Digicel 4G/HSPA+ Thread

DIGICEL 3G. online...

Postby M_2NR » April 28th, 2012, 4:02 pm

I had to go into POS yesterday. On the way I did a few tests. In a moving car was the first image.

And the latter was when I stopped in POS.

This is on an iPhone 4.

I am really impressed by the service. Throughout the EW corridor I get almost full service and 2-3mbit right through and I wasn't stationary. The only place where service sucks for me is at home >.<. I'm hearing some devices getting up to 14mbit.
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1335643303.855912.jpg
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1335643303.855912.jpg (38.37 KiB) Viewed 5491 times
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1335643294.324128.jpg
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1335643294.324128.jpg (38.84 KiB) Viewed 5491 times

achillies

Re: DIGICEL 3G. online...

Postby achillies » April 28th, 2012, 4:02 pm

dark_lightning108 wrote:anyone get this to work on an android device? got the msg and did my best to follow the "generic instructions" but...salt.. :\

Had it working on my Galaxy S II this morning, sister has it on her account and I just popped in her sim card. But the settings were different from the Digicel settings I have with my Digicel account.

Currently my apn is Web.digicel.com without passwords or proxy settings when I popped in hers it went to wap.digicel.com with a proxy and a password.

I can't remember what they were though, and when I put my sim back in, I had to change settings to get it to work

achillies

Postby achillies » April 28th, 2012, 4:10 pm

M_2NR wrote:I had to go into POS yesterday. On the way I did a few tests. In a moving car was the first image.

And the latter was when I stopped in POS.

This is on an iPhone 4.

I am really impressed by the service. Throughout the EW corridor I get almost full service and 2-3mbit right through and I wasn't stationary. The only place where service sucks for me is at home >.<. I'm hearing some devices getting up to 14mbit.

Remember there isn't any load on the network, I tested on my phone and I'm glad the service is now available, but I'll reserve judgement a few months after the public launch when there people actually putting load on the service.

All these 5Mbps and 2Mbps download speeds could become memories. Hopefully not though.

Postby Strugglerzinc » April 28th, 2012, 6:09 pm

achillies wrote:
dark_lightning108 wrote:anyone get this to work on an android device? got the msg and did my best to follow the "generic instructions" but...salt.. :\

Had it working on my Galaxy S II this morning, sister has it on her account and I just popped in her sim card. But the settings were different from the Digicel settings I have with my Digicel account.

Currently my apn is Web.digicel.com without passwords or proxy settings when I popped in hers it went to wap.digicel.com with a proxy and a password.

I can't remember what they were though, and when I put my sim back in, I had to change settings to get it to work

its web.digiceltt.com

it ain't going to work with any other APN

achillies

Postby achillies » April 28th, 2012, 6:13 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:
achillies wrote:

its web.digiceltt.com

I had it working with wap.digicel.com, that's the configuration I got when I inserted the sim card, and it was working.

Here is a screenshot of the settings that were sent to my phone when I inserted the sim

Above is for the H+ to work, below is my Sims configuration to get data

Not an expert on this but I'm stating what worked on my phone.

Postby ismithx » April 28th, 2012, 8:20 pm

sigh damn.... i only have 2100 UMTS support on my phone smh...

CL9_EURO

Postby CL9_EURO » April 28th, 2012, 10:29 pm

achillies wrote:
Strugglerzinc wrote:
achillies wrote:

its web.digiceltt.com

I had it working with wap.digicel.com, that's the configuration I got when I inserted the sim card, and it was working.

Here is a screenshot of the settings that were sent to my phone when I inserted the sim

Above is for the H+ to work, below is my Sims configuration to get data

Not an expert on this but I'm stating what worked on my phone.

Are you sure there wasn't another apn..
wap.digiceltt.com is for their WAP browser(Mobile only)

web.digiceltt.com is for regular internet traffic

Postby skylinechild » April 28th, 2012, 11:16 pm

ismithx wrote:sigh damn.... i only have 2100 UMTS support on my phone smh...

get a nokia N8. penta band 3G coverage...850,900,1800,1900 & 2100 MHZ !!!!

and GSM is regular quad band.... :!:

achillies

Postby achillies » April 29th, 2012, 6:21 am

CL9_EURO wrote:Are you sure there wasn't another apn..
wap.digiceltt.com is for their WAP browser(Mobile only)

web.digiceltt.com is for regular internet traffic

Yup, I have a digicel sim and when I inserted it, the APN automatically changed to web.digicel.com and I was able to use the EDGE connection, as the H+ was not activated on that sim, my sister has a blackberry and she got the text message and her bb is actually saying "3G" where it used to say EDGE, when I inserted her sim, I got a text with the new configuration and it has wap.digicel.com the proxy settings and a username/password and I was getting the 3G/H/H+ connection, service wasn't to good though, and I was in Malabar

As I said, I'm no expert on these things, but what I posted before were the settings that I got upon inserting the SIM, I did not enter them myself....

Postby tr1ad » April 29th, 2012, 10:07 am

Stephon. wrote:LMFAO you are so predictable bye!

silk expensive.... polyester will have to do

Postby ismithx » April 29th, 2012, 11:18 am

caliw wrote:2Mbps? :shock: why so slow? lol..

You can't download quick on that. only good for browsing/e-mail at that.

please put your foot in your mouth.... smh

achillies

Postby achillies » April 29th, 2012, 7:11 pm

These are my speeds in Malabar area, the second screenshot is to show that though speeds are good, the actual signal strength was poor, this can be viewed as both a positive or a negative

These are very good speeds IMO

As you can see the signal is pretty poor, such good speeds with poor signal is great. However, when more people start to use this, I don't know how actual signal strength would be affected, are there any engineers in this thread that knows???

Postby Sky » April 29th, 2012, 7:29 pm

Nice speeds. But they're not gonna stay that high for long...

achillies

Postby achillies » April 29th, 2012, 7:43 pm

^^^^^ :lol:

I am not worried about BB users, I think the abusers and tether users would kill it

Postby redmanjp » April 29th, 2012, 8:38 pm

achillies wrote:^^^^^ :lol:

I am not worried about BB users, I think the abusers and tether users would kill it

they can probably cap it at 1GB or something- if you're not tethering you will hardy get close to that

Postby S_2NR » April 29th, 2012, 8:43 pm

but blackberry users just use bbm and other messaging apps. :lol:

Postby redmanjp » April 29th, 2012, 8:55 pm

S_2NR wrote:but blackberry users just use bbm and other messaging apps. :lol:

yeah true- i wonder how many BB users know about BB protect or app world which is probably why bmobile does say it doh have demand for data in T&T

pablo_tt

Postby pablo_tt » April 29th, 2012, 9:03 pm

Arima

Postby skylinechild » April 30th, 2012, 5:10 am

achillies wrote:^^^^^ :lol:

dont forget that a BB can be tethered as well as abused too....cause it have some of them where i used to work....my word.... :!:

also i believe a 1Gb cap is too small....a 3 Gb cap seems fair....sometimes i use maps,stream internet radio, youtube...and well emails and messenger and such.

cause most phones including mine once ANYTHING requires data to work it automatically connects to the service, and uses data..

UPDATE ON google maps issue - not working when 3G is on, however when i turn on my wifi ( i dont connect to the wifi - it automatically does it ) it works with the wifi- then i'll turn off the wifi and it will then see the 3G network and use data. - any N8 users with the same issue.???

Azzuri

Postby Azzuri » April 30th, 2012, 7:11 am

I'm not an elec engineer (used to date one though) but I've read somewhere that the more users on the network, the smaller the coverage becomes due too something called 'cell breathing'. I really didn't understand it, but it seems the signal power output is reduced to prevent interference when too much people are using the cell.

Anyway, I've been getting over 5mbits consistently on my Ipad2. This is amazing.

My only concern is how much data I'll use by streaming netflix and youtube.

Postby Sky » April 30th, 2012, 8:28 am

skylinechild wrote:also i believe a 1Gb cap is too small....a 3 Gb cap seems fair....sometimes i use maps,stream internet radio, youtube...and well emails and messenger and such.

cause most phones including mine once ANYTHING requires data to work it automatically connects to the service, and uses data..

There's reliable packets in the transport layer, and there's unreliable.
reliable means the transmission of the packets has to be confirmed, like "Yea I got it"
Unreliable isn't.
Streaming and voip is mostly unreliable udp business.

When I was using a blink on the go dongle with a 5gb cap I asked a tstt tech about streaming and he said that most udp stuff doesn't go towards that total bandwidth for some reason or the other (like they only track tcp)
So:
1. I'm hoping it's the same with Digicel
2. Then again Digicel techies better than tstt's and they'll know how to track udp if that was the case.
3 Most tstt techies dunno sheit anyway and maybe he give me that to hold as it was something he was revising to repeat some sbcs course he failed.

Postby Sky » April 30th, 2012, 9:03 am

K Digicel account manager just confirmed that streaming and all the little data bits will be included in your 5G, 3G or 2G cap. There's no unlimited, so thats a good thing, less tether whores.

Full service is starting next week. Corp prices not available yet (I eh know nah).

src1983

DIGICEL 3G. online...

Postby src1983 » April 30th, 2012, 9:28 am

Sky wrote:K Digicel account manager just confirmed that streaming and all the little data bits will be included in your 5G, 3G or 2G cap. There's no unlimited, so thats a good thing, less tether whores.

Full service is starting next week. Corp prices not available yet (I eh know nah).

Nice

Any idea on pricing??

Postby nemisis » April 30th, 2012, 9:40 am

src1983 wrote:
Sky wrote:K Digicel account manager just confirmed that streaming and all the little data bits will be included in your 5G, 3G or 2G cap. There's no unlimited, so thats a good thing, less tether whores.

Nice

Any idea on pricing??

Postby S_2NR » April 30th, 2012, 10:01 am

got word from someone working bmobile that, bmobile is going to launch 3G soon and edge prices will drop.

dont know how reliable this info is tho.

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » April 30th, 2012, 10:16 am

S_2NR wrote:got word from someone working bmobile that, bmobile is going to launch 3G soon and edge prices will drop.

dont know how reliable this info is tho.

i heard someone say the 1st of next month but i dont believe it..... i read a article where they say that they had a september launch

Postby Stephon. » April 30th, 2012, 1:59 pm

You need to start saving your allowance if you wanna get 3G by late 2017 for a month shaquie.

Postby skylinechild » April 30th, 2012, 3:03 pm

Sky wrote:
skylinechild wrote:also i believe a 1Gb cap is too small....a 3 Gb cap seems fair....sometimes i use maps,stream internet radio, youtube...and well emails and messenger and such.

reliable means the transmission of the packets has to be confirmed, like "Yea I got it"
Unreliable isn't.

When I was using a blink on the go dongle with a 5gb cap I asked a tstt tech about streaming and he said that most udp stuff doesn't go towards that total bandwidth for some reason or the other (like they only track tcp)
So:
2. Then again Digicel techies better than tstt's and they'll know how to track udp if that was the case.
3 Most tstt techies dunno sheit anyway and maybe he give me that to hold as it was something he was revising to repeat some sbcs course he failed.

dude i KNOW the OSI model... :lol: :lol: and yes youre right digicel techs ARE better.....
* hides TSTT Id... :lol: :lol:

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » April 30th, 2012, 3:19 pm

Stephon. wrote:You need to start saving your allowance if you wanna get 3G by late 2017 for a month shaquie.

Yea bai.... Trying to sell my tdma ericsson phone for pay for meh first month :(

Postby Sky » April 30th, 2012, 3:35 pm

skylinechild wrote:
Sky wrote:

Unreliable isn't.

So:

dude i KNOW the OSI model... :lol: :lol: and yes youre right digicel techs ARE better.....
* hides TSTT Id... :lol: :lol:

Leh a man patronize nah :lol: I eh know you is and what you does do. Well before now....TSTT employee :x