shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:How come y’all not protesting though? By that logic y’all also like how things going?
You ever see 10 people protesting and made a difference?
There are two sides to this and it is all due to the trini bligh.The_Honourable wrote:Hinds does have a point though. When police arrest someone, everybody see, cry advantage and protest. Members from the community kill your own, nobody see, cry "please stop" and no protest.
Rovin's Audio wrote:why ppl doh protest ?
cause 1\2 d country like it so \ we time now
ppl studying they go lost ah day wuk\income
too busy , eh ha time , too lazy
feel u too high class fuh dat or u doh want ppl looking down on yuh
studying if others go come & if is only a handful show up so u eh want to go look like ah mooks
u doh want ppl to label u as a pee nm or a dUNCe stooge etc ......
Rovin's Audio wrote:look d truth here ......
https://www.facebook.com/groups/1090712 ... 067650612/
somebody help me embed this ......
The_Honourable wrote:Rovin's Audio wrote:look d truth here ......
https://www.facebook.com/groups/1090712 ... 067650612/
somebody help me embed this ......
Done!
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:ah wonder who eating ah food from the new ferry they going to buy
De Dragon wrote:shake d livin wake d dead wrote:ah wonder who eating ah food from the new ferry they going to buy
Remember it was acquired without tendering.
express wrote:Biche High School remains closed
Published on Sep 4, 2010, 10:40 pm AST
Comments
Article
Share:
1283657498131n3
decade-long wait: The compound of the Biche High School.
(BI) Feedloader User
The promise of Education Minister Dr Tim Gopeesingh and other Members of Parliament that the mothballed Biche High School would be open in time for the new school term tomorrow, cannot be kept.
Villagers continue the wait, now a decade long.
First voiced from a political platform in April by then candidate for Mayaro Winston "Gypsy" Peters, the promise was later repeated by Gopeesingh after taking office in May.
Gopeesingh said the reopening of the school would be one of his main short-term priorities and assured that things would be put in place to ensure the school would be reopened tomorrow.
Residents of the area were excited and hopes were high because they believed that at long last their children would no longer have to travel for hours to get to school, paying twice and sometimes three times the normal fare to get to school every day.
Two weeks ago Collin Partap, Minister of State in the Office of the Prime Minister and MP for Cumuto/Manzanilla, where the school is located, shattered those hopes.
He said there was no way the school would open in time for the new school term.
He said Gopeesingh and a team from the Education Facilities Company Limited (EFCL) visited the building three weeks ago and samples of gas emissions and soil had been taken from around the school and had been sent for testing.
The school was built at a cost of some $30 million as part of the Secondary Education Modernisation Programme (SEMP), during the UNC's (United National Congress) 1995-2001 term in office.
But before its opening, there were rumours that there were oil and gas emissions and land slippage at the site.
The former People's National Movement (PNM) administration refused to open the school on grounds that it was unsafe for use.
Partap said Gopeesingh recently indicated that the Ministry was still awaiting the results of the tests but even if the green light is given, the school will not open in September.
On Friday, residents continued to hold on to the fragments of hope that the promise would eventually become a reality.
One woman who has two children who attend the Rio Claro High School said she has to spend $40 a day to send her children to school but if the Biche High School was to be opened all she would have to spend is $10 a day.
"It would really make a difference," she said.
Radhica Ramrattan, a grandmother of four, said her charges are forced to get up at 4.30 a.m. every day to get to school in Manzanilla and Rio Claro.
"We are not seeing signs that it will open. I mean to say, we know how it is but we waiting for the school to open. I have four grandchildren and the two that going Manzanilla sometimes they get the maxi and sometimes they don't. Every day they get to school at 6 a.m. and have to wait until 8 a.m. when the school open. Everybody will be real happy if the school open," she said.
UNC councillor for the area Glen Ram said "we are hoping for the reopening of the school because it is set to benefit the entire community. Biche is a rural farming area that has had transport problems over the years. So if the school is open, it will cut the cost that parents have had to pay. It will also encourage literacy as well as other skills training that can be taught through distance learning".
He said, "We are hoping that we get the okay for this school so that the Biche Presbyterian School will also be opened."
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Its a school in a yellow zone...talk done
Please show us edvindence of this so we will not vote for these ppl next election.steverandolph wrote:shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Its a school in a yellow zone...talk done
Perhaps if the former PP gubberment and Coonilal took some of the BILLIONS paid to contractors such as TN Ramnath with qhis mansion in Clarke Road then the school could have been built.
Surprising how he could find time to join protest when in opposition but when in government you coulda hardly see him.