3ne2nr fishermen

Sabot

Re: 3ne2nr fishermen

Postby Sabot » April 9th, 2011, 8:55 am

meccalli wrote:Hey, has any of you guys caught snook along the manzan /mayaro stretch? I was doing some reading and they said you should fish horizontal, along the shore since the fish are usually no more than 5 foot from shore O.o..kind of a shocker to me.

Snook patrol the shoreline on some beaches. they prefer brackish water to plain salt water but are sometimes found in both fresh and salt. On the East coast I have caught numerous snook in the 4-5lb range using live bait, 12lb line and no weight. This was mainly accomplished along the mangrove roots of the Nariva river mouth and also along the small rivers with the black dirty colored water between the Nariva bridge and the mouth, 2 rivers to be exact. Baits that work best there are freshwater sardines and small mullet which I used to catch with a cast net at valencia river, hardest thing is to keep these alive by placing ice in their container but thats another story. Snook like to roam in the throughs created by the breaking waves on the beach and are rarely found where the sand is gently sloping such as in manzan. I have taken a lot on lures as well, yo-zuri crystal minnows.
Check this out at the same place:

Postby Razkal » April 9th, 2011, 10:02 am

2nd Bocas a while back..

ray_S.T.R.A_man

Postby ray_S.T.R.A_man » April 9th, 2011, 1:59 pm

Need some advice on 28 foot pirogue

Postby Razkal » April 9th, 2011, 2:02 pm

^buy one! :D

what sorta advice? i can't give any but i wanna know boat things too

ray_S.T.R.A_man

Postby ray_S.T.R.A_man » April 9th, 2011, 5:14 pm

yeah
I look at some in powerboats but the deck rotten and the boat on the shelf. they had to take ah big fork lift to take it out. La soufriere have some but the one on sale real beat up and the trailer rotten out. The only thing is to build a new trailer and boat and engine. Men at the marina real hurry to sell them. they say "yeah yeah is a good deal ah telling yuh" 8-)
need to get some contacts for a good builder of 28 pirougue and trailer . if any 3ne2ner fisherman know. if ah spending i want something that will last for a good time. mostly for down the island lime and some fishing
some advice will be appreciated much

Postby meccalli » April 9th, 2011, 7:57 pm

Great info guys! Smeed!! great story man, i've tried my hand at fishing marianne's river but was never successful..this is close to the actual bathing area on shore or further in? Good story :D
i'll walk with my x-raps next time around..and that wasn't a nick, if you brush your finger lightly against a snook's gill plates , you'd see you could shave with it O.o

oh, btw ...BIG ASS PHAG/CUBERA MANG XD!

Sabot

Postby Sabot » April 9th, 2011, 11:17 pm

ray_S.T.R.A_man wrote:yeah
I look at some in powerboats but the deck rotten and the boat on the shelf. they had to take ah big fork lift to take it out. La soufriere have some but the one on sale real beat up and the trailer rotten out. The only thing is to build a new trailer and boat and engine. Men at the marina real hurry to sell them. they say "yeah yeah is a good deal ah telling yuh" 8-)
need to get some contacts for a good builder of 28 pirougue and trailer . if any 3ne2ner fisherman know. if ah spending i want something that will last for a good time. mostly for down the island lime and some fishing
some advice will be appreciated much

Got a 28' with dual yamahas, power steering/trim etc. Boat is 3 years old with new trailer and located in La Soufriere. Send me a pm if interested as I hardly get the time to use it.
Give me a fair price and just turn both keys and sail out. 0X
Could also link you up to some good boat builders if you like. 8-)

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » April 9th, 2011, 11:23 pm

Sabot, wat price u lookin at?

Razkal, nice fish dude!!!

all dem ppl who does use downriggers, i need sum help...i wanna know how much line yuh does release b4 yuh clip the line from your rod to the downrigger line?

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » April 9th, 2011, 11:25 pm

oh by d way, bought my new gear...ah penn international 30vsw on ah sea striker rod, real excited to test it out...

Smeed

Postby Smeed » April 9th, 2011, 11:47 pm

ryan99tt wrote:oh by d way, bought my new gear...ah penn international 30vsw on ah sea striker rod, real excited to test it out...

niceness.....where and how much??

wha u spool it with??

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » April 10th, 2011, 12:34 am

put 40lb on it, bought up mankees...was up in mankee, tackle shop, southern wholesalers and reel tackle today...

Sabot

Postby Sabot » April 10th, 2011, 8:19 am

Razkal wrote:2nd Bocas a while back..

Why I feeling thats Nello's boat?
By the size of the 'sub' almost sure that I'm right :lol:

Looking at 120 for the machine Ryan.

Postby X_Factor » April 10th, 2011, 10:06 am

up here in ft lauderdale has some really nice gear but doesnt make sense to buy as i dont use it often....i just got some simple spoons and leader wire
Rapla X sells for 5$
Yo Zuri - 4-6$

RichieRich
2NR MILF Hunter

Postby RichieRich » April 10th, 2011, 10:06 am

ryan99tt wrote:
all dem ppl who does use downriggers, i need sum help...i wanna know how much line yuh does release b4 yuh clip the line from your rod to the downrigger line?

100ft

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » April 10th, 2011, 11:35 am

RichieRich wrote:
ryan99tt wrote:

100ft

kool....by d way i will be fishing at 60-80ft....

Postby Razkal » April 10th, 2011, 11:43 am

Sabot, that mission was on Nello's boat!

that's my main man right there lol...never left with any empty cooler

ryan99tt, i only ever use the downrigger with two large squid artificials i made...between 100-120' of line before attaching to the rigger. mostly i get crazy action with deep diving magnums or yozuri dd.

last two trips we made, ONLY the 'herring finish' magnum and the red-head yozuri dd got any action...multiple fish caught and four other lure finishes out at the same time were untouched..

the Cubera rig was a standard switcher type, large egg sink behind one big J hook. 200lb mono. triple wrapped 105lb wire between 300lb swivel and hook. we were trying for a shark so it was excessively beefed up...turns out the snapper really tested its strength lol

Postby Razkal » April 10th, 2011, 11:43 am

oh and a filleted side of one bonito for bait

reeLpACE

Postby reeLpACE » April 10th, 2011, 12:25 pm

Sabot wrote:
meccalli wrote:Hey, has any of you guys caught snook along the manzan /mayaro stretch? I was doing some reading and they said you should fish horizontal, along the shore since the fish are usually no more than 5 foot from shore O.o..kind of a shocker to me.

Snook patrol the shoreline on some beaches. they prefer brackish water to plain salt water but are sometimes found in both fresh and salt. On the East coast I have caught numerous snook in the 4-5lb range using live bait, 12lb line and no weight. This was mainly accomplished along the mangrove roots of the Nariva river mouth and also along the small rivers with the black dirty colored water between the Nariva bridge and the mouth, 2 rivers to be exact. Baits that work best there are freshwater sardines and small mullet which I used to catch with a cast net at valencia river, hardest thing is to keep these alive by placing ice in their container but thats another story. Snook like to roam in the throughs created by the breaking waves on the beach and are rarely found where the sand is gently sloping such as in manzan. I have taken a lot on lures as well, yo-zuri crystal minnows.
Check this out at the same place:

Sabot, das u in the video? If so that one is a real beast bro. I love catching snook but have only managed to hook a few in my time, they are really picky and elusive but you cant beat the fight these fish put up, not to mention when they go aerial!
Anybody else with info on where they have had luck with snook (brochet)? bait? rig?time,etc
I caught mine banking with live bait just outside alcoa.
I believe it is a fish everyone should have the pleasure of fighting....

Ryan, nice setup you got bro...now to deal with some monsters, maybe even that wahoo you been wanting, hurry tho, the season for them comin to an end......easy!

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » April 10th, 2011, 5:15 pm

Razkal, cool...daz ah real nice cubera u got there, better dan shark...lol

reeLpACE, yea, i heading out saturda to see if i cud pick up wit dat wahoo an see watelse it have out there...dey say d wahoo season comin to an end but d bait now runnin so dey guh still be around...

Postby Razkal » April 10th, 2011, 7:00 pm

thanks man, we consider it a shared catch since a couple guys took turns pulling it in...i wished i could have felt that on a rod though :)

best of luck on the wahoo run man, i've been trying for one since January lol...closest i got was some small to medium kings with the rig i made for wahoo (lol)....atleast the catches were in the Mackerel family, close enough for now :lol:

my partner nello got two wahoos two weeks ago trolling about 1/4mile north of Huevos islands, saw the pics and they were good! in the 30-40lb range he said, and one got away with 105 toothproof in mouth lol...so maybe you'll get some nice last minute guys before the season winds down

Postby Razkal » April 10th, 2011, 9:41 pm

gonna do some swamp fishin' this week...headin out in the caroni, gonna see what snappers are to be found and go snook hunting :D

last outing there i got a few snook, but small ones, frequently enough to be confident they're around and not doing so bad surprisingly.

may try a grouper rig at the mouth and try for some tarpon if they look to be around, but the mish (mission) is snapper and snook!

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » April 10th, 2011, 10:36 pm

gd to hear, i suppose to head out in d caroni a wile back but dat plan get buss...let we know how yuh do...by d way, was d weight of the cubera?

Postby Razkal » April 11th, 2011, 8:04 am

we usually just hook up with "Navin's sanctuary tours" and head out, usually around a 5-600..
i was there last week just to chill with a friend doing some sampling, and good some nice mangrove snappers, kept one or two for munching..

the cubes was just over 70lbs...74.3 or something like that.

Postby pugboy » April 11th, 2011, 9:13 am

the swamp is a real nice lime, walk with drinks

Postby Razkal » April 12th, 2011, 7:27 am

^and Off!/citronella :lol:

i nearly get carried away last time hoss...the 'squitoes DO NOT play :|

Sabot, know of any small boats around? like one that can be flung on a pick-up truck? flat-bottom skiff or anything similar? looking for one to make more snook missions and the couple small bays i've found recently.

Smeed

Postby Smeed » April 12th, 2011, 8:58 am

Razkal wrote:^and Off!/citronella :lol:

Sabot, know of any small boats around? like one that can be flung on a pick-up truck? flat-bottom skiff or anything similar? looking for one to make more snook missions and the couple small bays i've found recently.

ahhhhhhhh boy raz....i on de same mission too....looking at dem inflatables on sea eagle website or maybe a fishing kayak.....after meh last damiens bay expedition i gettin a strong feeling dat go be meh nex recreational investment!!

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » April 12th, 2011, 4:34 pm

dem small boat eh make sense to me, i rather save up and buy ah bigger boat i cud go out and do sum gd fishing...

Sabot

Postby Sabot » April 12th, 2011, 10:19 pm

Razkal wrote:^and Off!/citronella :lol:

Budget Marine has some hard bottom inflatables with or without engines, might be worth checking out as the quality is very good. As for used I know of a few but nobody wants to sell right now though.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » April 12th, 2011, 10:42 pm

by d way fellaz, how d fishing looking on d norh coast side?

reeLpACE

Postby reeLpACE » April 13th, 2011, 12:50 pm

if anybody is seriously looking for a small boat to do that type of fishing i have a 13ft boston whaler (fiberglass) with a 25hp yamaha and trailer for 12k in good condition
its a really fun boat for inshore and river fishing.