:: The official TOOLS thread ::

Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » August 7th, 2015, 3:46 pm

^thanks

cordless jigsaw real convenient if u dont mind d price , d corded types where d cord goes into d tool sometimes wear & d wire will break after a while , just have to open it & fix back d wire & u good to go , done that bout 2-3 times with mine so far

like for any saws : get good blades , dewalt jigsaw blades work best imho , their blades cut 90 degrees unlike others i used that cut slant & sh1t up meh work ....... dewalt table & portable saw blades work damn good too

got a 3 piece set of those step drill bits bought from amazon , neiko brand , real cheap like us$12-15 , worked decent but d shaft on d biggest 1 snapped while widening a hole for a lock , shuda use some oil or wd40 :oops:

its not d sharpest bits in d world but u cant complain for d small $ ...

Postby pugboy » August 7th, 2015, 3:56 pm

that happen to me too, neiko is same as the harbor freight ones
I have a greenlee and Irwin unibit they are much better
key is to go slow and not let big heat up or it will dull and that's it

Postby Ted_v2 » August 7th, 2015, 4:51 pm

Up to now I still eh buy my floor jack. :|

called tool house and they quoted me
http://toolhouseltd.com/product.php?id_product=2785
3200 $ for this unit.
I feel ill need to go pricemart and buy one.

Postby *KRONIK* » August 7th, 2015, 4:57 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:Up to now I still eh buy my floor jack. :|

3200 $ for this unit.

That price rell steep

I buy the small torin black with swivel handle at pricesmart for like 200

Used it a couple times and it works fine.

U may need something a bit more durable for ur line of work.

Also, look for a low profile jack as the small torin barely fits at the jack point, and my car is stock height

Postby Morpheus » August 7th, 2015, 8:11 pm

Low profile is the way to go. SSL had a nice one last time I was there

Postby Strugglerzinc » August 7th, 2015, 8:52 pm

Check Garage Wizz on the forum. He brings HF tools. Their 3 ton low profile jack is good stuff. Using one daily for over a year now.

Postby cinco » August 7th, 2015, 8:59 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:Up to now I still eh buy my floor jack. :|

3200 $ for this unit.

The silver coloured lo pro Jack from Pricesmart is rubbish. It lasts about 6 months with heavy use

Postby Ted_v2 » August 7th, 2015, 9:24 pm

DE phoq. That's the one with the red piece of rubber on top the jacking point?

I asked like everyone and nobody had any bad reviews.

Postby cinco » August 7th, 2015, 9:26 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:DE phoq. That's the one with the red piece of rubber on top the jacking point?

I asked like everyone and nobody had any bad reviews.

Mine had a Black piece of rubber.
3 of us bought and all started sinking within 6 months

Postby X_Factor » August 7th, 2015, 9:33 pm

http://www.amazon.com/RhinoGear-11912-R ... =car+ramps

seriously considering bringing in 2 pairs of that...i ordered a test package via seaboxtt to see how it works and then i'll decide
There is urethane foam that comes in two parts where you mix and i will fill the under cavity with that for a little extra rigidity

Drive up vehicle on ramps, put 4 jack stands for extra safety do whatever has to be done under and drive back down.....
If i hadda take off a wheel well then i will have the unpleasant task of jacking up!

Postby Ted_v2 » August 7th, 2015, 9:37 pm

I heard farfan has some good Jacks also. Definitely need one this week.

Just didn't do a job today because if the lack of a jack.
I passed it on to another mechanic. He didn't have time. Person coming tomorrow.

Postby X_Factor » August 7th, 2015, 9:47 pm

I think i saw this or maybe the jack alone in pricemart mausica yesterday
1438998397988.jpg

NR8

Postby NR8 » August 7th, 2015, 10:05 pm

cinco wrote:Mine had a Black piece of rubber.

What causes the jack to sink? I have the Powerbuilt low profile jack from pricesmart and it's also dropping. Can this be fixed?

X_Factor wrote:I think i saw this or maybe the jack alone in pricemart mausica yesterday
It's the 3 ton jack alone for around $960. Was looking for it online too but it seems to just be a rebranded unit.

Postby cinco » August 7th, 2015, 10:08 pm

NR8 wrote:
cinco wrote:Mine had a Black piece of rubber.

What causes the jack to sink? I have the Powerbuilt low profile jack from pricesmart and it's also dropping. Can this be fixed?

X_Factor wrote:I think i saw this or maybe the jack alone in pricemart mausica yesterday
It's the 3 ton jack alone for around $960. Was looking for it online too but it seems to just be a rebranded unit.

seals leaking causes that. I actually put some brake fluid in mine to soften the seals and it helped a bit

Postby Ted_v2 » August 7th, 2015, 10:14 pm

Just saw some pics of the Ford racing unit. Terrible looking and design.

NR8

Postby NR8 » August 7th, 2015, 10:16 pm

cinco wrote:seals leaking causes that. I actually put some brake fluid in mine to soften the seals and it helped a bit

Thanks. I've heard other people say it's the seals leaking too, but I'm not seeing any oil on the floor. Is that normal?
And does anyone know if replacement seals for these jacks are available? Kinda hard to put out around $1000 for a jack and then have to toss it in such a relatively short space of time.

BTW this is the jack http://www.amazon.com/Powerbuilt-620479 ... B00OCIBPIM

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » August 7th, 2015, 10:55 pm

From my experience with jacks there are seals that can be replaced and the jacks can be serviced and repaired.
Leaking seals means a leaking of the fluid from one chamber to the next within the jack itself.

The problem with replacing the seals is basically like finding parts for a Chinese truck. Most jacks I've seen here are all Chinese, just branded differently... Just like that ford jack.
Sealy and big red are the only two brands of jacks I buy because parts are available and i know I'll get good life out of them.

reeLpACE

Postby reeLpACE » August 11th, 2015, 5:24 pm

Anyone have a wood router they want to part with?

Postby X_Factor » August 11th, 2015, 5:31 pm

if ur looking for something cheap check home mart or A1 tools for the skil brand

Postby *KRONIK* » August 11th, 2015, 8:26 pm

Anybody know where to get 6.5" circular saw blades with 5/8" centre hole?

I borrow a saw from a padna and dats the size it uses...

Postby Ted_v2 » August 11th, 2015, 10:14 pm

Quick question.
I currently have 50 ft of 3/8 pvc air hose connected to my compress. I wanna swap it out for a 25 1/2 " hose.

Anyone have a idea how much one might cost to make? Or should I buy one already pre fab?

I'm getting a massive pressure drop after 50 ft. My impact wrench seriously lacking and I know it's not the compressor because I'm not seeing the air pressure dropping. It's standing up firm.

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » August 11th, 2015, 10:47 pm

Your regulator should be set to 90psi or the registered air rating of the impact you are using. Your compressor should also be producing a higher cfm than the cfm rating on the impact. Remember after every frl there is a 2 to 5psi drop, not considering any fittings after that.

With that length of hose you'll get a lot of moisture. There are charts online that show the pressure drop across various lengths and compares the different hose materials. I believe PVC at that length isn't very efficient can't remember clearly but check for the charts.

Just last week i piped a workshop with over 80' @ 90psi 26cfm. We get about a 6 psi drop at the furthest end and that still powers a 1" impact.

Postby Ted_v2 » August 11th, 2015, 10:55 pm

At 90psi the gun in barely performing. I bumped it up to 120psi and its better. Tried with two impacts same problem.
I feel its the pressure drop to be honest.

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » August 11th, 2015, 11:06 pm

If possible attach a gauge to the end of your hose and check the reading. I'm assuming your regulator is at the beginning of that hose so more than likely that PVC hose isn't handling the pressure well. There are some rubber hose that are rated at 300psi that work really well and minimize the pressure loss.

PVC hose should be use for shorter runs. If I can get a hold of the charts in work tomorrow I'll upload a pic of it.

Postby Ted_v2 » August 11th, 2015, 11:38 pm

Its a direct drive electric compressor. Everything make up together. Except till the air connector. I believe thats the hose is the problem. I'll call Trinidad hose tomorrow and see the cost.

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » August 12th, 2015, 9:15 am

Ted_v2 wrote:...I currently have 50 ft of 3/8 pvc air hose connected to my compress. I wanna swap it out for a 25 1/2 " hose.
FYI: Just a "Heads Up" to 2nrs generally... Though flexible PVE air hose can be used in the short term, PVC PIPE is NOT recommended for use for pressurized air-distribution.

Although 'Schedule 80' (& even 'Schedule 40' :roll: ) PVC is used by some, it is NOT safe to use with an air-compressor.
Link--> PVC Pipes - Pressure Ratings.

Woood Central wrote:It is very easy to accidentally bump a PVC air line and end up with a face full of plastic shards... It is NOT an issue of pressure rating, only failure mode. I am told by a licensed plumber and a Ph.D./P.E mechanical engineer that it is also prohibited by most building codes for the same reason.
Link--> Shop Air Piping.

Their Image

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » August 12th, 2015, 9:41 am

PVC air hose CAN be used and is used for painting guns and other small pneumatic tool applications....however NOT as a main distribution line and should not be used at that length.

If he wishes to better pipe his air system better he should run a line from his compressor across his workshop and then use a shorter run hose for his tools connected to outlets nearer his work site.

In my workshop I don't use any hose longer than 15ft.

But again for impact tools and long runs the PVC hose isn't your best option.

Postby Ted_v2 » August 12th, 2015, 9:42 am

I ment pvc type hose. It's sorta plastic based. Called Trinidad hose and have it for a good price. Gonna see what quality it is and then order it. I'll never use pvc pipe to plumb air. Never.

Also my compressor is 20gallons. I usually roll it nearby whatever I'm working with and use it there. I'm don't need anything more than 20ft of hose at any given moment.
Last edited by Ted_v2 on August 12th, 2015, 11:57 am, edited 1 time in total.

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » August 12th, 2015, 9:46 am

Yup they supply a good year hose rated for 300psi.

For a main line many people use galvanized pipe but because of rusting and other temperature factors people are now changing.

Postby Ted_v2 » August 12th, 2015, 9:49 am

It's the Goodyear for that price. Damn. That's a good deal