The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

W2J

Postby W2J » August 25th, 2009, 11:14 am

White CZ4A wrote:anyone getting problems with the caller ID on the 3GS

I got the fix from Cydia but it doesnt seem to be installing properly on the phone.

I have a fix, will email you later but you going to need to do openSSH.

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » August 25th, 2009, 12:35 pm

k..you'll def have to school me

Freelander

Postby Freelander » August 25th, 2009, 2:21 pm

^^ the fix worked fine on my 3gs

TURBOT

Postby TURBOT » August 25th, 2009, 7:23 pm

anyone can explain the wierd loader wheel by my phone icon and mail icon and backgrounded applications.......... in the backgrounder application itself what is the blacklist about?

i just updated it in cydia and i seeing these new features..
also is there any way to allocate more memory to running applications?

Postby M_2NR » August 25th, 2009, 7:43 pm

TURBOT, i tink with the latest update for backgrounder, it has that loader logo meaning it is running in the background. Phone it seems runs in the background right thru. It is similar to the S60 wheel in nokia's.

I use SBSettings>Processes>free up memory. I get around 53MB free.

Postby tr1ad » August 25th, 2009, 7:45 pm

ill have to upgrade my old iPhone firmware....
is there any way to get push access to Outlook Web Access users yet?

W2J

Postby W2J » August 25th, 2009, 7:57 pm

anyone with battery problems after upgrading to 3.0 try 3.01 and it made a BIGGGG difference for me, phone running alot cooler and not sending out any RF anymore.

air wick

Postby air wick » August 25th, 2009, 8:26 pm

did you dl the 3.0.1 with itunes?

sexyicon

Postby sexyicon » August 25th, 2009, 8:50 pm

Travis wrote:did you dl the 3.0.1 with itunes?

works fine

seems to be working a little better in terms of battery life

air wick

Postby air wick » August 25th, 2009, 9:02 pm

if i upgrade to the 3.0.1 via itunes, would it lock the phone?

i'm a new iphone user...

sexyicon

Postby sexyicon » August 25th, 2009, 9:12 pm

yes you'll need to jailbreak your phone over again

http://www.quickpwn.com/2009/08/jailbre ... e-301.html

air wick

Postby air wick » August 25th, 2009, 9:21 pm

sexyicon wrote:yes you'll need to jailbreak your phone over again

http://www.quickpwn.com/2009/08/jailbre ... e-301.html

thx

Postby M_2NR » August 25th, 2009, 9:58 pm

W2J, that real tempting! what you have 2G? i will lose all my apps tho :(

W2J

Postby W2J » August 26th, 2009, 6:03 pm

instructions here

http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=4302

once you sync your contacts, notes and selected apps you could sync without having to do a restore with no problem. Remember if you using cracked apps you would need to add Hackulous repository and AppSync for OS 3.0 to be able to sync the cracked apps between iTunes and your phone.

Postby M_2NR » August 26th, 2009, 6:21 pm

lol!!! bro.. yuh reading my mind LOL

i just updated and stuff around 530pm :lol:

i used aptbackup to try and backup my cydia apps... apparently that didnt work :?

but all my other apps were save. I used AppSync3.0 last night and synced all from installous. I just have to go get back all my cydia stuff. Strange the aptbackup didnt work at all :evil:

Thanks man

Postby tr1ad » August 26th, 2009, 6:29 pm

wish me luck....ima gonna upgrade the 2.1 firmware to 3.0
havent done this iphone stuff in a while

air wick

Postby air wick » August 26th, 2009, 6:33 pm

i just upgraded to the 3.0.1 firmware on my 3G and i unlocked it using cydia (ultrasn0w)
i didn't loose any contacts or apps

Postby M_2NR » August 26th, 2009, 6:38 pm

tr1ad wrote:wish me luck....ima gonna upgrade the 2.1 firmware to 3.0
havent done this iphone stuff in a while

u mean 3.0.1 :P

best of luck. Backup your stuff before just in case ;)

Postby tr1ad » August 26th, 2009, 6:44 pm

corolla_2nr wrote:u mean 3.0.1 :P

best of luck. Backup your stuff before just in case ;)

whichever.... potato / potatoe
i learn meh lesson d first time...btw wha d best way to take HEAVVYYYYYYYYYY layer of dirt of d iPhone....it park up almost a year

Freelander

Postby Freelander » August 26th, 2009, 6:51 pm

Rubbing alcohol mix with some water

Postby M_2NR » August 26th, 2009, 7:09 pm

Freelander wrote:Rubbing alcohol mix with some water

but dont use a lil cotton ball and dont let it get into the phone.

to make it smell nice... spray some febreeze or Lysol on a towel and wipe ;)

Freelander

Postby Freelander » August 26th, 2009, 11:15 pm

Yeah use lint free cloth. Eg micro fibre or good quality paper towel

SRASC

Postby SRASC » August 28th, 2009, 1:45 am

A new version of Facebook for iPhone OS 3.0 is available now with many new features and improvements.

The App Store description still contains information for version 2.5; however, the actual download is now version 3.0. I simply deleted my previous Facebook app from Applications then redownloaded it to update to the new version.

So Whats New in This Update?
1. The "new" News Feed
2. Like
3. Events (including the ability to RSVP)
4. Notes
5. Pages
6. Create new photo albums
7. Upload photos to any album
8. Zoom into photos
9. Easier photo tagging
10. Profile Pictures albums
11. A new home screen for easy access to all your stuff, search, and notifications
12. Add your favorite profiles and pages to the home screen
13. Better Notifications (they link to the comments so you can reply)
14. Quickly call or text people right from the Friends page
15. Messages you are typing will be restored if you quit or are interrupted by a phone call
16. Video uploads for the 3GS

one feature they don't seem to mention is the mini-browser (like IM+) where you click links & it now loads in the Facebook app vs closing it & launching Safari in the previous version

Postby M_2NR » August 28th, 2009, 4:53 am

SRASC wrote:A new version of Facebook for iPhone OS 3.0 is available now with many new features and improvements.

The App Store description still contains information for version 2.5; however, the actual download is now version 3.0. I simply deleted my previous Facebook app from Applications then redownloaded it to update to the new version.

So Whats New in This Update?
1. The "new" News Feed
2. Like
3. Events (including the ability to RSVP)
4. Notes
5. Pages
6. Create new photo albums
7. Upload photos to any album
8. Zoom into photos
9. Easier photo tagging
10. Profile Pictures albums
11. A new home screen for easy access to all your stuff, search, and notifications
12. Add your favorite profiles and pages to the home screen
13. Better Notifications (they link to the comments so you can reply)
14. Quickly call or text people right from the Friends page
15. Messages you are typing will be restored if you quit or are interrupted by a phone call
16. Video uploads for the 3GS

one feature they don't seem to mention is the mini-browser (like IM+) where you click links & it now loads in the Facebook app vs closing it & launching Safari in the previous version

i jus searched it just now with appstore, click install and it installed/update it.

Its pretty nice man thanks for the update :)

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 28th, 2009, 2:35 pm

xauss

Postby xauss » August 28th, 2009, 2:43 pm

^It have nuttin a iPhone cyar do??...btw wuz d price of a 3G 8GB down here? I gonna buy one and d wife go keel meh for spendin money on a toy :S

Postby M_2NR » August 28th, 2009, 6:07 pm

Lol freelander sold his like 2200. Yes I still toting feelings.

Ohh btw... 3.0.1 still giving me lame battery life and heating up like a hott like a plate

Postby tr1ad » August 28th, 2009, 8:13 pm

eureka!..

now to follow up on these iPhone thingys again

air wick

Postby air wick » August 28th, 2009, 11:02 pm

no probs with the 3.0.1 on my 3g.... i seeing the improvement in battery life

Postby M_2NR » August 28th, 2009, 11:24 pm

tr1ad wrote:eureka!..

now to follow up on these iPhone thingys again

Travis, on 2G here, initially was good, but things gone back to what it was before. :(

and SRASC, can u confirm that they wont do anything to that problem in the 2G model? i was reading that :(