Re: The official tropical weather thread 2021

Postby bluefete » June 3rd, 2021, 7:52 pm

Small thing!

Postby redmanjp » June 3rd, 2021, 8:44 pm

bluefete wrote:Small thing!

After all we all comfortably staying home of course!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 4th, 2021, 1:12 am

brickman

Postby brickman » June 4th, 2021, 3:43 am

Enjoying the weather tonight.

Postby bluefete » June 4th, 2021, 5:04 am

redmanjp wrote:
bluefete wrote:Small thing!

After all we all comfortably staying home of course!

Working from home too.

Now for the next wave to pass through.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 4th, 2021, 7:40 am

Met office finally get something right

Postby MaxPower » June 4th, 2021, 7:51 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Met office finally get something right

Luck

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 4th, 2021, 8:32 am

Friday: Periods of rain, numerous showers, and isolated to scattered thunderstorms are forecast to affect T&T from midnight throughout the day. Rainfall will interrupt mostly cloudy to overcast skies. Heavier showers and thunderstorm activity are forecast to favor Trinidad throughout the day though thunderstorm activity is possible across Tobago. Lingering showers and isolated thunderstorms are forecast through the overnight hours.

Saturday: Similar conditions to Friday are forecast, with periods of rain, numerous showers, and isolated to scattered thunderstorms across Trinidad and Tobago throughout the day, interrupting mostly cloudy to overcast skies. Again, heavier rainfall is forecast to favor Trinidad. Conditions are forecast to settle briefly into the late evening, with a resurgence of rainfall overnight.

https://ttweathercenter.com/2021/06/04/ ... all-to-tt/

Musical Doc

Postby Musical Doc » June 4th, 2021, 8:49 am

Flood in the Los Bajos area.

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » June 4th, 2021, 1:18 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Met office finally get something right

Same thing I was thinking when the rain buss down at 11:45 last night :lol:

Postby De Dragon » June 4th, 2021, 1:39 pm

0200 Hrs a rain buss down and make me jump orf meh bed yes! :lol: :lol:

Postby K74T » June 4th, 2021, 8:00 pm

The Trinidad and Tobago Meteorological Service has issued a Riverine Flood Alert (Yellow Level) from 8PM today, Friday June 4th 2021, to 12PM on Sunday June 6th 2021.

Low lying areas near water courses in Central and Northern Trinidad are expected to be affected.

The TT Met Service says river levels are currently near threshold values in some parts, especially along the Caroni River basin. Additional rainfall is expected overnight and tomorrow, which will further elevate river levels. There is a moderate risk to public safety, livelihoods and property as watercourses may overtop their banks.

Citizens are advised to monitor weather conditions and river levels before venturing outside. Monitor updates from official sources and plan safety measures, including emergency supplies of food and water and follow the instructions of Government officials.

For more information, check www.metoffice.gov.tt/ and www.odpm.gov.tt

FB_IMG_1622851148938.jpeg

Postby redmanjp » June 4th, 2021, 8:09 pm

^ was now wondering when they was going to issue that

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 4th, 2021, 8:37 pm

Fishing pond river up east. This does cause some serious damage
IMG-20210604-WA0048.jpg

cornfused

Postby cornfused » June 5th, 2021, 11:49 am

Storm like conditions St. Augustine

brickman

Postby brickman » June 5th, 2021, 12:00 pm

Dread thunderstorm in pos.

Postby sMASH » June 5th, 2021, 12:01 pm

brb, using imagination.

south very overcast windy with slight rain

SRASC

Postby SRASC » June 5th, 2021, 12:03 pm

Postby bluefete » June 5th, 2021, 12:04 pm

sMASH wrote:brb, using imagination.

south very overcast windy with slight rain

LOL. When south has heavy rains, north is dry.

Now north has heavy rains and south is dry.

Climate change in yuh ma.

All the people living on riverbanks better watch out.

Postby sMASH » June 5th, 2021, 12:15 pm

https://fb.watch/5Xn5vwRxy-/

caroni rivers at banks, may overspill

Postby bluefete » June 5th, 2021, 12:22 pm

sMASH wrote:https://fb.watch/5Xn5vwRxy-/

caroni rivers at banks, may overspill

Anyone heading Central better move now.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 5th, 2021, 12:23 pm

Showers and thunderstorms continue to affect T&T with up to 2 inches (50 mm) of rainfall accumulating across the country in the last 8 hours. Street/flash flooding reported in various areas.

https://ttweathercenter.com/2021/06/05/ ... in-effect/

Postby Gladiator » June 5th, 2021, 12:36 pm

Was wondering how these inches are measured...I have an empty concrete pond that I pumped out dry on Thursday. Between Friday and now there is about 5 inches of water from the rain. Does that mean we got 5 inches of rain in this area...
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Image

Showers and thunderstorms continue to affect T&T with up to 2 inches (50 mm) of rainfall accumulating across the country in the last 8 hours. Street/flash flooding reported in various areas.

https://ttweathercenter.com/2021/06/05/ ... in-effect/

Postby sMASH » June 5th, 2021, 12:44 pm

they said 'last 8hrs'. but its average accross the island. without knowldege, i would presume they ahve various weather sites that collect data, so they may take an average for an island wide figure. and some places got more, while others got less.

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » June 5th, 2021, 1:04 pm

Gladiator wrote:Was wondering how these inches are measured...I have an empty concrete pond that I pumped out dry on Thursday. Between Friday and now there is about 5 inches of water from the rain. Does that mean we got 5 inches of rain in this area...

Funnily enough I was wondering the exact same as you this morning when the rain started to share licks. Basically if a concrete pond or something could be used to get some kind of estimate of total rainfall. It's probably like smash said tho, an average of different locations. But it'd be nice to know if that 5" in your pond correlates to any official figure in a meaningful way.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 5th, 2021, 1:13 pm

Soul Collector wrote:
Gladiator wrote:Was wondering how these inches are measured...I have an empty concrete pond that I pumped out dry on Thursday. Between Friday and now there is about 5 inches of water from the rain. Does that mean we got 5 inches of rain in this area...

Funnily enough I was wondering the exact same as you this morning when the rain started to share licks. Basically if a concrete pond or something could be used to get some kind of estimate of total rainfall. It's probably like smash said tho, an average of different locations. But it'd be nice to know if that 5" in your pond correlates to any official figure in a meaningful way.

“The standard instrument for the measurement of rainfall is the 203mm (8 inch) rain gauge. This is essentially a circular funnel with a diameter of 203mm which collects the rain into a graduated and calibrated cylinder. The measuring cylinder can record up to 25mm of precipitation.”

Postby sMASH » June 5th, 2021, 1:19 pm

Soul Collector wrote:

“The standard instrument for the measurement of rainfall is the 203mm (8 inch) rain gauge. This is essentially a circular funnel with a diameter of 203mm which collects the rain into a graduated and calibrated cylinder. The measuring cylinder can record up to 25mm of precipitation.”

u may dip a cup in the ocean, examine it and conclude there are not whales in the ocean.
ur saying they use one point of data to estimate rainfall across the whole island?
cause sumtimes arima has tropcial storm conditions while we baking in south.

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » June 5th, 2021, 1:51 pm

^^ daz o level csec geography ppl... srsly.

The official tropical weather thread 2021

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 6th, 2021, 2:20 am

sMASH wrote:
Soul Collector wrote:

u may dip a cup in the ocean, examine it and conclude there are not whales in the ocean.
ur saying they use one point of data to estimate rainfall across the whole island?
cause sumtimes arima has tropcial storm conditions while we baking in south.

They check it in multiple locations obviously.
You can check it in your location yourself.