The Religion Discussion

megadoc1

Re: The Religion Discussion

Postby megadoc1 » December 30th, 2015, 6:03 am

crock101 wrote:The word theory is not that same as guess, theory is something that has gone through rigorous testing and still has not been proven wrong.
your understanding of the word theory is a bit off yo!

BoxEater

Postby BoxEater » December 30th, 2015, 7:22 am

crock101 wrote:Oh the scientifically accurate Quran,
When you get up late and don't do your morning prayers it is because the devil pissed in your ear the night before.
Also the sun sets in some sort of murky lagoon
There is no mention that the earth goes around the sun , in fact I suggests the exact opposite
The stars are missiles shot at the devil
The moon emits light
There are an astounding 7 planets in the universe
The sun is a flat disk and can be folded up
Sperm originates between the backbone and the ribs
To call this heap of utter nonsense unscientific is to almost give it praise, it is a silly book that was written by uneducated desert dwellers who plagiarized it from the Christian text which was itself a plagiarized from the Jewish text,which was pretty silly to begin with.

you really have it out for those muslims dred...looks like the muslim girl leave yuh and married yuh muslim padna.....i know the burn bruh...but its time to get past that....

for your posts above...can you give the location in the quran where those statements were said???

after all....talk is talk...but we dealing with facts here so a little reference would be appreciated

Postby Slartibartfast » December 30th, 2015, 7:38 am

Val wrote:
Slartibartfast wrote:I'll do you one better. Here is the entire timeline of the big bang. You will have to be more specific than "smoke" glaxies started forming 500million years after the big bang. The universe is in constant change and will be until it fizzles out. Your question is badly worded and shows your poor grasp on the concept of the big bang theory.
http://www.physicsoftheuniverse.com/topics_bigbang_timeline.html

Now hows about you start actually answering some of my questions.

Fizzles out assumes heat death. That is only one train of thought, don't limit yourself to a myopic understanding of what in the universe is governed by thermodynamics.

Quantum uncertainty hints at simulacra in the universe, which supports the theory of an outside observer.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
Please, do elaborate. How does this support the theory of an outside observer?

Postby Slartibartfast » December 30th, 2015, 8:11 am

megadoc1 wrote:
crock101 wrote:The word theory is not that same as guess, theory is something that has gone through rigorous testing and still has not been proven wrong.

No it is quite correct.

A guess is just an explanation for an observation made without necessarily taking into account any facts or observations.

A hypothesis is an explanation for an occurrence made after taking into account relevant facts and observations that are available. "An intelligent guess".

A theory is like an upgraded hypothesis. A hypothesis becomes a theory when is has gone through significant attempts to be proven wrongly and has not been proven wrong. It must also have a lot of information supporting it as well. Scientists call something a theory when they are pretty sure that it is true but are unable to directly observe or test it.

A law is something that has been observed and is reproducible given the right conditions. Therefore it can be directly observed. This is why most scientific laws are obviously simple facts.

Look at the laws of thermodynamics and motion. They can all be represented by a short equation or explicitly explained with one line.

Now tell me what would an explicit explanation of evolution look like? Evolution is based on so many unknown factors and is so unique from species to species that it is impossible to come up with an all encompassing one liner to explain it. Also, due to the timeline of evolution it cannot be directly observed. This means that even if evolution is 100% true, it will forever be called a theory.

Therefore, saying "evolution isn't true because it is called a theory" is an empty statement. Calling something a theory is not proof against it. You want to say evolution is not true then you need to show where it is wrong. You also need to come up with an alternative explanation with as much proof as evolution has. And no, a archaic book written by an illiterate man does not count.

I find the double standard of religious followers to be laughable. You guys are skeptic of everything science says (Which is good btw. We need skepticism) and demand that it must be backed by the majority of the scientific community including those that dedicate their whole life to the field and then pretend like they don't know as well as you. Then you turn around and point to some old book written by one guy that couldn't read or write and accept that as fact. Or just fully accept the story of a girl being magically pregnant and start worshiping her bastard son as the creator of our universe because one old book says it.

For those of you that still think we are the reason the entire universe was created fail to realise how insignificant we are to the actual existence of this universe. I'll leave you with this cliche of a quote.
ImageBtw, this picture was taken from the edge of our solar system. Before you even get to our closest star neighbor we are already, for all intents and purposes,inconsequential; we are non-existent.

To crock101, we can't stoop to their level of making wild unwarranted observations so if you saying those things at least post a reference to where it was said. Google is your best friend.

MD Marketers
Location: 391-4558 tntresearchers@hotmail.com www.trinidadforsale.com

Postby MD Marketers » December 30th, 2015, 9:07 am

bluesclues wrote:
Slartibartfast wrote:
bluesclues wrote:you can all talk and bash me. but meanwhile i just sent a few hundred scholars reeling when i informed them of Jesus true race. i provided them with irrefutable evidence. thus, you can expect the pope to make an announcement on Jesus true race after much delay and deliberation.

So what was his race?
What was the evidence?
When can we expect the Pope to make an announcement by?

he was mixed race. thus.. not pure white.. AT ALLLL

The evidence was in their very own scripture of the old testament. the full description of the family tree of divinity, it's offspring and their marriages, the nations they formed. following the family tree it is clear not only how each of the races began, but how they mixed themselves into the bloodline of Christ in i believe... perfectly equal amounts. guided by God to prevent genetic abnormalities between the 3 families of the sons of Noah, .. Shem, Ham and Japheth, who were asian, black and caucasian respectively.

he should make the anouncement when he figures out how he is going to word it. it is unlikely he will take the brazzen approach as it will require some backing up with thorough wisdom. but we may expect something like... "it is possible that Jesus wasnt a pure caucasian male". or "We have reason to believe that Jesus presented a mix of sorts". or something to that effect. there's a world of racist christians who wont take it well let's just say.

as a Jesuit priest, i think he may well go with the term ive adopted. a term not foreign to them at all. meso-asiatic(meso-asianic). meaning he was a mix of peoples from mesopotamian/babylonian region and asians. the meso regions included blacks and whites.. so.. easy pickins. EVERYBODY EENSIDE!!

Noah? 3 hornermen stowed away on the ark?
How can one man give seed to 3 completely different pure races? They would all have to be mixed races and not pure if they are to carry his blood line considering that he himself was of neither ethnicity. It's a clear fantasy & any explanation of how this fantasy can be true is going to require another fantasy.

MD Marketers

Postby MD Marketers » December 30th, 2015, 9:40 am

metalgear2095 wrote:
York wrote:the bible is flawed, not preserved, tampered with...

The Koran is a story book inspired by the bible.

Sent from my D6653 using Tapatalk

The Qur'an seems to be without flaws though. The Hadith are literally riddled with flaws however.
Any Hadeeth following Muslim has no right to use the argument that the "bible is flawed" when he himself follows flaw riddled Hadeeth.

MD Marketers

Postby MD Marketers » December 30th, 2015, 9:49 am

MG Man wrote:they will know I had bacon for breakfast, accuse my poop of being an infidel, and behead it

Made my day :D

crock101

Postby crock101 » December 30th, 2015, 10:31 am

It's not my understanding of the word theory , it is the accepted understanding of the word theory by the whole scientific community

crock101

Postby crock101 » December 30th, 2015, 10:45 am

I have nothing against Muslims or any other religious group,what I do have a problem with are the horrendous ideas that they all perpetuate.
To all the people who say I should leave it all alone because religion doesn't hurt anybody,let me destroy that argument.
Christian crusades,Salem witch trials,9/11,jewish holocaust,Atlantic slave trade,1990 attempted coup, just to name a few.
Tell me how it has nothing to do with religion

Postby rspann » December 30th, 2015, 10:49 am

Religion never caused all those things, it was misguided people with strange interpretations who did these things. There are atheists who do real madness too.

crock101

Postby crock101 » December 30th, 2015, 10:50 am

The Catholic church is the largest single employer of pedophiles on the planet.
Can anyone prove me wrong?

Postby MG Man » December 30th, 2015, 11:16 am

rspann wrote:Religion never caused all those things, it was misguided people with strange interpretations who did these things. There are atheists who do real madness too.

humans will always find ways to create barriers, prejudice and hate, be it religion, skin colour, geographic location.....thing is, religion gives a particular group justification or even legitimacy....it's ok to perform atrocities as long as it's in the name of god....as an atheist, you're just a monster or an earshole.......
Religion can never be a good thing because in most cases, it tells its followers that THEY are right and the others are wrong, and should be punished...it becomes an excuse and justification for bad behaviour

crock101

Postby crock101 » December 30th, 2015, 3:46 pm

Just imagine if I were to say that I truly believed in a flying spaghetti monster who loved me and only me because of my naturally curly hair and anyone without curly hair should should be put in jail and the key thrown away. I would be laughed out of town , which would be well deserved.also anyone who didn't believe in the spaghetti monster were the ones who had to prove that he didn't exist.
While on a daily basis these street preachers tell children passing by that if they don't accept Jesus as their Lord and saviour they will die an agonizing death after which they will be tortured for the rest of eternity in a fiery pit by pitchfork wielding demons.
This is the very essence of terrorism ,if you can see that one is unacceptable then should be able to eventually see that both are unacceptable

York

Postby York » December 30th, 2015, 7:11 pm

MD Marketers wrote:
metalgear2095 wrote:

The Qur'an seems to be without flaws though. The Hadith are literally riddled with flaws however.
Any Hadeeth following Muslim has no right to use the argument that the "bible is flawed" when he himself follows flaw riddled Hadeeth.

MD, yuh in need of guidance...

York

Postby York » December 30th, 2015, 7:17 pm

crock101 wrote:Just imagine if I were to say that I truly believed in a flying spaghetti monster who loved me and only me because of my naturally curly hair and anyone without curly hair should should be put in jail and the key thrown away. I would be laughed out of town , which would be well deserved.also anyone who didn't believe in the spaghetti monster were the ones who had to prove that he didn't exist.
While on a daily basis these street preachers tell children passing by that if they don't accept Jesus as their Lord and saviour they will die an agonizing death after which they will be tortured for the rest of eternity in a fiery pit by pitchfork wielding demons.
This is the very essence of terrorism ,if you can see that one is unacceptable then should be able to eventually see that both are unacceptable

Is that what they told you? Grace = get out of hell free card!

MD Marketers

Postby MD Marketers » December 30th, 2015, 10:39 pm

York wrote:
MD Marketers wrote:
metalgear2095 wrote:

Then guide me:
Are the sahih hadeeth you follow flawless unlike the bible you condemn?
Yes or No?
If "No" then why would you criticize the bible for it's flaws?

Awaiting your "guidance"

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » December 31st, 2015, 8:02 am

crock101 wrote:It's not my understanding of the word theory , it is the accepted understanding of the word theory by the whole scientific community
that is NOT the accepted understanding of the word theory by the whole scientific community,the scientific community says that your understanding is one of a misconception ...see below

Slartibartfast wrote:
megadoc1 wrote:

No it is quite correct.
No you are wrong let me show you your error

Slartibartfast wrote:A theory is like an upgraded hypothesis. A hypothesis becomes a theory when is has gone through significant attempts to be proven wrongly and has not been proven wrong. It must also have a lot of information supporting it as well. Scientists call something a theory when they are pretty sure that it is true but are unable to directly observe or test it.

Misconception: If evidence supports a hypothesis, it is upgraded to a theory. If the theory then garners even more support, it may be upgraded to a law.

Correction: Hypotheses cannot become theories and theories cannot become laws. Hypotheses, theories, and laws are all scientific explanations but they differ in breadth, not in level of support. Theories apply to a broader range of phenomena than do hypotheses. The term law is sometimes used to refer to an idea about how observable phenomena are related
http://undsci.berkeley.edu/teaching/misconceptions.php#b12

what I was supposed to do is point out to crock101 (well you too since you seemed to be misinformed on the matter also ) that a theory should be able to be proven wrong or modified as tested or as time passes
THEORY: In science, a broad, natural explanation for a wide range of phenomena. Theories are concise, coherent, systematic, predictive, and broadly applicable, often integrating and generalizing many hypotheses. Theories accepted by the scientific community are generally strongly supported by many different lines of evidence-but even theories may be modified or overturned if warranted by new evidence and perspectives
http://undsci.berkeley.edu/glossary/glossary_popup.php?word=theory
Last edited by megadoc1 on December 31st, 2015, 8:11 am, edited 1 time in total.

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » December 31st, 2015, 8:08 am

crock101 wrote:The Catholic church is the largest single employer of pedophiles on the planet.
Yes I can! as soon as you can provide me with data to support your claim

Postby Slartibartfast » December 31st, 2015, 9:12 am

megadoc1 wrote:
crock101 wrote:The Catholic church is the largest single employer of pedophiles on the planet.
Since when do you need data to support a claim. Have faith.

Postby Slartibartfast » December 31st, 2015, 9:19 am

megadoc1 wrote:
Misconception: If evidence supports a hypothesis, it is upgraded to a theory. If the theory then garners even more support, it may be upgraded to a law.

Correction: Hypotheses cannot become theories and theories cannot become laws. Hypotheses, theories, and laws are all scientific explanations but they differ in breadth, not in level of support.Hypotheses are explanations that are limited in scope, applying to fairly narrow range of phenomena. The term law is sometimes used to refer to an idea about how observable phenomena are related — but the term is also used in other ways within science. Theories are deep explanations that apply to a broad range of phenomena and that may integrate many hypotheses and laws.[/b] Theories apply to a broader range of phenomena than do hypotheses. The term law is sometimes used to refer to an idea about how observable phenomena are related

THEORY: In science, a broad, natural explanation for a wide range of phenomena. Theories are concise, coherent, systematic, predictive, and broadly applicable, often integrating and generalizing many hypotheses. Theories accepted by the scientific community are generally strongly supported by many different lines of evidence-but even theories may be modified or overturned if warranted by new evidence and perspectives
http://undsci.berkeley.edu/glossary/glossary_popup.php?word=theory
Good info! My apologies. I stand corrected. <----- See what I did here. I changed my mind when more reliable information was presented.

However, note that the main idea of my argument is still applicable.

Slartibartfast wrote:Now tell me what would an explicit explanation of evolution look like? Evolution is based on so many unknown factors and is so unique from species to species that it is impossible to come up with an all encompassing one liner to explain it. Also, due to the timeline of evolution it cannot be directly observed. This means that even if evolution is 100% true, it will forever be called a theory.

Therefore, saying "evolution isn't true because it is called a theory" is an empty statement. Calling something a theory is not proof against it. You want to say evolution is not true then you need to show where it is wrong. You also need to come up with an alternative explanation with as much proof as evolution has. And no, a archaic book written by an illiterate man does not count.

EDIT: That article you posted is actually a very good read. I strongly encourage everyone to give it a read through.

EDIT 2: Just included (in red) some vital information that you left out. It seems that saying "if something was true it wouldn't be called a theory" is a much stupider argument than I originally thought. Again, thanks for that informative post. I'm unsure what point you were trying to prove though.
Last edited by Slartibartfast on December 31st, 2015, 9:38 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby rspann » December 31st, 2015, 9:36 am

So in other words, he talking a whole set of crock?

York

Postby York » December 31st, 2015, 10:33 am

MD Marketers wrote:
York wrote:
MD Marketers wrote:
metalgear2095 wrote:

Then guide me:
Are the sahih hadeeth you follow flawless unlike the bible you condemn?
Yes or No?
If "No" then why would you criticize the bible for it's flaws?

Awaiting your "guidance"

Seek guidance from God, be sincere, yes sincere....if HE wills the needed guidance will be sent through the creation. Maybe me or someone else.

York

Postby York » December 31st, 2015, 10:42 am

crock101 wrote:Just imagine if I were to say that I truly believed in a flying spaghetti monster who loved me and only me because of my naturally curly hair and anyone without curly hair should should be put in jail and the key thrown away.

So ur a bangwagonist and victim of racial discrimination? Good news, God and Islam does not discriminate, HE looks at your heart and your deeds.

crock101

Postby crock101 » December 31st, 2015, 11:35 am

I'm just making a point that people see prejudice when it is aimed at them but are conveniently blind to it when they stand to gain from it.
And as far as the pedophile training institute...I mean Catholic church,until a story breaks that shows a larger organization having more pedophiles in its employ ,I will continue to assume that they are the largest single employer of pedophiles on the planet.This claim is based on the number of rape and molestation claims made against its employees ,as well as how many priests have admitted to to their crimes.
Please tell me of this rival pedophile organization that you claim to know of, but something tells me that you that you made that up in a poor attempt to seem formidable.

crock101

Postby crock101 » December 31st, 2015, 11:43 am

People who believe in the healing power of prayer have no business in a doctors waiting room, you have much better means of getting better , you are wasting the doctors time and holding back the nonbelievers in the line.

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » December 31st, 2015, 2:44 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:However, note that the main idea of my argument is still applicable.

Slartibartfast wrote:Now tell me what would an explicit explanation of evolution look like? Evolution is based on so many unknown factors and is so unique from species to species that it is impossible to come up with an all encompassing one liner to explain it. Also, due to the timeline of evolution it cannot be directly observed. This means that even if evolution is 100% true, it will forever be called a theory.

am, All I intended to do is point out the misconception that crock (and you)had regarding theory,its not my desire to argue for or against evolution,that is something I sit back and listen to scholars do!
so you may be addressing the wrong person

Slartibartfast wrote:
megadoc1 wrote:
no need for games , I am asking the person who wants to be proven wrong to present the data that convinced him in the first place ...lol but you may be on to something,maybe he made a statement based on faith correct?
Last edited by megadoc1 on January 1st, 2016, 11:36 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Slartibartfast » December 31st, 2015, 8:07 pm

megadoc1 wrote:
Slartibartfast wrote:However, note that the main idea of my argument is still applicable.

am, All I intended to do is point out the misconception that crock (and you)had regarding theory,its not my desire to argue for or against evolution,that is something I sit back and listen to scholars do!
so you may be addressing the wrong person

Slartibartfast wrote:
megadoc1 wrote:
no need for games , I am asking the person who wants to be proven wrong to present the data that convinced him in the first place ...lol but you may be on to something,maybe he made a statement based on faith correct?

Lmao... Most likely. No doubt the church has its share of pedophiles but I'm not aware of any source that backs up his claims. At least Jesus was sleepimg around with a 12 year old right.

crock101

Postby crock101 » January 1st, 2016, 12:04 pm

Sources really? Does anybody watch the news?is it really still a secret anymore?
I don't know about Jesus banging 12 year olds,but according to the Quran,Mohammed married a 6 year old girl and started having sex with her/rape her when she was 9.Muslims are expected to emulate Mohammed,this does not seem to be in the best interests of little girls.
Did you know that in Trinidad, today a grown man can legally marry a 12 year old girl under the Muslim marriage act,in other words,buy a sex slave.it was brought up in the Senate last year and was shot down immediately ,so as to protect the religious freedom of these sadistic bastards to rape children.
At first I was very sceptical of this until I saw an actual form from the Mt. Hope women's hospital showing a 13 year old girl ,7 months pregnant for her husband a 56 year old man.Tell me what 13 year old do you know of who wants the drooping, wrinkled balls of a 56 year old flopping around on top of her.
People always talk about protecting children but seem to back off if they think religion is involved .
The person who showed me the form could have lost their job, imagine risking your job to expose legalized pedophilia and still nothing gets done about it.

Postby Habit7 » January 1st, 2016, 12:21 pm

Postby Slartibartfast » January 1st, 2016, 1:25 pm

Crock I fully agree with you. Look over my previous posts and you would see that I share your sentiments. However, it's hypocritical to down cry religious folk for making unwarranted assertions when you turn around and do the same.

As far as I know, there is no source that states the Catholic church is the biggest employer of pedophiles. If you said the Church doesn't do enough to stop it or that the Church hides acts of pedophilia to avoid bad publicity then I would be in full support of you. A quick google search should point you to articles supporting those claims.

At the end of the day it makes just as little sense to take atheism on faith alone as it does to take any religion on faith alone. Therefore, the only way to point to atheism as something reasonable is to back up you arguments/assertions with sound reasoning, real world events and/or facts. If your argument is shown to have a flaw in it then it is only natural that you update/change your argument (like I did previously where I used the words, "hypothesis", "theory" and "laws" wrong).

PS. Muhammed married a 9 year old and waited until she was at the much more respectable age of 12 before having sex with her. York could correct me on this but I believe he also "saved" her from her own blasphemous tribe/family.