Slartibartfast wrote:Therefore, your golden rule is an atheist by definition. It does not make any reference to the belief in any God or religion whatsoever. How do you feel knowing that you follow atheist morals?
Slartibartfast wrote:I love the fact that the two of you replied to the one post I said to ignore. Anyway, Habit you clearly missed this post. You never replied to it.
Habit7 wrote:You are the one who needs to prove that the Confucius moral law you adher to is grounded in atheistic ideology....all while claiming that atheism has no ideology.
Slartibartfast wrote:
3. Show which part of that Golden Rule references a belief in any sort of God. If it does not then it is an atheist moral belief. That means as a Christian, you base all of you morals and values on atheism. Howdya like dem apples!
Definition quoted below once again for your ease of reference.atheism
noun
disbelief or lack of belief in the existence of God or gods.
Slartibartfast wrote:As stated before. There is the direct proof.Slartibartfast wrote:
3. Show which part of that Golden Rule references a belief in any sort of God. If it does not then it is an atheist moral belief. That means as a Christian, you base all of you morals and values on atheism. Howdya like dem apples!
Definition quoted below once again for your ease of reference.atheism
noun
disbelief or lack of belief in the existence of God or gods.
bluesclues wrote:what you can say.. is taht atheists recognize how wise those words are, and agree with them even though they came from a religious/spiritual source.
the universal message presented by religion doesnt change
bluesclues wrote:the part where it come from the mouth of a man of God son.
make ur own contributions and claim credit for it. the fundamentals of english still stand here.
Slartibartfast wrote:bluesclues wrote:the part where it come from the mouth of a man of God son.
You have to believe that the Christains are the one with the correct idea of God.
Ancient Egypt[edit]
Possibly the earliest affirmation of reciprocity reflecting the Ancient Egyptian god, Maat, who appears in the story of The Eloquent Peasant, which dates to the Middle Kingdom (c. 2040 – c. 1650 BC): "Now this is the command: Do to the doer to make him do."[10][11] This proverb embodies the do ut des principle.[12] A Late Period (c. 664 BC – 323 BC) papyrus contains an early negative affirmation of the Golden Rule: "That which you hate to be done to you, do not do to another."[13]
Hillel the Elder (c. 110 BCE – 10 CE),[21] used this verse as a most important message of the Torah for his teachings. Once, he was challenged by a gentile who asked to be converted under the condition that the Torah be explained to him while he stood on one foot. Hillel accepted him as a candidate for conversion to Judaism but, drawing on Leviticus 19:18, briefed the man:
What is hateful to you, do not do to your fellow: this is the whole Torah; the rest is the explanation; go and learn.
— Shabbath folio:31a, Babylonian Talmud
i have to admit i've never heard of sumerians before but this just leads to more questions for me to ask you.
1. who is the prophet?
2. who wrote the torah and in what year?
a quick google search brought me to sites claiming sumerian kings ruling as far back as 40,000 years bc.
3.how old is mankind according to the bible? ie. adam and eve. i've alway heard about 6000 years. is that wrong?
GRIM wrote:@bluesclues so yuh bypass my 3 questions an jump on the "comedian" christopher hitchens who never claim to be a scientist. i didnt want to plagiarize what the man say so i take it as a quote
you talkin bout archaeological evidence. where is the archaeological evidence to prove moses and the israelites were at mt sinai, in addition you will have to show where exactly mt sinai is located (knowing that its never been found)
also curious how many israelites did moses free (50,000 / 1 million / 2 million)
and i still waiting for short (if possible) answers for my previous questions.i have to admit i've never heard of sumerians before but this just leads to more questions for me to ask you.
1. who is the prophet?
2. who wrote the torah and in what year?
a quick google search brought me to sites claiming sumerian kings ruling as far back as 40,000 years bc.
3.how old is mankind according to the bible? ie. adam and eve. i've alway heard about 6000 years. is that wrong?
Slartibartfast wrote:Sigh. Bluesclues yes. Never fail to disappoint. You went really off topic there and still didn't directly address my argument. We are talking about objective truths and morals here. It doesn't matter what you think. Even if you think all of the religions have it right even though they contradict one another. Your beliefs are subjective and have no place in an objective argument. Also, like I told Habit, just because you say it doesn't make it true. Your first two paragraphs in your first reply are so filled with baseless assertions that it makes no sense to address them.
The third paragraph is just completely irrelevant again. Just because primitive tribes lacked the contemporary knowledge that we are privy to and attributed a lot of natural phemomena to a God doesn't mean they were right. In fact, in many cases they were proven wrong.
I will however like to point out that you showed where Christianity stole myths from other disproved religions to create its own. You present proof against Christianity as though it proves Christianity is correct. I find it difficult to argue with someone that has no grasp of logic or reason. Are you arguing for or against Christianity?
Btw, still waiting to find out which part of my "logic" burnt you eyes. Lol
Yet I have been the LORD your God Since the land of Egypt; And
you were not to know any god except Me, For there is no savior
besides Me.
crock101 wrote:You guys do realize that these "holy books" are not evidence for the existence of God,they are the claim that God exists. It's the same as saying that a comic book is evidence for the existence of Spiderman , that simply will not do.