Dengue Fever Outbreak - 18 deaths, over 1400 cases

Re: Dengue Fever Outbreak - 8 deaths, hundreds of cases

Postby redmanjp » August 19th, 2024, 12:39 pm

^yes im aware of that- i also encouraged ppl in my neighborhood whatsapp group to clean their surroundings but we need both spraying as well as that.

Postby redmanjp » August 21st, 2024, 5:35 pm

https://newsday.co.tt/2024/08/21/dengue-cases-cross-900/

THE number of dengue cases has jumped to 911, an increase of 86 since the last update from the Ministry of Health on August 16.

In its latest update the ministry said the number of deaths (eight) remains the same.

The most recent dengue victim is believed to be eight-year-old Nelisha Sophia Narine of New Grant. Nelisha died on August 14 at the San Fernando General Hospital after suffering from dengue fever for several days.

An autopsy on August 15 said she died of presumptive dengue shock syndrome with gastrointestinal haemorrhage de novo diabetes mellitus.

She is believed to be this country's youngest dengue victim.

The ministry said it is continuing its clampdown on negligent property owners and added it intends to take more than a dozen of them to court for refusing to comply with health notices.

As at August 21, a total of 503 yellow fever notices have been issued to property owners/occupiers, directing them to clean up their surroundings. Of this, 16 property owners/occupiers have, thus far been identified for the consideration/institution of legal proceedings for non-compliance.”

The ministry said the best way to reduce the number of cases was to get rid of mosquito breeding sites and potential breeding grounds.

People can report overgrown areas via WhatsApp at 766-4199.

Postby redmanjp » August 21st, 2024, 5:39 pm

so the child died because she had diabetes?

Postby redmanjp » August 23rd, 2024, 12:07 pm

Re: Dengue Fever Outbreak - 9 deaths, hundreds of cases

Postby redmanjp » August 26th, 2024, 3:46 pm

3 deaths in just the past few days- bordering on a health emergency now

2 more dengue deaths recorded- death toll now 11

https://newsday.co.tt/2024/08/25/2-more-dengue-deaths-recorded/

Re: Dengue Fever Outbreak -11 deaths, hundreds of cases

Postby redmanjp » August 26th, 2024, 3:50 pm

when last did we have so many dengue deaths in a 2-3 month period?

Postby sMASH » August 26th, 2024, 5:37 pm

redmanjp wrote:when last did we have so many dengue deaths in a 2-3 month period?
Prolly always did , it just wasnt highlighted .
I had dengue a out 13 years ago and had no idea where I got it from cause nobody any where I went was sick with dengue .

We used to get average 40 deaths for flu every year before covid ,,, never made news.

Postby redmanjp » August 27th, 2024, 12:59 pm

sMASH wrote:
redmanjp wrote:when last did we have so many dengue deaths in a 2-3 month period?
I had dengue a out 13 years ago and had no idea where I got it from cause nobody any where I went was sick with dengue .

We used to get average 40 deaths for flu every year before covid ,,, never made news.

no it was reported that before this year's outbreak the last 1 was in 2017 so this is definitely unusual

Postby sMASH » August 27th, 2024, 2:43 pm

redmanjp wrote:
sMASH wrote:

no it was reported that before this year's outbreak the last 1 was in 2017 so this is definitely unusual
Depends on the definition of outbreak at the time.

Thats why I keep saying average 40 persons die from flu, cause nobody thinks that is problematic.

Personally , I would say there is an uptick in reporting of dengue.

And my problem is, they haven't sprayed for mosquito since before covid.
Yes people hadda keep their place clean , but there are many other places that breed , that will negate the cleaning efforts . And so consistent spraying is the best method to keep numbers low.

Postby sMASH » August 27th, 2024, 2:45 pm

There is oropouche virus and now EEE eastern equine encephalitis ...
South Korea is complaining about malaria flare up, and we have dengue ...

All of a sudden mosquito problems around the world
IMG_20240827_143511.jpg

Postby Gladiator » August 28th, 2024, 7:56 pm

sMASH wrote:There is oropouche virus and now EEE eastern equine encephalitis ...

All of a sudden mosquito problems around the world IMG_20240827_143511.jpg

Just when our good friend Bill Gates is doing Mosquito research... coincidence?

Re: Dengue Fever Outbreak -11 deaths, over 1000 cases

Postby MaxPower » September 1st, 2024, 4:54 am

THAT pawpaw leaf tea rough boi.

Juh!!!

Postby redmanjp » September 1st, 2024, 9:53 pm

MaxPower wrote:THAT pawpaw leaf tea rough boi.

Juh!!!

it have some side effects tho - u tried it?

Postby paid_influencer » September 1st, 2024, 10:53 pm

coworkers now with dengue lol
maxresdefault.jpg

Postby redmanjp » September 4th, 2024, 3:14 pm

https://newsday.co.tt/2024/09/04/another-dengue-patient-dies/

One more person has died of dengue, bringing the death toll to 12.

There has been no increase in the number of laboratory-confirmed cases since the last update on Friday.

In its epidemiological update on Wednesday, the Health Ministry said there were 1,053 laboratory-confirmed cases of dengue fever and 12 laboratory-confirmed deaths.

The update said a total of 851 yellow-fever notices have been issued to property owners/occupiers, directing them to clean up their surroundings.

It said of these, 43 have thus far been identified for the consideration/institution of legal proceedings for non-compliance.

Re: Dengue Fever Outbreak -12 deaths, over 1000 cases

Postby nervewrecker » September 7th, 2024, 1:57 pm

You know the saying you don't have nerve endings in your brain and liver etc so you can't feel pain there. That's not true.
I get an injection just now and my brain was on fire.

Postby nervewrecker » September 7th, 2024, 4:32 pm

Trying to get this removed as I posted it by mistake
20240907_122049.jpg
20240907_103033.jpg
20240907_163037.jpg
Last edited by nervewrecker on September 7th, 2024, 4:32 pm, edited 5 times in total.

Postby gastly369 » September 7th, 2024, 4:42 pm

Friend sameeee exact symptoms she had and was negative tested for dengue

Postby nervewrecker » September 7th, 2024, 6:50 pm

sMASH wrote:There is oropouche virus and now EEE eastern equine encephalitis ...

All of a sudden mosquito problems around the world
Tested for dengue today. Test was negative.

Leaning towards oropouche virus. Got vitamins, drips, steroids and some tabs. Been on rehydration salts I picked up for dehydration as I'm not sweating or eating. The worst passed like Wednesday or so with excruciating joint pains, headaches and a mild fever that comes and goes. There is a disoriented feeling with it and pain to the back of the eyeballs.

I am noticing a lot of red blotches under the skin. From what the doc said the blood vessels would have been damaged and some liver damage hence the minor stabbing pain a few inches below where my sternum ends.
20240907_122049.jpg
20240907_163037.jpg

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » September 8th, 2024, 10:59 am

What the government really doing about this.
18 Year old dead from Virus.
image-3.5543165.555189.20240906013636.jpg

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/ameen-o ... 02a365291d

Postby redmanjp » September 10th, 2024, 1:14 am

Re: Dengue Fever Outbreak -16 deaths (4 in the past week!), over 1300 cases

Postby redmanjp » September 10th, 2024, 1:23 am

anyone else find it very suspicious that MOH not giving out the ages of ppl dying? i wondering if its because a lot of young ppl or children dying.

Postby j.o.e » September 10th, 2024, 5:09 am

redmanjp wrote:anyone else find it very suspicious that MOH not giving out the ages of ppl dying? i wondering if its because a lot of young ppl or children dying.

It’s not Covid, giving ages was never a thing with dengue

Postby redmanjp » September 10th, 2024, 11:25 am

j.o.e wrote:
redmanjp wrote:anyone else find it very suspicious that MOH not giving out the ages of ppl dying? i wondering if its because a lot of young ppl or children dying.

not in average years where dengue cases are very low and deaths non-existent (the last death before this outbreak was quite 2017!) - but this year there is an exceptionally high no of cases and consequentially high # of deaths- they should be open with the public about this- if a significant no of children and young ppl are dying that should absolutely not be kept quiet.

Postby nervewrecker » September 10th, 2024, 12:03 pm

redmanjp wrote:
j.o.e wrote:

not in average years where dengue cases are very low and deaths non-existent (the last death before this outbreak was quite 2017!) - but this year there is an exceptionally high no of cases and consequentially high # of deaths- they should be open with the public about this- if a significant no of children and young ppl are dying that should absolutely not be kept quiet.
Their resistance is low from being indoors all the time. This generation too soft.

Postby redmanjp » September 10th, 2024, 2:55 pm

redmanjp wrote:
j.o.e wrote:

Their resistance is low from being indoors all the time. This generation too soft.

if that is so is the lockdown to blame - but my point is we doh even know who is dying because of lack of transparency from Govt.
but it's also true that every few years there is a cyclic surge in dengue- this time however warmer temps due to climate change are likely exacerbating it. i even notice i getting bite way more often than previous years so there is definitely a drastic increase in the mosquito population.

Postby redmanjp » September 13th, 2024, 4:57 pm

they give some more info -though not on who dying

but the majority sub-type is Dengue Hemorrhagic fever -not good news at all

https://tt.loopnews.com/content/dengue-update-two-serious-strains-virus-circulation

Dengue update: Two serious strains of the virus in circulation

As of September 12, Trinidad and Tobago has recorded a total of 1,387 confirmed Dengue cases, the majority of which seem to be impacting the younger population- in particular persons under the age of 20.

Confirmation from Technical Director of Epidemiology at the Ministry of Health, Dr Avery Hinds.

Hinds spoke at a press conference on Friday for the launch of this year’s Influenza vaccination drive. He explained that the peak number of cases so far was recorded in July with 652 confirmed infections, by August cases dropped to 424. Hinds said the ministry was hopeful that the downward trend would continue.

He noted further that the ministry is also aware that not one but two types of the virus are currently circulating within the population.

“We have sub-type 2 and sub-type 3 in circulation in the population at this time. Of the cases that have been sub-typed we noticed that sub-type 3 (dengue hemorrhagic fever) is the majority, it’s about 39 per cent of total cases, whereas sub-type 2 is 8.2 percent.”

Hinds noted that at present “a very small group of people” has both sub-types.

In terms of the age groups affected by the virus, Hinds noted that 57 per cent of patients are under the age of 20, which is something that is not uncommon based on records from previous outbreaks of the virus. He said taking that figure into consideration, the 40 years and under age group would make up 80 per cent of cases.

In terms of geographical location regarding cases, County Victoria (Penal, Siparia etc) accounts for 41.9 per cent of cases while County Caroni accounts for 14.4 per cent, St George East 13.6 per cent and St Patrick 12.3 per cent. Tobago accounts for 11.6 per cent.

Meantime, Specialist Medical Officer attached to the Insect Vector Control Division (IVCD) Dr Osafo Fraser confirmed that spraying measures remain active.

Fraser said that for the period January to August, IVCD officers visited a total of 181,928 homes for different types of interventions. Of that figure, 17,569 homes were treated with thermal fogging, 22,671 were treated with residual chemicals (short term effect) and 135,937 homes were treated ULV (long term effect) spraying.

Fraser further noted that 84 per cent of the nation’s schools were also treated.

“So we are right on track for where we would normally be,” he assured.

Re: Dengue Fever Outbreak -16 deaths (last 4 in one week!), over 1300 cases

Postby sMASH » September 23rd, 2024, 5:32 pm

What's up with the virus ?
No more infections ?
Being kept quiet ?
Or was just over reaction stemming from media hype.

Re: Dengue Fever Outbreak -16 deaths (last 4 in one week!), over 1300 cases

Postby paid_influencer » September 23rd, 2024, 5:34 pm

this was the opposite of media hype tbh. i see dengue mash up more people this year than any other year. and in number by a large margin. idk if it was so by your side but south countryside get it bad this year. seems to have burnt through now tho