BBQ question to coal or not to coal

Postby X_Factor » January 24th, 2010, 8:45 am

^ well for me, pure bbq sauce imo is a bit strong and overbearing, soo i usually combine bbq sauce and ketchup till it strikes a balance for me
in addition to some pine or orange juice, black & white pepper, normal hot peppers, some soy sauce,etc and taste as u go

Postby X_Factor » January 25th, 2010, 8:44 pm

so i got my minced lamb and chicken and tried some patties
they taste really nice, good flavours but the texture was really solid and hard

anyone can guess what went wrong?...

i combined 2lbs of minced chicken with 1/2lb of lamb
and about 1/3cup of bread crumbs and 1 egg
i think i used too much bread crumbs?

Postby cinco » January 25th, 2010, 9:11 pm

might want to try more lamb less chicken and breadcrumbs
lamd is fattier chicken tends to be drier

Postby SR » January 25th, 2010, 9:21 pm

was thinking the same thing
chicken probably dried out as well as too much bread crumbs for my liking

did some lamb tonight on the grill
gonna modify it this weekend with a secondary grill to hold the ceramic brickets and wood chunks just above the burner splash guards

Postby X_Factor » January 25th, 2010, 9:36 pm

cool, thanx for the reply

i'll modify the recipe and try it again probably on friday or so

SR, u modifying it to introduce a smoke flavour with the wood chunks and brickets?

Postby pugboy » January 25th, 2010, 9:44 pm

fattier meat helps, chicken is a lean meat for mince
some places have their mincer set too fine so the meat sticks together real firm

Postby X_Factor » January 25th, 2010, 9:45 pm

^^ i think thats posible, i bought it in xtra foods and it was really fine for real!!

Postby SR » January 25th, 2010, 10:11 pm

nah that one in xtra foods good for pies not patties too fine

thats why it dried out reel quick

yeah doing some changes to it for smoking

pass thru somtime and u will see

also already converted to normal 20lb cylinder instead of the propane tanks

easier to get refills :mrgreen:

Postby X_Factor » February 21st, 2010, 11:18 pm

did this today

i brined the chicken for about 4hrs in sugar, salt and peppers ( experimenting)

used a dryrub on it

then bbq'ed it for roughly 2hrs with a decent sweet/sour bbq sauce
i even sprayed pine juice as i saw it on tv

the taste was quite different than what u buy outside

i expect it to be on the salty side but thankfully it wasnt

the chicken breast wasnt as dry as normal

to bad i dont have the " during or after" pics as i was busy doin some other work..and by the time it was finished everyone was really hungry and they dug in!!

the meat didnt even get to rest!!

Postby Dave » February 22nd, 2010, 8:48 am

i usually use low heat and constantly turning it and a baste everytime its turned

when meat is cooked, then high is turned up for colour and again turned a lil more often and basted also

i have yet to have my ribs, lamb or steak get dry
i also stick up my meat

i got some fish to do some patties for lent nah, will see if method works here

i am a bit skeptical, fish on grill itself or on foil, the one time i did fish it crumbled and lost some through the grill

any ideas of keeping it together?

Postby SR » February 22nd, 2010, 10:14 am

Fish slices 1" thick medium heat and use cooking spray. If u try to turn to early it will stick

MBC Autotronix

Postby MBC Autotronix » February 22nd, 2010, 11:34 am

It also depends on the type of fish...softer fish like red fish, and some salmon tend to mash up and i use foil with these. Otherwise is Kingtish and tuna steaks for it with the cooking spray

Postby pugboy » February 22nd, 2010, 12:19 pm

who sells the ground lamb ?

Postby X_Factor » February 22nd, 2010, 5:24 pm

^^xtra foods is the only place i found that

price varies from 20-25$ a pack

and yeah, softer fishes will flake and mash up easily

look for a tougher fish...kingfish works best for me now since i kinda stopped using the marlin slices

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » February 22nd, 2010, 5:48 pm

IMO, over turning will cause the fish to break up... So please fight the temptation of becoming ah over flipper :lol:

A few weeks ago I pan grilled a few wild salmon fillets and it was amazing. A lil olive oil in the pan, seasoned fish with green seasoning, salt & black pepper then drop he arse in the pan. Medium to high heat to give it ah nice sear on both sides and I left the middle a little pink. Breds let meh tell uh, that sheit was juicy and flavorful.

Usually when I'm grilling fish outside, I use a lot of cooking spray so it don't stick. I also sear it on med-hi heat then move it off to the side so the inside could finish cooking under indirect heat. A nice long metal spatula will help keep the fish together while yuh ready to turn it

tip: rather than loading up the grill all at once, try 1 piece first so yuh could get a feel for the cook time etc. Once yuh master the first piece, then yuh throw the other peices on the grill and yuh good to go

Postby X_Factor » February 22nd, 2010, 5:51 pm

i saw Tru valu selling lamb legs...fack if it wasnt 200+ for one eh!!

Postby Maserati » February 22nd, 2010, 5:55 pm

X_Factor wrote:i saw Tru valu selling lamb legs...fack if it wasnt 200+ for one eh!!

I want to try a lamb leg one of these days, just need to get a good recipe.

Postby X_Factor » February 22nd, 2010, 6:16 pm

^ recipe...hoss....there are tons online and u can use ur own imagination
marinading, injecting, dry rub or a combination of them all

slow cooked wit a few cherry, oak etc wood chunks and a nice sauce

yummmmm!!!

Postby SR » February 22nd, 2010, 6:45 pm

lamb leg

hmmm

i dont see anyone with a rack of lamb though

Postby X_Factor » February 22nd, 2010, 7:39 pm

^ yeah i never seen that myself but i hav a partner working in a meat shop so i may be able to get a rack, but it may not be no bess cut

but i did see like individual ribs selling already

Postby pugboy » February 22nd, 2010, 8:24 pm

I looking to try making my own gyros with the minced lamb,
might try smoking a minced lamb loaf

I made the yoghurt sauce from alton brown recipe and its good to go

Postby SR » February 22nd, 2010, 8:30 pm

i tempted to try a buterball turkey on the grill this weekend

Postby X_Factor » February 22nd, 2010, 8:39 pm

if allyuh want tasters, just gimme a call

pugboy, yuh partner hav the peppers yet?

allyuh doh find one of the most flavourful yet hot peppers is those little cherry peppers!!

Postby pugboy » February 22nd, 2010, 8:44 pm

they just started bearing a few and green, its the first rounds
I think the next rounds will be the real bumper crop, probably next month or so

Postby Chimera » February 22nd, 2010, 9:05 pm

X_Factor wrote:if allyuh want tasters, just gimme a call

pugboy, yuh partner hav the peppers yet?

allyuh doh find one of the most flavourful yet hot peppers is those little cherry peppers!!

I have one of those cherry pepper trees growing by my kitchen door step lol

Postby Chimera » February 22nd, 2010, 9:06 pm

I now start reading this thread tho...a lottt of good info here..hadda try some of these things

mmmmm

Postby X_Factor » February 28th, 2010, 12:20 pm

tried this today, steamed and pan seared fish...with basil, mint, rosemary, black pepper, white pepper, chilli peppers, olive oil, lime etc..
also tried to make a lil vinaigrette with the juices from the steamed one with some white wine and a little more olive oil and a bit more of the greens...

the steamed one is tasting really great!! and with the vinaigrette...WOW!!
the mint and basil flavour is really nice and blends pretty nice with the lime

the pan seared one...is nice but ti needs the vinaigrette to really bring out the flavours ....i rather the steamed one!!

Postby SR » February 28th, 2010, 12:30 pm

just finished doing the turkey on the grill

couldnt get the temp down lower than 300 but i know why

turkey soaked in a brine mix of salt sugar garlic and jerk seasoning
soaked for 24hrs
drained then used a dry rub on the outside
slow cooked for 3 1/2 hrs

Postby pugboy » February 28th, 2010, 1:19 pm