The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Re: The *Official* GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby RASC » September 20th, 2011, 7:32 pm

Have you seriously considered the Samsung Note=)(I know I keep mentioning it, but its really calling me!) as a device to replace your current tab or do you REALLY need the extra real estate. Because in all seriousness how do you carry around the tab in casual social settings or lets say the beach :/ I think the "note" would be the perfect replacement for a power user such as yourself.
SUPAstarr wrote:
crazybalhead wrote:In your opinions, what are the benefits of a tablet over a laptop and a phone? Which most people have anyway? Especially in the work environment.

Portability, communications on the go, my tab is a phone so i eliminate that extra device in my pocket as well. Everyday i answer emails, browse websites, interface with maps, edit documents (excel and word), all while on the road or attending meeting, in addition to talk smack on whats app and watch movies, an play old Nintendo games. Because im a power user i only get 3hrs out of the tab, but i have car charger so i never really out of juice.

Postby nemisis » September 20th, 2011, 7:49 pm

So the ist sensation i bought acted up and i sent it back. Do you guys think i should try my luck on another?

Postby SUPAstarr » September 20th, 2011, 7:49 pm

I did have my eye on the note, i would have put in a request for one at the end of the year. day to day its really not that hard to carry around the Tab, as it fits in my jeans back pocket. Its also a chick magnet down here, at least that my experience. But seein i resigned yesterday i dont see a Note in my future unless my next employer likes android.

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » September 21st, 2011, 8:25 am

where u off to?

Postby SUPAstarr » September 21st, 2011, 9:20 am

Dunno boi, jus had enough of here

Postby honda hoe » September 21st, 2011, 10:19 am

man stay home to play ps3 yes

Postby SUPAstarr » September 21st, 2011, 10:35 am

ROFL, i tellin everyone i goin an plant tomatoes an pepper

Postby RASC » September 21st, 2011, 6:17 pm

Oh wait, the original Samsung Tab you had...Hmmmmm.
Well hey the 7.7 Tab is coming out and is full of MAJOR win. The 5.3 might be too small for you, if you got really used to that size.

I've used the original Tab before, which was...honestly kinda laggy. How you live with that day in, day out?

achillies

Postby achillies » September 21st, 2011, 8:21 pm

Not my cup of tea, but to each his own

Someone might like it

Postby S_2NR » September 21st, 2011, 8:44 pm

i happy with launcher pro :)

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 21st, 2011, 8:51 pm

i happy with touchwiz

wut? :|

Postby S_2NR » September 21st, 2011, 8:53 pm

sorry eh but touchwiz fail..

achillies

Postby achillies » September 21st, 2011, 9:28 pm

S_2NR wrote:sorry eh but touchwiz fail..

Nah hoss, I actually using TW over LPro and ADW EX right now

TW plus Appzorter= Winning :lol:

achillies

Postby achillies » September 21st, 2011, 9:34 pm

I now get the latest version of the Android Market (3.1.3) on My HTC Magic which I just happen to turn on

I eh even get the latest version on the SGS2 yet

WDMC :shock:

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 21st, 2011, 9:40 pm

i installed the new market manually when it now came out on my SGSII and used market enabler to get the full US version with films and books.

but when i got the latest update on the phone, films and books disappeared.

so if i want to get back the full US version, i need to uninstall the updates and manually install the apk i had before. but everytime it updates on its own, i keep losing the full US version :S

achillies

Postby achillies » September 22nd, 2011, 10:03 am

Update to the Android Market

A new version of the Android Market is living in the wild as version 3.1.5 – you can download and install it below. Still not exactly sure what was included in the jump from .3 to .5, but we have all day now to figure that out.

Market v3.1.5 (Mirror)

Droid-Life

Postby S_2NR » September 22nd, 2011, 10:48 am

thanks^
installed on my nexus s without a hitch.

Postby S_2NR » September 22nd, 2011, 10:49 am

so nobody find the new market seems kinda "windows phone 7 ish" ? :/

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » September 22nd, 2011, 10:50 am

HTC Sense all the way
Sense has amazing Widgets. Launcher Pro widgets do not even come close in comparison. They are gorgeous and work very well. The effects of the main screen clock widget with the weather is a pleasant surprise. Being able to see the time and weather in the same section is quite nice as well. THE emial widgets are really useful as well.

Postby S_2NR » September 22nd, 2011, 10:57 am

i dont have htc sense.
and i have the clock with the weather. (fancy widget)
try again.

Postby RASC » September 22nd, 2011, 12:27 pm

S_2NR wrote:so nobody find the new market seems kinda "windows phone 7 ish" ? :/

You mad brah?

Postby SUPAstarr » September 22nd, 2011, 12:46 pm

RASC wrote:Oh wait, the original Samsung Tab you had...Hmmmmm.
Well hey the 7.7 Tab is coming out and is full of MAJOR win. The 5.3 might be too small for you, if you got really used to that size.

I've used the original Tab before, which was...honestly kinda laggy. How you live with that day in, day out?

We gingerbreaded that beyotch in less than a week, whole heap less lag

Postby S_2NR » September 22nd, 2011, 12:49 pm

RASC wrote:
S_2NR wrote:so nobody find the new market seems kinda "windows phone 7 ish" ? :/

You mad brah?

no ..looks nice.. :|

Postby RASC » September 22nd, 2011, 1:13 pm

S_2NR wrote:
RASC wrote:

You mad brah?

no ..looks nice.. :|

Doh tell Mitch that eh :lol:

When you Android nerds ready to look clean, classy and fresh lemme know 8-)

Some other recommendations when you guys decide to ditch android:

Acne Cream
A Barber
Shaving Utensils
A year's subscription to GQ magazine
A Gym Membership

That's the starter pack...by the end of the month you'll be rocking dock shoes without socks and actually know more than 5 females who are NOT your relatives ;)

Postby S_2NR » September 22nd, 2011, 1:24 pm

i already own and use everything in the "starter pack" :lol:

achillies

Postby achillies » September 22nd, 2011, 2:35 pm

I just opened the market on the SGS2 and I was updated to the lstest version, sweet

And guys. lets not feed the Trolls, let them go post in the WP7 thread

If you don't like Android, or have nothing productive to add to the thread, should not be in here.

On XDA, man like he woulda get handed a ban already

achillies

Postby achillies » September 22nd, 2011, 2:44 pm

What keyboard do you guys use???

Fans of the A.I.type Beta keyboard can now buy the ‘Plus’ version from the Android Market. When your competition is Swype, SwiftyKeyX, and FlexT9 you better bring your A-game. A.I.type has some great features which we wish some of the better known keyboards would have, and they only plan on growing the list.
Suggests your next word.
Completes your current word.
Corrects your spelling as you type.
Auto corrects your typos when you hit the spacebar (context-sensitive)
Automagically learns your common words and style. We call it – MyType (beta)
Supports unique skins (Windows Phone 7 skin, iPhone skin, large buttons skin and more).
Allows skin customization – colors, background images etc.
Includes a layout for undo/redo/copy/paste/navigation and more.

achillies

Postby achillies » September 22nd, 2011, 2:48 pm

Personally, I'm a big fan of SwiftKey, and that's what I use 90% of the time. Though if I'm feeling for something different, I would use the Gingerbread Keyboard from the Market, I just can't get accustomed to the Samsung keyboard's way of doing things

Thank God for choice...........

achillies

Postby achillies » September 22nd, 2011, 2:52 pm

Google Branded SIM Cards Indicate Google Voice More Than Just a Compliment to Existing Service in Spain?

An interesting rumor has come out of Spanish site Xataka Android. Apparently, Google-branded SIM cards have been spotted and tested on the Nexus S The rumor suggests Google will look to either Pepephone or Simyo to help them become an actual carrier. On the photo below, you can see the carrier branding is “Google_Es”.
This is interesting, though methods do exist that allow users to change carrier branding themselves. We doubt Google Voice will translate into a Google-run carrier business, but the possibility does remain. For the time being, it’s still just a companion service to the cellular service you already have.

Phandroid

I fine they could come to Trinidad

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » September 22nd, 2011, 3:05 pm

I just finished in a online conference (listen in only) with McAfee, they call it "Hacking Exposed Live!"

Very, very informative, they detailed items on the Android and iOS platform on malicious apps, how it works, what damage can it do, demos etc.

At the end the host said they will be uploading the conference to http://www.hackingexposed.com/ (under Webcasts)

I suggest you guys check it out, very informative.