Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 24th, 2011, 11:08 am

^ well then what you need is a Mini displayport to HDMI

US$7.90 on Amazon

HCCA

Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby HCCA » March 24th, 2011, 11:43 am

Came across this just now:

The Sapphire Eyefinity 6 Edition card, like all Eyefinity Edition HD 5870s does not come with any DisplayPort active adapters. Instead, the card ships with two mini-DP to DVI adapters, two mini-DP to HDMI adapters and a mini-DP to DP connector. The important thing to notice is that all of these adapters are passive adapters and connecting more than two passive adapters to this card will prove problematic.
So what’s the difference between an active DisplayPort adapter and a Passive one is that the active adapter requires additional power beyond that of a passive adapter. The problem is the DVI or HDMI connector uses up to 5V of power to operate through the TMDS protocol, while the DisplayPort requires 3.3V. So when a DisplayPort connector senses a HDMI signal is required it sends a 3.3V TMDS signal to the port and the passive dongle shifts the voltage level up. The active DP adapter adds voltage through the use of a USB cable which has 500mA of power additional. The active DisplayPort adapter costs around $115 each so four of them will run you around $500 in addition to the cost of the monitors and $500 for the Eyefinity video card with six Display Ports.

Taken from here: http://www.motherboards.org/reviews/har ... 057_3.html

That card is trouble yes, too much additional cost to run Eyefiinity.

Waiting on a pic of the mini DP to HDMI cable too.

jm3

Postby jm3 » March 24th, 2011, 11:44 am

jm3

Postby jm3 » March 24th, 2011, 11:49 am

HCCA wrote:Came across this just now:

The Sapphire Eyefinity 6 Edition card, like all Eyefinity Edition HD 5870s does not come with any DisplayPort active adapters. Instead, the card ships with two mini-DP to DVI adapters, two mini-DP to HDMI adapters and a mini-DP to DP connector. The important thing to notice is that all of these adapters are passive adapters and connecting more than two passive adapters to this card will prove problematic.
So what’s the difference between an active DisplayPort adapter and a Passive one is that the active adapter requires additional power beyond that of a passive adapter. The problem is the DVI or HDMI connector uses up to 5V of power to operate through the TMDS protocol, while the DisplayPort requires 3.3V. So when a DisplayPort connector senses a HDMI signal is required it sends a 3.3V TMDS signal to the port and the passive dongle shifts the voltage level up. The active DP adapter adds voltage through the use of a USB cable which has 500mA of power additional. The active DisplayPort adapter costs around $115 each so four of them will run you around $500 in addition to the cost of the monitors and $500 for the Eyefinity video card with six Display Ports.

Taken from here: http://www.motherboards.org/reviews/har ... 057_3.html

That card is trouble yes, too much additional cost to run Eyefiinity.

Waiting on a pic of the mini DP to HDMI cable too.

but all the videos of people using them dont have active adapters lol

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 24th, 2011, 11:54 am

jm3 wrote:http://www.amazon.com/Intel-2-5-Inch-Solid-State-Version-SSDSC2MH120A2K5/dp/B004OR0GRC/ref=sr_1_9?ie=UTF8&qid=1300981407&sr=8-9

this one
WTF!!!! why am I only now seeing that???

I just paid $229 for a SATA II in that same size :cry: :x

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 24th, 2011, 12:11 pm

grrrr

For Sale: BNIB
Intel X25 120GB SSD SATA II
TT$1500, unless customs charges me duty and VAT on a HDD

jm3

Postby jm3 » March 24th, 2011, 12:14 pm

i got some amazing deals from amazon lol i am actually about to rebuild my personal computer now.

gonna get the same intel i7 950
asus rog rampage 3 extreme
and i think id like to try out a 480 gtx

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 24th, 2011, 12:19 pm

^ I am moving from a Core II Duo so I went for the i7 2600K on an ASUS P67 board and a GTX 460 super clocked

I bought the SATA II on amazon as well but didnt see the SAT II version - most sites I checked had them for 3-4 times the price

jm3

Postby jm3 » March 24th, 2011, 12:35 pm

im still a little dunious of the sandy bridge stuff that was the original plans for my machine and the new business machine but i cannot afford any down time on the business computer so i went for 1366. how do you find the 460? thats the one with the power issues?

jm3

Postby jm3 » March 24th, 2011, 12:40 pm

i must say though that after building an i7 machine amd has lost a long standing customer even the socket is much higher quality i was like wtf a steel case and no pins lol

Virus

Postby Virus » March 24th, 2011, 12:43 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:grrrr

Young man why did you buy an Intel SSD :| shame on you knowing there is better out there i can even name a few. Also that other drive is like 300+ with no reviews yet i wouldnt chance something nobody mash up yet a few people already reporting that it fail after 3 days of use go figure

jm3

Postby jm3 » March 24th, 2011, 12:45 pm

Virus wrote:

Young man why did you buy an Intel SSD :| shame on you knowing there is better out there i can even name a few. Also that other drive is like 300+ with no reviews yet i wouldnt chance something nobody mash up yet a few people already reporting that it fail after 3 days of use go figure

thats the nice part about warrantys when you buy from a reputable company rather than a jokey trini computer store lol

HCCA

Postby HCCA » March 24th, 2011, 12:49 pm

jm3 wrote:i must say though that after building an i7 machine amd has lost a long standing customer even the socket is much higher quality i was like wtf a steel case and no pins lol

Huh? U talking abt the socket on the board or the cpu itself?

jm3

Postby jm3 » March 24th, 2011, 12:50 pm

Last edited by jm3 on March 24th, 2011, 12:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Virus

Postby Virus » March 24th, 2011, 12:51 pm

jm3 wrote:
Virus wrote:

thats the nice part about warrantys when you buy from a reputable company rather than a jokey trini computer store lol

Yes but also remember we living trini, so unless you flying back an forth alot am sorry, warrant is no big thing because the money spent in shipping etc back and forth is alot more am sorry but only for certain items i buy outside :D

jm3

Postby jm3 » March 24th, 2011, 12:54 pm

lol so youd rather pay the massive mark up the fellas put on the items down here? than a little bit of shipping if there is a failure? plus how many of them will honour the warranty and how many of them have the specific item you want?

my sapphire 5870 eyefinity 6 cost $300us how much would it cost down here?
Last edited by jm3 on March 24th, 2011, 1:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Virus

Postby Virus » March 24th, 2011, 12:58 pm

jm3 wrote:lol so youd rather pay the massive mark up the fellas put on the items down here? than a little bit of shipping if there is a failure? plus how many of them will honour the warranty and how many of them have the specific item you want?

Depends on where you purchasing from yes there is a mark up but lets be real, recently when my SSD had failed the money i spent in getting it back to Intel then back to me, I purchased 2 so dont be quick to assume its cheaper, its just a better option and sometimes its not even better. My entire rig is from Amazon, Newegg, Buy.com etc but in terms of failure i pray each time i turn on my rig everything comes ON :D

jm3

Postby jm3 » March 24th, 2011, 1:02 pm

Virus wrote:
jm3 wrote:lol so youd rather pay the massive mark up the fellas put on the items down here? than a little bit of shipping if there is a failure? plus how many of them will honour the warranty and how many of them have the specific item you want?

Depends on where you purchasing from yes there is a mark up but lets be real, recently when my SSD had failed the money i spent in getting it back to Intel then back to me, I purchased 2 so dont be quick to assume its cheaper, its just a better option and sometimes its not even better. My entire rig is from Amazon, Newegg, Buy.com etc but in terms of failure i pray each time i turn on my rig everything comes ON :D

they didnt cover the shipping?

Virus

Postby Virus » March 24th, 2011, 1:06 pm

jm3 wrote:
Virus wrote:

they didnt cover the shipping?

For the US only not international, so the drive still had to be paid for to leave Trinidad, so yes it has warranty and paid shipping etc but we don't live in the US so (spend that money lol)

jm3

Postby jm3 » March 24th, 2011, 1:17 pm

my shipping was covered lol but even so i have not seen any competitive pricing from trinidad stores on high end items if they have them, some things granted are worth while buying here like monitors i find there selling those at some fair prices now and they would be a high shipping cost.

Virus

Postby Virus » March 24th, 2011, 1:24 pm

jm3 wrote:my shipping was covered lol but even so i have not seen any competitive pricing from trinidad stores on high end items if they have them, some things granted are worth while buying here like monitors i find there selling those at some fair prices now and they would be a high shipping cost.

I agree fully

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 24th, 2011, 3:12 pm

I switched the OCZ Vertex II for the Intel X25 SSD after reading a ton of horror stories about the OCZ

the failure rate of the OCZ was too high IMO

I realise there are no reviews yet on the Intel 510 Series

Postby M_2NR » March 24th, 2011, 5:51 pm

jm3 wrote:how do you find the 460? thats the one with the power issues?

lolwut?

Duane i hope u bought a eVGA or a brand with lifetime warranty eh...

__

Built my miniITX today... omw... it is sooo CUTE :oops:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 24th, 2011, 6:06 pm

^ I bought an EVGA with arranty - but I havent read anything about power issues on the EVGA super clocked version - maybe power issues on the Sparkle version lol

Postby M_2NR » March 24th, 2011, 6:59 pm

nice 8)

lawl @ sparkle.

I cant say how happy my 460 makes meh. LOL

Chiney

Postby Chiney » March 24th, 2011, 10:23 pm

^^ you two need a room or what???

but... as we on the talk of cards, got to admit, buying a 470 SC as a by the way card turned out totally awesome!

Virus

Postby Virus » March 26th, 2011, 8:23 pm

Cool link gpu comparison a must view for your next purchase, you would be surprised how many 200 series still on par with fermi

http://www.hwcompare.com/category/gpu-comparisons/

Postby Ronaldo95163 » March 27th, 2011, 10:53 am

Is it wise to purchase an x58 mobo for gaming still? Rumours going around that there is gonna be a x68 chipset soon

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » March 27th, 2011, 11:39 am

AMD 890GX owns all! :D

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 27th, 2011, 11:42 am

gracen wrote:Is it wise to purchase an x58 mobo for gaming still? Rumours going around that there is gonna be a x68 chipset soon
the Z68 is due in a month or two from now