load is load, yes, but since the coolant already in motion via the pump, why not use that movement to spin a turbine to generate electricity?
Worst case scenario I can think of is a little more resistance on the pump in the cooling system, and possibly aerating the cooling fluid, but it shouldn't be enough to be a concern once the impeller can be made to spin with minimal effort.

Postby pugboy » May 1st, 2024, 8:49 pm

there is no free lunch

88sins wrote:Odd idea here
I was wondering how efficient would it be to put a hydroelectric system in a hybrid vehicle that's powered by the movement of coolant through the system instead of the traditional belt and pulley alternator.

I mean, load is load, yes, but since the coolant already in motion via the pump, why not use that movement to spin a turbine to generate electricity?
Worst case scenario I can think of is a little more resistance on the pump in the cooling system, and possibly aerating the cooling fluid, but it shouldn't be enough to be a concern once the impeller can be made to spin with minimal effort.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » May 1st, 2024, 8:57 pm

You would be powering a water pump to move the coolant to move a turbine. Would involve more moving parts and would be a much less efficient system than just letting the pump's power source (serpentine belt) generate the current through the alternator.

Supra GT-FOUR

Postby Supra GT-FOUR » May 1st, 2024, 9:03 pm

Conservation of energy:
Am I nothing to you?

Postby adnj » May 1st, 2024, 9:28 pm

88sins wrote:Odd idea here

My sensibilities are being accosted by these posts.

Postby pugboy » May 1st, 2024, 9:44 pm

kinda like running an electric motor off the alternator to blow intake air like a turbo

Postby Habit7 » May 1st, 2024, 9:49 pm

pugboy wrote:kinda like running an electric motor off the alternator to blow intake air like a turbo

A supercharger?

Postby Les Bain » May 2nd, 2024, 9:16 am

ProtonPowder wrote:You would be powering a water pump to move the coolant to move a turbine. Would involve more moving parts and would be a much less efficient system than just letting the pump's power source (serpentine belt) generate the current through the alternator.

Water nuh adding more weight too? As if them tyres not under enough pressha already.

Postby sMASH » May 2nd, 2024, 3:06 pm

When time to recycle all dem battree and windmill...
FB_IMG_1714672840646.jpg

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » May 2nd, 2024, 3:28 pm

Ignoring 88sins interpretation of the laws of thermodynamics.

I recall an electric supercharger system by Thomas knight, advertised in car magazines, which used a modified starter motor to turn a compressor. Supposed to function in short bursts similar to a small shot of nitrous. Nothing to do with efficiency, more to do with power.

Biggest challenges with EVs locally is initial buy in price, unknown resale value and who is fixing it when it eventually needs parts (not just the battery). Cause the technology is still being developed at a fairly decent rate, by the time you are ready to sell, what you have could be outdated

Should do a like for like comparison on similar/same vehicles
MG gas engined vs full electric
Hyundai ioniq hybrid vs electric etc

My personal fear is how connected some EVs are. Leaving control of the vehicle up to the manufacturer, no thanks. They can shut down features when they want, take away or give you more range if they feel like it,bAsk you to pay a subscription to get it back; and they only asking now... Give it a couple of years and they will force it.