The Religion Discussion

One Caribbean Muddacan2

Re: The Religion Discussion

Postby One Caribbean Muddacan2 » September 9th, 2014, 5:15 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:If a child happens to grow up in the wild with no contact with other humans, just animals/nature

What religion would he be?
Would he be Athiest, agnostic, or thiest?

Groupie

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » September 9th, 2014, 5:22 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:If a child happens to grow up in the wild with no contact with other humans, just animals/nature

mowgli or simply a fictionalized character

Postby ruffneck_12 » September 9th, 2014, 6:00 pm

I leaning towards tarzan

Postby Slartibartfast » September 9th, 2014, 6:50 pm

Thanks for quoting me Habit7. I assume you have a reason for doing so (other than helping me prove that your arguments are inconsistent).

In case you didn't understand the first time, that is me explaining that all atheists or athestic ideologies are not the same. If you look back you will see all of my arguments are consitent with that.

megadoc1 wrote:
Slartibartfast wrote:
Now a science thread would be a lot more fun.
yeah right I have seen cheds that started on a scientific matter but quickly deteriorated into an anti bible /religious ched

I tryin a ting. I only going to post "this week in science" post so that science people have something else to talk about

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » September 9th, 2014, 7:04 pm

10696225_10153231631184569_2114864615563675906_n.jpg
10696225_10153231631184569_2114864615563675906_n.jpg (10.62 KiB) Viewed 2356 times

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » September 9th, 2014, 7:06 pm

Spiritual ...

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » September 9th, 2014, 8:42 pm

1410309741689.jpg
1410309741689.jpg (37.71 KiB) Viewed 2341 times

Postby Habit7 » September 9th, 2014, 10:15 pm

Postby Slartibartfast » September 9th, 2014, 10:48 pm

Ok...

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » September 9th, 2014, 11:18 pm

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » September 10th, 2014, 12:26 am

1410323173511.jpg

Postby bluefete » September 10th, 2014, 5:21 pm

What really takes these pastors, sometimes?

Seattle-based Mars Hill Church reeling after founding pastor calls women ‘homes’ for God's penis

Seattle-based megachurch Mars Hill is set to close branches and lay off staff after sexist comments attributed to founder Mark Driscoll were unearthed.
BY Jason Molinet
NEW YORK DAILY NEWS
Wednesday, September 10, 2014, 12:32 AM

ImagePastor Mark Driscoll has taken a six-week leave from the megachurch he founded.

Megachurch pastor Mark Driscoll is under fire and the Pacific Northwest church he founded has been forced to shutter some locations and slash staff after he said women were created as a "very nice home" for God's penis.

Seattle-based Mars Hill Church, citing a 40% drop in attendance and acknowledging the personal crisis surrounding its founder, said the church will have to lay off up to 40% of its 100 staffers, The Seattle Times reported. The church also announced it would shutter at least three churches from Seattle to Phoenix.

Driscoll apologized and took a six-week leave of absence after it came to light he wrote a blog post patronizing women in 2001 under a pseudonym. His beliefs, written under the name William Wallace II, were detailed by a feminist blogger for Patheos.

Mars Hill Church parishioners leave church following an evening service on Sunday Feb. 11, 2007, at the church's flagship black warehouse in Seattle's trendy Ballard neighborhood. A mostly young crowd comes to hear the music, charismatic preacher and conservative theology.

"The first thing to know about your penis is, that despite the way it may see, it is not your penis," Driscoll allegedly wrote. "Ultimately, God created you and it is his penis. You are simply borrowing it for a while.

"While His penis is on loan you must admit that it is sort of just hanging out there very lonely as if it needed a home, sort of like a man wondering (sic) the streets looking for a house to live in," Driscoll's post continued. "Knowing that His penis would need a home, God created a woman to be your wife and when you marry her and look down you will notice that your wife is shaped differently than you and makes a very nice home."

Pastor Mark Driscoll preaches during an evening service in February 2007 from Seattle's trendy Ballard neighborhood.

Driscoll started Mars Hill as a Bible study class from his home in 1996. In a note to his followers, Driscoll announced changes ahead and apologized.

"I'm particularly sorry that any of my past actions or decisions have brought distraction to the mission of Mars Hill Church, and therefore, to those who call this their church home," Driscoll wrote. "Part of this is no doubt a function of the media age we live in — anyone can write anything, anywhere, anytime.

As a public figure, I recognize and accept this, even if I don't like it; for this is one of the paradoxes of being a pastor in a media age — the same media channels that can be used to carry a sermon to virtually anyone around the globe can also be used by anyone around the globe to criticize, attack or slander."

Mark Driscoll, pastor of Seattle's Mars Hill Church, is under fire for sexist comments about women being 'penis homes.'

How the church, which grew to 15 locations, and its pastor move forward will define both.

"There are thousands of people all over the world that download his sermons," former Mars Hill pastor Dave Kraft told The Seattle Times. "There are thousands of other pastors who used to look up to Mark Driscoll. They're all watching with raised eyebrows and saying, 'What is going on here, and where is this headed?'"

jmolinet@nydailynews.com

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » September 10th, 2014, 5:31 pm

Religion is always the weakest argument.......

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MKHVwf3oo-o

Postby bluefete » September 10th, 2014, 5:35 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:So all killing and disease done by God is justified because 1 man ate an apple 6000 years ago? How does inherites sin work exactly? Adam did not understand the enormous consequences of the choice he was given. It was not God's plan for man to die but man made that decision for himself by disobeying God. That decision had a spin off effect for all of Adam's descendants - death. God gave a choice with consequences. Isn't that how our lives are today? Every decision we make has consequences - good or bad.

Side question - I know you answered this already but I having a problem finding it in the thread. Can you link to where to talked about where Adam and Eve's daughter in laws came from. Adam and Eve's son (Cain) married his sister, Luluwa. This is found in the Second Book of Adam and Eve. Their genetic make up wa s much different from ours so there was not the deformity / mental illness that would manifest today for the same reason.

http://reluctant-messenger.com/eden_2.htm

Postby bluefete » September 10th, 2014, 5:40 pm

ek4ever wrote:Religion is always the weakest argument.......

Watched the first 30 seconds then switched. I am sure he may have had some interesting points to make.

Nothing so sad as an idiot all wrapped up in his own intelligence.

Postby bluefete » September 10th, 2014, 5:51 pm

Postby Slartibartfast » September 10th, 2014, 9:06 pm

bluefete wrote:
Slartibartfast wrote:So all killing and disease done by God is justified because 1 man ate an apple 6000 years ago? How does inherites sin work exactly? Adam did not understand the enormous consequences of the choice he was given. It was not God's plan for man to die but man made that decision for himself by disobeying God. That decision had a spin off effect for all of Adam's descendants - death. God gave a choice with consequences. Isn't that how our lives are today? Every decision we make has consequences - good or bad.

Side question - I know you answered this already but I having a problem finding it in the thread. Can you link to where to talked about where Adam and Eve's daughter in laws came from. Adam and Eve's son (Cain) married his sister, Luluwa. This is found in the Second Book of Adam and Eve. Their genetic make up wa s much different from ours so there was not the deformity / mental illness that would manifest today for the same reason.

Cool. Was there mention of Luluwa in the bible itself? Also, how do we know that their genetic makeup was different and in what way was it different to our?

As for the first point, I wouldn't really blame Adam. If someone told me they created me out of endless love but if I ate an apple everyone to ever exist from this point on will have to die... I would think they were crazy.

Postby rspann » September 10th, 2014, 9:11 pm

God is very real.

Postby bluefete » September 11th, 2014, 3:36 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:
bluefete wrote:

Cool. Was there mention of Luluwa in the bible itself? Also, how do we know that their genetic makeup was different and in what way was it different to our?

As for the first point, I wouldn't really blame Adam. If someone told me they created me out of endless love but if I ate an apple everyone to ever exist from this point on will have to die... I would think they were crazy.

1) Luluwa is not mentioned by name in the Bible. The Bible does state that Adam and Eve had sons and daughters.

2) Remember back in the day that Adam and Eve were made to live forever. They were placed in an environment that was conducive to that. When they sinned the environment started to change and impact on their bodies very slowly. This accounted for the long ages (800 - 900 years) that people used to live.

After the flood, the environment was changed drastically and life span moved from 800 years to averaging 275 years, then to about 120 years. Look at the ages of Moses (120 years), Joseph (110 years) and others.

So when Cain married his sister (pre-flood), genetic defects were not present.

3) Unfortunately, Adam has to take the blame. Eve was not around when God gave Adam the instruction not to touch the tree of the knowledge of good and evil.

Eve got her instruction from Adam. So when she gave Adam the fruit to eat, it was his responsibility to remember what God told him.

Adam tried to make God out to be a liar by eating the fruit. Thus the horrible consequences that followed for all humankind.

Postby ruffneck_12 » September 11th, 2014, 5:33 pm

if god doh exist why he invent athiests?

Checkmate scientologists

Postby Slartibartfast » September 11th, 2014, 8:53 pm

So where did they get the name Luluwa from. Is it an actual name of a real person or just a name given to reference one of Adam's daughters that was mentioned in the bible but not named?

Who need enemy

Postby Who need enemy » September 12th, 2014, 5:35 am

D usual imps still searching for God

innovative audio

Postby innovative audio » September 12th, 2014, 7:32 am

I can't believe that there are a lot of people here that don't believe in god

Postby MG Man » September 12th, 2014, 8:49 am

innovative audio wrote:I can't believe that there are a lot of people here that don't believe in god

I can't believe how many people believe in an imaginary man in the sky

Postby bluefete » September 12th, 2014, 8:54 am

innovative audio wrote:I can't believe that there are a lot of people here that don't believe in god

I can't believe how many people believe that they exist when they don't!

Postby bluefete » September 12th, 2014, 8:59 am

Slartibartfast wrote:So where did they get the name Luluwa from. Is it an actual name of a real person or just a name given to reference one of Adam's daughters that was mentioned in the bible but not named?

If you read the link, you will see different names given by the Muslims etc. It does not change the facts.

One of the great dichotomies of the Bible is the supporting evidence found in other texts not included in the Bible.

The Bible mentions the names of only 3 angels - Michael, Gabriel and Lucifer. Gabriel is the best known.

But there are books that gives the names of other angels - Uriel, Raphael and so on which are not in the Bible.

Postby MG Man » September 12th, 2014, 9:08 am

bluefete wrote:

I can't believe the poop that spews forth from your keyboard

Postby ruffneck_12 » September 12th, 2014, 11:59 am

bluefete wrote:

I can't believe it's not butter D:

Postby bluefete » September 12th, 2014, 12:10 pm

bluefete wrote:

I can't believe you know what poop is!!

The Thinker - Auguste Rodin

Auguste Rodin (1840 -1917)
The Thinker

Monumental

青铜

H. 189 cm ; W. 98 cm ; D. 140 cm

S.2838

When conceived in 1880 in its original size (approx. 70 cm) as the crowning element of The Gates of Hell , seated on the tympanum, The Thinker was entitled The Poet. He represented Dante, author of the Divine Comedy which had inspired The Gates, leaning forward to observe the circles of Hell, while meditating on his work. The Thinker was therefore initially both a being with a tortured body, almost a damned soul, and a free-thinking man, determined to transcend his suffering through poetry. The pose of this figure owes much to Carpeaux’s Ugolino (1861) and to the seated portrait of Lorenzo de’ Medici carved by Michelangelo (1526-31).

While remaining in place on the monumental Gates of Hell, The Thinker was exhibited individually in 1888 and thus became an independent work. Enlarged in 1904, its colossal version proved even more popular: this image of a man lost in thought, but whose powerful body suggests a great capacity for action, has became one of the most celebrated sculptures ever known. Numerous casts exist worldwide, including the one now in the gardens of the Musée Rodin, a gift to the City of Paris installed outside the Panthéon in 1906, and another in the gardens of Rodin’s house in Meudon, on the tomb of the sculptor and his wife.

- See more at: http://www.musee-rodin.fr/en/collection ... ZiL1O.dpuf

Postby Slartibartfast » September 12th, 2014, 4:04 pm

Cool. Was just curious