Re: Digicel Internet Thread

Postby matr1x » May 2nd, 2024, 5:06 am

Oh goody! More money for their shitty internet speeds

Postby redmanjp » May 3rd, 2024, 11:08 am

this is what the 3rd increase since 2020?

sekhar_777

Postby sekhar_777 » May 3rd, 2024, 11:45 am

matr1x wrote:Oh goody! More money for their shitty internet speeds

And as if on que, outage in the Cunupia area since 9am.
I actually switched from Flow to Digi a few years ago and Digi has really been a disappointment but what else is there?

sekhar_777

Postby sekhar_777 » May 3rd, 2024, 11:47 am

Ampila was driving around the area a few days ago but I know switching cost will be high and I have security with Digi as well after hating the service from Blink Vigilance. LOL

Postby matr1x » May 3rd, 2024, 12:29 pm

sekhar_777 wrote:

I actually switched from Flow to Digi a few years ago and Digi has really been a disappointment but what else is there?

There routers have a weak range. I set up a mesh network to handle the range issue

sekhar_777

Postby sekhar_777 » May 3rd, 2024, 12:35 pm

matr1x wrote:
sekhar_777 wrote:

There routers have a weak range. I set up a mesh network to handle the range issue

Yes I have a mesh router set up too.

Postby gastly369 » May 3rd, 2024, 12:36 pm

sekhar_777 wrote:Ampila was driving around the area a few days ago but I know switching cost will be high and I have security with Digi as well after hating the service from Blink Vigilance. LOL
Doh make the mistake with amplia nah.....

Postby matr1x » May 3rd, 2024, 2:11 pm

gastly369 wrote:
sekhar_777 wrote:Ampila was driving around the area a few days ago but I know switching cost will be high and I have security with Digi as well after hating the service from Blink Vigilance. LOL
Doh make the mistake with amplia nah.....

With amplia, you might as well be using 2 cans and a string

Postby gastly369 » May 3rd, 2024, 2:36 pm

Lol yep

Postby redmanjp » May 3rd, 2024, 3:44 pm

hey digi fix they app yet? i used to be able to pay the bill on it but for months now had to pay it in person in a digicel outlet.

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » May 3rd, 2024, 3:56 pm

Price increases:

Fibre 200 plan will go from $305 to $320
Modern fibre 200 plan will go from $325 to $340
Modern fibre 200+ plan will go from $390 to $410.

Reduced prices:
Fibre 350 plan will drop from $745 to $465,
Fibre 500 plan will drop from $885 to $500
Modern fibre 350 plan will drop from $745 to $465
Modern fibre 500 plan will drop from $885 to $600

https://newsday.co.tt/2024/05/02/digice ... to-change/

Most people only need basic internet at a low price, $320 might be too much for some.

Postby nervewrecker » May 3rd, 2024, 8:20 pm

Anyone ever tried using their phone as a hotspot? Does it work good? I'm a light user so never noticed anything out of the ordinary and only really use it to listen music. Very rare I use the home network or anyone network for that matter.

eitech

Postby eitech » May 3rd, 2024, 9:00 pm

Dat price ain’t making sense for internet alone na

Postby Dave » May 3rd, 2024, 9:17 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Anyone ever tried using their phone as a hotspot? Does it work good? I'm a light user so never noticed anything out of the ordinary and only really use it to listen music. Very rare I use the home network or anyone network for that matter.
On the go..works for a road warrior like me.
Bmobile user here.

Sent from my Mi A3 using TriniTuner mobile app

Postby bluefete » May 5th, 2024, 5:27 pm

Postby redmanjp » May 6th, 2024, 1:43 pm

lol this is a meme already oui

digi doing that to? thought it was just bmobile when the plan expire and PAYG at $2/mb goes into effect but doesn't digi turn off data when the plan expires?

juswil868

Postby juswil868 » May 7th, 2024, 8:29 pm

The trottling is ridiculous tonight.... I can stream properly. Anyone else having this issue?

ShadowtheUnknown

Postby ShadowtheUnknown » May 16th, 2024, 4:53 pm

juswil868 wrote:The trottling is ridiculous tonight.... I can stream properly. Anyone else having this issue?

It depends. Unashamed I pirate so if I have issues I usually change links and it’s not a problem. What services are you using and what’s your speed? With the kinda speeds we have access to even with 200mbps we shouldn’t at least theoretically get buffering unless maybe you have 4 tv’s running 4K at the same time, gaming and with heavy network congestion.

ShadowtheUnknown

Postby ShadowtheUnknown » May 16th, 2024, 5:10 pm

The justifications ISP’s are using to increase prices are insane and in my opinion sounding like a bit of a fib. The timing is suspect.

Amplia tries to be Netflix middle man they get blank. (That approach was embarrassing) they whine and complain about not getting their “fair share” in profits whatever tf that means lmao

Now ISP’s basically giving we an undercover Netflix tax to “recoup” losses

The current fibre infrastructure we have is better than some places in the states and they complaining about Netflix “straining” the network?? I’m confused. This level of bandwidth should be designed to handle this load. And if there isn’t enough bandwidth to go around, how are they able to re-introduce (because it was available in the earlier days) a gigabit package?

Internet packages are supposed to level out in costs whenever they get more subscribers. It slowly feels like many people would be out priced

It honestly feels like local ISP’s like any local big business want to squeeze excessive profits by any shaky justification.

jehusaunders

Postby jehusaunders » May 16th, 2024, 6:33 pm

Not to be devils advocate but as a business person, the local isps plans and pricing models are silly. If for example they offered 60mbps for $150, then 200mbps for $350 more persons will likely go for the faster speed. However because the lowest tier now is more than fast for most persons, fewer persons are paying for the higher tiers and thereby these companies aren’t getting the revenues needed.

dean_spleen09

Postby dean_spleen09 » May 17th, 2024, 8:25 pm

saw them walking around my street looking for signups , tell them bring back the 25mb for $200 plan , not everybody need 200mbit
:/

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » May 19th, 2024, 9:54 am

i find they should have a 50Mbps plan for like a 150-200.
I love digi internet for local mesh S2Ss as their latency, jitter and uptime for local traffic is great and rivals and even beats some local MetroE providers its only their IPTV throttling recently is a killer as they doing it during the day now too
Does any ISP offer any sub $200 plan with symmetric speeds (no flow)?

juswil868

Postby juswil868 » May 19th, 2024, 5:30 pm

daxt0r wrote:i find they should have a 50Mbps plan for like a 150-200.
I love digi internet for local mesh S2Ss as their latency, jitter and uptime for local traffic is great and rivals and even beats some local MetroE providers its only their IPTV throttling recently is a killer as they doing it during the day now too

You may need to pay a little more for that.

But can confirm Digicel is throttling streaming constantly. It's very frustrating. They better fix by June 1st

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » May 19th, 2024, 8:13 pm

juswil868 wrote:
daxt0r wrote:i find they should have a 50Mbps plan for like a 150-200.

You may need to pay a little more for that.

But can confirm Digicel is throttling streaming constantly. It's very frustrating. They better fix by June 1st

Does streaming works fine with VPN?

Postby redmanjp » May 20th, 2024, 9:43 am

^ VPNs also limit your speed - not intentionally but depends on what their servers can handle. expressvpn can only handle between 15-30mb but that's ok for me- can still get a 1080p stream with that. modern codecs can get 4k with that 30mbps.

Postby st7 » May 23rd, 2024, 2:26 pm

internet ballsing for you guys?

Chaguanas