The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

Bezman

Postby Bezman » August 6th, 2008, 12:39 am

RASC you still trolling apple/iphone threads?? LOL :lol:

my gf's phone is on 1.1.1, never been upgraded or touched since i gave it to her for her christmas.. she can mms, send multiple messages, video record yada yada.. everything a out of box phone can and should do.. never crash, never restore, she never even back it up with itunes.

we 'choose' to do this.. there is ertianly no need to, look Duane now jumped from 1.0.2 that he used for almost a year, since last year september when we unlocked it by my house a sunday afternoon.

it's exactly like modding a car, you can leave it stock, or fix it up and customize as you want - you may be able to get a car/phone with more 'features' out of the box, but that certainly doesnt make it any better ;)

as a base model for tuning, this is the best there is out there

when you get ur 3g you'll see

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 6th, 2008, 1:01 am

NOTE: 1st gen users whose phone has already been pwned can UPDATE to 2.0.1 via iTunes and will still be unlocked & activated.

however the phone will no longer be jailbroken so cydia and all 3rd party apps will be lost until an update to the pwnage tools are released...

Postby tr1ad » August 6th, 2008, 9:53 am

success!!!!

thanks to mitch an rs200

xtech

Postby xtech » August 6th, 2008, 11:38 am

^^^^^^^^ congrats man..........

So like nobody instal Dynolisous on dey phone :roll:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 6th, 2008, 11:48 am

RS200 wrote:thanks Duane, i too use itunes gift cards, if you sign up for mobile me you'll get a free itunes account. then you can use itunes gift cards too,

but iTunes wont accept international credit cards!!! aaaarrrggghhhh!!!
whatever shall I do? :cry:

RS200 wrote: we 'choose' to do this.. there is ertianly no need to, look Duane now jumped from 1.0.2 that he used for almost a year, since last year september when we unlocked it by my house a sunday afternoon.

Correct is right

Postby tr1ad » August 6th, 2008, 12:02 pm

now everytime i try to update cydia...it freezes...

sigh

:cry:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 6th, 2008, 12:11 pm

^ you sure it freezing?

the first set of updates take very long to download - on one phone I did it took about an hour to get everything

Postby tr1ad » August 6th, 2008, 12:14 pm

yea...d edge icon also freezes

Freelander

Postby Freelander » August 6th, 2008, 12:16 pm

its not freezing triad it takes a bit to load, happened to me when i first used to log in but after it gets the first update u are good

Postby tr1ad » August 6th, 2008, 12:23 pm

allyuh sure....

even d smallest size update/file does the same thing

Freelander

Postby Freelander » August 6th, 2008, 12:37 pm

try doing it over wifi adn not edge that might work faster

Postby tr1ad » August 6th, 2008, 12:43 pm

nah breds...no wifi anywhere close

xtech

Postby xtech » August 6th, 2008, 12:44 pm

Postby tr1ad » August 6th, 2008, 12:45 pm

wha yuh expect when yuh down in moruga or guaya forrest

Postby tr1ad » August 6th, 2008, 3:26 pm

so amm

it safe to say...dis dam ting freeze....cuz nuthin install yet

Bezman

Postby Bezman » August 6th, 2008, 4:29 pm

hold power and home for ten secs and then let go both, reboot the phone, drive through.

Postby tr1ad » August 6th, 2008, 4:38 pm

thanks again mitch an rs200 for all d help

now to go play with my saber

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 6th, 2008, 7:46 pm

$1000. iPhone app

Pay $1,000 For an iPhone App; Prove You're a Jerk

Before you're rich enough to start throwing away your money to cancer foundations and third-world countries, consider buying a $1,000 iPhone application that does nothing.

My old colleague Harry McCracken brings to light an application called "I Am Rich," that will make you wonder whether developer Armin Heinrich is referring to you or himself -- after he suckers enough tool bags into purchasing this useless piece of software. The app does nothing but display a red ruby; tapping a miniature i in the corner will load a secret mantra enabling you to "stay rich, healthy, and successful."

http://blog.wired.com/gadgets/2008/08/p ... or-an.html

da fcuk? :?

Bezman

Postby Bezman » August 6th, 2008, 9:14 pm

hey guys my iphone support forum is up and running

http://mytriniphone.com/forum

it is set up so that every new post will create a new thread in the forum, if you ever have any questions or want to discuss any topic in a post, please post it in teh forum..

Postby tr1ad » August 6th, 2008, 9:25 pm

SWEETTTTTTTTT

Postby pugboy » August 6th, 2008, 10:55 pm

there are a lots of reports of people getting 3g phones by buying the normal way with contract then calling at&t to complain that they are not getting good reception in their area and able to cancel the contract and not having to return the unit by telling the att rep that they bought it in an apple store
reports on hackintosh of guys buying 5 per day at $299 and selling for $800+ on ebay

Bezman

Postby Bezman » August 6th, 2008, 11:11 pm

i bought mine exactly like that..

it was bought with a 2 year contract, and the contract will be terminated in a couple weeks, i'll pay all the fees etc.. cost ~660 usd for a 16GB.

Pug boy so their cost actually is 299+174+35+50+tax=$550 for a 8GB

the 174 is the early termination fee, 35 is the activation fee, 50 is the first months service, and local tax as well...

SRASC

Postby SRASC » August 7th, 2008, 9:20 am

Sprint early termination fees are illegal, judge rules
http://www.mercurynews.com/ci_10039461? ... ost_viewed

Hopefully this'll spread to AT&T

kg494EJ-1

Postby kg494EJ-1 » August 7th, 2008, 9:42 am

^^^ If it does can you imagine the sudden increase of demand for the Iphone, as AT&T will lose a major part of there hold on the phone.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » August 7th, 2008, 12:22 pm

the price would go up if that happens, the iphone price is subsidized

SRASC

Postby SRASC » August 7th, 2008, 1:20 pm

yea...

AT&T - Image
Me - Image
_____
12 iPhone Tricks You Might Not Have Known
http://www.ismashphone.com/2008/08/iphone-tricks.html

1. Scroll to Top of Page -
In any application, Safari included, you can automatically scroll to the top of the page by tapping on the "top bar", which has the time, service bars, and battery. In Safari, this not only brings you to the top of the page, but also brings up the URL bar.

2. Domain Resolution -
When typing a URL in Safari, you don't have to type the "www" or the ".com".For instance, for http://www.cnn.com just type "cnn" in the URL box. Note: Your search engine must be set to Google, not Yahoo.

3. Domain Suffix - [On firmware 2.0 only]
Hold down the ".com" key for ".net, .edu, .org" keys. Note: Slide your finger from .com to .net/.edu/.org, rather than lifting and pressing.

4. Press & Hold For Alternate Characters -
Hold a letter for a popup of various versions of the character (i.e. to type España with the "ñ" simply hold "n" and simply slide/release to the appropriate character).

5. Click & Hold URL's -
In Safari, hold a link to see the URL and site name.

6. Soft Reset -
Press and hold the Home button and the Sleep button to restart your iPhone. A white light will flash, the screen will shut off and then turn back on. Keep holding until the screen turns back on.

7. Take a Screenshot -
To take a screenshot, hold the home button and click the sleep button. The screen will flash white and the screenshot will be stored in your camera roll.

8. Set Parental Controls -
You can enable certain restrictions or parental controls on your iPhone. You can block explicit lyrics, Safari, YouTube, iTunes, or the App Store. Just go to Settings, General, Restrictions.

9. Save Any Image from Safari -
To save any image from the web to your camera roll, simply press and hold the image. A menu will appear asking "Save Image" or "Cancel". Once the image is in your camera roll, you can set it as your wallpaper.

10. Fast Forward/Rewind Music & Video -
Press and hold the skip forward/back arrows to fast forward or rewind rather than skip tracks. Also, press on the album art to manually FF/rewind.

11. Delete Emails -
You can do both "bulk deletes" and "individual deletes" when browsing email. To do a bulk delete, simply click Edit, check off the desired emails, and then choose delete or move. To delete a single email, simply "cross it out" by swiping your finger across the email, then press delete.

12. Double Tap Home Button -
Double tapping the home button has several useful functions, which are described here¹.

¹ http://www.ismashphone.com/2008/08/home-button-iph.html

Raziel

Postby Raziel » August 7th, 2008, 3:31 pm

For those of you that care

Jonathan Zdziarsi, the author of iPhone Forensics, says that Apple can actually remotely disable apps installed on your iPhone. Apparently, there's a blacklist URL in the iPhone's OS that he says "suggests that the iPhone calls home once in a while to find out what applications it should turn off."

He says he found the URL (https://iphone-services.apple.com/clbl/unauthorizedApps) "tucked away in a configuration file deep inside CoreLocation" while doing a forensic examination of the iPhone 3G. It appears to be reserved for disabling actually malicious apps, not ones that Apple just doesn't like and might've yanked from the store. After all, no apps have shown up the list yet, and NetShare, the tethering app that is currently pulled from the store remains operational on all the phones we have it installed on, even after a sync.

But effectively invading one's phone is different than removing something from their virtual store shelves. If they ever use this exceptional—maybe egregious—power, Apple would have to explain why. The standard silence simply wouldn't cut it

http://gizmodo.com/5034007/apple-can-re ... our-iphone

SRASC

Postby SRASC » August 7th, 2008, 4:22 pm

Pwnage 2.0.2 to be released today
http://www.appleiphoneschool.com/2008/0 ... sed-today/

The DevTeam has updated their blog saying that Pwnage Tool 2.0.2 should be released sometime today. It seems that it will not include Installer 4.0 but will include a new version of Cydia. Below is what they have to say…be sure to read the warning.

“BTW PwnageTool 2.0.2 is undergoing final checks and will be packaged, signed and should be uploaded within the next few hours, so count on it being released sometime on Thursday. This will be available via the PwnageTool software updater that is built in and checked when you start PwnageTool, we’ll also publish a link here for direct downloads.

* As always PwnageTool 2.0.2 contains Cydia, in fact it contains a new version of Cydia with some bugfixes and other general goodness, thanks saurik!
* Installer 4 isn’t released by RiPDev as yet so PwnageTool 2.0.2 does not include installer.app - check out the RiPDev blog for the latest information.

* WinPwn uses compatible bundles (as provided by Planetbeing’s XPwn code), so we anticipate that WinPwn will be updated soon after our PwnageTool release, so Windows users shouldn’t have to wait too long! Please remember the DevTeam doesn’t provide end-user support for WinPwn!

Warning: If you care about the possibility of a GSM/3G unlock in the future (there is no unlock available as yet), do not update your 3G device with iTunes unless you do it via PwnageTool 2.0.2 (this means you’ll need to create a custom .ipsw with PwnageTool 2.0.2 and install it using iTunes) - If you have updated over the last few days with iTunes, you’ll still be able to Jailbreak using PwnageTool 2.0.2 but it may reduce the chance of you being able to unlock the Phone to be able to use a SIM card from all carriers in the future.

To clarify - PwnageTool 2.0.2 will still provide the jailbreak for 3G users, even if you have updated. Meanwhile, we’re still actively pursuing the GSM/3G unlock - stay tuned

RdRnr

Postby RdRnr » August 7th, 2008, 4:56 pm

I do love the chinese.

I wonder if it will work tho.

RdRnr

Postby RdRnr » August 7th, 2008, 4:57 pm

damn it....doesnt look like the pic is enlarged when u click on it

oh well

basically, chinese supplier selling 3g unlock card.