What the Best Split level AC Units...Carrier LG, Panasonic?

Re: What the Best Split level AC Units...Carrier LG, Panasonic?

Postby nervewrecker » August 6th, 2024, 10:02 pm

trinigamer wrote:What could cause a split unit to turn on by itself, took the batteries out the remote, but it still happens randomly.
Could be a short on the auto micro switch ie moisture etc. If it comes back on the original setting it was on then it could be a board malfunction. May need to change the board.

Postby nervewrecker » August 6th, 2024, 10:04 pm

Jerry84 wrote:What's your thoughts on the Infinity Inverter units that seem to be flooding the market?

I saw a company advertising a 12k inverter for $3200 installed.

Sent from my SM-A705MN using TriniTuner mobile app
The inverter units are usually different built meaning they meet some sort of standard. Cheapest I had seen were the midea branded units and they weren't bad to be quite honest. So if they are rebranded units it's not a bad price. You have a Pic of one?

Postby gastly369 » August 6th, 2024, 10:48 pm

Jerry84 wrote:What's your thoughts on the Infinity Inverter units that seem to be flooding the market?

The inverter units are usually different built meaning they meet some sort of standard. Cheapest I had seen were the midea branded units and they weren't bad to be quite honest. So if they are rebranded units it's not a bad price. You have a Pic of one?
They look similar to the TCL / mastertech inverter

I have a TCL unit some years now(courts overnight online sale for $2400ttd) no issues since and great smart app get diagnostics and some power consumption data etc

Other room has the gree inverter which wasn't bad but doesn't look sleek like the piano black TCL unit for me tho

All works with the Amazon echo

Jerry84

Postby Jerry84 » August 8th, 2024, 11:03 am

This is the add I saw.
Screenshot_20240723-110103_Facebook.jpg

Jerry84

Postby Jerry84 » August 8th, 2024, 11:11 am

So I was wondering if this size inverter would be sufficient for a room that's 12ft x 14ft. Ceilings are approximately 10ft high and the room is not in any direct sunlight (eastern or western walls of house).

trinigamer

Postby trinigamer » August 13th, 2024, 9:41 am

trinigamer wrote:What could cause a split unit to turn on by itself, took the batteries out the remote, but it still happens randomly.
Could be a short on the auto micro switch ie moisture etc. If it comes back on the original setting it was on then it could be a board malfunction. May need to change the board.

Thanks. Unit has a on/off switch on the evaporator for manually turning it on and off. Took some compressed air and cleaned around it, seems to have stopped coming on randomly now.

Postby bluefete » August 24th, 2024, 10:53 am

Does Servair do good a/c installation?

I am looking to buy a Coldwave 12000 btu Inverter from them.

Thanks in advance.

Jerry84

Postby Jerry84 » August 28th, 2024, 11:08 am

bluefete wrote:Does Servair do good a/c installation?

Thanks in advance.
How much you paying for this unit? I'm currently shopping around for 3.

Postby gastly369 » August 28th, 2024, 12:53 pm

Thanks in advance.
Get the gree inverter from them works flawless and full smart control with Alexa etc

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » August 28th, 2024, 1:07 pm

gastly369 wrote:

Thanks in advance.
Get the gree inverter from them works flawless and full smart control with Alexa etc
Price?

Cooper

Postby Cooper » August 28th, 2024, 1:19 pm

Jerry84 wrote:

This is the add I saw.
Screenshot_20240723-110103_Facebook.jpg

I called this guy twice, both times he promised to call back the same day with a quote. Never got a call back.

He lost out on $20k worth of business.

Postby alfa » August 28th, 2024, 1:43 pm

Cooper wrote:
Jerry84 wrote:

This is the add I saw. Screenshot_20240723-110103_Facebook.jpg

I called this guy twice, both times he promised to call back the same day with a quote. Never got a call back.

He lost out on $20k worth of business.

Seems to be a trend with local tradesmen of all disciplines. It's almost as if they're trying to purposely lose customers

Postby st7 » August 28th, 2024, 4:46 pm

running a peakes AC 11 months now, no service except for me cleaning the filters every few months

i run the AC at 26 degrees with a fan, very few times i would go down to 25 or 24 when i go to sleep. i turn it on and off intermittently during the day since sometimes 26 does be cold on meh

i would say my average time per day the AC on is 11-14 hours

i feel i shouldn't push the lack of service further than a year though, but i just wanted to share this experience.

Jerry84

Postby Jerry84 » August 28th, 2024, 5:39 pm

gastly369 wrote:

Thanks in advance.
Any idea on the price of these Gree inverters?? I'm looking for three 12k btu units.

still tippin'

Postby still tippin' » September 4th, 2024, 9:47 pm

Last edited by still tippin' on September 4th, 2024, 9:47 pm, edited 4 times in total.

Postby gastly369 » September 4th, 2024, 10:24 pm

PariaMan wrote:
gastly369 wrote:

Thanks in advance.
Price?
Was $3600 without installation... Got mines installed free

Postby pugboy » September 16th, 2024, 9:55 pm

what would cause a 5ton compressor to burn this contractor?
this second one to burn just like that
IMG_5003.jpeg

Postby nervewrecker » September 17th, 2024, 7:32 am

Slack connection on compressor or terminal block. Also if undersized conductors used it will heat up.
Load test the comp and see what's the current draw.

Postby pugboy » September 17th, 2024, 7:38 am

clamp meter load test?

nervewrecker wrote:Slack connection on compressor or terminal block. Also if undersized conductors used it will heat up.
Load test the comp and see what's the current draw.

Postby nervewrecker » September 17th, 2024, 8:19 am

Yes.

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 2nd, 2024, 12:44 pm

brand updates?
hadda do a whole house install soon, at the every least 4x 12K units and 1 portable.

Which brands to choose, and which to avoid for sure.
I currently have a Lennox and it's works well, stays quiet. Fins corroded outside tho, kinda weird that it corroded after 2years.

Capleton

Postby Capleton » October 2nd, 2024, 1:05 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:brand updates?
hadda do a whole house install soon, at the every least 4x 12K units and 1 portable.

Which brands to choose, and which to avoid for sure.
I currently have a Lennox and it's works well, stays quiet. Fins corroded outside tho, kinda weird that it corroded after 2years.

Installed a Peake unit about 2 years now (no issues). It has the digital feature to cast to a smart TV and control the temp with the TV remote. However, on the TV the device shows as "Lennox".

Also installed a couple Pioneer units a little over 2 year now and no issues to date.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 2nd, 2024, 6:15 pm

I see Standards and AMCO have RCA inverter units with Bluetooth and wifi.
Anyone have experience with these?

Postby pugboy » October 2nd, 2024, 7:04 pm

i have a daikin inverter 12k and a pioneer 12k
i find the pioneer seems to have a lil more cooling power

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 2nd, 2024, 8:34 pm

Had technicians damage a pioneer internal side plastic after a couple years. The part where the fan wheel mounts, so the fan was squealing like a wounded banshee.

Basically screwed a good unit and had to replace it. I dunno if it was technician carelessness or poor build quality or a combination of both, but I doh want it again. It was a noisy unit just like the "GE".

The Lennox is whisper quiet. I like that. Might end up going back with it purely for that reason. The Gree quiet too, and taking real abuse in Kid's room. This Gree going on 10 years. Condenser side developed a buzzing rattle though, I suspect loose clips.

Postby Dizzy28 » October 5th, 2024, 1:57 pm

Anyone used these Panasonics before? My A/c guy suggested this for a living room install.
24k Inverter
PXL_20241005_163150020.MP~2.jpg

Postby gastly369 » October 5th, 2024, 2:18 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Anyone used these Panasonics before? My A/c guy suggested this for a living room install.
24k Inverter
Panasonic is good stuff... Previous unit had was Panasonic years of service and never rotten

Postby Dizzy28 » October 5th, 2024, 4:07 pm

gastly369 wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:Anyone used these Panasonics before? My A/c guy suggested this for a living room install.
24k Inverter
Panasonic is good stuff... Previous unit had was Panasonic years of service and never rotten
Good to know they solid.

Back in 2018 my guy put in a Green Energy for me and back then he said these units best. I mean it still there wukking albeit a bit more noisly now. so was just checking.

Jerry84

Postby Jerry84 » November 14th, 2024, 9:16 pm

What are the possible causes for a unit's compressor running non stop and not cutting off at the desired temperature? And when it does cut off, it literally comes back on 2 mins after.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » November 15th, 2024, 3:32 pm

Relay switch gone. Same thing happened to my one currently need to carry it for them to desolder and solder a new relay switch.