Slartibartfast wrote:Greedbluesclues wrote:...what one source could hold so much power to overtake the Globe?
Slartibartfast wrote:Altec55 wrote:Man gets the wisdom to interpret the Bible from God. I can attest to this fact. Anyone will be able to attest to it also if they want to find out for themselves. The meanings/teachings of the Bible doesn't change.![]()
I literally cannot argue with that. Just want to know, which version of the bible is correct and why does God tell everyone something different?
meccalli wrote:Who were the Roman gods before Christ? They never dropped their old system and beliefs, they just incorporated new names. Always had the queen of heaven- the madonna(mary) and child(baby jesus lol) and always mr.sun god father.
bluesclues wrote:because he instructs certain things to fulfill a purpose. when the purpose is fulfilled he changes the instruction. but some refuse to change. so he says to them.. ok u stay right there. i will take these people who are listening to me and guide them. and instructs the ones who dont listen to commit to their ways.
e.g today there are few animals in the world so to allow them to populate God says dont eat meat. and dont question his wisdom. but we too stupid to figure out that is the reason. when the animals have properly populated he says.. u have obeyed me, u can eat meat now. and freedom is retained. same for sex. man is allowed to have many mates and have sex like if it going out of style during a time of populating the earth. when the earth reaches a threshold he says ok now u must have only one wife and resist the temptation to lust(sex without purpose). wisdom is in seeing why the rules change, and why they were so in the first place.
Slartibartfast wrote:bluesclues wrote:because he instructs certain things to fulfill a purpose. when the purpose is fulfilled he changes the instruction. but some refuse to change. so he says to them.. ok u stay right there. i will take these people who are listening to me and guide them. and instructs the ones who dont listen to commit to their ways.
e.g today there are few animals in the world so to allow them to populate God says dont eat meat. and dont question his wisdom. but we too stupid to figure out that is the reason. when the animals have properly populated he says.. u have obeyed me, u can eat meat now. and freedom is retained. same for sex. man is allowed to have many mates and have sex like if it going out of style during a time of populating the earth. when the earth reaches a threshold he says ok now u must have only one wife and resist the temptation to lust(sex without purpose). wisdom is in seeing why the rules change, and why they were so in the first place.
Again, no arguments here because this is way out of my area of expertise (i.e. excessive googling)
1) Where do you get your information from? Does it include a different interpretation of the bible as different instruction?
2) Does that mean God made some people gay because gays can't have children. In fact, some gay couples adopt. This means that they actually have a positive impact on the number of children not growing up in loving homes.
Habit7 wrote:Sometimes ppl like to think that today we are having a sexual revolution, but the sexuality of Greco-Roman time would make us look like prudes.
Did you just say we would evolve to breath in the carbon enriched air?bluesclues wrote:...eventually the carbon concentration in the atmosphere can become much higher than can be considered clean air. and so it affects our breathing processes and over time and generations we too and all living things that breathe air will be forced by the power of nature to adapt to the new breathing conditions while others who cannot adapt will not survive....
I'm pretty sure you just described gay sex.bluesclues wrote:...the push and the pull. it could not happen with pull only serving self. nor push only serving self. pull has to serve push and push then has to return the favour.
"Is God is willing to prevent evil, but not able?
Then he is not omnipotent.
Is he able, but not willing?
Then he is malevolent.
Is he both able and willing?
Then whence cometh evil?
Is he neither able nor willing?
Then why call him God"
- Epicurus
"Live a Good life.
If here are Gods and they are just,
then they will not care how devout you have been,
but will welcome you based on the virtues you have lived by.
If there are God, but unjust,
then you should not want to worship them.
If there are no Gods,
Then you will be gone,
but will have lived noble life that will live on in the memories of your loved ones"
- Marcus Aurelius
bluesclues wrote:when i need to fix my car.. i go to a mechanic. if i need to build a house id take the direction of an architect and hire builders. if i want spiritual advice i prefer to take the services of experts on God. not noobs who are making wild statements guessing negatively in ignorance because they lack the required faculty.
i agree with you though. you can lead a horse to water...
Dizzy28 wrote:bluesclues wrote:when i need to fix my car.. i go to a mechanic. if i need to build a house id take the direction of an architect and hire builders. if i want spiritual advice i prefer to take the services of experts on God. not noobs who are making wild statements guessing negatively in ignorance because they lack the required faculty.
i agree with you though. you can lead a horse to water...
How did these "experts" become experts?? Fellow "experts" certified them?
Slartibartfast wrote:Well what about this.
About 10 years ago when I was an aspiring theologian, it was taught that only through faith can someone get into heaven, no through deeds, lest any man shall boast (don't remember the exact wording). I was taught that atheists, regardless of how good they were would eventually go to hell, especially those that knew the word of God and turned away from it. (Who taught you this? It sounds like a false doctrine to me.
Now, few month ago, Pope Francis (awesome guy IMO btw) went ahead and said that atheists that do good will go to heaven. I linked both religious and secular sites.
http://www.catholic.org/news/hf/faith/story.php?id=51077
http://www.independent.co.uk/news/world/europe/pope-francis-assures-atheists-you-dont-have-to-believe-in-god-to-go-to-heaven-8810062.html
So is Pope Francis correct, and everyone to ever teach the opposite wrong, or is everyone else wrong and the Pope correct. Or are they both somehow correct even though they say the opposite thing?
We were basically taught that through God's mercy the gift of salvation was made available to us all but the only way to attain this gift is through faith. The importance of good deeds was also stressed in other lessons but we were taught that an unwavering faith was paramount.Ephesians 2:7-9 wrote:...so that in the ages to come He might show the surpassing riches of His grace in kindness toward us in Christ Jesus. For by grace you have been saved through faith; and that not of yourselves, it is the gift of God; not as a result of works, so that no one may boast.
rabiesebola wrote:who ever does not believe in the Lord Jesus Christ have some serious issues....no monkey statue could help yuh out....THREAD CLOSED
Who said he was a believer in the first place?Altec55 wrote:Slartibartfast, are you no longer a believer? If not, can I ask what made you change?
Dizzy28 wrote:Why yes...please do tell where did the inventors learn it from?