adnj wrote:The debate is pointless. The only solution is to acquire antibodies. Either:
1. Vaccinate more than two-thirds of the total population now
2. Wait for the next Covid spike
Because the virus will create antibodies in survivors or kill the others. It's always been that way.
Using data from Manaus and other areas of Brazil, Faria estimates that P.1 was between 1.4 and 2.2 times more transmissible than previous SARS-CoV-2 strains and that between 25 and 61% of previously infected patients were susceptible to P.1 reinfection.
redmanjp wrote:Why we not using Monoclonal antibodies?
70% reduction in hospitalizations and deaths
https://www.fda.gov/news-events/press-announcements/coronavirus-covid-19-update-fda-authorizes-monoclonal-antibodies-treatment-covid-19-0
I doh wanna hear about WHO approval. Unlike vaccines this is for ppl who are already infected and could progress to severe. They can't wait for WHO.
redmanjp wrote:Why we can't have both an effective treatment and a vaccine? There are those that can't be vaccinated like those who have allergies, pregnant women and those with conditions that may predispose them to a bad reaction. So if they get infected they should be able to get this. A 70% reduction in death is enough reason to do it.
Dohplaydat wrote:redmanjp wrote:Why we can't have both an effective treatment and a vaccine? There are those that can't be vaccinated like those who have allergies, pregnant women and those with conditions that may predispose them to a bad reaction. So if they get infected they should be able to get this. A 70% reduction in death is enough reason to do it.
Yes of course, also why I find the studies on ivermectin to be quite promising and I'd certainly recommend we start using it here in Trinidad.
Also for Monoclonal antibodies, I don't believe that's too affordable, but if it is....at this point, we don't have much to lose.
Our doctors if capable of it should start running their own studies as well.
Positive ivermectin research from Mexico City - https://osf.io/preprints/socarxiv/r93g4/
Vaccination is the best overall solution, but we can't solely rely on it just yet.
Those who are advising against it are slow to keep up and following procedure-like medicine rather than considering the desperation of our situational needs.
I pity any offspring u may have. Or maybe you should give them a lil taste of covid or polio or measles or smallpox or yellow fever or tuberculosis. Because your parents would have loved you enough to protect you by having you vaccinated.hover11 wrote:Most pro Vax ppl have this God complex , because they vaccinated they believe they superior or better than persons who have a right to also choose not to vaccinate , seems no one can make their own decisions anymore we just following the crowd like sheep....we should have options explored not just vaccination but a cure as wellDohplaydat wrote:redmanjp wrote:Why we can't have both an effective treatment and a vaccine? There are those that can't be vaccinated like those who have allergies, pregnant women and those with conditions that may predispose them to a bad reaction. So if they get infected they should be able to get this. A 70% reduction in death is enough reason to do it.
Yes of course, also why I find the studies on ivermectin to be quite promising and I'd certainly recommend we start using it here in Trinidad.
Also for Monoclonal antibodies, I don't believe that's too affordable, but if it is....at this point, we don't have much to lose.
Positive ivermectin research from Mexico City - https://osf.io/preprints/socarxiv/r93g4/
Vaccination is the best overall solution, but we can't solely rely on it just yet.
Those who are advising against it are slow to keep up and following procedure-like medicine rather than considering the desperation of our situational needs.
You are talking about an upper respiratory viral infection - not a bacterial infection.hover11 wrote:Most pro Vax ppl have this God complex , because they vaccinated they believe they superior or better than persons who have a right to also choose not to vaccinate , seems no one can make their own decisions anymore we just following the crowd like sheep....we should have options explored not just vaccination but a cure as wellDohplaydat wrote:redmanjp wrote:Why we can't have both an effective treatment and a vaccine? There are those that can't be vaccinated like those who have allergies, pregnant women and those with conditions that may predispose them to a bad reaction. So if they get infected they should be able to get this. A 70% reduction in death is enough reason to do it.
hover11 wrote:Most pro Vax ppl have this God complex , because they vaccinated they believe they superior or better than persons who have a right to also choose not to vaccinate , seems no one can make their own decisions anymore we just following the crowd like sheep....we should have options explored not just vaccination but a cure as wellDohplaydat wrote:redmanjp wrote:Why we can't have both an effective treatment and a vaccine? There are those that can't be vaccinated like those who have allergies, pregnant women and those with conditions that may predispose them to a bad reaction. So if they get infected they should be able to get this. A 70% reduction in death is enough reason to do it.
wing wrote:I pity any offspring u may have. Or maybe you should give them a lil taste of covid or polio or measles or smallpox or yellow fever or tuberculosis. Because your parents would have loved you enough to protect you by having you vaccinated.hover11 wrote:Most pro Vax ppl have this God complex , because they vaccinated they believe they superior or better than persons who have a right to also choose not to vaccinate , seems no one can make their own decisions anymore we just following the crowd like sheep....we should have options explored not just vaccination but a cure as wellDohplaydat wrote:redmanjp wrote:Why we can't have both an effective treatment and a vaccine? There are those that can't be vaccinated like those who have allergies, pregnant women and those with conditions that may predispose them to a bad reaction. So if they get infected they should be able to get this. A 70% reduction in death is enough reason to do it.
Dohplaydat wrote:It's not a choice, it's for our survival as a species.
Less vaccinated people means more covid spread which means more possibility of covid variants.
Do you want to be in lockdown ever again?
Wraith King wrote:wing wrote:I pity any offspring u may have. Or maybe you should give them a lil taste of covid or polio or measles or smallpox or yellow fever or tuberculosis. Because your parents would have loved you enough to protect you by having you vaccinated.hover11 wrote:Most pro Vax ppl have this God complex , because they vaccinated they believe they superior or better than persons who have a right to also choose not to vaccinate , seems no one can make their own decisions anymore we just following the crowd like sheep....we should have options explored not just vaccination but a cure as wellDohplaydat wrote:redmanjp wrote:Why we can't have both an effective treatment and a vaccine? There are those that can't be vaccinated like those who have allergies, pregnant women and those with conditions that may predispose them to a bad reaction. So if they get infected they should be able to get this. A 70% reduction in death is enough reason to do it.
Why group all those together?
What if someone who has been vaccinated for those other viruses isn't comfortable with taking a Covid vaccine?
Dohplaydat wrote:hover11 wrote:Most pro Vax ppl have this God complex , because they vaccinated they believe they superior or better than persons who have a right to also choose not to vaccinate , seems no one can make their own decisions anymore we just following the crowd like sheep....we should have options explored not just vaccination but a cure as wellDohplaydat wrote:redmanjp wrote:Why we can't have both an effective treatment and a vaccine? There are those that can't be vaccinated like those who have allergies, pregnant women and those with conditions that may predispose them to a bad reaction. So if they get infected they should be able to get this. A 70% reduction in death is enough reason to do it.
I disagree, if you are physically able to take the vaccine take it. It's not a choice, it's for our survival as a species.
Less vaccinated people means more covid spread which means more possibility of covid variants.
Wraith King wrote:Dohplaydat wrote:hover11 wrote:Most pro Vax ppl have this God complex , because they vaccinated they believe they superior or better than persons who have a right to also choose not to vaccinate , seems no one can make their own decisions anymore we just following the crowd like sheep....we should have options explored not just vaccination but a cure as wellDohplaydat wrote:redmanjp wrote:Why we can't have both an effective treatment and a vaccine? There are those that can't be vaccinated like those who have allergies, pregnant women and those with conditions that may predispose them to a bad reaction. So if they get infected they should be able to get this. A 70% reduction in death is enough reason to do it.
I disagree, if you are physically able to take the vaccine take it. It's not a choice, it's for our survival as a species.
It is a choice though. If you believe the vaccine stops Covid then what's the issue if someone else doesn't take it as you wouldn't get it from them? If the vaccine doesn't stop the spread of the virus why are you upset if someone doesn't want to take it? Everyone is entitled to make their choice. I don't see anyone encouraging here encouraging others not to take the vaccine.
You seriously think Covid is going to wipe out human beings as a species?
pugboy wrote:https://www.businessinsider.com/coronavirus-deaths-how-pandemic-compares-to-other-deadly-outbreaks-2020-4
a comparison to other past pandemics, important to look at the years duration part to get an idea how much dead in what space of time.
hover11 wrote:The funny thing about it the vaccine does not stop covid it , you can still get covid and spread it to others also you still have to wear a mask when you outside.Wraith King wrote:Dohplaydat wrote:hover11 wrote:Most pro Vax ppl have this God complex , because they vaccinated they believe they superior or better than persons who have a right to also choose not to vaccinate , seems no one can make their own decisions anymore we just following the crowd like sheep....we should have options explored not just vaccination but a cure as wellDohplaydat wrote:redmanjp wrote:Why we can't have both an effective treatment and a vaccine? There are those that can't be vaccinated like those who have allergies, pregnant women and those with conditions that may predispose them to a bad reaction. So if they get infected they should be able to get this. A 70% reduction in death is enough reason to do it.
It is a choice though. If you believe the vaccine stops Covid then what's the issue if someone else doesn't take it as you wouldn't get it from them? If the vaccine doesn't stop the spread of the virus why are you upset if someone doesn't want to take it? Everyone is entitled to make their choice. I don't see anyone encouraging here encouraging others not to take the vaccine.
You seriously think Covid is going to wipe out human beings as a species?
Compare the Covis virus to the flu virus. Then compare Covid-19 to the 1918 pandemic.hover11 wrote:You cannot compare vaccines like those to the covid vaccine. How many times u had to take the measles or polio shot once right when u were a child....now u have to take a vaccine every 6 monthswing wrote:I pity any offspring u may have. Or maybe you should give them a lil taste of covid or polio or measles or smallpox or yellow fever or tuberculosis. Because your parents would have loved you enough to protect you by having you vaccinated.hover11 wrote:Most pro Vax ppl have this God complex , because they vaccinated they believe they superior or better than persons who have a right to also choose not to vaccinate , seems no one can make their own decisions anymore we just following the crowd like sheep....we should have options explored not just vaccination but a cure as wellDohplaydat wrote:redmanjp wrote:Why we can't have both an effective treatment and a vaccine? There are those that can't be vaccinated like those who have allergies, pregnant women and those with conditions that may predispose them to a bad reaction. So if they get infected they should be able to get this. A 70% reduction in death is enough reason to do it.
Dohplaydat wrote:
Because the vaccines reduce the change of transmission significantly.
This is how we get out of this pandemic. Take these two scenarios:
Scenario 1 - Only 50-60% of people get vaccinated, covid spreads a lot across the other 40%. In a year, a new mutation crops of that most vaccines have little efficacy against. Vaccine manufacturers scramble to make new vaccines (which would be 6-12 months away at getting them out to most populations).
Scenario 2 - Over 80% of people get vaccinated, covid spread is severely limited due to the virus no longer has the ability to easily spread. In some populations, covid could die off completely. In other populations, covid spread is rare. In a couple of years, we could effectively relegate covid to a rare virus. We will also have an extremely low chance of variants cropping up since the virus will barely be alive anyway.
Scenario 2 is what we want. We don't want anti-vax idiots to create a world where we have to constantly monitor for new variants, mask-wearing in will be forever mandatory in some areas. PCR tests required to travel, lockdowns could be happening every couple years as new variants emerge.
Be smart and responsible, please.
There is no cure for polio.hover11 wrote:This is the thing though the virus is doing what it has to survive which is adapting until there is a cure. Calling ppl idiots because they not following the rest and thinking for themselves isn't really helping the situationDohplaydat wrote:
Scenario 1 - Only 50-60% of people get vaccinated, covid spreads a lot across the other 40%. In a year, a new mutation crops of that most vaccines have little efficacy against. Vaccine manufacturers scramble to make new vaccines (which would be 6-12 months away at getting them out to most populations).
Scenario 2 - Over 80% of people get vaccinated, covid spread is severely limited due to the virus no longer has the ability to easily spread. In some populations, covid could die off completely. In other populations, covid spread is rare. In a couple of years, we could effectively relegate covid to a rare virus. We will also have an extremely low chance of variants cropping up since the virus will barely be alive anyway.
Scenario 2 is what we want. We don't want anti-vax idiots to create a world where we have to constantly monitor for new variants, mask-wearing in will be forever mandatory in some areas. PCR tests required to travel, lockdowns could be happening every couple years as new variants emerge.
hover11 wrote:This is the thing though the virus is doing what it has to survive which is adapting until there is a cure. Calling ppl idiots because they not following the rest and thinking for themselves isn't really helping the situationDohplaydat wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:hover11 wrote:This is the thing though the virus is doing what it has to survive which is adapting until there is a cure. Calling ppl idiots because they not following the rest and thinking for themselves isn't really helping the situationDohplaydat wrote:
A vaccine is better than a cure.
The virus doesn't think, mutations are random (read up Antigenic Drift and Shift). Every time a virus replicates there is a probability of a mutation occurring. Reducing the amount of the virus that is out there reduces the probability of dangerous variants happening.