.:The Official Windows Phone 7/8 Thread:.

original_lollybob

Re: .:The Official Windows Phone 7/8 Thread:.

Postby original_lollybob » July 31st, 2012, 1:43 pm

thats great man...

was the os on the card or did u have to instal a custom rom?

Postby gastly369 » July 31st, 2012, 1:47 pm

nope was on phone just had to hard rest phone with the new card in it ( to format and encrypt the card) and it worked

only part im worried about now is the phone still showing single line when i check the boot loader screen but if it starts up normal mode it works good :\

Postby RASC » August 30th, 2012, 6:19 am

FINALLY... WP8 is upon us.
Samsung has released the first official WP8 device.
Which is basically a remanufactured, US GS3...and we thank them for it.
They threw in a MASSIVE 2300MaH battery, and a 4.8 Super AMOLED screen...dual core 1.5...
This thing will be blazingly fast.

All you WP fans rejoice...by the end of Oct. I think we can safely say we would've passed Blackberry for the 3rd spot title. It's now a 3 man race!

Specs
http://www.gsmarena.com/samsung_ativ_s-4960.php
Pics
http://www.gsmarena.com/samsung_ativ_s- ... s-4960.php

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » August 30th, 2012, 3:46 pm

meh it's ok

waiting to see the Nokia Phi officially

http://www.theverge.com/2012/8/7/322519 ... hone-rumor

Postby gastly369 » August 30th, 2012, 5:14 pm

Now they hv got it right.. Windows phone + expandable memory..

Postby M_2NR » August 31st, 2012, 10:41 am

Getting excited!!!! Lol. I think I'm more excited to use a wp8 device than iOS :oops:

Postby RASC » August 31st, 2012, 10:52 am

Just how polished it is, will pull in alot of bored ios ppl. Don't be surprised if the same demographic toggle between the two due to its clean minimalist designs and uniform looks.

The jumbled cluttered look of android drives me up a wall. I don't know how ppl can stand it.

And added to which there will be so many manufacturers building different types of hardware for this clean look will appeal to alot of ppl WP8 is surely taking BlackBerry's spot this Christmas. And give it a few years before Android feels some heat.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 1st, 2012, 12:42 am

allyuh have real high hopes for WP yes. gl with that :|

Postby M_2NR » September 1st, 2012, 10:52 am

I just happy to see something different. Something that isn't trying to look like iOS or android. There aren't many (well locally) with my view I'm sure :lol: I personally don't see wp8 picking up so much right now as android and iOS has the phone market on lock.
What I see is MS has a chance to bounce back and lots will be looking at them. If they fail, it will be their own fault.

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » September 1st, 2012, 2:44 pm

^
it wont fail...

that new Samsung Wp8 device is gorgeous and with what Nokia is gonna announce on wed... wp8 sales and user adoption gonna skyrocket

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » September 1st, 2012, 3:10 pm

original_lollybob wrote:^
it wont fail...

that new Samsung Wp8 device is gorgeous and with what Nokia is gonna announce on wed... wp8 sales and user adoption gonna skyrocket

That why my next device is after s3 is the windows phone platform ... Not ios. I think they're on to something.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 1st, 2012, 7:26 pm

not saying it would fail though, just saying that i don't see it being anywhere near successful as iOS and Android and being any competition to those 2 platforms.

i was waiting for the comment that WP8 and Nokia/Samsung/whoever gonna make sales skyrocket.
seriously, allyuh really don't hear this same thing year after year? :|
if i really wanted to, i'm sure i could quote at least one person on this forum making the same comment since WP came out.

but it went something like this:

WP7 is here! look out iPhone/Android!

WP7.5 is here! look out iPhone/Android!

Nokia/Microsoft partnership for WP! oh em gee! they gonna rule da worlddd!

and now: WP8/Nokia/Samsung/whoever gonna make sales skyrocket!

*awaits HighHopes2013*

but seriously, wished Nokia went with Android. would have loved to see what they could do with that platform. still, those Lumia phones real sweet and i'm rooting for WP8 to really take off so i can go back to my beloved Nokia 8-)

Postby M_2NR » September 1st, 2012, 7:49 pm

I waiting for those lumia 800/900 to go on an epic sale when people realize it aint getting updated. That design is still sweet and imho one of the best.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 1st, 2012, 8:02 pm

yeah for the right price, dont mind getting one to use as a secondary phone. too bad it not getting updated though...

tiger balm

Postby tiger balm » September 1st, 2012, 9:11 pm

Can't wait for Wed to see what Nokia announces officially. Apparently "official" images of the Phi and Arrow have been leaked. Hope the specs are on par of the Samsung Ativ S and that at least one more phone will be announced. There's also a rumor out that Nokia will also reveal a Windows (RT?) tablet. Excited for Wed and hope Nokia comes good!

I know this has been said before but I really think other manufacturers will give WP more attention this rounds. HTC are losing/ barely maintaining their market share with Android and there are reports that Samsung intends to give WP more attention in light of their problems with Apple. Guess we'll see in time...

Postby gastly369 » September 1st, 2012, 9:36 pm

not saying it would fail though, just saying that i don't see it being anywhere near successful as iOS and Android and being any competition to those 2 platforms.

ppl use to say the same ting at a time when android was young

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » September 4th, 2012, 10:47 am

Nokia Lumia 920 to include wireless charging, 32GB storage, and 8-megapixel camera

http://www.theverge.com/2012/9/3/328665 ... a-pureview

and

Nokia Lumia 820 to include wireless charging, exchangeable covers, and microSD slot

http://www.theverge.com/2012/9/3/328854 ... in/3047648

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 4th, 2012, 8:21 pm

really liking how the Lumia 920 is shaping up. let's hope MS can deliver on the software side. like The Verge says, they need to address certain things to really get ppl to start switching...

Although Microsoft is consistently adding new and improved features to Windows Phone — some of which cannot be found in rival mobile operating systems — the platform still lacks some basics that hold it back. There's no smart dialing in the Phone app, no screen capture, a lack of VPN support, no notification center, and it's saddled with odd app switching: curent versions force you to hold the back button to provide a task switcher interface that will resume apps. If users launch an app and tap the home button then it suspends, but it only resumes fully using the task switcher. I would personally like to see this behavior altered so that apps resume no matter how they're launched.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 5th, 2012, 12:17 am

gastly369 wrote:

yes but was Android's growth ever declining at any point in time?

Nokiasoft was supposed to save WP

Postby RASC » September 5th, 2012, 7:11 am

Today is the day folks. With this new kernel alot of the old issues are no more.Nokia's WP8 is live in two hours!

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » September 5th, 2012, 8:21 am

Swisha wrote:
gastly369 wrote:

yes but was Android's growth ever declining at any point in time?

Nokiasoft was supposed to save WP

well clearly thats to be expected.. WP8 with no support for legacy devices was announced what, 2 months ago?

i sounding real fan boyish eh :D

but u really have a to a super Android or iOS fan to not recognise how good WP is...
and well u prolly blind if u think Samsung or any Android phone is better designed or better looking than any Lumia

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » September 5th, 2012, 8:24 am

RASC wrote:Today is the day folks. With this new kernel alot of the old issues are no more.Nokia's WP8 is live in two hours!

liveblogs @

http://live.theverge.com/windows-phone- ... microsoft/

http://www.engadget.com/2012/09/05/live ... one-event/

Postby gastly369 » September 5th, 2012, 10:55 am

decent TT app

http://www.windowsphone.com/en-GB/apps/ ... fb914d574b

Get Cinema Listings and Movie Show Times on your Windows Phone® Device! You can now be up to date on the latest movies, and when you can see them, via the Trinidad & Tobago Cinema App by TriniBerry.com. Go to http://www.triniberry.com to learn more.

You still get all the usual info of course, such as:

- Movie Show Times
- Side-by-side Movietowne and Cinemas 8 Show Times
- Movie Plot Summary and extended Information

Please note that you need an internet connection (4G, EDGE, Wifi) to use this application.

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » September 5th, 2012, 12:26 pm

Looks nice

Last edited by shaneelal on September 5th, 2012, 6:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby gastly369 » September 5th, 2012, 12:41 pm

^^ oh my..

tiger balm

Postby tiger balm » September 5th, 2012, 7:58 pm

Does anyone know if WP8 has an embedded fm radio like WP7?

Nokia need to stop all the leaks they experience. Enjoy getting some leaks but not ALL!! There were no surprises as the key details were already leaked.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 5th, 2012, 9:00 pm

is Apple the only company that announces new products with prices and release dates?! :S

some of these other companies should really take a cue from Apple in terms of marketing yes

Postby M_2NR » September 5th, 2012, 9:03 pm

The nokias look sweeettt!

RASC wrote:Today is the day folks. With this new kernel alot of the old issues are no more.

Except Blue Screens :lol:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 7th, 2012, 12:06 pm

Nokia fakes Lumia 920 PureView video recording quality.

How embarrassing! It turns out the very impressive Nokia demo video for their PureView camera technology is a fake.

"The accompanying demo video, which featured a woman riding a bike, was pretty impressive, but technology blog The Verge soon spotted a glaring error. Nokia made it look like the woman was shot by a companion who was also riding a bike, but a reflection in the video showed that she was actually shot by someone in a van holding a much larger camera and accompanied by a lighting crew." (http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2409341,00.asp)

Postby M_2NR » September 7th, 2012, 5:34 pm

The Verge then went on to test the said camera. It lived up to its name
http://www.theverge.com/2012/9/7/329978 ... res-photos