FATAL Accident near Tarouba Stadium

Postby Greypatch » January 26th, 2010, 7:24 am

Team Loco wrote:just back from the wake. heard firsthand an eyewitness report. guy was driving right behind the, its not good. lets just say speed was a factor, and a sealand container truck and a certain skyline

if yuh posting post everything not pieces...

Who has the entire story ?

Postby Rooki3 » January 26th, 2010, 7:26 am

Greypatch, they're a few comments here http://guardian.co.tt/news/general/2010 ... ment-32507

the fact is ppl are clouding their judgement with emotion!

they can't come top terms & admit that WRX posse was wrong!

FriendlyFire

Postby FriendlyFire » January 26th, 2010, 7:28 am

paparazzi

The accident happened just after 4pm so questions will be raised about the possibility of another skyline being around at just around the same time considering the limited number of skylines in the country . Don't be surprised if your presence in the area is seen as suspicious by some people.

1. Its easy to assume that if two high performance cars are seen heading up the highway together or even remotely close to each other that they are racing. The truth is that many so called races only involve the vehicle in the rear trying to pass the car in front and may have nothing to do with anybody trying to race. Overtaking is not necessarily racing.

2. It is possible that the driver of the car was simply trying to catch up or keep up with another car and tried to evade a hazzard ahead and lost control. This does not mean speeding but simply driving too fast for the unplanned and unexpected events that followed.

3. Even though speeding may not be a factor, speed still is. (Many tuners here may find it difficult to distinguish between speeding and speed)
Last edited by FriendlyFire on January 26th, 2010, 7:32 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby crazybalhead » January 26th, 2010, 7:29 am

Wow...lots of people actually saw the car on the road before...

paparazzi

Postby paparazzi » January 26th, 2010, 7:34 am

true true. it's happened to me countless times, all manner of cars pull next to me evos, subbys, nissans and throw cmments/ rev engines etc. and follow me for miles

Postby crazybalhead » January 26th, 2010, 7:36 am

I usually slow down. They call me a name, tell me how slow my car is and rev out.

:| :| :|

Postby Rooki3 » January 26th, 2010, 7:52 am

:?
The 'young guy in the subaru' lives in my area and is well-known in our area for his speeding

^^ from the guardian again................i can't feel sorry for dat phoquer!

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » January 26th, 2010, 7:58 am

2 performance cars side by side = street racing

2 nissan B11,12,13 14 or cubes side by side = bandit parade!

Postby SR » January 26th, 2010, 7:58 am

only the driver of the subaru is to be blamed

its was thier choice to drive fast no one forced them

not because vehicle x drivign fast means u need to run after them

yuh know how many times i blow up meh horn for crazyballhead to move outa d fast lane

damn evo driver doin 40kph on a morning

Postby Rooki3 » January 26th, 2010, 8:02 am

evo-STI-k, :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby wagonrunner » January 26th, 2010, 8:24 am

SR wrote:only the driver of the subaru is to be blamed

but what d hell you saying?
nah man.
yuh eh see all dem posts absolving them of such responsibility?
Is the gov't / police / santa / everyone else who was on the road at that time / Atari's fault.

Postby wagon r » January 26th, 2010, 8:31 am

Team Loco wrote:just back from the wake. heard firsthand an eyewitness report. guy was driving right behind the, its not good. lets just say speed was a factor, and a sealand container truck and a certain skyline

....well, i got some news this morning too, we checked their names in the system and the husband came up. came to do a class in 2008 for the insurance for the WRX.....

2nd student i have lost.

Postby Aaron 2NR » January 26th, 2010, 8:42 am

SR wrote:only the driver of the subaru is to be blamed

but what d hell you saying?
nah man.
yuh eh see all dem posts absolving them of such responsibility?
Is the gov't / police / santa / everyone else who was on the road at that time / Atari's fault.

i speak for myself with my comments...

i in no post said the wrx driver was right or wrong....but there are measures that should also be put in place by the GOVERNMENT and ministry to ensure that the road is safe....

yes its our first responsibility to be safe and follow the law, but accidents and mechanical failure do happen, tire blow out etc which could also lead to an incident like the one above......

just like in the industry, if someone is working on an elevated platform, you'll say its his responsibility to be safe so we dont need to put any form of restraint for them. ie. guard rail system etc ????
at the job site safety is placed so high but yet as soon as the leave the gates, it goes out our head......

when the highways were designed, only a certain number of vehicles and vehicular traffic was taken into account. over the years so many other vehicles came on the roadways without any major improvements and upgrades to our highway system. on average its about 30,000+ new cars on the road per year.......

do the math,

back then lets say they catered for even 20,000 cars on the roadway at a given hr....now its about 50,000 + in that said area in given time......

at the end of the day its another wake up call for the motorist on the roadways......

Postby eliteauto » January 26th, 2010, 8:54 am

allyuh feel syncros cheap???

<object width="480" height="303" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" id="embid55909" data="http://www.pond5.com/pond5FlashPlayer2.swf"><param name="movie" value="http://www.pond5.com/pond5FlashPlayer2.swf" /><param name="wmode" value="opaque"/><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"/><param name="allowfullscreen" value="true"/><param name="flashvars" value="hideController=no&itemid=55909&orgClipWidth=720&orgClipHeight=576&debug=no&hqFLV=yes&filetype=flv&server=prod&cj=yes" /><embed src="http://www.pond5.com/pond5FlashPlayer2.swf" width="480" height="303" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" wmode="opaque" flashvars="hideController=no&itemid=55909&orgClipWidth=720&orgClipHeight=576&debug=no&hqFLV=yes&filetype=flv&server=prod&cj=yes"/></object>

Postby Greypatch » January 26th, 2010, 9:31 am

guardian had an article today again..still have the WRONG information..

cannot even get the make of the pick up correct.

still wating on the whole story..

skyline , container.

ppl alluh could blame the govt, road all day long..

at the end of the day adjust to the conditions or dead like nit on de road.

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » January 26th, 2010, 9:33 am

This whole incident is still very upsetting, however one can't help but chuckle at comments like this:

FriendlyFire wrote:This does not mean speeding but simply driving too fast for the unplanned and unexpected events that followed...

"not speeding"...I'm guessing is similar to un-slowing?

Postby wagonrunner » January 26th, 2010, 9:42 am

Greypatch wrote:at the end of the day adjust to the conditions or dead like nit on de road.

wait wait wait.
same problem as mentioned before. it have people who simply cannot accept responsibility for their actions.
the blame MUST lie somewhere else.

"a bad drive" is simply you not not evaluating the possible changes in situation, and adjusting to suit.
how many times in this thread, and others like it, was that phrase used?
think the persons who used it perspective / mentality changed?
lemme get an aqualung so i could hold my breath.

xtech

Postby xtech » January 26th, 2010, 9:58 am

pioneer wrote:Wha was wrong wid de 2 yr old prado's and almerai?

Couldn't that money be spent to equip the police with radar guns and revamp the licensing system?

yachties in chaguramas does laugh at our military men.

They said that all they do is drive around in heavily tinted sports cars and SUVs

FriendlyFire

Postby FriendlyFire » January 26th, 2010, 10:05 am

Notorious Scullman wrote:This whole incident is still very upsetting, however one can't help but chuckle at comments like this:

FriendlyFire wrote:This does not mean speeding but simply driving too fast for the unplanned and unexpected events that followed...

"not speeding"...I'm guessing is similar to un-slowing?

Chuckle all you want but if you putting something I say in quotation marks then write the correct thing.

"...does not mean speeding..." is far different from what you posted which was "not speeding" so try un-posting your error.

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » January 26th, 2010, 10:08 am

"does not mean speeding"..."means not speeding"

6 of one, half a dozen of the other. Still a load of BS on your part.

FriendlyFire

Postby FriendlyFire » January 26th, 2010, 10:15 am

Scullman

I didn't think that point 3. in my previous post would ever apply to a moderator of your experience.

Perhaps we all need to slow down a bit and try to understand what each other is saying and not go rushing (racing) to quick judgements and accusations.

For clarification (and I might fail with this one):

Speeding is what you do when you moving at an excessive rate of speed i.e. in excess of what may reasonably be required.

Speed is simply the distance traveled divided by the time taken to travel that distance.

Everything that moves has speed but everything that has speed isn't necessarily speeding in the context I have been using the term "speeding"

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » January 26th, 2010, 10:16 am

http://guardian.co.tt/news/general/2010 ... ss-wrecked

new article today with the guardian changing its tune...

FriendlyFire

Postby FriendlyFire » January 26th, 2010, 10:22 am

Notorious Scullman wrote:"does not mean speeding"..."means not speeding"

6 of one, half a dozen of the other. Still a load of BS on your part.

Perhaps I should have used the term racing instead of speeding to better convey my point.

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » January 26th, 2010, 10:37 am

FriendlyFire wrote:For clarification (and I might fail with this one):

Speeding is what you do when you moving at an excessive rate of speed i.e. in excess of what may reasonably be required.

Yes you failed because you earlier said:

FriendlyFire wrote:2. It is possible that the driver of the car was simply trying to catch up or keep up with another car and tried to evade a hazzard ahead and lost control. This does not mean speeding but simply driving too fast for the unplanned and unexpected events that followed.

How does "in excess of what may reasonably be required." differ from "too fast for the unplanned and unexpected events that followed."

You've blatantly contradicted yourself.
Quit while you're only so far behind.

FriendlyFire

Postby FriendlyFire » January 26th, 2010, 10:48 am

Scullman

I saw the contradiction, the term "speeding" was used in the trini context of "racing" against another vehicle.

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » January 26th, 2010, 10:50 am

Thank you.
I'm unaware of that Trini context. Pardon my ignorance

FriendlyFire

Postby FriendlyFire » January 26th, 2010, 10:56 am

Notorious Scullman wrote:
FriendlyFire wrote:For clarification (and I might fail with this one):

Yes you failed because you earlier said:

FriendlyFire wrote:2. It is possible that the driver of the car was simply trying to catch up or keep up with another car and tried to evade a hazzard ahead and lost control. This does not mean speeding but simply driving too fast for the unplanned and unexpected events that followed.

How does "in excess of what may reasonably be required." differ from "too fast for the unplanned and unexpected events that followed."

You've blatantly contradicted yourself.
Quit while you're only so far behind.

It's reasonable to expect drivers to drive at 80kmph on the highway if that is the speed limit.

Driving at 80kmph does not mean that if something unexpectedly happens you won't get into an accident.

I won't necessarily tell the person who got into an accident whilst going at 80kmph on the highway that they were speeding.

But, if I look at the damage to their vehicle I could say that speed was a factor in determining the extent of the damage.

mitsu4life

Postby mitsu4life » January 26th, 2010, 11:29 am

All these accidents have me feeling bummy know that my car has been proven to crumple like foil :(

someone mentioned that if the van was going slower....

how do you react to something like this regardless of what speed your going?
(i dont know how to embed so if someone wants to)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bAmwg8GAAVc

neoise

Postby neoise » January 26th, 2010, 11:49 am