The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

SRASC

Postby SRASC » September 9th, 2009, 1:07 pm

iPhone OS 3.1 announced & available today (don't update as yet: Dev Team)

SRASC

Postby SRASC » September 9th, 2009, 1:35 pm

Phil Schiller describing the iPod touch as a portable computer & comparing to a Dell netbook. lol

also comparing them to the Nintendo DSi/DS & Sony PSP

64GB iPod touch announced:

Open GL:

160GB iPod classic returns:

2GB iPod shuffle:

4GB iPod shuffle:

Special Edition iPod shuffle:

One More Thing (Missed those):

Rumors are true

iPod nano (with camera):

Summary

iPod nano:

SRASC

Postby SRASC » September 9th, 2009, 2:07 pm

The new iPod family:

SRASC

Postby SRASC » September 9th, 2009, 2:55 pm

Postby M_2NR » September 9th, 2009, 3:46 pm

thanks man!! getting itunes 9. hope appsync works with 9 :)

any word on what changed in 3.1? and better battery life/less heat?

:mrgreen:

SRASC

Postby SRASC » September 9th, 2009, 4:21 pm

Image iPhone OS 3.1 Features

Improved Wi-Fi

Faster boot up time and various speed improvements

Trimming video clips on the iPhone 3GS now offers the ability to save the edited version as a copy rather than simply overwriting the original file

Some reports of MMS being activated on U.S. models, but it seems to stall before actually being sent out over AT&T's network (most likely because of the MMS opt-out currently active on most AT&T iPhone texting plans)

Safari now has a toggle for "Fraud Protection" under its Settings pane

Bulgarian keyboard is in the BDS layout, not QWERTY layout

On iPod Touch 2G the Voice Memos app now successfully records audio if you plug your microphone after you have started the application

Voice Control over Bluetooth is now available, allowing users to Initiate calls and control music playback via Bluetooth headsets (however, voice control while plugged in to car audio systems no longer works)

It is reported that the version 3.1 improves battery life on the iPhone 3GS

Updates the "Carrier" profile for U.S. users to "AT&T 5.0" as opposed to "AT&T 4.0"

Improves reception

iTunes Store icons rearrange themselves back to default after opening and closing the app

Developer Extras
Improvements to OpenGL and Quartz
API's allow third party apps to access videos and edit them
Gives programmers their choice of video recording quality
A pair of new app interface classes that are known to relate to graphics, but which haven't had their functions identified

Calendar event alerts will be shown also with a pop-up, much like push notifications
Xcode 3.1.3 has also been released and is said by people aware of the update to improve facilities for creating a new project as well as setting a target configuration.

Enables connectivity to devices for developmental purposes wirelessly instead of requiring tethering via the dock connector

New accessibility options including VoiceOver and high contrast mode can be toggled with three clicks on the home button, as well as new video saving and editing buttons.

Ability to copy and paste full quality videos from camera into email

Under usage tab in settings able to view data sent and received over tethering

Instruments over Wi-Fi

New Enhancements to Core Audio in iPhone

Failover support for HTTP live streaming

Developers reporting removal of vibration feedback when putting icons into rearrange mode

Download Links:
iPhone (2G)
iPhone 3G
iPhone 3GS

iPod touch (1G)
iPod touch (2G)
iPod touch (3G)
Last edited by SRASC on September 16th, 2009, 8:55 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Postby M_2NR » September 9th, 2009, 4:26 pm

thanks man!

urmm... anyone who wants it get it here..

again.. if your unlocked.. dont update... i just thought ill help out :)

[ Firmware Download ]

iPod Touch 1G OS 3.1.1

Code: Select all

http://pfd.apple.com/ProtectedAsset/iPodTouch/061-7161.20090909.VbuyJ/iPod1,1_3.1.1_7C145_Restore.ipsw?downloadKey=1252606558_a6e388d4325cce8bb80516a525c9c1a0

iPod Touch 2G OS 3.1.1

http://pfd.apple.com/ProtectedAsset/iPodTouch/061-7162.20090909.NkUy7/iPod2,1_3.1.1_7C145_Restore.ipsw?downloadKey=1252613454_c981aa2cf284b542c8070a56f6eec11d

iPod Touch 3G OS 3.1.1

http://appldnld.apple.com.edgesuite.net/content.info.apple.com/iPod/SBML/osx/bundles/061-7163.20090909.NtstR/iPod3,1_3.1.1_7C145_Restore.ipsw

iPhone OS 3.1

http://appldnld.apple.com.edgesuite.net/content.info.apple.com/iPhone/061-6605.20090909.PQ3ws/iPhone1,1_3.1_7C144_Restore.ipsw

iPhone 3G OS 3.1

http://appldnld.apple.com.edgesuite.net/content.info.apple.com/iPhone/061-6600.20090909.AwndZ/iPhone1,2_3.1_7C144_Restore.ipsw

iPhone 3G[S] OS 3.1

http://appldnld.apple.com.edgesuite.net/content.info.apple.com/iPhone/061-6609.20090909.mwws4/iPhone2,1_3.1_7C144_Restore.ipsw

:)

SRASC

Postby SRASC » September 9th, 2009, 4:41 pm

[quote="iPhone Dev Team"]This week Apple will be all over the news with their announcements at Wednesday’s “Let’s Rockâ€

idlemind

Postby idlemind » September 10th, 2009, 8:02 am

jus to be sure...is it safe to download iTunes 9.0 without mocking up anything?
ie does it force your hand to upgrade to OS 3.01 or 3.1?

iTunes 8.2.1.6 looks like it got scrapped of features (no more Free Apps)

thanks

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » September 10th, 2009, 8:44 am

iTunes 9 plays well with already-jailbroken and unlocked devices.

But i wouldnt update to it just yet, ill install it on a seperate pc if i really need it.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » September 10th, 2009, 9:28 am

I've updated to it. You can as always chose not to update to 3.1. Just waiting on the Dev Team's word on updating to 3.1.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » September 10th, 2009, 10:54 am

MuscleNerd from the Dev-Team says that it is safe to update iTunes to iTunes 9 even if your iPhone or iPod Touch is jailbroken and/or unlocked. So, if you have a jailbroken/unlocked device… go ahead and update iTunes.
---
Watch It's Rock & Roll But We Like It Keynote
---
Steve Jobs has explained why the iPod touch did not receive a camera upgrade to The New York Times.

“Originally, we weren’t exactly sure how to market the Touch. Was it an iPhone without the phone? Was it a pocket computer? What happened was, what customers told us was, they started to see it as a game machine,â€

trini_champ

Postby trini_champ » September 10th, 2009, 7:21 pm

Does anyone buy the apps from itunes in Trinidad? I am getting the new touch and I am wondering if u can pay for things from Itunes in this country. Also could anyone explain what they mean by jail broken :? I googled it but i'm still confused. Thanx for the help

air wick

Postby air wick » September 10th, 2009, 7:39 pm

Trinidad doesn't have an apple store online, you will need a US Credit Card to purchase

trini_champ

Postby trini_champ » September 10th, 2009, 7:44 pm

So where do people get their apps?

Postby M_2NR » September 10th, 2009, 9:13 pm

1uhh.. you get them online..

SRASC wrote:MuscleNerd from the Dev-Team says that it is safe to update iTunes to iTunes 9 even if your iPhone or iPod Touch is jailbroken and/or unlocked. So, if you have a jailbroken/unlocked device… go ahead and update iTunes.

im afraid if AppSync will stop working :lol:

*awaits word on DevTeam*

SRASC

Postby SRASC » September 10th, 2009, 9:21 pm

MuscleNerd is a Dev Team member

Postby M_2NR » September 10th, 2009, 9:43 pm

yeh... i meant im awaiting updates (as in a final solution) from them on 3.1 unlocking/jailbreaking/etc. :mrgreen:

SRASC

Postby SRASC » September 14th, 2009, 2:13 pm

The photos leaked last month of an iPod touch with camera are authentic it seems. An astute MacRumors forum member noticed that the internals of the new iPod touch match up exactly with the leaked images.

This gives further credence to the HardMac report which stated that Apple was having problems with the production of the new device.

Steve Jobs said that, "what we were focused on is just reducing the price to $199" when asked about the lack of a camera.

This information along with the empty space in the new iPod touch for a camera makes it pretty clear that Jobs explanation was merely a cover for Apple's blunder.

---

The latest iPhone firmware update enables video editing on the iPod touch and iPhone 3G, according to Gioga23.

iSpazio notes that all you have to do is save a movie from your email. Then you will be able to cut and edit it directly from the camera roll and exactly like you would on 3GS.

You can watch this new feature in action below...

SRASC

Postby SRASC » September 15th, 2009, 6:07 pm

iPhone Dev Team wrote:This is the low down on our tools for use with the 3.1 firmware from Apple, please read the whole post in full before attempting anything. Because of changes with Apple’s update techniques (that complicate the 3GS upgrade process) this will be a multipart release. This release starts with PwnageTool 3.1 for Mac OS X - this application supports the iPhone 1st Generation (2G), the iPhone 3G and the iPod touch 1G. NB: THIS DOES NOT SUPPORT THE 3GS OR 2G/3G IPOD TOUCH. redsn0w for Mac OS X and Windows will follow sometime in the near future, please don’t bug us about it - we’ll release when we have something ready.

GOLDEN RULE: If you are using a 3G iPhone with ultrasn0w and rely on ultrasn0w to obtain cellular service, then you should only upgrade to 3.1 with a PwnageTool created .ipsw. - Stay away from Apple’s direct updates as described here and here please get up to speed on the whole subject by reading the information contained in these posts.
If you have an original iPhone (1st generation) then 3.1 unlock works with this PwnageTool release. iPhone 3G users upgrading to 3.1 will need to continue using ultrasn0w with a PwnageTool created 3.1 .ipsw
Please read all parts of this post before downloading and using these tools.
Read items 1, 2 and 3 again and again.
At the bottom of this post are the bittorrent files for the 3.1 capable version of PwnageTool.
This app is suitable for the recent 3.1 release.
This version of PwnageTool will NOT work for the iPhone 3GS.
PwnageTool WILL work for Original iPhone (1st Generation), Original iPod touch (1st Generation) and the iPhone 3G.
Baseband 101

The ‘baseband’ is the generic nickname given to the internal components of the iPhone that handle the phone calls and Internet access. This ‘baseband’ is a tiny and unique independent computer system that runs inside your iPhone, it is separate to the main system that handles the applications (such as email and google maps) and it talks to the main part of the phone over an internal communications network. Think of it like a cable modem or other peripheral that is attached to your home PC that needs occasional updates. When a software update is released and presented to you within iTunes the baseband is sometimes updated (to fix bugs or add new features). The 3.1 update for the iPhone 3G contains such an update, so running the vanilla updater straight away with iTunes will reprogram and update the baseband.

SIM Free/SP Unlocked/Factory Unlocked iPhone 3G

This applies if you bought your iPhone 3G for $$$$$$$. This model of iPhone 3G doesn’t have an Service Provider lock (aka factory unlocked) and you are able to put any SIM card into the phone and get service. Your phone is already unlocked so you do not need to worry about baseband updates, simply upgrade to 3.1 using iTunes and then use PwnageTool to create an ipsw and then use this to jailbreak your phone.

iPhone 2G (1st Generation)

Use PwnageTool to do the magic and then restore with iTunes using your newly created .ipsw ‘nuff said, you don’t need to worry about anything, the baseband will be unlocked, the phone jailbroken.

iPod touch 1G (Original iPod Touch)

Use PwnageTool to create a firmware image and restore with that .ipsw using iTunes.

iPod touch 2G

Sorry, no support at this time within PwnageTool, use Redsn0w for an earlier (pre 3.1) firmware release instead.

iPod touch 3G (New iPod Touch)

Sorry, no support at this time within PwnageTool

Official Bittorrent Releases -

PwnageTool_3.1.dmg.5089960.TPB.torrent
SHA1 = ccc1e5db026362fc7eb9a40c76322b1fdcc90332
Unofficial Mirrors

The following links are unofficial download mirrors, you download these at your own risk, we accept no responsibility if your computer explodes or if it becomes part of a NASA attacking botnet or even worse if your hands fall off mid-way during the use of these files. We do not check these links or archives and we accept no responsibility with regard to the validity of the files, or with other content these links provide or with the content that is on the linked site. Always check the published SHA1 sums. We would prefer that you downloaded the official bittorrent release that is linked above, but you are welcome to try these if you really must. Mirror owners should email direct links only to blog@iphone-dev.org , please don’t place mirrors in the comments as they will be deleted.

http://www.peltner-kfz.de/PwnageTool_3.1.dmg
http://foskarulla.com/PwnageTool_3.1.dmg
http://fosk.it/PwnageTool_3.1.dmg
http://bentkowski.com.pl/PwnageTool_3.1.dmg
http://www.iemanduitnederland.nl/PwnageTool_3.1.dmg
http://downloads2.touch-mania.com/PwnageTool_3.1.dmg
http://miphone.ca/iphone-dev/PwnageTool_3.1.dmg
http://dehek.us/PwnageTool_3.1.dmg
http://iphone.h4ck.org.il/PwnageTool_3.1.dmg

sexyicon

Postby sexyicon » September 15th, 2009, 7:39 pm

Any 3G users try this out as yet ?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 15th, 2009, 7:52 pm

trini_champ wrote:So where do people get their apps?

you can buy Apple Store cards online on Amazon or other sellers like Target that accept T&T credit cards - they will ship the cards to you. You redeem the code on the card to add the credit to your itunes account.

Alternatively if you have a relative in the US who can simply go to a 7-Eleven or Walmart and buy the card for you and tell you the redeem code over the phone or via email. You will ahve to figure out how to send the cash for them though.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » September 15th, 2009, 8:38 pm

PwnageTool works for some apparently. My friend said it not allowing him to select the ISPW

SRASC

Postby SRASC » September 15th, 2009, 9:09 pm

It seems that installing WinterBoard on a jailbroken/unlocked 3.1 will cause the iPhone (2G) to go into a constant Safe Mode. Not sure if the same occurs with the 3G.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » September 15th, 2009, 10:21 pm

anybody successfully upgraded ah 2G yet???

SRASC

Postby SRASC » September 15th, 2009, 10:55 pm

ryan99tt wrote:anybody successfully upgraded ah 2G yet???

Just about done.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » September 16th, 2009, 7:35 am

SRASC wrote:
ryan99tt wrote:anybody successfully upgraded ah 2G yet???

Just about done.

Done.

SRASC wrote:It seems that installing WinterBoard on a jailbroken/unlocked 3.1 will cause the iPhone (2G) to go into a constant Safe Mode. Not sure if the same occurs with the 3G.

Seems that was an issue with Mobile Subtrate but that was updated so problem should no longer exist. Haven't verified for sure as yet. To be honest my 2G is running like a 3GS without it lol.

[quote]Mobile Substrate has been updated to version 0.9.3043-1. According to Saurik the update; “fixes the issues some extensions (like WinterBoard) are having with the new dyld “shared cacheâ€
Last edited by SRASC on September 16th, 2009, 10:25 am, edited 1 time in total.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » September 16th, 2009, 7:45 am

corolla_2nr wrote:1uhh.. you get them online..

SRASC wrote:MuscleNerd from the Dev-Team says that it is safe to update iTunes to iTunes 9 even if your iPhone or iPod Touch is jailbroken and/or unlocked. So, if you have a jailbroken/unlocked device… go ahead and update iTunes.

im afraid if AppSync will stop working :lol:

*awaits word on DevTeam*

speaking of which in 3.1 there is an update to AppSync specifically for 3.1

air wick

Postby air wick » September 16th, 2009, 9:30 am

Anyone has a replacement for itunes?

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » September 16th, 2009, 12:35 pm

still waitin fuh d pc version 2 release....