Well leave d forking country if you vex you getting subsidies nah.....And dont tell me what I have to settle for!!Redress10 wrote:rebound wrote:Correct if we were to follow that clown's philosophy, we should pay taxes and expect nothing in return......he is happy with a oneway street arrangement for some twisted reason.shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Redress10 wrote:rebound wrote:screwbash wrote:MEANWHILE AFTER GAS PRICE INCREASE IN TRINIDADyup....nail on the head
Y beat up cause a subsidy was removed? Is not like the price was artificially increased. A subsidy was removed, so the price is coming closer to what the actual price is. The forking subsidy used to get paid anyhow. Is all of us used to pay for the subsidy whether we drive 30 km or 3000 km. Let's stop promoting BS.
All subsidies and social services need to be reviewed. This hand out mentality that was designed for political points is damaging us.
Subsidy on cooking gas should have been removed as well ent? Ttec rates adjusted as well?
Clown you haven't even begun to play taxes so just be happy that life in Tnt still so sweet. Funny how people all over the world live without subsidies and still manage to thrive but you all here in tnt get a little closer to paying the market price of fuel and all hell wanna break lose.
Some of you all are downright irrational. Subsidies are not "free". YOU still pay, that's the whole point. Government pays and that means YOU. You really comfortable with government spending billions of dollars over the years to cover the consumption of fuel? Fuel is literally burning money. Why is it that everywhere else in the world is progressing but men here still acting as though money in trinidad growing on trees.
All subsidies need to be reviewed. People already saying that TTEC, WASA rates etc are not the real rates hence they can't be profitable. This level of entitlement is nauseating. Why trinis don't ask for subsidies whenever they go overseas.
Redress10 wrote:The point is where is the money going to come from to pay for the subsidies? Oil and gas? HA
It can't come from tax neither so where the money coming from? Between ya leg?
Jackarse. We need to review all these policies and political gifts that were put in place for nothing more than votes. That is the whole point of this.
Free healthcare, education, university etc are also subsidies. Even make work jobs like Petrotrin and Cepep is a form of subsidy.
We are a socialist state and don't even want to recognise it. Every year education and crime getting billions of dollars in the budget without fail. Every year crime raising and children failing sea and cxc. That is a form of subsidy as well. As long as there is no return on investment, is money going down the drain.
Where is the return of investment in this country? When will this madness end?
The_Honourable wrote:Meanwhile... PNM logic on facebook
"It will benefit the poor because poor people have no car"
"If you can buy doubles or a carnival costume, you can pay for the increase." (Same argument used for property tax)
"Saudi Arabia raised their gas prices too to balance the budget."
"If we was living in the US we would pay full price and not complain."
"If you cyah afford a doubles, buy a pie."
"If Kamla didn't teef out all d money..."
Redress10 wrote:The point is where is the money going to come from to pay for the subsidies? Oil and gas? HA
Jackarse. We need to review all these policies and political gifts that were put in place for nothing more than votes. That is the whole point of this.
Free healthcare, education, university etc are also subsidies. Even make work jobs like Petrotrin and Cepep is a form of subsidy.
We are a socialist state and don't even want to recognise it. Every year education and crime getting billions of dollars in the budget without fail. Every year crime raising and children failing sea and cxc. That is a form of subsidy as well. As long as there is no return on investment, is money going down the drain.
My issue is value for money. You make reference to other countries with higher taxes and lower to no subsidies, please also compare their infrastructure and systems available to those people when you do.Redress10 wrote:The point is where is the money going to come from to pay for the subsidies? Oil and gas? HA
hydroep wrote:Just had to laugh at the gas to doubles comparison yes.
There is no valid basis for comparing the price of gas to any other product as a justification of how much it should cost because the answer would depend on individuals' subjective determination of the perceived value of products.
For example, a 2-tablet pack of Panadol is what $ 4 -$ 5, the same as a liter of super. Which is more important, medicine or gas? So which one should cost more?...
Redress10 wrote:rebound wrote:Correct if we were to follow that clown's philosophy, we should pay taxes and expect nothing in return......he is happy with a oneway street arrangement for some twisted reason.shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Redress10 wrote:rebound wrote:screwbash wrote:MEANWHILE AFTER GAS PRICE INCREASE IN TRINIDADyup....nail on the head
Y beat up cause a subsidy was removed? Is not like the price was artificially increased. A subsidy was removed, so the price is coming closer to what the actual price is. The forking subsidy used to get paid anyhow. Is all of us used to pay for the subsidy whether we drive 30 km or 3000 km. Let's stop promoting BS.
All subsidies and social services need to be reviewed. This hand out mentality that was designed for political points is damaging us.
Subsidy on cooking gas should have been removed as well ent? Ttec rates adjusted as well?
Clown you haven't even begun to play taxes so just be happy that life in Tnt still so sweet. Funny how people all over the world live without subsidies and still manage to thrive but you all here in tnt get a little closer to paying the market price of fuel and all hell wanna break lose.
Some of you all are downright irrational. Subsidies are not "free". YOU still pay, that's the whole point. Government pays and that means YOU. You really comfortable with government spending billions of dollars over the years to cover the consumption of fuel? Fuel is literally burning money. Why is it that everywhere else in the world is progressing but men here still acting as though money in trinidad growing on trees.
All subsidies need to be reviewed. People already saying that TTEC, WASA rates etc are not the real rates hence they can't be profitable. This level of entitlement is nauseating. Why trinis don't ask for subsidies whenever they go overseas.
You are correct....all we need is value, I dont think anyone has an issue with paying for it.mad wrote:And that is clean clear diesel eh, not like the WASA coloured diesel we getting here in Trinidad.
On top of that they want us to pay market price for this sheit diesel we getting here that damaging engine.
rebound wrote:Return on Investment? I pay USD3000/yr in taxes for a property in the US (in a considerably small town) but unlike my property here, I did not have to install a camera system, burglar proof the entire house, build a 7 foot wall around the property or engage a security firm to monitor the house. I am also able to sit in my porch without constantly looking over my shoulder......I might be wrong but, thats value for money.
rebound wrote:You are correct....all we need is value, I dont think anyone has an issue with paying for it.mad wrote:And that is clean clear diesel eh, not like the WASA coloured diesel we getting here in Trinidad.
On top of that they want us to pay market price for this sheit diesel we getting here that damaging engine.
Slartibartfast wrote:All these "countries" people comparing Trinidad and Tobago to. Did anyone else compare the minimum wage and average income? If you want to talk about the US I know I make about 1/4 of what I would make if I was and American working in the same company in the same position that I am in right now. If my wages were also adjusted I would not be complaining at all. I would tell them remove the subsidy yesterday.
Why do we only compare ourselves to the worst of other places? Would we only be satisfied when we can say that we have the worst of everything? Then we can finally sit back and say "Yes... you know what.. you right... we do have it better". What is the point of these comparisons?
The fact is that Trinidad and Tobago is on the decline and has been since the turn of the century. I find it idiotic that people think it makes more sense trying to justify how much worse we can get but talking down to people that want to consider ways in which we can get better.
Like I always say. T&T is a paradise. The only problem we have is the people.
One has to really be a heartless sob to want grants to disabled people and food cards to the poor removed just because they going to be paying $40 to $60 more per fill up and saltier than the Dead Sea cuz of it.hydroep wrote:Imbutt said the money saved will be used to fund Social Programs including the food card system. By subsidizing the "most vulnerable in society", isn't the Government encouraging the dependency syndrome? If the State is taking care of these people what motivation do they have to improve their situation in life? I thought that is what Sh!tkicker and dem wanted to get away from?
No problem with the rationale for removing subsidies yunno, just be fair — remove all and done the story...